The "Official" Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2258Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4970 Old 05-17-2016, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,225
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1850 Post(s)
Liked: 2277
The "Official" Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread

I had started the owners thread for a couple of the A-x0x0 threads..

Missed the x050 series...

Thought I'd jump back into AVS after a brief absence with this thread...

This post 1 will be updated with full details and links in the coming week as I have the time...

Give me some time to get it going.. but I will make these first couple of posts full of useful info for current and prospective owners...

Bring them on..

______________________

Yamaha USA Website Release Announcement for the RX-A60 lineup

______________________

Availability and MSRP pricing:

RX-A1060 ($1,299.95; June availability)

RX-A2060 ($1,699.95; July availability)

RX-A3060 ($2,199.95; July availability)

Just a friendly reminder... price talk is prohibited on these threads..

______________________

Owners manuals:

NOTE... THE FOLLOWING LINKS ARE DIRECT PDF DOWNLOADS...

RX-A2060 and 3060 OWNERS MANUAL

RX-A1060 OWNERS MANUAL

__________________________

Yamaha USA Product Pages

RX-A1060 PRODUCT PAGE
RX-A2060 PRODUCT PAGE
RX-A3060 PRODUCT PAGE

Last edited by FilmMixer; 05-17-2016 at 09:18 PM.
FilmMixer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4970 Old 05-17-2016, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,225
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1850 Post(s)
Liked: 2277
Here is a repost of some links where we discussed using the web browser IP control interface on these units..

To use the web interface for setup...

IP address followed by setup..

ex: http://1.1.1.1/setup

Really helpful for initial setup..

A3030 Web Interface Post

The web interface is extremely helpful for detailed SCENE setup..

For those new to the Yamaha AVR's, SCENES are preset memories that allow for many setup parameters to be assigned to a preset memory..

For instance, you can edit a scene to change to a certain input, use a certain HDMI, turn on or off lip sync delay, pick one of the two available speaker patterns, select EQ pre sets, activate DSP programs, etc.... very powerful tools for customization..
denze, slackmack, hdfonz and 1 others like this.

Last edited by FilmMixer; 05-17-2016 at 09:30 PM.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #3 of 4970 Old 05-17-2016, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,225
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1850 Post(s)
Liked: 2277
Reserved 2
FilmMixer is offline  
 
post #4 of 4970 Old 05-17-2016, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,225
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1850 Post(s)
Liked: 2277
Reserved 3
FilmMixer is offline  
post #5 of 4970 Old 05-17-2016, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
adrenalin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Hopefully you can keep the OP updated unlike the terrible 1050/2050/3050 thread where the first post went untouched for a year and the same questions were asked over and over.
jobybett likes this.
adrenalin is offline  
post #6 of 4970 Old 05-18-2016, 08:09 AM
Member
 
djsvetljo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Can anyone explain to me, what is the ZONE2 and Zone4 HDMI with the Yamaha ? After all, there is only 2 HDMI outs, one for main and one for sub zone. But why do they list:
Zone 2/4 HDMI, Zone 2/3 audio with processing, amplifier assign (5.1.2-channel with bi-amp)

djsvetljo is offline  
post #7 of 4970 Old 05-18-2016, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,131
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13869 Post(s)
Liked: 6497
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsvetljo View Post
Can anyone explain to me, what is the ZONE2 and Zone4 HDMI with the Yamaha ? After all, there is only 2 HDMI outs, one for main and one for sub zone. But why do they list:
Zone 2/4 HDMI, Zone 2/3 audio with processing, amplifier assign (5.1.2-channel with bi-amp)

Sure ...

The Zone HDMI out can be set as either:

Zone 2 (in which case although audio and video are both passed, you can also use Zone 2 speakers powered by the AVR or via the Zone 2 pre-outs)

or

Zone 4 (in which case both audio and video are passed with no further audio capability from AVR)


As filmmixer noted above .. the A2060 and A3060 should be available in July some time. Call for pricing and pre-order from AVS if interested.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8 of 4970 Old 05-18-2016, 01:47 PM
Member
 
djsvetljo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Sure ...

The Zone HDMI out can be set as either:

Zone 2 (in which case although audio and video are both passed, you can also use Zone 2 speakers powered by the AVR or via the Zone 2 pre-outs)

or

Zone 4 (in which case both audio and video are passed with no further audio capability from AVR)


As filmmixer noted above .. the A2060 and A3060 should be available in July some time. Call for pricing and pre-order from AVS if interested.
I see. It would have been nice if they added 3rd HDMI out for Zone4.

I wonder, if Main Zone is 5.1 source, Blu-Ray lets say, Can I play the same source to Zone 2, video via zone HDMI out, audio either via pre-outs , HDMI or speaker terminals:
- Will the audio in Zone 2 (either pre-outs/HDMI or speakers) be down mixed to stereo, while main zone remains multi channel ?
djsvetljo is offline  
post #9 of 4970 Old 05-18-2016, 02:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,131
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13869 Post(s)
Liked: 6497
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsvetljo View Post
I see. It would have been nice if they added 3rd HDMI out for Zone4.

I wonder, if Main Zone is 5.1 source, Blu-Ray lets say, Can I play the same source to Zone 2, video via zone HDMI out, audio either via pre-outs , HDMI or speaker terminals:
- Will the audio in Zone 2 (either pre-outs/HDMI or speakers) be down mixed to stereo, while main zone remains multi channel ?
Depends on the HDMI sync connected to the Zone monitor output ... if to a TV that can only accept 2CH stereo input, then yes, main zone down mixed as well; however, if to another AVR that can accept multi channel audio, then no. Regardless, obviously only 2.0 audio can be passed to the Zone 2 speaker posts/pre-outs.

Also note that you could pass an Atmos/DTS:X BD audio to the Zone monitor output if connected to another Atmos/DTS:X capable AVR in another room.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10 of 4970 Old 05-18-2016, 02:11 PM
Member
 
djsvetljo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Depends on the HDMI sync connected to the Zone monitor output ... if to a TV that can only accept 2CH stereo input, then yes, main zone down mixed as well; however, if to another AVR that can accept multi channel audio, then no. Regardless, obviously only 2.0 audio can be passed to the Zone 2 speaker posts/pre-outs.

Also note that you could pass an Atmos/DTS:X BD audio to the Zone monitor output if connected to another Atmos/DTS:X capable AVR in another room.
Ok, so I got it with the HDMI audio and it make sense.

However, I am still not cleat on the pre-outs/speaker audio out for Zone2:
- If main zone plays 5.1, does zone get DOWNMIXED 2 channel, while main zone stays 5.1?

On most receivers, it will force again main zone to 2ch. I read somewhere that the Yamahas don't do that, but it wasn't very detailed.
djsvetljo is offline  
post #11 of 4970 Old 05-18-2016, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
Deafwonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Specifications and Real World Difference

What upgrades and downgrades are there in the specifications between the RX-A 2060 and the 2050?

The HDMI inputs and outputs specifications and the DAC specifications are not clear.

Are there any real world changes for the better? Or for the worse?
Same price but less features?

The change from the 2040 to the 2050 was major in migrating to HDCP 2.2 compatibility.

The change from the 2050 to the 2060 does not seem apparent.

For example the 2050 has a standard ¼" headphone output. The 2060 spec states 1 headphone output. ¼" or perhaps the ⅛" Apple headphone output good for iPhones and iPads?

Details matter.mPlease be as specific as you can be.

We mainly use Apple based iPads, iPhones and Apple AirPlay.

Thank you!
Deafwonder is offline  
post #12 of 4970 Old 05-18-2016, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16,641
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2581 Post(s)
Liked: 2041
Very good chance its still 1/4" but an adaptor is very cheap and easy to find.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #13 of 4970 Old 05-18-2016, 10:37 PM
Member
 
dalec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The difference between the A3050 and A3060 is also unclear. The only difference I can see on the specs page is that the A3060 is listed as being slightly deeper.
dalec is offline  
post #14 of 4970 Old 05-19-2016, 03:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,131
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13869 Post(s)
Liked: 6497
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsvetljo View Post
Ok, so I got it with the HDMI audio and it make sense.

However, I am still not cleat on the pre-outs/speaker audio out for Zone2:
- If main zone plays 5.1, does zone get DOWNMIXED 2 channel, while main zone stays 5.1?

On most receivers, it will force again main zone to 2ch. I read somewhere that the Yamahas don't do that, but it wasn't very detailed.
This will depend on the source as it may require adding an analog audio cable to ensure main zone remains 5.1.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15 of 4970 Old 05-19-2016, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,323
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1401 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalec View Post
The difference between the A3050 and A3060 is also unclear. The only difference I can see on the specs page is that the A3060 is listed as being slightly deeper.
The differences are in the features/software upgrades,
not so much hardware related on a spec sheet.

There's several other threads that are picking apart the actual differences,
eventually that info will trickle into this thread as well.

but if you want, here's a head start: Yamaha Aventage 2016 Models

For someone with an older AVR in need of an upgrade the RX-A3060 is slightly better than the 2015 model 3050,
For someone who already owns a 3050 it would be foolish to sell it at a loss and buy a new 3060.
...but if you're one of the lucky ones who got in on the Amazon "mistake" you'll probably break even.
PioManiac is offline  
post #16 of 4970 Old 05-19-2016, 09:18 AM
Member
 
djsvetljo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
This will depend on the source as it may require adding an analog audio cable to ensure main zone remains 5.1.
Like I said, the source is Blu-Ray player. I don't think there is any players on the market that can simultaneously output HDMI and analog audio.

So my question is still pending.

Also, this Q/A from a customer contradicts with your answer regarding HDMI. I don't know who to trust.
djsvetljo is offline  
post #17 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 04:05 AM
Newbie
 
Marantz-NZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I can see, the differences between the 3050 & 3060 are:

YPAO 64 bit precision adjustment, x1 extra DSP mode and Bluetooth (SBC/AAC)

Am I missing something????
Marantz-NZ is offline  
post #18 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 04:52 AM
Newbie
 
Colmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marantz-NZ View Post
From what I can see, the differences between the 3050 & 3060 are:

YPAO 64 bit precision adjustment, x1 extra DSP mode and Bluetooth (SBC/AAC)

Am I missing something????
When I asked Yamaha about the differences this was what I got back:

The RX-A3060 has the following advantages/differences over the RX-A3050

1. Dolby Atmos/DTS-X/HDR BT.2020 pass-through out of the box.
2. New Power Amp Assign allowing 5.1.2 & Bi-Amp.
3. Extra Bass Zone for 2 & 3
4. Zone Volume Equalizer(Tone Control: Auto)
5. Precision EQ with 64-bit and 3D processing
6. New HD GUI enterface.
7. RX-A3060 USB iPod/Apple USB Support removed.
8. Subwoofer EQ range 15.6 Hz to 250.0 Hz.(RX-A3050 31.3 Hz to 250.0 Hz)
9. DSP program over lay on Dolby Atmos and DTS-X

Power Specifications are the same:
2-channel driven (20 Hz to 20 kHz, 0.06% THD, 8 ohms) 150 W

Dimensions(WxHxD)
17 1/8" x 7 1/2" x 18 5/8"
17 1/8" x 10 1/8" x 18 5/8" with antenna up

Weight:
39.9 lbs.
prerich likes this.
Colmo is offline  
post #19 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16,641
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2581 Post(s)
Liked: 2041
Screenshots of the 3060 GUI on the Yamaha website look the same as previous models.
Maybe higher def?

Sub eq down to 15 looks like a sure thing now.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #20 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
Marantz-NZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colmo View Post
When I asked Yamaha about the differences this was what I got back:

The RX-A3060 has the following advantages/differences over the RX-A3050

1. Dolby Atmos/DTS-X/HDR BT.2020 pass-through out of the box.
2. New Power Amp Assign allowing 5.1.2 & Bi-Amp.
3. Extra Bass Zone for 2 & 3
4. Zone Volume Equalizer(Tone Control: Auto)
5. Precision EQ with 64-bit and 3D processing
6. New HD GUI enterface.
7. RX-A3060 USB iPod/Apple USB Support removed.
8. Subwoofer EQ range 15.6 Hz to 250.0 Hz.(RX-A3050 31.3 Hz to 250.0 Hz)
9. DSP program over lay on Dolby Atmos and DTS-X

Power Specifications are the same:
2-channel driven (20 Hz to 20 kHz, 0.06% THD, 8 ohms) 150 W

Dimensions(WxHxD)
17 1/8" x 7 1/2" x 18 5/8"
17 1/8" x 10 1/8" x 18 5/8" with antenna up

Weight:
39.9 lbs.
Couldn't they have just released a firmware update for the 3050. Doesn't look like much of a change from a hardware perspective. Fingers crossed they'll look after their customers.
Marantz-NZ is offline  
post #21 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
Colmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marantz-NZ View Post
Couldn't they have just released a firmware update for the 3050. Doesn't look like much of a change from a hardware perspective. Fingers crossed they'll look after their customers.
I asked Yamaha about a firmware update for the RX-A3050 adding any of the RX-A3060 features. The answer was:

The RX-Axx50 series will not be getting any updates for those features.
Colmo is offline  
post #22 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
adrenalin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Why would they remove Apple USB support? Seems foolish to me.
yanks1 likes this.
adrenalin is offline  
post #23 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16,641
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2581 Post(s)
Liked: 2041
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marantz-NZ View Post
Fingers crossed they'll look after their customers.
They have. You can get those features in their newest receivers.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #24 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,323
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1401 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Several Surround Dolby Pro Logic decoders have been eliminated on the new 2016 models
....well according to the manual comparisons:



Kelendral and SimpleTheater like this.
PioManiac is offline  
post #25 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 08:38 PM
Newbie
 
Marantz-NZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
They have. You can get those features in their newest receivers.
Sometimes I wonder why I bother with HT. The 3050 I just bought 6 weeks ago is no longer a current model!
Marantz-NZ is offline  
post #26 of 4970 Old 05-22-2016, 09:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,323
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1401 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marantz-NZ View Post
Sometimes I wonder why I bother with HT. The 3050 I just bought 6 weeks ago is no longer a current model!
*news flash*
New models come out EVERY year,
for Yamaha that's around June

My last Yamaha AVR upgrade was 8 years ago, (RX-V3900 Flagship)
and I didn't feel like I missed out on anything until the RX-A3050 came out for Atmos/DTS:X
and future proof for 4K HDMI 2.0a and 2.2 HDCP ...that I don't even need yet.
..and I certainly don't have any regrets paying $500 under msrp for it in late February this year.

I see nothing in the RX-A3060 that I need to enjoy my home theater.

yanks1 likes this.
PioManiac is offline  
post #27 of 4970 Old 05-23-2016, 10:50 AM
wse
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,493
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2194 Post(s)
Liked: 804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colmo View Post
When I asked Yamaha about the differences this was what I got back:

The RX-A3060 has the following advantages/differences over the RX-A3050

1. Dolby Atmos/DTS-X/HDR BT.2020 pass-through out of the box.
2. New Power Amp Assign allowing 5.1.2 & Bi-Amp.
3. Extra Bass Zone for 2 & 3
4. Zone Volume Equalizer(Tone Control: Auto)
5. Precision EQ with 64-bit and 3D processing
6. New HD GUI enterface.
7. RX-A3060 USB iPod/Apple USB Support removed.
8. Subwoofer EQ range 15.6 Hz to 250.0 Hz.(RX-A3050 31.3 Hz to 250.0 Hz)
9. DSP program over lay on Dolby Atmos and DTS-X

Power Specifications are the same:
2-channel driven (20 Hz to 20 kHz, 0.06% THD, 8 ohms) 150 W

Dimensions(WxHxD)
17 1/8" x 7 1/2" x 18 5/8"
17 1/8" x 10 1/8" x 18 5/8" with antenna up

Weight:
39.9 lbs.
Hopefully they will update the 5100
wse is offline  
post #28 of 4970 Old 05-23-2016, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
riffjim4069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Formerly Spotsylvania VA now Dallas TX Metroplex
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marantz-NZ View Post
Sometimes I wonder why I bother with HT. The 3050 I just bought 6 weeks ago is no longer a current model!
No worries...my new 3050 arrived just weeks ago and I'm pretty darn happy since my last HT upgrade was the RX-V3300. To be honest, the 3300 was a workhorse 7.1 HT receiver driving my Klipsch KLF speakers the past 12-years...a setup that is still better than 99% of the stuff on the market. Alas, having a networked HT receiver and being able to play my Spotify playlists without having to use the aweful Spotify app on my Tivo is breath of fresh-air. Yep, I too saw where the 3060 is being released...but I'm good to go for the next 5-years. I also picked-up four new Klipsch RF-7 II reference speakers along with a new R-112SW subwoofer to the 3300 is being moved into the bedroom to replace the now 17-year old RX-V2095. The bottom line is the RX-A3050 is a welcomed addition and will have a good home for years to come...even though it's now outdated technology.
riffjim4069 is offline  
post #29 of 4970 Old 05-26-2016, 07:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yamaha RX-A3060 Advanced HDMI® zone switching
Hello everybody,

I'm brand new to AVS & home theater. I have never set up a home theater system and I am currently researching and deciding which receiver to purchase. I have freinds who have Yamaha receivers and I enjoy their systems so I have been checking out Yamaha receivers this week. I have been reading about the Advanced Zone Switching in some online reviews and on some of the forums here but am still confused as to the maximum capability of the 3060 receiver.

My understanding is that Zone 1 & Zone 2 are fully independent zones, which I understand that to mean that one can be watching a movie in Zone 1 and simultaneously someone else can be either listening to music or watching something completely different in Zone 2. Is this correct? (Zone 1 - living room / Zone 2 - Patio)

My second question is: can I run 3 or 4 different zones with this receiver? I want to be able to run at least a 5.1 or 5.2 system in my living room(I may add the speakers in the ceiling for ATMOS but not sure), and in addition I have 2 speakers mounted above my patio, 2 speakers in my master bedroom, and I want to install 2 speakers in the garage. All the wiring for the speakers is already in place for these to be run off one unit. I am going to install an outdoor TV on the patio in a couple months after my contractor finishes covering it so I want to be able to listen to music or watch TV on the patio. We only want music capability in the bedroom and garage (Zone 3/4). Is this possible to acheive with this or any other comparable receiver or do I need to purchase something separate to have music in the garage?

Sorry if any of these are terrible or stupid questions. I am new to home theater and multi-zone capability, but am trying to get up to speed so I can install a good system. Thanks for your help!
TXBoiler is offline  
post #30 of 4970 Old 05-26-2016, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 69,131
Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13869 Post(s)
Liked: 6497
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXBoiler View Post
Yamaha RX-A3060 Advanced HDMI® zone switching
Hello everybody,

I'm brand new to AVS & home theater. I have never set up a home theater system and I am currently researching and deciding which receiver to purchase. I have freinds who have Yamaha receivers and I enjoy their systems so I have been checking out Yamaha receivers this week. I have been reading about the Advanced Zone Switching in some online reviews and on some of the forums here but am still confused as to the maximum capability of the 3060 receiver.

My understanding is that Zone 1 & Zone 2 are fully independent zones, which I understand that to mean that one can be watching a movie in Zone 1 and simultaneously someone else can be either listening to music or watching something completely different in Zone 2. Is this correct? (Zone 1 - living room / Zone 2 - Patio)

My second question is: can I run 3 or 4 different zones with this receiver? I want to be able to run at least a 5.1 or 5.2 system in my living room(I may add the speakers in the ceiling for ATMOS but not sure), and in addition I have 2 speakers mounted above my patio, 2 speakers in my master bedroom, and I want to install 2 speakers in the garage. All the wiring for the speakers is already in place for these to be run off one unit. I am going to install an outdoor TV on the patio in a couple months after my contractor finishes covering it so I want to be able to listen to music or watch TV on the patio. We only want music capability in the bedroom and garage (Zone 3/4). Is this possible to acheive with this or any other comparable receiver or do I need to purchase something separate to have music in the garage?

Sorry if any of these are terrible or stupid questions. I am new to home theater and multi-zone capability, but am trying to get up to speed so I can install a good system. Thanks for your help!
1. Correct, in fact Zones 1- 4 are completely independent zones with the restriction that Zone 4 is HDMI out only so would have to go either directly to a TV (using the TV's speakers) or to another AVR which would then power the Zone 4 speakers.
2. The A3060 is a 9CH AVR so you have a number of options to include:

Bedroom and garage must get the same source:
(a) Living Room (5.1) + Zone 2 - Patio (2.0) with HDMI video going to the TV after assigning the HDMI Zone Output to Zone 2 and Zone 2 speakers connected to A3060(Extra SP1 speaker posts) + Zone 3 - bedroom + garage (2.0) (connected via an impedance matching speaker selector) to the A3060 (Extra SP2 speaker posts).

Each zone can get an independent source:
(b) Living Room (5.1) + Zone 2 - bedroom (2.0) + Zone 3 - Garage (2.0) + Zone 4 - Patio, after assigning the Zone Output to Zone 4 which would then pass an HDMI source audio/video to another AVR that would power the Patio speakers and pass the video to the TV or if using the TV's speakers an additional AVR would not be required.
heavy21, richlife, pgwalsh and 1 others like this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-26-2016 at 08:23 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off