Any issues with not using some channels on an amp? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By JThiessen
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-15-2015, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JThiessen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Any issues with not using some channels on an amp?

I have found myself in the situation where I have 3 Emotiva Amps, with 12 channels of amplification. I have 15 speaker locations pre-wired in the walls (allowing for multiple set up options).
At this point, I only have 9 speakers available.
I've got all 12 channels wired to a wall mounted patch panel, but only 9 of them have a speaker at the outlets.

Is this ok to run like this? Should I completely disconnect unused channels at the amp to avoid any possible ground out risks? (BTW, all the wall outlets are Speakons). Or should I not even have them connected from the PRE?

Thanks in advance - this is my first use of a Pre/Pro system.
JThiessen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-15-2015, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Montucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 288
I believe you should be fine. If I'm not mistaken, it takes the speakers themselves actually being connected to complete the circuit. Thus, if you don't have the speakers hooked up, then the amp behaves as if nothing is hooked up to it at all. The beauty of using less speakers than you have available channels is that (at least with traditional AVRs), all that additional juice is automatically rerouted to the channels being used. For example, using a 5.1 channel system as a 2 or 3 channel setup will yield you more power per channel.
Montucky is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-15-2015, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JThiessen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks - that's what I thought.

now to get a ColdSnack....
Montucky likes this.
JThiessen is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 12-16-2015, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Montucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by JThiessen View Post
now to get a ColdSnack....
Haha. That's awesome. You a local?
Montucky is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-29-2015, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JThiessen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Born and raised in Eastern MT (Lambert/Sidney area). Lived in Seattle now for 25 years
JThiessen is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-30-2015, 06:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 10,411
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2205 Post(s)
Liked: 1804
I would double-check with the amplifier manufacturer. The biggest risk is the long cables without loads causing the amplifier to oscillate. They could also act as antennae for RFI. Most amplifiers are designed to be stable into an open circuit, but you may want to disconnect the wires at the amp until you are ready to use them. In the past I have placed fairly high-value resistors across unused amplifier outputs just to be safe (e.g. 100 ohm 10 W) and grounded their inputs with shorting caps. Most amps don't need them, but did it out of caution because I did not want to be the one explaining to a customer why their amp blew up when it wasn't doing anything...

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off