New amp is making me grin from ear to ear =) - Page 166 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 4979 Old 06-11-2013, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cruzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks,Ca
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by chanc View Post

I also have this trigger problem. Pray tell what is this power outlet which have a master and slave connection and where do I buy it? Amazon link may be?

I purchased my power strip at the local Fry's electronics. You might check Best buys,as they may carry it also.

Alan
chanc likes this.

Cruzin

Martin Logan Speakers

Marantz Prepro

Aragon 4004, and Outlaw 7100 amps

Chase 18.1 Sub,and Velodyne DD15

LittleBear tube preamp

Pro-Ject debutte 3 turntable

Cruzin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 4979 Old 06-11-2013, 07:01 PM
Member
 
john1528golf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://www.amazon.com/gp/search/ref=sr_1_3_acs_h_3i_2600773011_541966?ie=UTF8&qid=1371002036&sr=8-3-acs&node=541966&srs=2600773011&field-keywords=smart+strip
I have a Crown XLS1500 and a QSC GX3 controlled by a Smart Strip and have had no trouble with it. My AVR is used to turn the strip on and off.
chanc likes this.
john1528golf is offline  
post #4953 of 4979 Old 06-27-2013, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
chanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Madison, CT
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thank you guys!!! Bought a Smart Strip from Amazon. My Crown XLS 1500 is driving a pair of LR Klipsch RB-25.smile.gif
chanc is offline  
post #4954 of 4979 Old 07-27-2013, 09:17 PM
Newbie
 
Klejuch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what's the big deal about the xls 402, 602. The basic circuit its been used many home amps, receivers, pro and no pro amps for many, many years. But is it a bit special because it uses certain way the out tranies are driven and has plenty of 2nd order harmonics to make the amp sound good. And the tranies are slow, 20+ year old Motorolas, Philips which can nicely cope with reactive loads (low hfe, 5Mhz). wink.gif

http://www.crownaudio.com/media/storagebk/gen_htm/legacy/documents/135277-1_2_XLS2U_main.pdf

Cheers,
the imbecile:D with no system what's so ever
Klejuch is offline  
post #4955 of 4979 Old 11-04-2013, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klejuch View Post

So what's the big deal about the xls 402, 602. The basic circuit its been used many home amps, receivers, pro and no pro amps for many, many years. But is it a bit special because it uses certain way the out tranies are driven and has plenty of 2nd order harmonics to make the amp sound good. And the tranies are slow, 20+ year old Motorolas, Philips which can nicely cope with reactive loads (low hfe, 5Mhz). wink.gif

http://www.crownaudio.com/media/storagebk/gen_htm/legacy/documents/135277-1_2_XLS2U_main.pdf

Cheers,
the imbecile:D with no system what's so ever

The big deal is (well, was, considering the thread started almost 10 years ago) the bang for the buck, not the details of the circuits.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #4956 of 4979 Old 11-24-2013, 11:23 AM
Member
 
virii01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I can tell this is the "pro audio amp" thread of sorts. Been looking to upgrade from my HT receiver and with my need (err, want) for power and budget, I think a pro amp may be the ticket.

Assuming a quality unit, any downsides to using a pro audio amp over a consumer power amp other than looks, fan noise and lack of snobbery? (none of those I care about).

Any brands/lines to look for or avoid?

I'm sure some of these have been answered in this thread but it's taking me a while to parse through 165 pages...smile.gif
virii01 is offline  
post #4957 of 4979 Old 11-24-2013, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
chanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Madison, CT
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a Crown XLS-1500 attached to a Yamaha RX-A1020. The Crown is running cool and has lots of power. The sound is clean and the dynamics is great. There are other alternatives but the Crown was my choice.
chanc is offline  
post #4958 of 4979 Old 11-24-2013, 07:54 PM
Member
 
Plagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I recently upgraded my HT. I went the pro audio route. Couldn't be more happier. I have my QSC DCA 1644 powering my front and center speakers. I got my amp from a local installer.
Plagen is online now  
post #4959 of 4979 Old 01-13-2014, 08:00 PM
Member
 
brussell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have a Crown XLS 402 that I'm running bridged mono to a Polk CS400 for my center and a Behringer EP2500 running stereo to a pair of Polk RT55s as my mains. The EP2500 will eventually power an IB sub to replace my current sub when I can scrape together funds for the drivers. I have a Yamaha RX-A700 running as a pre/pro and powering a set of Polk RT55s as rear surrounds and a pair of Polk RT7s as front presence speakers. My room will not allow for a set of rear effect speakers.

In the mean time I have been thinking about amps again. I have been debating between a couple more XLS 402s or the new Drivecore 1500s. My question is if you had an amp for each channel would you run them bridged mono to each speaker or run them in stereo but bi-amped? Also, are the Drivecores that much better? I have read that the 1000 is not as "good" as the other models but I have not been able to find any comparisons the D-series amps and I know they can be had a whole lot cheaper.

Thanks!

Brad
brussell is offline  
post #4960 of 4979 Old 01-17-2014, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by brussell View Post

I currently have a Crown XLS 402 that I'm running bridged mono to a Polk CS400 for my center and a Behringer EP2500 running stereo to a pair of Polk RT55s as my mains. The EP2500 will eventually power an IB sub to replace my current sub when I can scrape together funds for the drivers. I have a Yamaha RX-A700 running as a pre/pro and powering a set of Polk RT55s as rear surrounds and a pair of Polk RT7s as front presence speakers. My room will not allow for a set of rear effect speakers.

In the mean time I have been thinking about amps again. I have been debating between a couple more XLS 402s or the new Drivecore 1500s. My question is if you had an amp for each channel would you run them bridged mono to each speaker or run them in stereo but bi-amped? Also, are the Drivecores that much better? I have read that the 1000 is not as "good" as the other models but I have not been able to find any comparisons the D-series amps and I know they can be had a whole lot cheaper.

Thanks!

Brad

I'd probably not do either, the presumption you're after more power.

1. Running the amps "biamped" is a waste of the amp because it doesn't add any meaningful power.
2. Running the XLS 402 bridged is 900W. That's a lot of power for what seems to be a pair of bookshelf-like speakers.

Want new amps, fine, your call, but I'd get ones with sufficient wpc to just run them in stereo mode if using them for your fronts, center, surrounds, etc. Subs, well, bridged amps are common there where you're really needing some power.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #4961 of 4979 Old 03-04-2014, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
marcoangels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, can you elaborate on the fan mod you made to the QSC GX5, which fan model number you used and the steps for installation? Thanks, I just bought a GX5 and the fan whine is driving me nuts!

marcoangels is offline  
post #4962 of 4979 Old 03-04-2014, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
BIG INJUN CHIEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Hello.
The fan mod is quite simple and has been documented in the theard a few times. I believe there is a youtube video as well. ~10-15 screws, a snip, pull the old fan, a solder (or crimp-two wires), reinstall.

http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/3110SB-05W-B20-E00/P14751-ND/2615564
BIG INJUN CHIEF is online now  
post #4963 of 4979 Old 03-04-2014, 08:33 PM
Newbie
 
marcoangels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Not as easy as you make it sound...can't find the utube video, hardest part seems to be separating the stock fan from the fan shroud, once that's done, it seems straight forward, don't want to break off the plastic attachers that hold the original fan to the shroud...I want to be able to re-attach the stock fan if I need warranty work, so I need to remove the stock fan and attach the new fan via the 2 pin connector

marcoangels is offline  
post #4964 of 4979 Old 03-05-2014, 03:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
BIG INJUN CHIEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Try a small screwdriver. Pry slowly and evenly.
BIG INJUN CHIEF is online now  
post #4965 of 4979 Old 03-05-2014, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
wow, this thread is still going? smile.gif
WestCoastD is offline  
post #4966 of 4979 Old 03-05-2014, 09:25 AM
Newbie
 
marcoangels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Ok, thanks, I'll try. I obviously missed the thread on this from a few years ago, can you give me the link to where it is? Thanks

marcoangels is offline  
post #4967 of 4979 Old 03-05-2014, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
marcoangels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, I never saw the original threads on this, if you have the link, I'd like to read up on them.

marcoangels is offline  
post #4968 of 4979 Old 03-05-2014, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
marcoangels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the link to the fan at digikey, that fan has only 19 db and moves a small amount of air, I can't seem to get the CFM or the db factor on the Redd fan that's stock on this unit, I don't want to under-cool it if I'm driving the amp hard. I ordered a fan that pushes 50 CFM, dba is 40, I'll report back as to how that fan works.

marcoangels is offline  
post #4969 of 4979 Old 03-05-2014, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
marcoangels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

~~The fan on a stock GX7 is a SUPERRED 8025 CHA8024EBN-K(E) 24V, 0,24A 80x80x25mm. There seem to be no CFM or dba posted anywhere online, but I want to replace it with a fan that is quieter of course, but pushes at least as much air as the original.

marcoangels is offline  
post #4970 of 4979 Old 03-08-2014, 09:16 PM
Newbie
 
marcoangels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Success! Removed the stock fan and replaced it with this: http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en?x=0&y=0&lang=en&site=us&KeyWords=p14753-nd .The stock fan apparently pushed about 37 CFM so I wanted the replacement to blow at least that much air, and still be virtually silent, this one pushes 41.3 CFM and the noise level is only 30 dba, I have to put my ear up to the vents to make sure it's running and it's keeping the amp COOL! Thanks for all your help, forum guys...Hardest part was finding a 2 pin adapter to connect to the circuit board, snipped off the fan wires and 2 pin adapter from an old cell phone battery and spliced it on to the bare wires on the Digikey fan, perfect solution! Kept the stock fan intact in case I need service under warranty, I can just replace the mod fan with the stock fan before I send it in for repairs, if that even happens.

marcoangels is offline  
post #4971 of 4979 Old 06-29-2014, 11:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Where can I find a video on this fan fix?
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #4972 of 4979 Old 07-01-2014, 06:06 AM
Member
 
AVNut57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Myrtle beach, SC
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crown XLS-1500 a truly great Amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by virii01 View Post
From what I can tell this is the "pro audio amp" thread of sorts. Been looking to upgrade from my HT receiver and with my need (err, want) for power and budget, I think a pro amp may be the ticket.

Assuming a quality unit, any downsides to using a pro audio amp over a consumer power amp other than looks, fan noise and lack of snobbery? (none of those I care about).

Any brands/lines to look for or avoid?

I'm sure some of these have been answered in this thread but it's taking me a while to parse through 165 pages...

I have had the 1500 for 18 months now & I have been very happy with it! It was only 350 & I had a coupon so 300 bought me Power, Control, & the Fan has never run more than Low ever!
I have recently bought some used Emo upa & parasound Amps Hca-800 .
I just wanted to share that they are better, much better! But for me the Crown has been a pure Joy. I guess the rest of your system & your preference will dictate which way you go.
Musicality & warmth are the words I'll use to describe the difference.
AVNut57 is online now  
post #4973 of 4979 Old 07-04-2014, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jinjuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVNut57 View Post
I have had the 1500 for 18 months now & I have been very happy with it! It was only 350 & I had a coupon so 300 bought me Power, Control, & the Fan has never run more than Low ever!
I have recently bought some used Emo upa & parasound Amps Hca-800 .
I just wanted to share that they are better, much better! But for me the Crown has been a pure Joy. I guess the rest of your system & your preference will dictate which way you go.
Musicality & warmth are the words I'll use to describe the difference.
I had two Parasound HCA 1000A and my Crown XLS 402D was a better amp. Simply had more head room and zero tweeter hiss unlike the Parasound.

For three years I offered anyone that wanted to come over and pick the Parasound over the Crown in 9/10 coin flips blind. Never a taker.

An audiophile likes to talk about how much they spent and how good it sounds.

A DIY'er likes to talk about how little they spent and how good it sounds.

Jinjuku is offline  
post #4974 of 4979 Old 07-05-2014, 06:08 AM
Member
 
AVNut57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Myrtle beach, SC
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the schiit tube amp in conjunction with the P HCA-800ll had hiss, but without it the system is dead quiet,
unlike the crown which did hiss a bit with the gain all up. Like I said there was much less musicality in the Crown next to the "P800" , as always Everyone has a preference & were all here to help & share!
I was so happy I bought a 2nd P800, & maybe this one will be a dud?, they bridge to mono so I'll use them as
mono-blocks & report back. Thanks for commenting.
AVNut57 is online now  
post #4975 of 4979 Old 07-28-2014, 06:56 PM
Member
 
JustaSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVNut57 View Post
I have recently bought some used Emo upa & parasound Amps Hca-800 .
I just wanted to share that they are better, much better! But for me the Crown has been a pure Joy. I guess the rest of your system & your preference will dictate which way you go.
Musicality & warmth are the words I'll use to describe the difference.
Can you expand on this? Emo is on my short list and I've been doing some research on Crown.
JustaSheep is offline  
post #4976 of 4979 Old Yesterday, 05:44 PM
Member
 
AVNut57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Myrtle beach, SC
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaSheep View Post
Can you expand on this? Emo is on my short list and I've been doing some research on Crown.
I'm sorry I have been busy buying & Evaluating amps.
For music & movie alike better amps do a better job of
more life like sonic Impact. Not to get to detailed,
I recently got a Music hall mambo classe "A" only Integrated amp
for 2 chnl music. It is even a larger improvement over the Crown to Emo or Parasound. In summary the Emo is better than the Crown in sound Quality.
IMHO, bought my Crown because of the 325 Wpc rating, The Emo drove my
Alon 1's with ease! Quality is more important. Hope this helps.
AVNut57 is online now  
post #4977 of 4979 Old Yesterday, 07:42 PM
Member
 
JustaSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVNut57 View Post
Quality is more important. Hope this helps.
No worries at all. I ended up going w/ the little 2 channel Emo for $200. I have a friend in the "biz" and he advised the low level Crown stuff is hit or miss. Power is power though as long as there's no hiss coming from the amp stage, so I was curious.
JustaSheep is offline  
post #4978 of 4979 Old Today, 05:36 AM
Member
 
AVNut57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Myrtle beach, SC
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaSheep View Post
No worries at all. I ended up going w/ the little 2 channel Emo for $200. I have a friend in the "biz" and he advised the low level Crown stuff is hit or miss. Power is power though as long as there's no hiss coming from the amp stage, so I was curious.
I'm very happy for you! There are much better products waiting for all of us to discover! Enjoy1
AVNut57 is online now  
post #4979 of 4979 Old Today, 05:54 AM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
This proves that what Tim the Tool Man said about tools goes double for amplifiers: there is no substitute for "More Power!"
Sorry, I need to interject here for the sake of beginners that might read the forum. This is incorrect. Unused power makes no difference at all in an audio system. It simply isn't used.
FMW is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Crown , Qsc , Polk Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off