MultEQ Editor: New App for Denon & Marantz AV Receivers & Pre/Pros - Page 43 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 904Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 1618 Old 08-31-2017, 02:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4,655
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1928 Post(s)
Liked: 2827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaurhead View Post
So, has anyone figured out how to get the app to find your AVR (SR6011 in my case) if it doesn't appear on the network, if both available IP addresses aren't "valid" and if your home doesn't have a static IP?
Expecting a lot from the app when the 6011 doesn't appear on your LAN. Which router is the 6011 connected to? Wired or wireless? Reset the 6011's network chip or rebooted the router?

Last edited by bmcn; 08-31-2017 at 03:43 AM.
bmcn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 1618 Old 08-31-2017, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 12,691
Mentioned: 292 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4147 Post(s)
Liked: 3504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathometheatre3838 View Post
Someone may have already asked this question but I couldn't find it if they did. Does this app support the current Denon flagship X7200WA? If not, why in the world would they make an app that doesn't support their current flagship AVR? Anyone know the answer to this?
This app release came out along with (albeit delayed) the '16 models. As Denon and Marantz only update their flagship models every two years, the '15 released 7200 and the 8802 respectively still operate on the old audyssey "Pro" kit instead of the new app. They will likely be announcing new flagships at Cedia in the coming weeks, both of which will now transition to the new audyssey app almost certainly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post
I don't believe so. I believe the app only supports 2016 models and newer. For Denon, that's the x300 series and newly released x400 series. The 7200 isn't scheduled to be replaced until 2018.

That said, I would imagine the 7200 *could* be upgraded to support the app if Denon desired to do so. It would certainly require a firmware update though. That's most likely why they aren't providing support for the x200 models and earlier - they would have to develop and test new firmware updates for all of them.
No firmware update will be available for the older models to operate on the new app as it has been stated they don't have enough processing power to be able to work with the new app, and still have the capability of using the audyssey pro kit.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is online now  
post #1263 of 1618 Old 08-31-2017, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Still makes me wonder, because a 7200WA should most certainly have more than enough computing power besting or at least being equal to everything from the "lower" AVR categories of both brands, which have those capabilities enabled.
I would judge it therefore to be a "political" decision to not provide a firmware update which could handle this. When the DV and HLG update had been announced for the 2016 / 2017 models some time ago the Denon 7200 (and the Marantz 8802a) had been excluded as well for the same reasons, but later-on this has been corrected due to protests of the owners of the still current "top-of-the-line" model.

One has to evaluate, if such decisions are really "hardware limited" or just been denied an update for other (economical) reasons.

Last edited by gurkey; 08-31-2017 at 07:59 AM.
gurkey is online now  
 
post #1264 of 1618 Old 08-31-2017, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 12,691
Mentioned: 292 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4147 Post(s)
Liked: 3504
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post
Still makes me wonder, because a 7200WA should most certainly have more than enough computing power besting or at least being equal to everything from the "lower" AVR categories of both brands, which have those capabilities enabled.
I would judge it therefore to be a "political" decision to not provide a firmware update which could handle this. When the DV and HLG update had been announced for the 2016 / 2017 models some time ago the Denon 7200 (and the Marantz 8802a) had been excluded as well for the same reasons, but later-on this has been corrected due to protests of the owners of the still current "top-of-the-line" model.

One has to evaluate, if such decisions are really "hardware limited" or just been denied an update for other (economical) reasons.
Well of course the latter would motivation in the wrong direction for any company to provide retro-model updates. Then no one would buy the shiny new model? Yea it stinks but when you only update your flagship every other year, I still see how it makes sense.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is online now  
post #1265 of 1618 Old 08-31-2017, 08:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 7,666
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1629 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Whether real or artificial, D&M have stated that models that support Audyseey Pro cannot support the App and models that support the App cannot support Audyssey Pro -- and that they are not converting from one to the other in any model. It is either one way or the other upon release and that is the way it stays.

***
My current setup.
My favorite movie review podcast, the Next Picture Show.
Don't suffer through Gamma D on your JVC. Optimize HDR Tone Mapping using Arve's tool & Masciola's test patterns instead (hints.)
nathan_h is online now  
post #1266 of 1618 Old 09-02-2017, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
gregcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I've had the app for a few days now and I think it's a great supplement to the AVR built in Audyssey. While not as featured rich as DIRAC, it meets my needs. With the app, I turned off the mid range compensation, tried correction cut off at 500hz, 1khz, and 4khz. I liked 1khz the best - it gives enough sparkle without being bright, at least in my small room. I have not tested the sub yet and i'm hoping I will not be let down. I think the app is worth the $20 asking price, but I do wish there was an option install on a desktop/laptop to allow more precise adjustments (i.e. using a mouse or typing in values vs. using a finger to slide on cell phone screen). Let me know if there are any tips, tricks, suggestions, etc. that I should look into.
gregcss is online now  
post #1267 of 1618 Old 09-02-2017, 10:15 AM
JJ7
Senior Member
 
JJ7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falconsfan71 View Post
I've tried to read through most of this thread and there's mixed opinions of the App.. especially for an additional $20. Is it worth paying for and worth having? Is it too technical or confusing for the normal consumer? Is it worth getting if you don't have REW and a mic? Thanks (X4300H)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The app is great, giving you substantially more control and tweakibility. It's a small price to pay on top of the AVR itself. On IOS I've never really had a problem... the first version crashed on me once or twice but no issues since.
Falconsfan71 likes this.
JJ7 is offline  
post #1268 of 1618 Old 09-02-2017, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vitod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pocono, PA
Posts: 3,620
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Soooo...an app update for 2015 models won't exist. Correct?

Panasonic AE-8000, Carada BW 120", Paradigm Studio 40v3 x 2, Paradigm 690v4, Paradigm ADP 470v3 (rears), Micca M-8C x 4, Volt 6 x 2 (SR), SI DS4-18 in 12cuft X 2, Marantz 7702MKII, OPPO 103D, Emotiva XPA-3,
vitod is offline  
post #1269 of 1618 Old 09-02-2017, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 7,666
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1629 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Correct.

***
My current setup.
My favorite movie review podcast, the Next Picture Show.
Don't suffer through Gamma D on your JVC. Optimize HDR Tone Mapping using Arve's tool & Masciola's test patterns instead (hints.)
nathan_h is online now  
post #1270 of 1618 Old 09-04-2017, 12:08 PM
Member
 
bearr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Stupid question here...
I just bought a Marantz SR7011, and purchased the app from Apple. Haven't actually used either yet, but my question is this:

If I delete the app in order to clear out some errors, how do I avoid having to pay Apple another $20 to reinstall it? Thanks in advance.
Jack
bearr48 is offline  
post #1271 of 1618 Old 09-04-2017, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 665 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearr48 View Post
Stupid question here...
I just bought a Marantz SR7011, and purchased the app from Apple. Haven't actually used either yet, but my question is this:

If I delete the app in order to clear out some errors, how do I avoid having to pay Apple another $20 to reinstall it? Thanks in advance.
Jack
Should be no problem. Once you purchase the app, Apple has a record of it and if you delete it, just download it again. It should not charge you a second time as you already paid.

I have downloaded paid apps many time and I have never been charged. If you do by accident get charged, call apple support and tell them. They will refund your money as you should not be charged twice.
bearr48 and Madmax67 like this.
GregCh is online now  
post #1272 of 1618 Old 09-04-2017, 12:58 PM
Member
 
bearr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregCh View Post
Should be no problem. Once you purchase the app, Apple has a record of it and if you delete it, just download it again. It should not charge you a second time as you already paid.

I have downloaded paid apps many time and I have never been charged. If you do by accident get charged, call apple support and tell them. They will refund your money as you should not be charged twice.
Thank you Sir!
bearr48 is offline  
post #1273 of 1618 Old 09-04-2017, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I have a problem with the app, it always sets both subwoofers to -12db (even if I set the gain on them so low in that I get a warning that the sub volume is to low on the first measurement). The reciver is a Denon X3300 and the app is on an iPad.

Anybody come across this and know what to do?
Nordvest22 is offline  
post #1274 of 1618 Old 09-05-2017, 02:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 3
To answer my own question




This morning I level matched the subwoofers even closer than before, deleted and reinstalled the app and rebooted the AVR right before I did a new calibration.

Luckily, something of that helped because this time I got results within range (-8 for one and -8,5 for the other) and the distances were also correct this time. This might also have helped with the eq curves because they look a bit better than before.
Nordvest22 is offline  
post #1275 of 1618 Old 09-05-2017, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearr48 View Post
If I delete the app in order to clear out some errors, how do I avoid having to pay Apple another $20 to reinstall it? Thanks in advance.
Jack
It's no different than when you lose your iPhone or get a new model. Apple keeps track of all the apps you've bought using your Apple ID. When you get a new iPhone, you can re-download anything you've already purchased with that Apple ID for free.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #1276 of 1618 Old 09-12-2017, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
gregcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I havent heard from the app developer (email from google play site) regarding my inquiry about the 20hz cut off. Surprised? Me either. In any case, could I play an audio track with test tones at 20hz, 19, 18....14hz and use an SPL meter to compare numbers between the AVRs correction and the App correction?
gregcss is online now  
post #1277 of 1618 Old 09-12-2017, 10:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 528
I'm having a problem with the MultEQ app.

My AVR is a Denon X4300H.

MultEQ 1.1.2 on a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 edition (3GB RAM, tablet model SM-P600) with Android 5.1.1. (Samsung appears to be not the best with Android OS updates.)

The Android app crashes every time I try to do a measurement. After I loaded a pre-existing profile, I could get as far as "looking for an AVR" (maybe a paraphrase) before it crashed.

I've uninstalled and re-installed the app a few times. I haven't tried a factory reset, but I've done a lot of messing about otherwise.

Is anyone else having the problem? Has anyone found a fix?

I won't complain about the possible waste of $20, but I successfully ran an older version and I preferred the calibration result it gave over the version run from the AVR. I need to do a fresh calibration, as I've added a second sub.

I have communicated the problem to Denon support, and they have escalated it, but I'm not very hopeful. I asked if they could recommend a tablet that was known to support the app. Their response was that any device that met the posted requirements should work. I interpret that as meaning that the Denon people don't know what devices 1.1.2 has been successfully tested on.
bobknavs is online now  
post #1278 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 02:29 AM
Senior Member
 
WhiteJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I'm having a problem with the MultEQ app.

My AVR is a Denon X4300H.

MultEQ 1.1.2 on a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 edition (3GB RAM, tablet model SM-P600) with Android 5.1.1. (Samsung appears to be not the best with Android OS updates.)

The Android app crashes every time I try to do a measurement. After I loaded a pre-existing profile, I could get as far as "looking for an AVR" (maybe a paraphrase) before it crashed.

I've uninstalled and re-installed the app a few times. I haven't tried a factory reset, but I've done a lot of messing about otherwise.

Is anyone else having the problem? Has anyone found a fix?

I won't complain about the possible waste of $20, but I successfully ran an older version and I preferred the calibration result it gave over the version run from the AVR. I need to do a fresh calibration, as I've added a second sub.

I have communicated the problem to Denon support, and they have escalated it, but I'm not very hopeful. I asked if they could recommend a tablet that was known to support the app. Their response was that any device that met the posted requirements should work. I interpret that as meaning that the Denon people don't know what devices 1.1.2 has been successfully tested on.
I have a Galaxy Tab A S-pen, and the first run failed at the end of the measurements when a asks to name the file. I force stopped the app, cleared data and cache, uninstalled, reinstalled, and restarted tablet. It has been rock solid since. Hppe you can figure out the issue, your device should run that no problem. Good luck.
bmcn likes this.
WhiteJ is offline  
post #1279 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
jchong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Question about this midrange compensation thing: if you run Audy via the AVR then midrange compensation is on by default correct? And there is no way to turn it off?
jchong is offline  
post #1280 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
gregcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchong View Post
Question about this midrange compensation thing: if you run Audy via the AVR then midrange compensation is on by default correct? And there is no way to turn it off?
From what others have posted the answers are:

if you run Audy via the AVR then midrange compensation is on by default correct? Yes

And there is no way to turn it off? No
gregcss is online now  
post #1281 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
jchong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregcss View Post
From what others have posted the answers are:

if you run Audy via the AVR then midrange compensation is on by default correct? Yes

And there is no way to turn it off? No
Thanks gregcss.
jchong is offline  
post #1282 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 4,596
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregcss View Post
From what others have posted the answers are:

if you run Audy via the AVR then midrange compensation is on by default correct? Yes

And there is no way to turn it off? No
Actually, only the reference curve has it on. It is off using the flat curve.
Madmax67 likes this.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #1283 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
gregcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post
Actually, only the reference curve has it on. It is off using the flat curve.
Is that the only change the the Flat Curve does, only turning off MRC?
gregcss is online now  
post #1284 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 7,666
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1629 Post(s)
Liked: 1076
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregcss View Post
Is that the only change the the Flat Curve does, only turning off MRC?
It also avoids the high end roll off.
primetimeguy likes this.

***
My current setup.
My favorite movie review podcast, the Next Picture Show.
Don't suffer through Gamma D on your JVC. Optimize HDR Tone Mapping using Arve's tool & Masciola's test patterns instead (hints.)
nathan_h is online now  
post #1285 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4,655
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1928 Post(s)
Liked: 2827
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I'm having a problem with the MultEQ app...
Factory reset of the AVR should help.
bmcn is offline  
post #1286 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
marco1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I have communicated the problem to Denon support, and they have escalated it, but I'm not very hopeful. I asked if they could recommend a tablet that was known to support the app. Their response was that any device that met the posted requirements should work. I interpret that as meaning that the Denon people don't know what devices 1.1.2 has been successfully tested on.
my personal experience with Denon support has been the worst i have ever had, and when it comes to this App. it seems they don,t know much about whats going on.
marco1975 is offline  
post #1287 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
marco1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post
Actually, only the reference curve has it on. It is off using the flat curve.
However if u run Audy. using the App. then the MRC. is ON for both the reference and the flat curve automatically by default, and turning it OFF again will alter both reference and flat.
Madmax67 likes this.
marco1975 is offline  
post #1288 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcn View Post
Factory reset of the AVR should help.
Willing to try, but it seems a little random.

The app crashes immediately on trying to begin a measurement. Before the AVR is detected. That happens even if the AVR is on standby.

The Audyssey measurement runs OK from the AVR. The problem seems to reside in the tablet/app.

Last edited by bobknavs; 09-13-2017 at 08:31 AM.
bobknavs is online now  
post #1289 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco1975 View Post
my personal experience with Denon support has been the worst i have ever had, and when it comes to this App. it seems they don,t know much about whats going on.
I've had much worse tech support. The Denon people weren't arrogant or hostile, and I didn't encounter what I refer to as Making Stuff Up (not Stuff, though).

I have the impression that the app was 100% outsourced, and that the Denon support people know very little about it.

In my latest communication with them, they asked for the AVR's serial number and the Google Play store order number for the app. I provided both. Not sure what's up with that, but somehow it doesn't feel relevant to a technical fix. Are legal issues rising? (Class action lawsuit over a $20 app? Seems silly.)
ahblaza likes this.
bobknavs is online now  
post #1290 of 1618 Old 09-13-2017, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4,655
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1928 Post(s)
Liked: 2827
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
Willing to try, but it seems a little random.

The app crashes immediately on trying to begin a measurement. Before the AVR is detected. That happens even if the AVR is on standby.

The Audyssey measurement runs OK from the AVR. The problem seems to reside in the tablet/app.
Presumably your fw is up to date; try 2-3 resets in quick succession. Ensure tablet doesn't have sleep mode enabled. My guess is they wanted PS number to verify tablet is compatible. Don't allow serial naysayers to muddy the water.

Last edited by bmcn; 09-13-2017 at 09:17 AM.
bmcn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Denon , Marantz , multeq editor app

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off