HDMI processing issue - receiver or TV? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-26-2016, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nm2285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI processing issue - receiver or TV?

My home theater setup has worked well for me for almost a year. Recently, I've had some issues with video processing and I can't figure it out.

All of my sources run via HDMI through my Marantz SR7008 to my Samsung F8500 plasma. The problems I've been having recently:
- DirecTV receiver: shows that certain resolutions are not processed by my TV (which are not true - it's capable of processing all available)

- Roku: when switching to watch Roku, "No Signal" is displayed on the TV. It recognizes the source (if it didn't, a "Marantz" logo would appear) but says it's not getting any video signal. If I let it sit long enough, the Roku goes into a "reset loop" where it shows the boot screen for about 15 seconds, loses video for about 20 seconds, boot screen, no video....

- Home theater PC: runs windows 7 and has HDMI out. When switching to this input, the resolution is often changed. Sometimes I get a message saying "resolution not supported." Other times, the desktop is displayed, but in some resolution not 1920x1080 like it should be. The resolution that's displayed is not consistent (not like it's 1920x1080 or something else - it's variable)

Disconnecting the HDMI cable that connects receiver to TV from either end (connected to TV or connected to receiver) is the only thing that works. All I need to do is unplug and plug right back in and things are back to normal. These issues also don't happen every time I try to use the devices. Probably about 50% of the time.

Things I've tried that have had no effect:
- Change cables between devices and receiver and between receiver and TV
- Change devices (had a back up Roku)
- Perform factory resets to receiver and TV. It might be worth noting that everything worked fine after these resets for maybe 2-3 days before having the issues again. However, that happened with both the TV and the receiver reset, so it didn't give me any clue as to the culprit.
- Turn on/off video processing in receiver

Does anyone have any clue what's going on? Any way to diagnose whether it's the TV or the receiver without going through the hassle of replacing one? Really frustrating since everything used to work fine!

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!
nm2285 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-26-2016, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 2,386
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 295
I've experienced something similar with a FiOS box, and it's definitely an HDMI issue. However, I don't know the details of your system so it's either:
  1. old vs new versions of HDMI (like 1.4 vs 2.0)
  2. the HDMI port on either the AVR or TV could be going bad (my problems are isolated to the FiOS box)

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR (5.0.2)
(4) Polk Monitor 10B's (R/L F/R), (2) Polk Monitor 4's (TM), Polk CS300 center channel
Analog: B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Digital: Pioneer CLD-99 Elite LD, Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray
LG 65EF9500 4K OLED
Stanton is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-26-2016, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nm2285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
I've experienced something similar with a FiOS box, and it's definitely an HDMI issue. However, I don't know the details of your system so it's either:
  1. old vs new versions of HDMI (like 1.4 vs 2.0)
  2. the HDMI port on either the AVR or TV could be going bad (my problems are isolated to the FiOS box)
It could be the port on the Marantz, but it's not on the TV - I've changed that one. There is a clone HDMI output on the Marantz. Maybe I'll switch to that and see if it helps.
nm2285 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off