Using video out / tape out as pre-out? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-17-2004, 01:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
silbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious.

If a receiver has no pre-out connection to connect to a power amp to drive the front speakers, is it possible to use the video out or the tape out as a pre-out?

Anyone has tried this? Any success stories?

i am lost so i am cruel
silbi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-17-2004, 01:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rynberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, it will not work. The tape-outs are at a fixed output level. You would need a volume control between the tape-outs and your amps, which is what your receiver is doing!

What component are you using that doesn't have pre-outs?
rynberg is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-17-2004, 01:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
silbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an entry level receiver which doesn't come with pre-outs. But somebody has kinda told me that this would work...so I'm a bit confused.

Any other thoughts?

i am lost so i am cruel
silbi is offline  
Closed Thread Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off