Rotel Announces RAP-1580 7-Channel Integrated Amp with 7.1.4 Processing - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 41Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 55 Old 03-29-2017, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 5,972
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by prerich View Post
That definition came from a PC mag.... (Yes I work in IT but I also worked in the AV industry for years). PC mags have messed up quite a few AV terms - I've encountered it working with ITV, I was actually hired because of my Audio-Video/PA knowledge as well as my IT certs.

Here's the history of said audio terms : Seperates - Integrated Amps, Receivers, AV Receivers

http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...CDqTMZTXb9r.97
Yeah still sounds like a receiver. Looks like we have to agree to disagree.
prerich likes this.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 55 Old 03-29-2017, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 5,972
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by auronihilist View Post
What a gorgeous looking machine. I'll take three. One for each room.
No argument from me on this one. It is beautiful.
prerich likes this.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
post #33 of 55 Old 03-29-2017, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
prerich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
Yeah still sounds like a receiver. Looks like we have to agree to disagree.
No probs with that
Legairre likes this.
prerich is online now  
 
post #34 of 55 Old 03-29-2017, 09:59 AM
Member
 
sdmf74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
And where do enter to win one of these bad boys?

\m/ Strength Determination Merciless Forever \m/

Yamaha RX-V3800 /Sony BDP-S790
Klipsch legend series speakers & dual THX ultra II subwoofers / external Amp
LG 55lm5800 / custom built CaseLabs watercooled pc
sdmf74 is offline  
post #35 of 55 Old 03-29-2017, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: State of Confusion
Posts: 2,963
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2261 Post(s)
Liked: 2437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
I love Rotel amps and even own three, but isn't this just a $3800, 7x100 wpc receiver, with no room correction that you still need to buy 4 external amp channels for Atmos?
Agreed. Anthem and Arcam are much better price points with room correction. Us Texans are still big fans of Rotel though.....

nx211, kamouflage, PTAaron and 1 others like this.

Last edited by Molon_Labe; 03-29-2017 at 11:43 AM.
Molon_Labe is online now  
post #36 of 55 Old 03-29-2017, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
luismanrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 111
That is one beautiful receiver, but for the price I'm all over the Anthem.
New24K likes this.

Do not steal, The powers that be do not like the competition.
luismanrara is offline  
post #37 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 12:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Rotel RAP-1580

The Rotel RAP 1580 is indeed AV receiver without built-in tuner or the more appropriate term would be multi-channel surround amplifier processor. I think the term "integrated amp" is usually referred to a stereo integrated amp.

I've owned Rotel gears in the past but never owned their home theater gears. I only owned Rotel's stereo gears in the past and was very satisfied with their sonic performances especially for the money.

I've demoed the Rotel RSP-1582 preamp processor + Rotel RMB-1585 five-channel amp and they sounded really good together. Only demoed in 2ch music performance. That RMB-1585 amp is a beast and weighs 80 lbs. It outputs 200 wpc @ 8 ohms with all channels driven and is stable down to 2 ohms and is capable to drive just about any difficult to drive speakers. However, I've heard from lot of people that the RSP-1582 processor is buggy and has had numerous issues related to hdmi switchings and software bugs.

Back to the RAP-1580, my dealer said that sonic performance wise for both stereo music and home theater the RAP-1580 is in the same league as the NAD's flagship AV receiver and some higher end Arcam receivers. I've never listened to it myself but they said it sounded and performed extraordinarily. And it's very musical.

I think the RAP-1580 is equipped with 10 channel manual PEQ but you will have to calibrate it manually and requires proper tools and knowledge on how to implement its manual PEQ.
All Rotel and Classe pre pros aren't equipped with automatic room EQ calibration software. Bryston SP3 pre pro also lacks auto room EQ and does not even provide manual PEQ. But the Bryston SP3 sounded really good for 2ch music or when used as an analog stereo preamp.

Last edited by vivace; 03-30-2017 at 12:08 AM.
vivace is offline  
post #38 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by luismanrara View Post
That is one beautiful receiver, but for the price I'm all over the Anthem.
Exactly...

Can someone tell me why this 1580 is $1,300 more than the Anthem MRX 720 - which is a 11.2 Pre-Amp / 7 Amplifier Channel A/V receiver with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X. 140 watts per channel...?
New24K is offline  
post #39 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fatuglyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: southern california
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
Exactly...

Can someone tell me why this 1580 is $1,300 more than the Anthem MRX 720 - which is a 11.2 Pre-Amp / 7 Amplifier Channel A/V receiver with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X. 140 watts per channel...?
Anthem confusingly specifies 140w/ch for "Channels 1-5, two driven into 8 ohms (1% THD)," with the "Remaining Channels, Two Driven into 8 Ohms" at 60 W

Rotel specifies 100w x 7, all channels driven, 8 ohms, at 0.05% THD, and 150w with 2 channels driven at 0.03% THD.

Say what you will about the price, but I'd say the power supply and amp section in the RAP-1580 is a cut above that found in most A/V receivers...
Goalline, Easyaspie and Uppsalaing like this.

desktop + headphone Sonus faber Toy monitor|REL T Zero|Sony UDA-1|Sony MDR-Z7|Sony MDR-1000X|Audioquest NightHawk|Ultimate Ears Triple.fi 10|Sony NW-A35
ht Sony A1E 65" OLED|Monitor Audio Silver RX6, RX Centre, RX1|SVS SB-2000|Sony STR-ZA5000ES|Sony UBP-X1000ES|Sonos Connect + Peachtree Audio DAC•iT|Panamax M-5100PM
stereo Sonus faber Olympica II|REL S/5|Teac UD-501|Sony TA-A1ES|Sony SCD-777ES|Sony ST-SA50ES|Sony 43" X800D|Sony UBP-X800|Sonos Connect|Furman Elite-15 PFi
fatuglyguy is offline  
post #40 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 01:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatuglyguy View Post
Anthem confusingly specifies 140w/ch for "Channels 1-5, two driven into 8 ohms (1% THD)," with the "Remaining Channels, Two Driven into 8 Ohms" at 60 W

Rotel specifies 100w x 7, all channels driven, 8 ohms, at 0.05% THD, and 150w with 2 channels driven at 0.03% THD.
Why, and when, would you need more than 60 watts per channel for the 6th and 7th channels...?
New24K is offline  
post #41 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 01:57 PM
Member
 
TheZoof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatuglyguy View Post
Anthem confusingly specifies 140w/ch for "Channels 1-5, two driven into 8 ohms (1% THD)," with the "Remaining Channels, Two Driven into 8 Ohms" at 60 W

Rotel specifies 100w x 7, all channels driven, 8 ohms, at 0.05% THD, and 150w with 2 channels driven at 0.03% THD.

Say what you will about the price, but I'd say the power supply and amp section in the RAP-1580 is a cut above that found in most A/V receivers...
I'd argue that you are correct.

One thing I have learned about audio equipment is price doesn't tell you everything but it certainly tells you something.

I believe I need Dolby Vision on my next purchase so it will not be this.

Zoof

Pioneer KRP 500m | Pioneer Elite AVR | PSB
TheZoof is offline  
post #42 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Mark Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Rotel processors and receivers do not come with speaker calibration?
Mark Harrison is offline  
post #43 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Great deal amount of power required for all channels during massively dynamic movie scenes or at peaks where it draws great deal amount of currents throughout all channels.
vivace is offline  
post #44 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
Why, and when, would you need more than 60 watts per channel for the 6th and 7th channels...?
Great deal amount of power required for all channels during massively dynamic movie scenes or at peaks when it draws great deal amount of high currents throughout all channels in order to create highly dynamic and immersive surround sound experiences and not being limited or congested or felt compressed.
vivace is offline  
post #45 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Harrison View Post
Rotel processors and receivers do not come with speaker calibration?
No, Rotel and Classe ht processors do not come with automatic room EQ calibration software but they provide manual PEQ calibration that requires proper tools and equipments and thorough knowledge on how to implement it.
I would suggest that you have your certified Rotel dealer do manual calibration for you. I know......it takes time and efforts and quite a bit of works. But if it's done properly and correctly you will be rewarded with the sonic results.
vivace is offline  
post #46 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivace View Post
Great deal amount of power required for all channels during massively dynamic movie scenes or at peaks when it draws great deal amount of high currents throughout all channels in order to create highly dynamic and immersive surround sound experiences and not being limited or congested or felt compressed.
Not in the 6th and 7th channels...

And not more than 60 watts.

New24K is offline  
post #47 of 55 Old 03-30-2017, 10:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
Why, and when, would you need more than 60 watts per channel for the 6th and 7th channels...?
When listening to music in all-channel stereo mode?
fitbrit is offline  
post #48 of 55 Old 03-31-2017, 12:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adrummingdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 629 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
Why, and when, would you need more than 60 watts per channel for the 6th and 7th channels...?
Why not?

Having plenty of power on tap is rarely a bad thing. Not having enough power is often a bad thing. I know which side I'm going to err on.
fatuglyguy, Easyaspie and sdmf74 like this.

HT: B&W 802 D2 - Martin Logan Focus - DefTech XTR-20BP - Dual SVS SB16 Ultra - Parasound Halo A21 and A31 - Anthem AVM 60 - Samsung UN65JS8500

Office 2CH: Martin Logan Motion 60Xt - Crown XLI 800 - Bluesound Node 2
WAF is currently at DEFCON ORANGE
adrummingdude is offline  
post #49 of 55 Old 04-30-2017, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheZoof View Post
I'd argue that you are correct.

One thing I have learned about audio equipment is price doesn't tell you everything but it certainly tells you something.

I believe I need Dolby Vision on my next purchase so it will not be this.
I own the Rap-1580 and i looked at the Arcam but there price point came in nearly 2grand more. The amp on this thing is pretty impressive. I look at all of these people comparing this to all the manufactures that introduce a new model every year . I ask myself this simple question why the heck didn't they make a better product last year that is needs to be replaced the very next year. Rotel is a conservative company and i like that. When you buy there product ya don't feel like a schmuck 6months later when a new model comes out with all new bells and whistles. ..
robphx is offline  
post #50 of 55 Old 04-30-2017, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivace View Post
No, Rotel and Classe ht processors do not come with automatic room EQ calibration software but they provide manual PEQ calibration that requires proper tools and equipments and thorough knowledge on how to implement it.
I would suggest that you have your certified Rotel dealer do manual calibration for you. I know......it takes time and efforts and quite a bit of works. But if it's done properly and correctly you will be rewarded with the sonic results.
I contacted my Magnolia shop in my area and they quoted me 300 bucks to dial in the parametric eq . In my opinion that isn't too bad to dial it in.
robphx is offline  
post #51 of 55 Old 04-30-2017, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by robphx View Post
I contacted my Magnolia shop in my area and they quoted me 300 bucks to dial in the parametric eq . In my opinion that isn't too bad to dial it in.
I wouldn't want anything "dialed in" by a best buy employee. You'd be much better served finding someone in your area with experience and qualifications to calibrate your system.

Or, be one of us crazy people and jump with both feet down the rabbit hole and learn what you need to do it yourself.
duckymomo is offline  
post #52 of 55 Old 05-03-2017, 11:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
4k pass through

Ok I have tried everything under the sun to pass 4K from direct tv through the RAP-1580. I have had zero consistency with this issue. I have been forced to bypass the RAP-1580 all together with any video . The lengths i have gone through these past few weeks have been incredible. I first purchased all new hdmi cables. next i got a new direct tv box. then i ended up taking back the RAP-1580 and got a new RAP-1580 . then i hooked up an Altona UHD SYNC . oh wait you guessed it no luck with that either so far. I have never ever experienced such a gigantic headache over something so absolutely simple. i mean simple setup here nothing complex about it. I would love to hear from any other owners of this product to see how they are doing with passing 4k video through this piece. I think this is one firmware update away. but before ya think i didn't update this thing i did that as well . the first unit i did it via ethernet this time i tried doing it via usb. even did the reset once it was updated and entered all the values into the settings again.. but the result unfortunately was the exact same. so at the end of all of this so far all i have to show for it is lack of sleep and a new appreciation of some of the old school ways we used to connect components with trusty analog cables.. this hdmi is less than great as far as i am concerned now .. anyone who has a RAP-1580 hit me up i would love to hear your story with the piece ...oh wait i even used a hdmi snoop program given to me by one of the techs. hopefully the information in those reports will help resolve this issue.. well thanks for getting to the end of this i am venting and desperate for someone to give me the golden nugget to resolve this issue..
robphx is offline  
post #53 of 55 Old 10-04-2017, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Have a Rap 1580. Crashed while updating sw via internet. Had to restart. Looks like something turned sour. Get flashing blue led on power button and the rotel rap 1580 logo on screen. Any suggestions?
Gusman57 is offline  
post #54 of 55 Old 10-04-2017, 05:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Btw tried everything, powering on and off via both switches, disconnecting unit and holding menu button for 15 seconds. Still nothing.
Gusman57 is offline  
post #55 of 55 Old 10-04-2017, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2,001
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1288 Post(s)
Liked: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by robphx View Post
I own the Rap-1580 and i looked at the Arcam but there price point came in nearly 2grand more. The amp on this thing is pretty impressive. I look at all of these people comparing this to all the manufactures that introduce a new model every year . I ask myself this simple question why the heck didn't they make a better product last year that is needs to be replaced the very next year. Rotel is a conservative company and i like that. When you buy there product ya don't feel like a schmuck 6months later when a new model comes out with all new bells and whistles. ..
The downside is that their products can become stale and not support the newest surround formats, HDMI/HDCP standards, HDR pass-through options, room correction systems, etc.

You do have some companies, like NAD and Emotiva, that try to future-proof by building a modular design and then later offering expansion modules, but that can be hit and miss on both the pricing and software support of those modules (such as some of the NAD 4K expansion modules disabling the on-screen overlay when using the 4K inputs).

My receiver is 16 years old now, so I figure I can wait another year for HDMI 2.1 support to come out. I doubt Rotel is going to offer a HDMI 2.1 unit next year.

HT: Sony 940C, Oppo 203, Harman/Kardon DPR1001, Infinity Interlude IL40 x2, Infinity Interlude IL36C, Infinity MS-1 ii x2, Infinity MSW-1
Computer: Elac Uni-Fi UB5 x2, Elac Element EA101EQ integrated amp, SVS SB-12NSD
Dedicated 2-channel: Infinity Intermezzo 4.1t towers, Bluesound Node 2, Emotiva PT-100, Crown XLS 1502, Furman PL-8C
TuteTibiImperes is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
av receiver , dolby atmos , RAP-1580 , Rotel

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off