Pseudo-Official 3805 Thread - Page 90 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2671 of 2681 Old 07-14-2009, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsteves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
danoeltico
Did it work fine before changing rack/stand? I have a salamander myself, which I love, but it did not stop anything from working!
Did you redo the setup or just plug everything back into the same places? Maybe you didn't write things down, and changed something? (my usual culprit)
tsteves is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2672 of 2681 Old 07-14-2009, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsteves View Post

danoeltico
Did it work fine before changing rack/stand? I have a salamander myself, which I love, but it did not stop anything from working!
Did you redo the setup or just plug everything back into the same places? Maybe you didn't write things down, and changed something? (my usual culprit)

My rather complicated system is such a tangled mess of wires it's unbelievable. Left and right subs connected to the L/R mains, a separate L/R/C amp, a separate LFE sub, and now two DVD players, one of which uses D-Link and the other using EXT-IN analog. I've learned that whenever I change something I always mark each connection so I know exactly where it was plugged into before making the change. Someday I hope to simplify things somewhat using HDMI connections, but for now I am very happy with the way everything sounds.
JBaumgart is offline  
post #2673 of 2681 Old 07-15-2009, 06:59 AM
Member
 
danoeltico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: RDU NC
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tsteves
Everything did work fine before hand, I know it isn't because of the stand, it is something with the Denon I guess. I did redo the set up, and tried every different component input on the back then changed the input in the setup and nothing. Like I said, I can get signal from the dvd player to go through, but nothing from the XBOX. The XBOX will work when I plug it directly into the TV, but not through the denon. I've even tried changing the output resolution of the XBOX and nothing...

Love my BDP-09!
danoeltico is offline  
post #2674 of 2681 Old 07-15-2009, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsteves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JBaumgart
3 Subs?! You are a Mans Man!
tsteves is offline  
post #2675 of 2681 Old 07-15-2009, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsteves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
danoeltico
So even if you set the DVD player and Xbox to the same resolution and then swap inputs, nothing?
You may be in the A/V twilight zone!
tsteves is offline  
post #2676 of 2681 Old 07-15-2009, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsteves View Post

JBaumgart
3 Subs?! You are a Mans Man!

The real benefit is that the L/R subs allow for clean bass all the way down to 20hz from the main speakers, and allow these speakers to be set to "large" after doing the auto calibration. This provides "stereo bass" that improves imaging throughout the entire frequency range, and the separate (Odyssey) amp provides a more detailed sound and higher volumes than the 3805 can deliver on its own.

I am very happy with the sound, but it sure would be nice to have HDMI in the receiver which would eliminate some of the wires and allow room/frequency EQ from my new Oppo BDP-83.
JBaumgart is offline  
post #2677 of 2681 Old 11-30-2009, 04:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Does anybody have a service manual for the 3805?
The search function sucks and I tried to go manually thru 2675 posts but it is not working...
SoNic67 is offline  
post #2678 of 2681 Old 11-30-2009, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post

Does anybody have a service manual for the 3805?
The search function sucks and I tried to go manually thru 2675 posts but it is not working...

I have the Owner's Manual, if that's what you mean, in PDF format. If you post your email I can send you a copy.
JBaumgart is offline  
post #2679 of 2681 Old 11-21-2011, 04:10 AM
Senior Member
 
gchuva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to adjust the volume settings for different inputs? My dvd players plays a lot louder than my tv, and they both use coaxial, but I don't know how to adjust.
gchuva is offline  
post #2680 of 2681 Old 11-21-2011, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Denons allow for separate settings by surround mode, not by input. That includes trimming levels. So, you could assign different surround modes to the usual types of audio from the TV and DVD player.

I don't have a manual handy. But, as I recall, the information is in the surround modes section.
BIslander is offline  
post #2681 of 2681 Old 11-21-2011, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

Denons allow for separate settings by surround mode, not by input. That includes trimming levels. So, you could assign different surround modes to the usual types of audio from the TV and DVD player.

The advice given is true for the 3805, but some other Denons do allow differing levels to be set for each input (I replaced my 3805 with a 4310 that does have that feature.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off