The "OFFICIAL" 2016 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ - Page 126 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1254Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3751 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
timick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmock17 View Post
.... Can i select dobly surround or DTS Neural:X and just leave it in that setting so i dont have to change it based on the signal coming in? I guess i am looking for one setting that i can select so i dont have to change it each time or when the signal changes. Kind of like a "set if and forget it" type of thing.

This is what I am doing with my 5.1 setup. I have my X1300W set to DTS Neural:X. Everything sounds good to me... DirecTV, Netflix & Amazon via my Samsung TV apps, Xbox games, and Blu-rays.


Should I change it to DD instead?
timick1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3752 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I guess it's all about experimenting to see what you like best.

I use Auto because it usually picks up the track on the blu-ray but for TV/Netflix/Music I like to try out different things.
LDBaha is offline  
post #3753 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
When I looked at the Source level input volume it was set to +12 decibel. Shouldn't it be +0 decibel, since I didnt adjust it myself? However I did run the audyssey xt32 setup, but this shouldn't change this setting right? Wouldn't having it +12 decibel clip the receiver?
Cyral is online now  
 
post #3754 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
word302's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Denon 6300h's Video Scaler has a bug that keeps it from working correctly at 4K. It adds undefeatable edge enhancement and bob de-interlaces 1080i sources.

I would very much like @imagic to look into this as it effects both the 2016 Denon and Marantz units and nobody at Denon support seems to care.

I quoted this from another thread. Does anyone know if this is or ever was really an issue?
muzz and wreckingball like this.
word302 is offline  
post #3755 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
BiggShooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Valley Of The Sun
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 78
I was able to finally run an Audyssey Calibration but only for three of eight positions (running short on time). After checking the settings, I noticed the crossover for the rear surrounds was 150Hz. I'm running Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000's. Is this right? I didn't turn them down to 80Hz per advice from posts in this forum (and Audyssey Calibration guide). I guess I was thinking it should've been lower considering my center channel crossover (DT CS9060) was 40Hz and my side surrounds crossover (DT SR9080) was 60Hz. I bumped up the center channel crossover and side surrounds crossover to 80Hz. I also noticed the two subwoofers (using built-in subwoofers for DT BP9060's) had a -10db level and -10.5db level. Prior to the Audyssey calibration process, Audyssey detected my built-in subwoofers were "too loud" and I had to turn them down to the recommended 75db. Turning them down to 75db resulted in the -10db level and -10.5 db level. I turned them back up (on the back of the speaker). Is it better to go with the recommended 75db that Audyssey setup recommends, or try to target the 3.5 to -3.5 db level I've seen mentioned in the forums?

I plan to run a *complete* Audyssey calibration (eight positions) sometime over the next few days.

Thanks for the replies.
BiggShooter is offline  
post #3756 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Gymbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Can't Ignore Aura 3D FW Upgrade

I keep getting notification alerts of the Aura 3D upgrade, despite selecting 'Ignore' several times. It's very annoying, to the point that I've turned off Firmware Notifications to avoid getting this alert every time I turn on my 4300H. Seems to me this is a bug. Anyone else notice this?

LG OLED65B6P
Denon AVR-X4300H
Oppo UDP-203
Heos 1 / 3 HS2
Aperion Audio Initimus Speakers
Gymbow is offline  
post #3757 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 05:26 PM
Member
 
Agent 7100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Brisbane in OZ
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmock17 View Post
Quick question for everyone; I have the x2300w and was curious what listening mode you use. I have it set in stereo for everything but am I better off using a different mode? I leave it in stereo for everything; tv, the occasional video game and blu-rays. My understanding is that leaving it in stereo allows the receiver to play in whatever format the show/movie was recorded in. Is that correct or should I change my settings? I really don't want to change the setting based on if I am watching tv or a blu-Ray. Am I best to leave it in stereo?
For me having a x1300w / 7.1 system I use multi channel stereo for all stereo sources - otherwise I leave it to the receiver's Auto mode to pick the best audio track. It only failed once on me with the movie RED2 (BR-DVD) picking DTS:X which sounded a bit funny. Changing to DDsurround fixed that issue.
Terminader likes this.
Agent 7100 is offline  
post #3758 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
BiggShooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Valley Of The Sun
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gymbow View Post
I keep getting notification alerts of the Aura 3D upgrade, despite selecting 'Ignore' several times. It's very annoying, to the point that I've turned off Firmware Notifications to avoid getting this alert every time I turn on my 4300H. Seems to me this is a bug. Anyone else notice this?
Same thing happening to me (Denon AVR-X4300H)
BiggShooter is offline  
post #3759 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gymbow View Post
I keep getting notification alerts of the Aura 3D upgrade, despite selecting 'Ignore' several times. It's very annoying, to the point that I've turned off Firmware Notifications to avoid getting this alert every time I turn on my 4300H. Seems to me this is a bug. Anyone else notice this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggShooter View Post
Same thing happening to me (Denon AVR-X4300H)
Did you turn off upgrade notifications (not firmware notifications)? Ignore is a temporary dismissal, you have to turn it off in the settings.
djc11369 is offline  
post #3760 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,766
Mentioned: 287 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 5882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gymbow View Post
I keep getting notification alerts of the Aura 3D upgrade, despite selecting 'Ignore' several times. It's very annoying, to the point that I've turned off Firmware Notifications to avoid getting this alert every time I turn on my 4300H. Seems to me this is a bug. Anyone else notice this?
The Auro 3D notice is not a firmware "update" but rather an "upgrade", therefore you must set "Upgrade Notifications" to OFF, not "Update Notifications."

There is a lot of very good information that is listed in the first 8 posts of this thread, including information on how to disable the "Upgrade" notification in post 8.

---------------------------
Auro 3D/2D + Auro-Matic (simulates audio to height speakers from non-Auro BD/DVD) Upgrade instructions (USA models only)

Only the X4300 and X6300 can be upgraded to Auro 3D/2D (firmware upgrade available beginning Jan 5, 2017):

1. Connect the unit to the internet.
2. Ensure the unit has the latest firmware update installed.
3. Using the GUI, select Upgrade now or go to GENERAL -- FIRMWARE -- ADD NEW FEATURE and write down the "Upgrade ID" listed on the display
4. Go to the Upgrade website at http://upgrade.denon.com/na/denon/pages/home.aspx
5. Complete the Auro 3D upgrade Personal form to include personal information, the unit's serial number (listed on back of unit or on original box), and the Upgrade ID obtained in step 3.
6. Enter credit card information - cost is $199 USD which will also include the Auro 3D Demo disk.
7. Once the card has been processed, the Auro 3D upgrade will be available to download to the unit (estimated download time - will vary depending on internet connection)

Notes:
(1) For those X4300 and X6300 owners not wanting to upgrade to Auro 3D at this time, you will be given the option to set Upgrade Notification to OFF on initial setup or you can go to SETUP -- GENERAL -- FIRMWARE -- NOTIFICATIONS -- UPGRADE and select OFF so you don't get the Upgrade notification each time the unit is powered ON.

(2) A number of prior year model owners with the Auro 3D upgrade have noted they prefer the Dolby Surround upmixer (DSU) for movies and Auro-Matic for music.

(3) Additional information on Auro 3D/2D can be found in the Official Auro 3D thread.
BiggShooter likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 01-18-2017 at 06:05 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3761 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 06:04 PM
Member
 
Gymbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Thanks for the clarification.

LG OLED65B6P
Denon AVR-X4300H
Oppo UDP-203
Heos 1 / 3 HS2
Aperion Audio Initimus Speakers
Gymbow is offline  
post #3762 of 5671 Old 01-18-2017, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
bmock17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The surround mode you select for a specific input source audio will be remembered for each source and played the next time that source/audio is played again.

For example, when I listen to the CBL/SAT source playing DD 5.1, I may select Dolby Digital so only a 5.1 signal is output and thereafter when I select another channel that is passing DD 5.1 it will play as Dolby Digital 5.1. However, when I watch a DVD that has DD 5.1, I may want to listen to it using Dolby Surround so all the speakers in my 7.2.4 setup receive the audio. Thereafter, when I play a DD 5.1 source from the DVD player, the Dolby Surround mode would be selected. And when I return to the CBL/SAT source and listen to a DD 5.1 audio signal, it will play as DD 5.1 until I change it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by timick1 View Post
This is what I am doing with my 5.1 setup. I have my X1300W set to DTS Neural:X. Everything sounds good to me... DirecTV, Netflix & Amazon via my Samsung TV apps, Xbox games, and Blu-rays.


Should I change it to DD instead?
I have been playing around with the settings for a little while now. I changed the listening mode to DTS Neural:X when watching tv. During some commercials and some programming, when I press the info button it shows the signal as as 2 channel; only the front left and front right speakers are highlighted. However, when you look to the right at the active speakers, all of them are highlighted. So are all the speakers actually active producing a simulated type of surround sound, or is it still just the two front speakers playing something? I was walking around to the rear speakers to see if I could hear anything, but I think I am making myself crazy now.
bmock17 is offline  
post #3763 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 03:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,766
Mentioned: 287 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 5882
What does the INFO button display?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmock17 View Post
I have been playing around with the settings for a little while now. I changed the listening mode to DTS Neural:X when watching tv. During some commercials and some programming, when I press the info button it shows the signal as as 2 channel; only the front left and front right speakers are highlighted. However, when you look to the right at the active speakers, all of them are highlighted. So are all the speakers actually active producing a simulated type of surround sound, or is it still just the two front speakers playing something? I was walking around to the rear speakers to see if I could hear anything, but I think I am making myself crazy now.
Yes. The INFO button will display the (input signal) via the left side icons and the (active speakers) via the right side icons.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3764 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 04:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 0
AVR-X3300W to be Deliv today

After giving up on the Marantz SR5011 due to video issues I have a Denon that will be deliv today. Hoping for better results.

I have a question about HDMI control and Pass thru source using the input source of CD. (P 174 & 185 of manual)

The actual connection on the back of the AVR has CD on the Input labelled 7 but the documentation does not. In order to use pass thru does this need to be changed to 7 in the configuration?

Also, is there an audible diff if I use ARC vs OPT1 for audio from my Samsung monitor ? Are there any advantages to using one over the other ?

Also, what should the Low Pass Crossover on my DefTech Sub be set to prior to the Audyssey setup ?

Thanks for any help ... Tom

Denon AVR-X3300W, Samsung 65 inch UHD TV UN65JS8500, Samsung UHD Blu Ray UBD-K8500, Def Tech Sub, Klipsch RF-3 RC-3 RS-3 Spkrs, Audioquest Pearl cables, PanaMax M4300 PM

Last edited by tommoran2; 01-19-2017 at 04:43 AM. Reason: Clarify
tommoran2 is offline  
post #3765 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 04:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,766
Mentioned: 287 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 5882
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommoran2 View Post
After giving up on the Marantz SR5011 due to video issues I have a Denon that will be deliv today. Hoping for better results.

I have a question about HDMI control and Pass thru source using the input source of CD. (P 174 & 185 of manual)

The actual connection on the back of the AVR has CD on the Input labelled 7 but the documentation does not. In order to use pass thru does this need to be changed to 7 in the configuration?

Also, is there an audible diff if I use ARC vs OPT1 for audio from my Samsung monitor ? Are there any advantages to using one over the other ?

Also, what should the Low Pass Crossover on my DefTech Sub be set to prior to the Audyssey setup ?

Thanks for any help ... Tom

1. HDMI Pass through only works with HDMI sources. The HDMI input labeled CD is 7 while the analog audio input labeled CD is 5. Using INPUT ASSIGN, assign CD to HDMI 7 if you expect to use it as an HDMI source.
2. The only difference would be that HDMI can pass DD+ (eg. for services like Netflix and Vudu passing Atmos audio) while optical cannot, otherwise, no difference in quality if just passing PCM 2.0 or DD 5.1.
3. The crossover on the sub should be set to its maximum setting.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 01-19-2017 at 04:49 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3766 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 04:45 AM
Senior Member
 
zorax2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr250 View Post
My denon x4300h seems a few dB shy of my Onkyo tx-nr818. For movies in TruHD, I find myself at 65 to 70 dB volume easily (scale max set to 91), on a 5.1 system.
Based on testing by other AVS members, "Reference" does not necessarily equal the same "Reference" between brands. Check out: Archaea's Auto room EQ/AVR comparison G2G - November 8, 2014 - Kansas City

There have been reports of 3db to 6dB (significant) differences between brands for "Reference" volume.

I use the dB scale (-80 dB to 0 dB - or something like that) instead of using the relative scale (0 - 100 or something like that). Comparisons seem more relevant that way as at least the Denon/Marantz models calibrate to the same "Reference" level.

I'd just turn up the volume on the 4300X to the same approximate volume you used on the Onkyo. They will both power your speakers just fine.

Running 7.2.4 with Denon AVR-X4300W, ATI 2005 and 1807 Amplifiers
Kef Reference 203 Mains, 202c Center, 201 Surrounds, Ci200RR-THX Top Rears, Q300 Front Heights, E301 Rear Surrounds, Power Sound Audio PSA dual S3600i Subwoofers,
GIK Acoustics
Treatments, Sony VPL-HW30ES Projector, Carada Criterion 100" Projection Screen, Panasonic Blu-Ray, Xbox One
zorax2 is offline  
post #3767 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 04:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
3. The crossover on the sub should be set to its maximum setting.
I assume it should also be left at max after the config ??

Thanks for your response ... Tom

Denon AVR-X3300W, Samsung 65 inch UHD TV UN65JS8500, Samsung UHD Blu Ray UBD-K8500, Def Tech Sub, Klipsch RF-3 RC-3 RS-3 Spkrs, Audioquest Pearl cables, PanaMax M4300 PM
tommoran2 is offline  
post #3768 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 04:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Methodical_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggShooter View Post
...I also noticed the two subwoofers (using built-in subwoofers for DT BP9060's) had a -10db level and -10.5db level. Prior to the Audyssey calibration process, Audyssey detected my built-in subwoofers were "too loud" and I had to turn them down to the recommended 75db. Turning them down to 75db resulted in the -10db level and -10.5 db level. I turned them back up (on the back of the speaker). Is it better to go with the recommended 75db that Audyssey setup recommends, or try to target the 3.5 to -3.5 db level I've seen mentioned in the forums?...
My subwoofer is at -9.5, which according to the folks on the Audyssey thread is where you'd want the setting (-11.5 would be even better, but never -12) for headroom and to avoid clipping - something about making sure the amp does all the heavy lifting vs. the receiver. You may want to check out that thread or ask your question there for a more detailed response.

"Official" Audyssey thread Part II

HT Configuration: 7.2.4 l Panasonic Plasma (65") l Denon X4300H l Mono 7 amp l Behringer FBQ3102 EQ l Polk RTi10s l Polk CSI-5 l Polk FXi-30 (x4) l Infinity ERS-610 (x4) - Atmos l SVS PB-2000 l Polk PSW 505 (temp) l Oppo BD-93 l Denon CD player/Turntable 1 Cassette Deck l

Subwoofer Trim and Audyssey EQ setup guide

Last edited by Methodical_1; 01-19-2017 at 04:56 AM.
Methodical_1 is offline  
post #3769 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 05:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,766
Mentioned: 287 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 5882
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommoran2 View Post
I assume it should also be left at max after the config ??

Thanks for your response ... Tom
Correct. In fact, no settings on the sub should be changed after running Audyssey, rather all changes should be made using Manual Setup on the AVR (eg. bumping up the sub volume +5db).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3770 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,766
Mentioned: 287 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 5882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methodical_1 View Post
My subwoofer is at -9.5, which according to the folks on the Audyssey thread is where you'd want the setting (-11.5 would be even better, but never -12) for headroom and to avoid clipping - something about making sure the amp does all the heavy lifting vs. the receiver. You may want to check out that thread or ask your question there for a more detailed response.

"Official" Audyssey thread Part II
You misunderstood what was posted in that thread. The final "ideal" setting is closer to 0db (ie. +/-3db) to ensure the signal from the AVR is strong enough to wake the sub if placed in Auto mode. Most find the bass to be about 5db weak after running Audyssey, so "ideally" you want the sub setting to be about -5db to -8db after running Audyssey, such that after boosting it +5db in Manual Setup, it ends up being around -3db to 0db.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3771 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,766
Mentioned: 287 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 5882
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggShooter View Post
I was able to finally run an Audyssey Calibration but only for three of eight positions (running short on time). After checking the settings, I noticed the crossover for the rear surrounds was 150Hz. I'm running Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000's. Is this right? I didn't turn them down to 80Hz per advice from posts in this forum (and Audyssey Calibration guide). I guess I was thinking it should've been lower considering my center channel crossover (DT CS9060) was 40Hz and my side surrounds crossover (DT SR9080) was 60Hz. I bumped up the center channel crossover and side surrounds crossover to 80Hz. I also noticed the two subwoofers (using built-in subwoofers for DT BP9060's) had a -10db level and -10.5db level. Prior to the Audyssey calibration process, Audyssey detected my built-in subwoofers were "too loud" and I had to turn them down to the recommended 75db. Turning them down to 75db resulted in the -10db level and -10.5 db level. I turned them back up (on the back of the speaker). Is it better to go with the recommended 75db that Audyssey setup recommends, or try to target the 3.5 to -3.5 db level I've seen mentioned in the forums?

I plan to run a *complete* Audyssey calibration (eight positions) sometime over the next few days.

Thanks for the replies.
1. Although the DT Pro Monitor 1000's are mfr spec'd down to 50Hz, how they react where you have them placed in your room may be very different; however, you NEVER want to set the crossover lower than what was set as doing so introduces frequencies that have not been EQ'd. If necessary, better to relocate the speakers as well as running a full 8 mic position spread so as to get more data points for Audyssey to use to perform a proper calibration.
2. After running Audyssey, make any changes to the sub volume level using Manual Setup - Levels - Test Tone - Subwoofer so as to have a better idea of what changes you have made (ie. digital).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3772 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 06:19 AM
Member
 
coyote-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Seems I played around with the settings too much. In trying out all the various settings for movies, music etc, I ended up somehow unable to retrieve the results of the Audyssey exercise. So I will have to re-run it.
coyote-1 is offline  
post #3773 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Spidacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I have DefTech Promonitor 800's for Atmos, and depending on the run, Audyssey has set the crossover at 90 or 110 Hz. 150 Hz for the 1000's does seem too high. Maybe check the wiring to make sure they are in phase?
Spidacat is offline  
post #3774 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,766
Mentioned: 287 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 5882
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote-1 View Post
Seems I played around with the settings too much. In trying out all the various settings for movies, music etc, I ended up somehow unable to retrieve the results of the Audyssey exercise. So I will have to re-run it.
If you return to the original configuration used for the Audyssey calibration, you will be able to enable Audyssey again.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3775 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 08:18 AM
Member
 
coyote-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you return to the original configuration used for the Audyssey calibration, you will be able to enable Audyssey again.
Hmmm. It seems to allow that from any configuration, yet the audible results are nowhere near the same.

So are you saying that if, for example, I did Audyssey in movie mode with Dolby Surround as the chosen output mode, I would have to go back to that specific configuration to get Audyssey to provide its magic again?
Does that mean I should run Audyssey many times, once for each of my common configurations?
coyote-1 is offline  
post #3776 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,766
Mentioned: 287 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 5882
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote-1 View Post
Hmmm. It seems to allow that from any configuration, yet the audible results are nowhere near the same.

So are you saying that if, for example, I did Audyssey in movie mode with Dolby Surround as the chosen output mode, I would have to go back to that specific configuration to get Audyssey to provide its magic again?
Does that mean I should run Audyssey many times, once for each of my common configurations?
No, all settings are ignored when running Audyssey, rather by "configuration" I am referring to the AMP ASSIGN setting used.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3777 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
bmock17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes. The INFO button will display the (input signal) via the left side icons and the (active speakers) via the right side icons.
thank you for all of your help!
bmock17 is offline  
post #3778 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 09:12 AM
Member
 
coyote-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No, all settings are ignored when running Audyssey, rather by "configuration" I am referring to the AMP ASSIGN setting used.
Aside from momentarily going to "all zone stereo" to test my config for my upcoming SuperBowl party, I have not changed my amp assignment. I did turn off all zone though.
coyote-1 is offline  
post #3779 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,766
Mentioned: 287 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 5882
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote-1 View Post
Aside from momentarily going to "all zone stereo" to test my config for my upcoming SuperBowl party, I have not changed my amp assignment. I did turn off all zone though.
Changing surround modes (except DIRECT/PURE DIRECT) should not have disabled Audyssey. Check the AMP ASSIGNMENT setting to ensure it hasn't been changed.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3780 of 5671 Old 01-19-2017, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dman918's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I find that Audyssey settings are great for movies, but, especially for tv, dialog is fairly weak. Do you find the need to bump the db level of the center channel post audyssey?

__________________________________________________
Vizio M70-D3 70" Display
Denon X4300 Receiver
(3) Elusive 1099s LCR - (4) Polk RC85i Surrounds
iNuke 3000dsp powering a Dayton Ultimax UM18 in a Minimarty
iNuke 6000dsp powering (2) SI HT18s in Martycubes (Nearfield)
dman918 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off