Denon AVR-5805 Arrived..... - Page 45 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 1333 Old 12-27-2015, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Mkellyvich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes. The Zone 2 HDMI output simply passes what the source sends ... so if the source (eg. BDP) is passing a DD/DTS standard or HD 5.1/7.1 signal, that is what the 5805 would receive. An AVS forum member actually uses a 2nd Atmos AVR (X4100W) connected to the Zone 2 HDMI output to pass an Atmos Blu Ray signal to achieve an Atmos 7.2.6 configuration (as current models are limited to a max of 7.2.4).
Excellent -thanks.
Mkellyvich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 1333 Old 02-01-2016, 06:32 PM
Newbie
 
audiooldhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
5805CI Z2 Video Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes. The Zone 2 HDMI output simply passes what the source sends ... so if the source (eg. BDP) is passing a DD/DTS standard or HD 5.1/7.1 signal, that is what the 5805 would receive. An AVS forum member actually uses a 2nd Atmos AVR (X4100W) connected to the Zone 2 HDMI output to pass an Atmos Blu Ray signal to achieve an Atmos 7.2.6 configuration (as current models are limited to a max of 7.2.4).
I recently decided to once again setup Zone 2 of my 5805CI using Z2 component out to a Samsung 223HD. I am able to pass SV from a old TiVo and a Pioneer Elite DVD, but if a change the Pioneer out to component or try other HDMI sources, the 223HD displays "No Signal". I have read and reread the manual and studied batpig and tried all combinations of video settings with no joy. Finally I spoke to a tech at Denon support and after holding for the tech to check with ???, was told Z2 video does not support HDMI. I found this hard to believe and came across the above quote. I don't remember how I setup it long ago, but I think it passed HDMI. Changing the three Samsung Picture settings: Dynamic, Standard, and Movie has no effect.

While I am planning to move to the 7200WA and working through all the posts, I would like to have all the upgrades to it finished and use the 5805 a little longer before making the change.

Any help appreciated.

Audioolhand
audiooldhand is offline  
post #1323 of 1333 Old 02-01-2016, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Mkellyvich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the signal comes in to the 5805 only via HDMI, the 5805 will only output audio and video to Zone 1 - the 5805 doesn't transcode HDMI to component video or optical/coax digital audio. You'd have to hook the source up via component video and digital audio for the 5805 to output it to Zone 2. I ran exactly this setup in my last house.

In the quoted post JD was referring to the 7200's Zone 2 HDMI output.

Hope this helps...
Mkellyvich is offline  
post #1324 of 1333 Old 02-02-2016, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
audiooldhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks
audiooldhand is offline  
post #1325 of 1333 Old 02-02-2016, 09:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,532
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11063 Post(s)
Liked: 5113
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiooldhand View Post
I recently decided to once again setup Zone 2 of my 5805CI using Z2 component out to a Samsung 223HD. I am able to pass SV from a old TiVo and a Pioneer Elite DVD, but if a change the Pioneer out to component or try other HDMI sources, the 223HD displays "No Signal". I have read and reread the manual and studied batpig and tried all combinations of video settings with no joy. Finally I spoke to a tech at Denon support and after holding for the tech to check with ???, was told Z2 video does not support HDMI. I found this hard to believe and came across the above quote. I don't remember how I setup it long ago, but I think it passed HDMI. Changing the three Samsung Picture settings: Dynamic, Standard, and Movie has no effect.

While I am planning to move to the 7200WA and working through all the posts, I would like to have all the upgrades to it finished and use the 5805 a little longer before making the change.

Any help appreciated.

Audioolhand

As noted, I was referring to the X7200WA as Zone HDMI output was only just first introduced on D+M models beginning in 2012.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1326 of 1333 Old 02-11-2016, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I am currently using denon5805 but want to upgrade to a more recent receiver, any recommendation guys?
ILOVEGOLFING is offline  
post #1327 of 1333 Old 02-11-2016, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Just a followup to my previous post (Nov 2014), ultimately I ended up not being able to upconvert my svhs deck from svideo to 1080 via the Denon, something died or who know what (I'm still pretty sure it worked initially when I got the new tv). So I ended up running composite cable from the svhs vcr to the tv (since it has no svideo input (it would have killed them to put one in?)).

Too busy with other things to watch my tapes recently, but given the ones I was watching were recorded on a (different) slightly out of whack svhs vcr on a not very good cable tv system circa mid/late 90s and at the slowest recording speed, albeit with s-vhs et enabled, when I watched a couple it wasn't like an svideo connection would have made all that much of a difference compared with composite. I do have some other pre-recorded tapes I hope to get to eventually, they may fare better, so perhaps I'll give svideo another shot if/when that ever happens. In the meantime I'll mostly be sticking to those 90s tapes, via composite, if/when I get a chance.

Still fine with the 5805 otherwise.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #1328 of 1333 Old 02-12-2016, 04:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,532
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11063 Post(s)
Liked: 5113
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILOVEGOLFING View Post
I am currently using denon5805 but want to upgrade to a more recent receiver, any recommendation guys?
The current Denon flagship X7200WA would be an excellent choice.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1329 of 1333 Old 05-24-2016, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 38
It's been ages since I ran Audyssey on my 5805mk2, but I've been pretty happy with the results, so haven't wanted to risk a bad re-calibration (before it was modified to become a mk2, it came out rather excessive on the high end as I recall). But I would like to try it again since the room has had some changes in the meantime and probably could stand a tweak.

I just relatively recently (a year or two ago) nailed down all the settings on my receiver to where I liked them and such that they matched my current configuration, and finally at that time did a Save on them (something I hadn't done before). I wondering whether these Save-d settings include the Audyssey calibration... so if I decide I liked the old calibration better, I could easily revert back to it. Does anybody (left) know the answer?

(My homework for the night is to RTFM, but maybe someone has some actual experience in the matter... ?)
fmalczewski is offline  
post #1330 of 1333 Old 05-25-2016, 09:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,532
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11063 Post(s)
Liked: 5113
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post
It's been ages since I ran Audyssey on my 5805mk2, but I've been pretty happy with the results, so haven't wanted to risk a bad re-calibration (before it was modified to become a mk2, it came out rather excessive on the high end as I recall). But I would like to try it again since the room has had some changes in the meantime and probably could stand a tweak.

I just relatively recently (a year or two ago) nailed down all the settings on my receiver to where I liked them and such that they matched my current configuration, and finally at that time did a Save on them (something I hadn't done before). I wondering whether these Save-d settings include the Audyssey calibration... so if I decide I liked the old calibration better, I could easily revert back to it. Does anybody (left) know the answer?

(My homework for the night is to RTFM, but maybe someone has some actual experience in the matter... ?)

They do for models going back to 2007, so likely for the older 5805 as well as I doubt this feature has changed.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1331 of 1333 Old 05-25-2016, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
They do for models going back to 2007, so likely for the older 5805 as well as I doubt this feature has changed.
There was no specific info in the manual about whether they were part of what was globally "Save"-d, which makes me think there's a chance they might not be. So the plan is to at least look at old Audyssey graphs and compare with the new ones before "Store"-ing the new ones (which minimally will clobber the active old ones). Then try them out for a while. If they're not to my liking I'll try the "Load" option, and see if the old Audyssey settings get restored in the process. (I might even do so anyway, just to see...)

Back on the front-burner, at least for now, but will do some further exploration before digging out the microphone.

Thanks for the info, gives me some reassurance.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #1332 of 1333 Old 05-25-2016, 10:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,532
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11063 Post(s)
Liked: 5113
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post
There was no specific info in the manual about whether they were part of what was globally "Save"-d, which makes me think there's a chance they might not be. So the plan is to at least look at old Audyssey graphs and compare with the new ones before "Store"-ing the new ones (which minimally will clobber the active old ones). Then try them out for a while. If they're not to my liking I'll try the "Load" option, and see if the old Audyssey settings get restored in the process. (I might even do so anyway, just to see...)

Back on the front-burner, at least for now, but will do some further exploration before digging out the microphone.

Thanks for the info, gives me some reassurance.
There has never been any mention in any of the D+M manuals .. to include current models.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1333 of 1333 Old 05-25-2016, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I suspect I might get to it in about a week. Damn the torpedoes...
fmalczewski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off