Official Pioneer VSX-1015TX Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 2338 Old 04-25-2005, 09:33 PM
Member
 
Shopping-TVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just pulled the trigger on the 1015 from Onecall. They matched JR.com price and included 3 Day Fed Ex delivery.
Shopping-TVs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 2338 Old 04-25-2005, 10:29 PM
Member
 
pheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JR shows $499. Did you call and get a better price than that from them?
pheck is offline  
post #453 of 2338 Old 04-26-2005, 05:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
dae3dae3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chesterton, Indiana
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Originally posted by pheck
JR shows $499. Did you call and get a better price than that from them?

Actually, JR shows $499 and says "For current availability and the lowest pricing, please call our Toll Free Number." Follow directions and you shall receive your rewards.

I called and got better pricing and free shipping. I'm not going to quote the price I received because it may have changed since Saturday but it took about 45 seconds for me to get through to a real person and get a price.


My subs play all the way down to 0 Hz!!! It's so low you can't hear or feel anything.

dae3dae3 is offline  
post #454 of 2338 Old 04-26-2005, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Micah008's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is an updated list of the differences between the 1014 and the 1015: (sorry to those who have seen this before, but this way it keeps this list in the newest part of the thread)

New Features:
- 3rd Component video input (instead of 2)
- 100Mhz Component Video (instead of 40Mhz)
- THX "Select 2" certified (instead of just "Select")
- New THX Music, Game, and Select2 Cinema modes
- New THX setting for distance between Surround Rear speakers (used with 7.1 only, to help with their new THX processing modes)
- WMA9-Pro decoding
- Dolby PLIIx can now be used with a DTS source
- Optical Inputs are in a different location on the back panel
- Blue LED on power button (instead of no LED)
- Some new setup recommendations from THX in the manual.
- Setup microphone is slightly different, now has a plastic base, rather than a removable foam one.

Other Notes:
- The advertised 120W per channel (instead of 110W of the 1014) is really just a difference in how the marketing people wrote it up. They are both 0.08% THD at 110 Watts, which probably means they are identical internally.
- There still is not an A/V sync delay feature.
- The remote is unchanged. (No new Multichannel Input button, as has been asked about.)
- MCACC is unchanged. (Does not work with sub)

Questions:
- Does it work better with Dish receivers? (??)


Please add to this if there is anything I missed... or correct me if I am wrong anywhere.
Micah008 is offline  
post #455 of 2338 Old 04-26-2005, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Shopping-TVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by pheck
JR shows $499. Did you call and get a better price than that from them?

Yes, I called JRand they gave me a better price. I decided to go with One Call since they mathced the price and shipping and are on the west coast so transit time to California will be shorter.
Shopping-TVs is offline  
post #456 of 2338 Old 04-26-2005, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tivolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Discrete Commands
__________________________

Does anyone know the level of "discrete-i-ness" this unit offers? Currently, I'm using a Kenwood unit that is God's gift to the control freaks (i.e. rs-232 control with discrete commands for just about everything).

I'm not familiar with the SR+ of the Pioneer and how it relates to non-Pioneer equipment. Specifically, girder controlled. As such, I'll make the assumption that it's worthless (and be pleasantly surprised if told differently).

That said, the question becomes can I:

- Have Power OFF/Power ON
- Access different inputs directly?
- Set sound modes directly?
- Does the unit have auto-digital that will auto decode DTS/AC-3/WMA9 but when it receives LPCM fall back to "Movie?"

In short, is it possible to run this unit without EVER sending either a toggle or a cycle command?

Cheers,
Steve

A musing or too much?
I wonder what that a*^ is thinking today.
Tivolicious is offline  
post #457 of 2338 Old 04-26-2005, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sfhub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 9,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The receiver definitely supports IR discreteOn, discreteOff, and discrete
input selects. Don't know about the others. I don't belive the stock
remote supports discreteOn/Off, so you'll need a remote that supports
advanced codes or one which lets you program additional functions (vs
only learning additional functions)
sfhub is offline  
post #458 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Diggit2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my 1015 and my new speakers yesterday and spent the evening hooking everything up. The only problem I have so far is with my video output. Before I got this receiver, I had my DVD, cable box and TiVo all running through my TV (A Mitsubishi 52725 DLP). Now I have everything running through my receiver. I now notice serious picture quality degradation when viewing HD content. I'm not sure if theres anything that can be done about this or not, except for running the video signal from the cable box directly to the TV again. I'm using component video from the cable box to receiver and from receiver to TV and they're decent cables (THX certified monster cables). The main problem with the picture quality is shadowing and a bit of graininess.

Has anyone experienced anything similar or can anyone recommend any other options to fix this?

Thanks
Diggit2001 is offline  
post #459 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FIVE ONE SIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i'm just curious, how accurate is the power rating on both the 1014 and 1015? i'm asking because i just purchased 6 Athena Audition Series B1's, and their maximum power rating is 125 watts, i'm just a bit worried that the 1014 or 1015 will push them too hard. do you think the 1015 would work well with them, or should i go with something with a little less power, like say the Onkyo 602?

the 1015 sounds like a great receiver, i've heard nothing but great things about the 1014, but i would prefer to have the newer 1015 over the older 1014 if i was going to use a Pioneer.

Xbox Live: KoNtRoL MaNiAk
FIVE ONE SIX is offline  
post #460 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jvgillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use four B1s with my 1015 as rears and I've had no problems with power handling. They're pretty tough speakers and even using them as mains I don't think you'll have any problem as long as you don't push them to distortion.

Jeremy Gillow
jvgillow is offline  
post #461 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
dae3dae3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chesterton, Indiana
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It much more likely to hurt speakers with an under powered receiver than with an overpowered receiver. An under powered amp section will clip and cause damage to the speakers when you turn them up. A high power receiver will play the speakers at high volumes with clean sound and will probably make you give up before the speakers do.

I wouldn't worry about "too much" power at all.


My subs play all the way down to 0 Hz!!! It's so low you can't hear or feel anything.

dae3dae3 is offline  
post #462 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 11:51 AM
Member
 
BALDheadedGRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the 1015 is now at bestbuy i checked the site and went to the store today....will be picking one up the next sale for my new place...

<<<< 1015 at BESTBUY >>>>
BALDheadedGRL is offline  
post #463 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 05:22 PM
Member
 
ironfoot995's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Etronics shipped my 1015 and a couple of rear surrounds today. What gauge speaker wire is recommended? Should I buy some banana plugs for the bare ends of the speaker wire?

John
ironfoot995 is offline  
post #464 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Deja-vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Excellent Speaker wire !

please, don't buy the Home-Depot wire.
Deja-vue is offline  
post #465 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Deja-vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Deja-vue is offline  
post #466 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Deja-vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
hmmm, the last link didn't work for some reason.


search E-bay for Item number: 5755112665.

good luck!
Deja-vue is offline  
post #467 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 07:17 PM
Member
 
tvset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Deja-vue
Excellent Speaker wire !

please, don't buy the Home-Depot wire.

Since equal power output to all 7 speakers, do I need to use same size (12ga.) and length for all speakers?
tvset is offline  
post #468 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Shopping-TVs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by BALDheadedGRL
the 1015 is now at bestbuy i checked the site and went to the store today....will be picking one up the next sale for my new place...

<<<< 1015 at BESTBUY >>>>

You can order one online for about $70 less including shipping. Just got mine today from Onecall. Haven't had a chance to hook it up.
Shopping-TVs is offline  
post #469 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 07:32 PM
Member
 
{Godlightsoul}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orange County
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about
these. does good banana plugs really make that much of a difference?




AE900U PJ
1014-TX
Crown 602 amp (mains)
Energy C-9/C-C3 rear and surrounds/C-C3 center/STF-2 sub
HTPC for AV input
{Godlightsoul} is offline  
post #470 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Deja-vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


what about these?

Ugh!

It's all about Detail...how far you want to go, is entirely up to you.
I got the ones on E-Bay....excellent quality and fast shipping.
I bought a couple of hundred...some for me, some for my Customers.
About the Speaker-wire:
Go as large as you can.
just my 2 cents.
Deja-vue is offline  
post #471 of 2338 Old 04-27-2005, 08:40 PM
Member
 
x_fiddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a heads up, I went to Best Buy today and it seemed that they were pretty eager to get the 1014's off the shelf. The store I went to had 3 boxed ones in stock and a pile of 1015's waiting off to the side to go on the shelf.

After talking to the manager for about 20 mins he allowed me to purchase one of the brand new 1014tx's they had in stock with a store open box discount plus they let me use the internet 20% off open box coupon on top of that. Ended up walking out of there with the unit for $275 after taxes when all said and done.

I you can find a store with multiple new 1014s in stock it might be worth it to tray and haggle the price down (if you can find a nice manager) since they are trying to get the 1015s in.
x_fiddle is offline  
post #472 of 2338 Old 04-28-2005, 08:51 AM
tfs
Senior Member
 
tfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: missouri
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No one has yet answered the question about whether or not the 1015 has issues with Dish Network. That's a potential deal breaker for me. Or, did I miss it?

Regards, TFS
My setup:
tfs is offline  
post #473 of 2338 Old 04-28-2005, 08:58 AM
Member
 
dalbrit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll second tfs' question about Dish Network compatibility. Also, still wondering if anyone has used the WMA-Pro decoding, just to see how it work and what the parameters are.

Cheers,

mark
dalbrit1 is offline  
post #474 of 2338 Old 04-28-2005, 10:00 AM
Member
 
audio newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dish Network compatibility is also a deal breaker for me too. That is one of the reason why I did not get the 1014.
audio newbie is offline  
post #475 of 2338 Old 04-28-2005, 10:07 AM
Member
 
pheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'll post my findings after i get the 1015 set up with my dish this weekend.
pheck is offline  
post #476 of 2338 Old 04-28-2005, 10:25 AM
Member
 
audio newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pheck,

What dish receiver model do you have?
audio newbie is offline  
post #477 of 2338 Old 04-28-2005, 10:35 AM
Member
 
pheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
811
pheck is offline  
post #478 of 2338 Old 04-28-2005, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ja Phule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas, TX (Formerly Austin)
Posts: 7,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the 811 was one of the few dish recievers that worked with the 1014.

But in my own way, I am King. Hail to the King, baby.

My Networked Media/Music/DVD Server
Ja Phule is offline  
post #479 of 2338 Old 04-28-2005, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
epsilon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if the Dish 6000 works?

E
epsilon is offline  
post #480 of 2338 Old 04-28-2005, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Pion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My BB had the display 1014 left in stock. It was dusty, had no box, no remote, no mic. It was listed as clearance for $450. They said they would only give me 10% off for open box, even though it was missing $100 worth of accessories. The absolute lowest they would go was $360, thats after the extra 20% coupon from their website. Boy was the manager mad when I whipped that out. I tried to explain to him that 1014's go for $350 NEW, and that charging $360 (before tax) for an open box, no box, no manual, no remote, no mic model was ABSURD. He just gave me a glib response that $360 was the lowest they could go. This was the same manager that wouldn't sell me the Athena B1 floor models because "they weren't discontinued, and they were getting more in next week". This was last week. Now they don't have any Athenas left and took down all the signs for them. What a ****ing prick!
Pion is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off