Official Pioneer VSX-1015TX Thread - Page 75 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2338 Old 07-04-2009, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Macfan424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragdoll View Post

Yep... set to bi-amp.

I didn't rerun the MCACC mic after switching. I set it to bi-amp, played some music, was disappointed in lack of bass, adjusted the EQ manually to push the lows all the way up. Played music, still disappointed, used the TONE button to turn BASS all the way up(+6). Played music, still disappointed.

Ran it in every mode the receiever has. But usually tried my tests in Stereo mode.

I'd try running MCACC again. It might detect something that would help. There is no reason you should be having this problem with the 1015 if everything is set and connected correctly.
Macfan424 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2338 Old 07-14-2009, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
kefboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

I have the Pioneer VSX-1015 TX I tried to change the volume and nothing happened. Consequently, none of the remote buttons worked nor any on the actual receiver. I unplugged the unit and plugged it back in when my speakers made a somewhat loud noise. Since then, it has not come back on. Any ideas or suggestions? All help is appreciated.
kefboy is offline  
post #2223 of 2338 Old 07-14-2009, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Macfan424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kefboy View Post

Hey guys,

I have the Pioneer VSX-1015 TX I tried to change the volume and nothing happened. Consequently, none of the remote buttons worked nor any on the actual receiver. I unplugged the unit and plugged it back in when my speakers made a somewhat loud noise. Since then, it has not come back on. Any ideas or suggestions? All help is appreciated.

I fear a trip to the shop is in order. If it were the protection circuit, unplugging and re-plugging it should have restored power. (Did you give it a few seconds before plugging it back in?)

However, before giving up, I'd at least try a reset. Can't say I'm optimistic, because it sounds like your 1015 is totally unresponsive, but this is the procedure:

Use the front panel controls, not the remote.

While holding down the TONE button, press and hold the STANDBY/ON button for about three seconds.

When you see RESET? appear in the display, press ENTER. OK? shows in the display.

Press SYSTEM SETUP to confirm. OK appears in the display to indicate that the receiver has been reset to the factory default settings.

Good luck.
malis0931 likes this.
Macfan424 is offline  
post #2224 of 2338 Old 07-14-2009, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
kefboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
=(

Nothing happened when I took those steps.

Any idea what this would cost to repair? I am debating getting a new receiver instead.
kefboy is offline  
post #2225 of 2338 Old 07-14-2009, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Macfan424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kefboy View Post

=(

Nothing happened when I took those steps.

Any idea what this would cost to repair? I am debating getting a new receiver instead.

Sorry. It was the only idea I had.

I have no idea about repair costs. It's hard to even get an estimate, and my experience has been that the final bill almost always makes you wish you had just replaced the device. I hate the waste, but most electronics these days seem to be made to be disposable, not repairable.
Macfan424 is offline  
post #2226 of 2338 Old 07-14-2009, 01:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Try holding down the Video2 and Enter buttons for 3 seconds on the unit. That should do a processor reset. If you don't have any power at all, it could have blown a fuse too.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #2227 of 2338 Old 07-14-2009, 01:59 PM
Newbie
 
kefboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried that too, nothing.
Is it pretty simple to check the fuses inside?
kefboy is offline  
post #2228 of 2338 Old 07-14-2009, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
croseiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kefboy View Post

Tried that too, nothing.
Is it pretty simple to check the fuses inside?

I think it's broken...
croseiv is offline  
post #2229 of 2338 Old 08-24-2009, 11:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 40.3728° N, 105.5192° W
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
All - so for the most part, how reliable are your folks Pioneer VSX-1015TX's?

And compared to now-a-days receivers, could it still hang as long as "you would not care about HDMI in/outputs"?

Shhhhhhhhh
Shift is offline  
post #2230 of 2338 Old 08-25-2009, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Nuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift View Post

All - so for the most part, how reliable are your folks Pioneer VSX-1015TX's?

And compared to now-a-days receivers, could it still hang as long as "you would not care about HDMI in/outputs"?

Been rock soild for I guess around 4 years now. I don't care so much about HDMI as I do being able to listen to the HD blu ray tracks. I could hook up to the analog ports, but I'm too lazy to run the wires and it would be a tangled mess. A new receiver obviously would solve both issues. Probably in the next couple years I'll upgrade, but for now, I still love the 1015tx.
Nuzy is offline  
post #2231 of 2338 Old 08-25-2009, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Macfan424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift View Post

All - so for the most part, how reliable are your folks Pioneer VSX-1015TX's?

And compared to now-a-days receivers, could it still hang as long as "you would not care about HDMI in/outputs"?

Like Nuzy, mine is still good as new after 4 years or so. I did get an HDMI capable receiver, but my 1015 is still serving in a secondary location. I'm not as awestruck by the new audio formats as most, but do think the newer "Advanced" MCACC improves the sound. Other than that, the 1015 still holds its own.
Macfan424 is offline  
post #2232 of 2338 Old 08-25-2009, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Mine is still working....but so is my 70's vintage Marantz 250 Power Amp...and nearly everything
else I have EVER owned....except for the demise of my 70's vintage Kenwood Tuner
and a pair of Dynaco Stereo120 Amps....and I had to replace an IC in my Phase Linear 1000
Autocorrelator Noise Reduction System with Dynamic Range Recovery (....If you have to ask....)

And I've repeatedly refurbished the rubber/foam isolation mounts in my 70's Sony Turntable....

In front room, VSX-1015TX is used with a very old Sony Stereo Receiver in a
Bi-Amp configuration and Marantz 250 drives a pair of Altec 15-in Sub-Woofers.
And my old Sony AVR is still running just fine in the back room....You can check
my profile to see all the "new" stuff that's still working....and working....and working....
holl_ands is offline  
post #2233 of 2338 Old 08-25-2009, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Macfan424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
^^^^^^ +1, holl_ands. I have a bunch of 70's gear that still works, too. The only things that die on me are the mechanical devices (turntables, cassette decks, CD players, LD players, speakers [foam rot]), and most of them could be repaired. The purely electronic devices just go on and on.
Macfan424 is offline  
post #2234 of 2338 Old 09-09-2009, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 40.3728° N, 105.5192° W
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hey guys,

I need to ask all Pioneer VSX-1015TX owners something . What listening volume are you guys usually at?

The reason why I ask, is I recently purchased one and since I do-not own any speakers yet, a buddy of mind lend me his JBL Northridge E30's (a pair).

I am not in bi-amp mode, but I did try it (I heard no difference). But to me, I feel that this amp is little underpowered.

It seems that my listening range is at about -22 on the volume knob, and the max volue is +6 (I think). So I am using over 80% of my Pioneer VSX-1015TX power to listen to some entry-level bookshelfs in stereo mode. Does this sound about right? Running through the receiver is optical from my Playstation3.

My listening area is 15'x13'. Speakers are set to small I tried large no diff, but I know better. The Xover is set to 80.
Speakers are on 24" speaker stands. They are 2' away from the wall and about 6' apart from one another. Listening distance is 9' (even setup on the receiver also).

I do comment that I love the looks of this Pioneer VSX-1015TX (sexy), but I am shocked that I think this maybe underpower receiver. I feel that my old entry level Onkyo 304b gave more ump to my speakers.
Thanks for any input.

Shhhhhhhhh
Shift is offline  
post #2235 of 2338 Old 09-09-2009, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Nuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift View Post

Hey guys,

I need to ask all Pioneer VSX-1015TX owners something . What listening volume are you guys usually at?

The reason why I ask, is I recently purchased one and since I do-not own any speakers yet, a buddy of mind lend me his JBL Northridge E30's (a pair).

I am not in bi-amp mode, but I did try it (I heard no difference). But to me, I feel that this amp is little underpowered.

It seems that my listening range is at about -22 on the volume knob, and the max volue is +6 (I think). So I am using over 80% of my Pioneer VSX-1015TX power to listen to some entry-level bookshelfs in stereo mode. Does this sound about right? Running through the receiver is optical from my Playstation3.

My listening area is 15'x13'. Speakers are set to small I tried large no diff, but I know better. The Xover is set to 80.
Speakers are on 24" speaker stands. They are 2' away from the wall and about 6' apart from one another. Listening distance is 9' (even setup on the receiver also).

I do comment that I love the looks of this Pioneer VSX-1015TX (sexy), but I am shocked that I think this maybe underpower receiver. I feel that my old entry level Onkyo 304b gave more ump to my speakers.
Thanks for any input.

I don't think it's underpowered. I listen to it between -30 to -15 or so using Polk Monitor 60s. -15 is very loud, IMO. I don't think it's linear, so as you get closer to the max volume, it gets much louder than you think.
Nuzy is offline  
post #2236 of 2338 Old 09-09-2009, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 40.3728° N, 105.5192° W
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuzy View Post

I don't think it's underpowered. I listen to it between -30 to -15 or so using Polk Monitor 60s. -15 is very loud, IMO. I don't think it's linear, so as you get closer to the max volume, it gets much louder than you think.

Ok, I know NAD amps work like that also. I just dont want to turn it up too high due to over power. But even @ -22 no distortion. Maybe today I will push the JBLs little more, but I don't care for the sound in these speaker (lack of mids).

PSBs soon to arrive

Shhhhhhhhh
Shift is offline  
post #2237 of 2338 Old 09-09-2009, 06:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift View Post

Ok, I know NAD amps work like that also. I just dont want to turn it up too high due to over power. But even @ -22 no distortion. Maybe today I will push the JBLs little more, but I don't care for the sound in these speaker (lack of mids).

PSBs soon to arrive

Well, the E30s aren't the best for front end speakers, more like surrounds, but I use a pair for my computer speakers and think they sound pretty awesome.
One of the reasons for the lack of mids in your system may be from a lack of EQ. You haven't mentioned if you ran the MCACC with the E30s in place. If not, then that would explain it.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #2238 of 2338 Old 09-09-2009, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 40.3728° N, 105.5192° W
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Well, the E30s aren't the best for front end speakers, more like surrounds, but I use a pair for my computer speakers and think they sound pretty awesome.
One of the reasons for the lack of mids in your system may be from a lack of EQ. You haven't mentioned if you ran the MCACC with the E30s in place. If not, then that would explain it.

I have the mic, but never bothered to mess w/ MCACC. I attempted that on my old Onkyo and I was not happy w/ the results. So I ended up doing it manually, just like I did w/ this Pioneer.

But I will give it a shot and see. I did change the DB level manually and it help get louder.

I know the e30s are not great, never though they or expected it to be. I am just saying how much power off from the volume that I needed to get them to crank out some sound (some).

But I will give MCACC a shot and see if there was any improvement. Thanks

Shhhhhhhhh
Shift is offline  
post #2239 of 2338 Old 09-10-2009, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
MCACC works well on the 1015, worth the 10 minutes it takes. Also, if you bought it used, then the settings will be for the previous owner.

If you don't have the manual, then one of us can scan the relevant pages for you.
73ChargerFan is offline  
post #2240 of 2338 Old 09-10-2009, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Remote Battery Cover

My kid broke it, does anyone want to sell one?

Not worth buying a new replacement remote from Pioneer, though.
73ChargerFan is offline  
post #2241 of 2338 Old 09-10-2009, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Macfan424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift View Post

I have the mic, but never bothered to mess w/ MCACC. I attempted that on my old Onkyo and I was not happy w/ the results. So I ended up doing it manually, just like I did w/ this Pioneer...

But I will give MCACC a shot and see if there was any improvement. Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post

MCACC works well on the 1015, worth the 10 minutes it takes. Also, if you bought it used, then the settings will be for the previous owner.

If you don't have the manual, then one of us can scan the relevant pages for you.

Shift , I think you will find the 1015's MCACC to be a vast improvement over your older Onkyo setup. As 73ChargerFan said, it is well worth the few minutes it takes to run it.

BTW, the entire VSX-1015TX manual can still be downloaded from the Pioneer website.
Macfan424 is offline  
post #2242 of 2338 Old 10-05-2009, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 40.3728° N, 105.5192° W
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macfan424 View Post

Shift , I think you will find the 1015's MCACC to be a vast improvement over your older Onkyo setup. As 73ChargerFan said, it is well worth the few minutes it takes to run it.

BTW, the entire VSX-1015TX manual can still be downloaded from the Pioneer website.

Sorry for not posting, but I been enjoying the new sounds of my VSX-1015TX .

I finally ran the MCACC to my E60, EC25 (L,C,R) and it came to life. The E30s are now my surrounds.
Sounds great. I did however did go into manual setting and upped the DB's little higher to get the treble little brighter. Happy now! Thanks all!

Shhhhhhhhh
Shift is offline  
post #2243 of 2338 Old 10-09-2009, 09:00 AM
Newbie
 
dt1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this site today.

My wife is going to get me a Blu ray player for Christmas.

My quesion is in regards to what audio connection should I use between the the Blu ray and my 1015?

I will be getting a player that has Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby True HD.

From what I gather no matter what connection I use I will not get the full lossless sound experience.

Is the optical cabel my best bet?

Thanks
dt1975 is offline  
post #2244 of 2338 Old 10-09-2009, 09:37 AM
Member
 
eyecatcher127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You'd want to get a blu ray player that has 7.1 lossless multichannel analog conversion outputs like the Panasonic BD80 or Oppo bdp-83. That is the only way to get lossless audio without HDMI and HD decoder's in the AVR. You can connect those to the 7.1 multi chanel inputs on the Pioneer 1015. You can still use component or HDMI to send to the TV and get 1080P video. I'd bypass the video connections on the pioneer. May want to consider a player that has lipsync capabilities. There will be minimal processing on the AVR and with good quality cables like something from monprice or better lipsync may not be a factor at all.
eyecatcher127 is offline  
post #2245 of 2338 Old 10-09-2009, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Macfan424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyecatcher127 View Post

You'd want to get a blu ray player that has 7.1 lossless multichannel analog conversion outputs like the Panasonic BD80 or Oppo bdp-83. That is the only way to get lossless audio without HDMI and HD decoder's in the AVR. You can connect those to the 7.1 multi chanel inputs on the Pioneer 1015...

Just keep in mind, dt1975, that if you use MCACC, it doesn't affect the multichannel analog inputs. So you will have to decide which does more for your sound, MCACC or "lossless" audio.

The multichannel analog inputs also are not affected by the receiver's bass management circuits. Most players do have a built in bass management and speaker level adjustment system, but they are usually quite primitive compared to the ones in the AVR.
Macfan424 is offline  
post #2246 of 2338 Old 12-03-2009, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 40.3728° N, 105.5192° W
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hey all got a ?

I finally got a sub for my receiver (1015TX) and while in stereo mode and my left and right are set to LARGE the sub does not play. But it will work when I either set my speakers (L & R) to SMALL or if they are set to LARGE, I set the sub to Xsub and the sub works.

Is this normal while in Stereo mode?

Thanks

Shhhhhhhhh
Shift is offline  
post #2247 of 2338 Old 12-03-2009, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Macfan424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift View Post

Hey all got a ?

I finally got a sub for my receiver (1015TX) and while in stereo mode and my left and right are set to LARGE the sub does not play. But it will work when I either set my speakers (L & R) to SMALL or if they are set to LARGE, I set the sub to Xsub and the sub works.

Is this normal while in Stereo mode?

Thanks

Yes, this is how it is designed to work. When you set your main speakers to Large, the sub will play only if there is LFE (.1) input.
Macfan424 is offline  
post #2248 of 2338 Old 12-03-2009, 07:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift View Post

Hey all got a ?

I finally got a sub for my receiver (1015TX) and while in stereo mode and my left and right are set to LARGE the sub does not play. But it will work when I either set my speakers (L & R) to SMALL or if they are set to LARGE, I set the sub to Xsub and the sub works.

Is this normal while in Stereo mode?

Thanks

It depends on the crossover setting in the AVR.
When you have the speakers set to small, then the crossover setting is implemented at the 80HZ setting, and anything below 80HZ will be rerouted to the subwoofer if the sub is set to ON.

On the other side, Movies and/or music with a .1 track will play through the subwoofer too, regardless of whether the speakers are set to small or large.
More than likely, if your speakers are not large or tower type speakers, it is probably best to set them to small and route the lower frequencies through the subwoofer.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #2249 of 2338 Old 12-03-2009, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 40.3728° N, 105.5192° W
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So even though my towers has 8" driver, I should go on ahead and set it to Small? Also my X-over is set to 100hz. It sounded better
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

It depends on the crossover setting in the AVR.
When you have the speakers set to small, then the crossover setting is implemented at the 80HZ setting, and anything below 80HZ will be rerouted to the subwoofer if the sub is set to ON.

On the other side, Movies and/or music with a .1 track will play through the subwoofer too, regardless of whether the speakers are set to small or large.
More than likely, if your speakers are not large or tower type speakers, it is probably best to set them to small and route the lower frequencies through the subwoofer.


Shhhhhhhhh
Shift is offline  
post #2250 of 2338 Old 12-03-2009, 11:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shift View Post

So even though my towers has 8" driver, I should go on ahead and set it to Small? Also my X-over is set to 100hz. It sounded better

Whatever sounds the best to you, is probably where you should leave it.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off