putting larger hard drive in Yam MusicCAST - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 174 Old 01-04-2014, 01:27 AM
Member
 
james10s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've managed to use a Cooldrives SATA > IDE adapter to back up (or duplicate) my MCX-2000's original 160GB HDD to a 1.5TB Samsung HDD (via CD-ROM connection using Yamaha's instructions and backup utility disc). The 160GB HDD was 95% full, so the backup took several hours (8?) but was successful. However, the HDD is not recognized when installed in the unit (Error code @2001). I wonder why the adapter works with the CD-ROM IDE cable but not with the HDD IDE one? "Setter" said the SATA / IDE adapters have to be bi-directional, and he had to go through at least 40 before he found one that worked--but he does not have any left to sell nor can he recommend one.

Can anyone recommend (or sell a spare) SATA / IDE adapters that work in their MCX-2000? Please PM if you can help. Thanks.
james10s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 174 Old 01-04-2014, 06:17 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yep, I still have a box of around 40 adapters that didn't work. I found one that worked and bought 50. I bought another 20 about a year ago but they have been revised and no longer work. I'm nearly out and I need my remaining stock to do upgrades and keep a coupe for repairs.

Search for adapters that are bi-directional as they seem to have the least errors.
setter is offline  
post #153 of 174 Old 01-05-2014, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
DAVEHUFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I gave up on having my MCX-2000 upgraded to 2tb by a professional.
I bought unit brand new unopened box and bought new 2tb
Unit would stop working every time i turned around.
Resold unit on Ebay for $450
And bought a new Olive 05hd for $3000
More money but its lightyears ahead of old Yamahas
You can only buy direct from Olive
DAVEHUFF is offline  
 
post #154 of 174 Old 10-21-2014, 06:48 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For everyone out there that has lots of CDs stored on their Yamaha MucisCAST MCX-1000 or MCX-2000 - MAKE A BACKUP!

Many of these systems have hard drives that are getting old. When the drive fails, you'll be installing your CDs again. Or, clone the hard drive. I use my Aleratec HDD PortaCruiser to clone hard drives from proprietary OS systems like TiVo and Yamaha MCX-2000 as well as Mac and Windows platforms. They all work perfectly - the hard drives are identical and interchangable. These cloning machines don't care what is on the hard drive, they just copy each bit of data from one drive to another making an exact copy. The partition remains the same regardless of hard drive size. There are tools to fiddle with repairing data and changing partitions, but I never mess with them. This tool, and ones like it, make a clone of the MusicCAST hard drive overnight.

Never, never access your MusicCAST hard drive with any OS as it will render it useless!
BearGator56 likes this.
setter is offline  
post #155 of 174 Old 05-03-2015, 02:16 AM
Member
 
james10s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by setter View Post
For everyone out there that has lots of CDs stored on their Yamaha MucisCAST MCX-1000 or MCX-2000 - MAKE A BACKUP!

Many of these systems have hard drives that are getting old. When the drive fails, you'll be installing your CDs again. Or, clone the hard drive. I use my Aleratec HDD PortaCruiser to clone hard drives from proprietary OS systems like TiVo and Yamaha MCX-2000 as well as Mac and Windows platforms. They all work perfectly - the hard drives are identical and interchangable. These cloning machines don't care what is on the hard drive, they just copy each bit of data from one drive to another making an exact copy. The partition remains the same regardless of hard drive size. There are tools to fiddle with repairing data and changing partitions, but I never mess with them. This tool, and ones like it, make a clone of the MusicCAST hard drive overnight.

Never, never access your MusicCAST hard drive with any OS as it will render it useless!
Hi all, particularly setter! Heeding your warning regarding HDD failure...tried to back up to a larger HDD. I tried another adapter. All went well, I can install and playback audio files once the HDD is installed in my MCX-2000. But I can't "store from CD."
james10s is offline  
post #156 of 174 Old 05-04-2015, 05:27 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by james10s View Post
Hi all, particularly setter! Heeding your warning regarding HDD failure...tried to back up to a larger HDD. I tried another adapter. All went well, I can install and playback audio files once the HDD is installed in my MCX-2000. But I can't "store from CD."
Try redoing the clone and maybe try using a more similar hard drive size to see if the "store from a CD" works. Maybe the cloning machine is messing with something? This is usually easy.

What is really odd is that I have the same problem with an MCX-1000 from completely different circumstances. I chased the problem to the motherboard!
setter is offline  
post #157 of 174 Old 02-02-2017, 10:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Willing to upgrade my Yamaha MXC-1000 hard drive?

Hi Ray
Yes I just did one for a client It was an easy process<br>
But I think your dealer will have to do this for you<br>
It requires The backup utility software and Tech manual<br><br>
Reccomended HDD for data back up<br>
Seagate ST3160021A<br><br>
Here are the confirmed HDD models for expansion<br>
Hitachi HDS722516VLAT20 160GB<br>
Hitachi HDS722525VLAT80 250GB<br>
Western Digital WD2500JB-00EVA0 250GB<br>
Seagate ST3200822 200GB<br><br>
website's<br>
hitachi (IBM)
WD
Seagate
Hope this helps[/quote]
Hi Ray:
I know that this is an old thread, but I am very interested in hiring you to upgrade my MXC-1000 with the largest HD that you guarantee is compatible. I also live in SoCal (San Diego), and would prefer to purchase the exact HDD model that you recommend, and bring the whole shebang to you.
If interested, email me at samiam (at) yahoo dot com
Thanks!
SamIam_HuRU is offline  
post #158 of 174 Old 04-16-2017, 02:53 AM
Newbie
 
mattallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Exeter, NH
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I applied the 4.1 upgrade to a working MCX-1000 I picked up at a thrift store and now it is giving HDD error.

Upgrade looks like it applies correctly...any pointers/suggestions to getting this currently bricked beast back operating?

Matt
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0129.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	85.3 KB
ID:	2086649   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0131.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	158.1 KB
ID:	2086657   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0130.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	79.6 KB
ID:	2086665  

Matthew D. Allard
Market Manager - Video and Displays
X-Rite, Inc.
mattallard is offline  
post #159 of 174 Old 04-16-2017, 03:29 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattallard View Post
I applied the 4.1 upgrade to a working MCX-1000 I picked up at a thrift store and now it is giving HDD error.

Upgrade looks like it applies correctly...any pointers/suggestions to getting this currently bricked beast back operating?

Matt
Insert the V4.1 CD and power up the MCX-1000. That should force a reload of the v4.1 software. Hopefully that fixes it. If not, repeat until it does - max 10x. I suspect a portion of the hard drive is bad or a portion of the last software update is bad.

Is there are error code on the LCD? Usually they are four digits like this @ xxxx. The onscreen code is @ 14003 which I have never seen before.

If the above does not work, then install a different >80GB IDE hard drive set to Master with no MusicCAST software on it and run the Recovery CD. The unit will be factory fresh with no music and settings!

PM me your phone number if you want to chat. I am on CST.

Last edited by setter; 04-16-2017 at 03:32 PM.
setter is offline  
post #160 of 174 Old 04-18-2017, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
BearGator56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Now that SSD hard drive prices are more reasonable, will the MCX2000 be able to use one? I haven't experienced any issues with my original HD yet, but have thought about upgrading.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
BearGator56 is offline  
post #161 of 174 Old 04-18-2017, 01:02 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearGator56 View Post
Now that SSD hard drive prices are more reasonable, will the MCX2000 be able to use one? I haven't experienced any issues with my original HD yet, but have thought about upgrading.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
An SSD should work the same as the old spinning hard drive in an MCX-2000. The usual 2TB limitations and conversion to SATA apply. I'll bet the MCX-2000 server would boot fast with an SSD!
BearGator56 likes this.
setter is offline  
post #162 of 174 Old 04-18-2017, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
BearGator56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by setter View Post
An SSD should work the same as the old spinning hard drive in an MCX-2000. The usual 2TB limitations and conversion to SATA apply. I'll bet the MCX-2000 server would boot fast with an SSD!
I'd like to try it, but not sure where to begin on that. I also need the latest update. Last time I tried to save it to a CD it wouldn't take it, so I gave up. Not sure if there's any benefit to it, though. It would be nice if someone could figure out a modern interface that works better.

I saw the Olive mentioned in here. There are a few other modern server models, but they're all pretty expensive. It would be nice to have something that had more features and maybe even a mobile app to work it.
BearGator56 is offline  
post #163 of 174 Old 04-20-2017, 04:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearGator56 View Post
.....
I saw the Olive mentioned in here. There are a few other modern server models, but they're all pretty expensive. It would be nice to have something that had more features and maybe even a mobile app to work it.
There are a number of ways to accomplish that and very inexpensively. Two of the more common ways…

1. Move all music to a standalone USB hd, buy a networked AVR with USB input. For new music (CD rips or downloads) just ad such rips and downloads from your computer/laptop.

2. Buy a used laptop ($100), install free server software, load all music on laptop and/or external HD. Rip/download all new music on that laptop.

#1 is simplest and cheapest setup but has limitations in customization & features & flexibility. This would also be very similar to your MCX unit and usage.

#2 is a bit more complex but offers far more customization & features & flexibility. You will need a networked “player” at your stereo/AVR/receiver. This would be either the same networked AVR mentioned above or a standalone networked player connected to any AVR/receiver. Either can be had for under $200 (some players under $50).

All devices are networked over your existing router (WiFi or wired or both). All are accessible with complete control via a free or cheap smart phone app.
BearGator56 likes this.
toby10 is online now  
post #164 of 174 Old Yesterday, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
BearGator56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby10 View Post

1. Move all music to a standalone USB hd, buy a networked AVR with USB input. For new music (CD rips or downloads) just ad such rips and downloads from your computer/laptop.
I don't think there's a way to move the PCM copies from the MCX to a drive for playback, is there? I have a 1TB drive and Yamaha RX-A2040 with USB. I'm sure this AVR will handle it since there's plenty of input options for music and streaming from network.
BearGator56 is offline  
post #165 of 174 Old Yesterday, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearGator56 View Post
I don't think there's a way to move the PCM copies from the MCX to a drive for playback, is there? I have a 1TB drive and Yamaha RX-A2040 with USB. I'm sure this AVR will handle it since there's plenty of input options for music and streaming from network.
There must be a way of simply copying the music on the MCX to a backup hard drive, then copy to a PC hard drive (or leave on that backup hdd attached to PC).

I assume when you say PCM you mean a WAV file (sent as PCM)? i.e. same as a CD?

Once you do move your WAV/PCM files you could then batch convert them to FLAC and have the same lossless music at about half the storage space (assuming your AVR can decode FLAC or your server software on PC can transcode to PCM, most do).
toby10 is online now  
post #166 of 174 Old Yesterday, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
BearGator56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
There must be a way of simply copying the music on the MCX to a backup hard drive, then copy to a PC hard drive (or leave on that backup hdd attached to PC).

I assume when you say PCM you mean a WAV file (sent as PCM)? i.e. same as a CD?

Once you do move your WAV/PCM files you could then batch convert them to FLAC and have the same lossless music at about half the storage space (assuming your AVR can decode FLAC or your server software on PC can transcode to PCM, most do).
The backups would only be mp3. Converting PCM (CD) to mp3 then upconverting, surely there's going to be some loss of fidelity. I'm one of the rare people that hears a difference in compressed music and it will drive me nuts if it's jacked.
BearGator56 is offline  
post #167 of 174 Old Yesterday, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearGator56 View Post
The backups would only be mp3. Converting PCM (CD) to mp3 then upconverting, surely there's going to be some loss of fidelity. I'm one of the rare people that hears a difference in compressed music and it will drive me nuts if it's jacked.
Oh I'm all about lossless music. Are you saying the MCX stores lossless WAV/PCM but only backs up as mp3?
toby10 is online now  
post #168 of 174 Old Yesterday, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
BearGator56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
Oh I'm all about lossless music. Are you saying the MCX stores lossless WAV/PCM but only backs up as mp3?
Yep. That's how it works. Probably something to do with "piracy" laws to avoid people burning multiple copies of a CD for "distribution." You'd think it was meth, not music. lol
BearGator56 is offline  
post #169 of 174 Old Yesterday, 11:27 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The PCM data can be backed up to a CD on a MusicCAST MCX-1000 or MCX-2000. Sort of silly when the music was ripped to the MCX from a CD...

And, the tools built into the Yamaha MCX-2000 allow backup of all music to a remote Windows drive via network. It is super slow. I usually pull my hard drive and make and exact clone. It takes hours versus days.

The music on all MusicCAST MCX units are stored in an OS that is not readily accessed. The network backup from the MCX-2000 is also proprietary, but might be the easier solution. The OS is a form of Linux, but slightly different to make it more secure. I am sure someone can hack it, but I know it won't be me. I looked at it and realized I am not savvy enough. If anyone wants a MusicCAST hard drive to hack on, give me a PM so we can swap phone numbers and chat.

Al that said, I love my MusicCAST units for their rich sound and ease of use. My wife uses the setup more than she streams music and plays on all our other various smaller setups.
setter is offline  
post #170 of 174 Old Yesterday, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearGator56 View Post
Yep. That's how it works. Probably something to do with "piracy" laws to avoid people burning multiple copies of a CD for "distribution." You'd think it was meth, not music. lol
Maybe Setter knows a way to back up as lossless, dunno.

Yeah, that's another reason to get away from these proprietary systems. WAY too limiting. I was first drawn to MCX (and this thread) many years ago when I first jumped into digital music storing vs the old CD method. But I found Yamaha's MCX and a number of other hardware devices far too expensive, way too limiting, very restrictive in user experience (just as you are experiencing with simply wanting to backup YOUR OWN purchased lossless music). So if your MCX hdd crashed you are simply SOL for your lossless rips? That's crazy.

For a fraction of the price and no proprietary issues and far fewer limitations I went with a true networked audio solution offering incredible flexibility which I still use today. My four networked players + laptop music server cost in total not even half what a single MCX was going for then. Lossless music, numerous audio formats supported, internet radio, streaming services, pod casts, all Sync'd to all four players throughout my home. Don't always use Sync (each player can play independantly) and no local server needed for internet content.

....... and MY music library is in use in multiple locations including home, two cars, vacation home, boat (not mine, but my music is with me).

..... and all accessible from my phone!
toby10 is online now  
post #171 of 174 Old Yesterday, 11:48 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You have to remember that Yamaha introduced the MusicCAST system to a high-end audiophile market that was used to sitting down in front of their expensive audio rack and speakers to listen to CDs in their full glory. Yamaha very much succeeded. Users loaded their CDs and had quick and quality access to their shelves and shelves of CDs. I bought my first MusicCAST instead of purchasing expensive shelves to store my CDs in the living room. Now all I have is the MCX-2000 in the audio rack and some cheapo racks for the CDs in the basement. The CDs are my backup according to Yamaha! It all made perfect sense!

And then came the push to portable, downloaded, shared, MP3, music. It seems like the MusicCAST is nearly worthless in portable music market. There are a huge selection of music servers on the market that fulfill the portable music users needs. And, there are still many audiophiles out there who are living in the past listening to CD quality music and willing to pay the extra dollars for that quality.
setter is offline  
post #172 of 174 Old Yesterday, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Completely understood and I agree many prefer that method.

But I enjoy the exact same lossless audio quality from my stereo rack, only with a much smaller player getting it's lossless music files from my networked laptop in another room (actually not even on the same floor). I also enjoy the convenience of multiple libraries (backups) of my purchased lossless music to be utilized in multiple locations. All enjoyed and controlled via non-proprietary phone apps accessing non-proprietary server software serving up my non-proprietary lossless files.

As they say.... rip once, rip correctly, rip accurately, rip lossless, and you should never need to re-rip again. If my laptop hosting my networked music library burns up or is stolen or hdd fails, I only need to copy over my backup library to another hdd. Set & forget as the TV salesman says.
toby10 is online now  
post #173 of 174 Old Yesterday, 02:15 PM
Member
 
AsahiToro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just got a Yamaha 1060 and am in the process of setting it up. My networking expertise is lacking. Can I take advantage of MusicCAST to connect to a NAS or laptop (wireless or wired into a router) in another room to listen to local files/MP3s and to view video/pics? I understand I can hook a usb thumb drive to the front but I'm looking for a better solution. There is no rear usb port and the front one does not work with HDDs or iDevices.

Thanks for any input.
AsahiToro is online now  
post #174 of 174 Old Today, 04:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
should probably start a new thread for specific MusicCast questions, this thread is really about upgrading hdd's in MCX units......

I don't use MusicCast but there are several Yamaha pdf manuals online that would answer your questions. I know MusicCast has a lot of limitations regarding server access such as it will only work with DLNA servers or WMP 11 (or later) etc.... No idea about video/pics but I wouldn't be surprised if it is limited to audio only.

Highly doubt it can access a NAS even with a basic DLNA server running, but really don't know. Historically Yamaha has greatly limited server access to only WMP or a DLNA server that can "emulate" WMP. Might be different now.

Why can't the USB handle a full hdd? I'll bet if you try a self powered USB hdd it will work but with the usual Yamaha restrictions. Such as.... it likely will only access a single partition on the hdd and might have a file/folder and hdd size limitation.
toby10 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off