Yamaha 779 vs Denon avr-x1200W - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By jdsmoothie
  • 1 Post By hpp8140
  • 1 Post By kikkenit2

post #1 of 18 Old 11-28-2015, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yamaha 779 vs Denon avr-x1200W

I am a total audio newbie & debating between the Yamaha AVR receiver on sale from Costco for $439 (TRS-7790) or get the Denon AVR-X1200W for about the same price.

Not worried about ATMOS yet since I don't have speakers on the ceiling & currently have 5.1 setup but thinking of adding 2 more speakers.

I just want good audio quality, easy setup, & great performance for watching mainly movies though do listen to music on ocassion.

I think the best receivers for the price/quality are denon & yamaha so any input is greatly appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 11-28-2015, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 90

Yamaha 779 is a higher level avr than x1200 so pound for pound it is better. 779 has better User Interface, has analog to hdmi as well as 1080 to 4 upscaling, it also has a much nicer front display lay out and the front panel is metal as opposed to plastic on x1200. 779 also has Bluetooth transmitter and receiver. All around it is a better choice however, it only has hdcp 2.2 on three inputs vs all five on x1200. 779 I definitely a better choice

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 18 Old 12-01-2015, 06:05 PM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm looking at them both as well and personally leaning towards the denon for dtsx and atmos.
post #4 of 18 Old 12-01-2015, 07:30 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 52