AVS Forum banner

Basic Multi Room Audio

609 views 13 replies 5 participants last post by  Wayne A. Pflughaupt 
#1 ·
Good Evening,

I am attempting to setup an inexpensive multi room speaker system in my house and am looking for guidance. Would the below setup work?

-Pyle PFA400U Audio Amplifier

-Pyle 8-Channel Speaker Selector

-Pyle PDIC80 Speakers, 7 pairs

I would connect a Chromecast Audio to the Amplifier using an RCA to 3.5mm cable plugged into the input on the amplifier.

I would also probably use volume control knobs in each zone between the speaker selector and speakers.

I am a complete amateur when it comes to this type of equipment. I appreciate your help and guidance.

Thanks!

#2 ·
You don't need a speaker selector switch if you're using impedance matching volume controls. Will it work, yes. Results? You get what you pay for. That alot of work wiring all that up and cutting all those holes in your home for a $14 speaker...

#3 ·
Thanks for the reply!

It's a one story house with good attic access so I am used to moving around up there. I have actually installed speakers in the ceiling with volume controls but I am looking to add more zones.

One question. Dont I need the speaker selector? If I am planning on having 7 different zones wont I need the speaker selector given the amplifier I want to purchase? There are only outputs for 2 speaker on the amp.

Thanks!

#5 ·
Perfect, thanks!

To clarify, the Pyle PFA400U Audio Amplifier will be able to power all 7 zones through the Niles VCS Hub 8 or speaker selector (I may chose to go with a speaker selector because I may want to turn some zones off from the central location)? I wasn't sure if this was a sufficient amplifier.

Thanks again

#6 ·

Good Evening,

I am attempting to setup an inexpensive multi room speaker system in my house and am looking for guidance. Would the below setup work?
It’ll probably work, for a little while at least.