New amp is making me grin from ear to ear =) - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 01:32 PM
Member
 
.jss designs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NoVA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by OregonLAN
Like tubeguy44, I've decided to give the ZR1000 a try. I'm planning to pair it with my Denon 3803 to drive some Polk RTi12's. At higher volume levels, they demand more power than my 3803 could deliver.

I think you will like the rti12s with the added power. I use a pair of rti150s for my mains. I drive them with a 300 watt/channel Crest pro amp.

Really outstanding punch and clarity. While my Elite 53tx did a good job, these spkrs really come alive with the higher power.

Jeff
.jss designs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 01:36 PM
Member
 
bartman_451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love the look of the Carver Zr1000 amps, but they're pricey! For a 7.1 channel system, they would cost me around $3k for four of them, which I can't afford.
The Crown amps are still interesting, though I'd have to make sure I got them adjusted right, so each time I turned up the volume after turning them on, I got the same power output. Right now each channel is tuned within 1-2dB of each other, for a convincing "seamless" multichannel sound. I'm afraid if I went with the Crown amps, I'd have to either accept some variation as I manually turned the knob up to the level I'd set it at, or else recalibrate every time I turned it on.
I'll keep looking; The thought of getting 200wpc for a 7.1 system for around $1K is mighty tempting. Otherwise i might have to go with an Outlaw ($1700 for 7x200watts) or something.

very long-time lurker and general HT nut
bartman_451 is offline  
post #93 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: chicago
Posts: 6,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It's not that bad at all..This is why I have my Crown set at 50 % on both gain knobs on front.I know when i want to listen to music or play dvds, that my sound will be EXACTLY where i want it!When I introduced the Crown into my setup, I turned it to 50 % and RECALIBRATED my front speakers for this. When my other 2 get here, I will do the same for them. By running all at 50 % it is very easy to remember where I need to be.It would be just as simple to take a white paint marker(SMALL TIP) and highlight the "mark" where you wind up calibrating the amp at. It has white little "tick marks" going around the gain knobs for left and right, so this would be easy to do.

brickie

AM I THE ONLY OASIS IN THE DESERT OF STUPIDITY......" SIR BRICKENBOCKER"
brickie is offline  
post #94 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Terrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also ordered a 3' pro audio male XLR to male RCA cable from AVCable.com today, hope to have it here by at least friday. Once I have everything up and running, I will most certainly post a review here of the results.
Terrax is offline  
post #95 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
spacecowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll be sure to post here first Brickie.

"Excuse me...What does God need with a Starship?" (Captain Kirk - Star Trek V: The Final Frontier)
spacecowboy is offline  
post #96 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
spacecowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After checking Crown's website, I was a little surprised to find out that Crown is actually under the Harman International umbrella. I sure hope that they operate as a separate entity because I absolutely despise the sound of Harman Kardon amps - to me, they have a very dark, overly warm and laid back sound that cuts off the upper frequency highs. Someone please tell me that Crown amps don't have that same sound. I prefer a crystal clear, detailed, and slightly forward sound on movies and music. I don't want to regret my purchase before it even arrives.

"Excuse me...What does God need with a Starship?" (Captain Kirk - Star Trek V: The Final Frontier)
spacecowboy is offline  
post #97 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 08:01 PM
Member
 
riffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crown amps don't have that same sound.




acutally...they really don't. I like them because of their detail. very clear. you ok now?

There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness...
riffman is offline  
post #98 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
keepinitcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by spacecowboy
After checking Crown's website, I was a little surprised to find out that Crown is actually under the Harman International umbrella. I sure hope that they operate as a separate entity because I absolutely despise the sound of Harman Kardon amps - to me, they have a very dark, overly warm and laid back sound that cuts off the upper frequency highs. Someone please tell me that Crown amps don't have that same sound. I prefer a crystal clear, detailed, and slightly forward sound on movies and music. I don't want to regret my purchase before it even arrives.

Harmon aquired Crown a few years ago. They also aquired C-audio that was in Europe. Supposedly these Crown amps are based on C-audio designs that were already on the market.
keepinitcool is offline  
post #99 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
OregonLAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Terrax
Also ordered a 3' pro audio male XLR to male RCA cable from AVCable.com today, hope to have it here by at least friday. Once I have everything up and running, I will most certainly post a review here of the results.

I just got done making a couple adapters. I picked up some of these from Radio Shack on my way home:

http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...t%5Fid=274-010

and proceeded to chop up an extra Acoustic Research RCA cable. The Acoustic Research RCA cable was shielded (copper); I hope this works OK. I found the wiring diagram for the XLR plug on the Internet...
OregonLAN is offline  
post #100 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 10:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Terrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by OregonLAN
I just got done making a couple adapters. I picked up some of these from Radio Shack on my way home:

http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...t%5Fid=274-010

and proceeded to chop up an extra Acoustic Research RCA cable. The Acoustic Research RCA cable was shielded (copper); I hope this works OK. I found the wiring diagram for the XLR plug on the Internet...

Cool, let us know how that works out, didn't even think about trying that.
Terrax is offline  
post #101 of 4988 Old 07-06-2004, 11:02 PM
SRR
AVS Special Member
 
SRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have these: http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/GXM133/ and would recommend them to anyone looking to add a pro-amp to their mix of equipment...no need to destroy a perfectly good RCA cable . But thats just me.

And wow lots of people are getting pro-amps, cool stuff if you ask me.
SRR is offline  
post #102 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
spacecowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
some of you might also want to look at pro shops in your area. many of them already stock the cables and adapters needed to hook up your gear.

"Excuse me...What does God need with a Starship?" (Captain Kirk - Star Trek V: The Final Frontier)
spacecowboy is offline  
post #103 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 06:23 AM
 
tubeguy44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
from my own personal experience......

do not use and "adapter"..... buy a premade cable that is RCA to XLR or solder your own XLR connector onto an RCA cable....

an "adapter" requires an extra connection and does degrade the signal.....

cheers!

tubeguy44 is offline  
post #104 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
jazzcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Carrollton, Texas
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by tubeguy44
buy a premade cable that is RCA to XLR or solder your own XLR connector onto an RCA cable....

Tubeguy, when I talked to Dave G. at Carver, he said I would need a different kind of cable than the XLR - RCA, something like an RCA to 1/4" phone. Is this correct?

After reading this thread and hearing what you say about the Carver in previous threads, my choices will be the Carver XLS-402A or the Crown ZR1000. It's going to be a tough decision. I will be driving Axiom M22ti's using Denon 3805 pre-outs for the front L & R channels.
jazzcat is offline  
post #105 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 09:11 AM
 
tubeguy44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jazzcat
Tubeguy, when I talked to Dave G. at Carver, he said I would need a different kind of cable than the XLR - RCA, something like an RCA to 1/4" phone. Is this correct?

After reading this thread and hearing what you say about the Carver in previous threads, my choices will be the Carver XLS-402A or the Crown ZR1000. It's going to be a tough decision. I will be driving Axiom M22ti's using Denon 3805 pre-outs for the front L & R channels.

the carver professional ZR1000 will accept XLR or 1/4" TRS plugs.... i believe that the crown XLS-402A will only accept XLR plugs....

the crown amp is a very nice amp, but the carver pro ZR series is a step up in features (12 volt trigger, soft start, digital amplifier).....

cheers!

tubeguy44 is offline  
post #106 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
OregonLAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by spacecowboy
some of you might also want to look at pro shops in your area. many of them already stock the cables and adapters needed to hook up your gear.

Yes, check out your local pro-audio shops. The few in my area were selling them for ~$39.00 per cable. Also, they came in 6+ foot lengths. I wanted something smaller and cheaper, so I opted to make my own. Besides, soldiering is fun!

The XLR plugs at Radio Shack ARE pretty decent. Radio Shack obviously buys them from another manufacturer as they do not have Radio Shack marked on them. They are solid powder coated metal with gold plated prongs. The housing features 2 strain relief set screws that clamp onto the wire and prevent it from pulling from the plug.

My experience with adapters, in general, led me to other options. They generally put undue stress on the component connectors. Also, they have a tendency to loosen or become completely disconnected over time. YMMV!

Once everything is hooked up, I will post my review here on the Carver ZR1000 pro-audio amplifier...
OregonLAN is offline  
post #107 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
jazzcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Carrollton, Texas
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick response, tubeguy. I do like the soft start feature as well as the 12V trigger.
jazzcat is offline  
post #108 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
CaptainKellog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone heard Pyramid amps? I was looking at this one because it has more than enough power to drive my front towers (Mission M74i rated at 150w power handling). I'm pretty sure it won't have remote trigger, but does anyone know if it has the auto-mute feature when powering on/off like the QSC RMX850 does?

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=245-525
CaptainKellog is offline  
post #109 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thylantyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally posted by CaptainKellog
Has anyone heard Pyramid amps? I was looking at this one because it has more than enough power to drive my front towers (Mission M74i rated at 150w power handling). I'm pretty sure it won't have remote trigger, but does anyone know if it has the auto-mute feature when powering on/off like the QSC RMX850 does?

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=245-525

I'd rather spend the extra $100 and get the better brand (QSC, etc.)
than go with a Pyramid brand of amplifier only because I'm biased towards
their car audio products which are overrated. Sometimes you just have
to spend a little bit more to feel good in the long run.



The storm was gone, but dark clouds still hung around
The perfect setting for things to come......

thylantyr is offline  
post #110 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
CaptainKellog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's kind of what I figured - oh well, not much of a price difference anyway ~$60 bucks. Most likely going to go with 2 QSC RMX850's. I'll use one to drive my front towers, and the other to drive my center channel and the Clark Synthesis transducer going under the sofa. The rears will still be powered by my receiver, which should make the receiver happy - only having to drive 2 bookshelves!

Thanks for the thoughts and this awesome thread!
CaptainKellog is offline  
post #111 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 12:40 PM
SRR
AVS Special Member
 
SRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
an "adapter" requires an extra connection and does degrade the signal.....

Oh please, if you can tell whether an adaptor is used compared to a non-adaptor hookup you have better ears then any human I know of. Please tell us how it degrades the signal? Please tell us...
SRR is offline  
post #112 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 12:49 PM
 
tubeguy44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by SRR
Oh please, if you can tell whether an adaptor is used compared to a non-adaptor hookup you have better ears then any human I know of. Please tell us how it degrades the signal? Please tell us...


have you tried it?

i used two switchcraft adapters before i made my own cables.....

with my receiver and my carver pro ZR amp, there was a difference.... i got noise in my signal with the adapters that disappeared when i used my custom cable.....

maybe you should reserve your judgement until you actually try it....
tubeguy44 is offline  
post #113 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 01:22 PM
Member
 
bartman_451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI
Sorry to be such a newbie when it comes to pro amps, but am I correct in assuming that the auto-mute feature is what prevents the "thump" from passing through the speakers? This is a major consideration for me; I'd rather not have to manually set the levels every time I power on; I think it would be hard to calibrate things as closely as I have it calibrated now, even if I mark the spots on the dials, since these amps have so much power. So I guess that that precludes consideration of the Crown amps; I couldn't find any such feature on the Crown website for any of their models in my price range. Ultimately, I'd like to end up with 7 channels of amplification, and while I don't mind manually switching on 4 amps, it would be a bigger pain to have to manually turn each of 7 volume knobs to exactly the right spot every time I power up. My wife is bewildered as it is by my home theater, and only having everything programmed into macros for a pronto has made it user-friendly for her.
So what pro models don't make a thump? And has anyone done an A/B comparison with the so-called "audiophile" amps?

Thanks!!!!
Bart

very long-time lurker and general HT nut
bartman_451 is offline  
post #114 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 01:27 PM
SRR
AVS Special Member
 
SRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmmph, you assume to much. I worked pro-sound for many years, and used many adaptors for many things, not once did I hear a degradation of the signal. We are talking about low voltage low frequency transmission hear there is nothing wrong with using an adaptor vs a cable. Again if you heard a difference you have better hearing then any human alive, period. If they were 100% good condition adaptors there is no way noise could be introduced to the signal path. Explain to us how they introduced the nosie???
SRR is offline  
post #115 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 01:30 PM
SRR
AVS Special Member
 
SRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bartman_451,

There is nothing wrong with running the dials on the amp at full so you will get a 100% repeatable volume evey time you turn them on, in fact this is the preferred way to run amps.
SRR is offline  
post #116 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 01:36 PM
 
tubeguy44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Hmmmph, you assume to much.

no i didn't.....

you have not used adapters with my amp and my receiver with my speakers.....

the hundreds of thousands of dollars of pro sound speakers that i sold over the years would not reveal slight differences either....

just like the time i ran three RCA cables hooked together with barrel connectors from another room to get my computer sound into my receiver.... i had noise and hiss..... i replaced the three separate cables and connectors with one run of cable and soldered the appropriate connectors on the ends.... the noise and hiss disappeared...

cheers!

tubeguy44 is offline  
post #117 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 01:39 PM
 
spider_bill_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by tubeguy44
have you tried it?

i used two switchcraft adapters before i made my own cables.....

with my receiver and my carver pro ZR amp, there was a difference.... i got noise in my signal with the adapters that disappeared when i used my custom cable.....

maybe you should reserve your judgement until you actually try it....


You just had a bad connection with the adapters. However, I prefer to use the method with the fewest mechanical connections, so a custom (or standard) cable would be the preferred connection method!

--Bill
spider_bill_2003 is offline  
post #118 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 01:44 PM
 
spider_bill_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by tubeguy44
no i didn't.....

you have not used adapters with my amp and my receiver with my speakers.....

the hundreds of thousands of dollars of pro sound speakers that i sold over the years would not reveal slight differences either....

just like the time i ran three RCA cables hooked together with barrel connectors from another room to get my computer sound into my receiver.... i had noise and hiss..... i replaced the three separate cables and connectors with one run of cable and soldered the appropriate connectors on the ends.... the noise and hiss disappeared...

cheers!


Most likely the noise and hiss was caused by the RCA cables and not the adapters. Still, the fewer connections (with good cable) the better!

--Bill
spider_bill_2003 is offline  
post #119 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 01:47 PM
 
spider_bill_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by SRR
Hmmmph, you assume to much. I worked pro-sound for many years, and used many adaptors for many things, not once did I hear a degradation of the signal. We are talking about low voltage low frequency transmission hear there is nothing wrong with using an adaptor vs a cable. Again if you heard a difference you have better hearing then any human alive, period. If they were 100% good condition adaptors there is no way noise could be introduced to the signal path. Explain to us how they introduced the nosie???

Explanation? Probably just the same old bad RCA cables that were used each time!

--Bill
spider_bill_2003 is offline  
post #120 of 4988 Old 07-07-2004, 01:52 PM
SRR
AVS Special Member
 
SRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
the hundreds of thousands of dollars of pro sound speakers that i sold over the years would not reveal slight differences either....

Ok either the adaptors you were using introduced nosie or not, the speakers you sold would revel that noise just as well as any consumer speakers would...your not making much sense here. Did you try the speakers you sold with your adaptors in the chain??? lol .
SRR is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Crown , Qsc , Polk Audio

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off