putting larger hard drive in Yam MusicCAST - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 154 Old 01-28-2005, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalGriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody put a larger hard drive into the Yamaha MusicCAST system? How is it done?

I want to be able to store my collection of about 300 CD's uncompressed and have an on screen U/I.

~D

Speaker design is rather an art. There is no such thing as the perfect painting. Likewise there is no such thing as a perfect speaker. It's part science and part personal preference.
DigitalGriffin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 154 Old 01-28-2005, 11:05 AM
Ray
Advanced Member
 
Ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
Yes I just did one for a client It was an easy process
But I think your dealer will have to do this for you
It requires The backup utility software and Tech manual

Reccomended HDD for data back up
Seagate ST3160021A

Here are the confirmed HDD models for expansion
Hitachi HDS722516VLAT20 160GB
Hitachi HDS722525VLAT80 250GB
Western Digital WD2500JB-00EVA0 250GB
Seagate ST3200822 200GB

website's
hitachi (IBM) www.hgst.com
WD www.wdc.com
Seagate www.seagate.com

Hope this helps
Ray is offline  
post #3 of 154 Old 04-02-2006, 03:48 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm, so a bit-by-bit copy of the data from the stock 80GB drive to a bigger drive won't work... The 'back-up' utility disk from Yamaha must copy the propriatary format data to a temporary location so it can be returned to a new hard drive in the MusicCast. I'd love to try it out on my MusicCast as my hard drive is at 95% capacity. Does Yamaha sell the back-up disk?
setter is offline  
post #4 of 154 Old 04-02-2006, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Easy and have done the replacement myself.

I swapped disks and started from scratch but you can (with the appropriate software disk from an authorized dealer) connect two hard drives at once and copy data from the original to the new (one disk hooks up to the CD drive IDE connector for the transfer process).

I would recommend a Segate (quiet) ATA-100 (NOT SATA) with a 8MB buffer and 7200RPM transfer. I went from 80GB to 200GB without a problem.

Not sure, however, if you can go further. Eyeing the new Segate 500GB myself for a further upgrade since all of my CDS are PCM and MP3 @320k and that eats up HD real estate like crazy.

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
post #5 of 154 Old 04-03-2006, 09:35 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I need that utility disk from Yamaha. Does anyone want to give up thier copy??
setter is offline  
post #6 of 154 Old 04-03-2006, 04:00 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone e-mail me or give me a place where I can get that disk. Or what is the actual title of the software or part number so I can try to order it.
setter is offline  
post #7 of 154 Old 04-24-2006, 10:35 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've now installed 300, 400 and 500GB models and performed the backup in multiple MusicCast MCX-1000 models without issues. When Seagate comes up with a bigger drive within the Yamaha specification, I'll try it out. Feel free to contact me if you need your system upgraded and the data from your hundreds of CD copied to the new drive. Plus, the old drive makes a great backup...

DonS
setter is offline  
post #8 of 154 Old 05-26-2006, 12:26 PM
Member
 
rodal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SO CAL
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone upgraded the HD on the MCX-2000? I'm thinking of upgrading to 500GB.
rodal is offline  
post #9 of 154 Old 05-30-2006, 07:43 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've done many MCX-1000s, but not the MCX-2000. In a couple of weeks I hope to have the Yamaha specific software to move -1000 data to a -2000, upgrade the hard drive and\\or backup a -2000 hard drive...
setter is offline  
post #10 of 154 Old 10-02-2006, 06:49 AM
Member
 
georgep1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eldithomaso View Post

Easy and have done the replacement myself.

I swapped disks and started from scratch but you can (with the appropriate software disk from an authorized dealer) connect two hard drives at once and copy data from the original to the new (one disk hooks up to the CD drive IDE connector for the transfer process).

I would recommend a Segate (quiet) ATA-100 (NOT SATA) with a 8MB buffer and 7200RPM transfer. I went from 80GB to 200GB without a problem.


I am trying to upgrade to a new hard drive and am not interested in retaining the old data. What needs to be done to get the Musiccast server to recognize a new drive? Any help would be greatly appreciated as 80gb is way too small.
georgep1 is offline  
post #11 of 154 Old 10-02-2006, 12:48 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use a Yamaha Restore disk to create a partition, add the programming, add the Gracenote CD database and start an empty song list.
setter is offline  
post #12 of 154 Old 10-02-2006, 02:23 PM
Member
 
georgep1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by setter View Post

Use a Yamaha Restore disk to create a partition, add the programming, add the Gracenote CD database and start an empty song list.


I don't think I have a Yamaha Restore disk for the MCX-1000 (i.e. no disk came with the machine). I have the 4.1 update disk, but that is it. Do you know how the restore disk could be obtained? Is it online somewhere? I have also heard of a back-up disk, but don't know anything about it.

Thanks,

George
georgep1 is offline  
post #13 of 154 Old 10-02-2006, 08:30 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The software is not supposed to leave the hands of Yamaha dealers. I am happy to perfrom the backup at a cost far less than your laocal Yamaha dealer, but not the restore. My clients did not like the vintage Gracenote CDDB from the Restore disk...
setter is offline  
post #14 of 154 Old 10-04-2006, 01:10 AM
Newbie
 
zyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

I'm also wishing to upgrade the HDD on a MCX-1000 that I just bought off Ebay

But what if you don't need (or want) a backup of the orginal 80Gb HDD.

I've got the HDD here and ready to go - It's a Seagate 500GB ATA/100 (Barracuda 7200.9 - ST3500641A)

Can the disks just be swapped straight or do I still need to go to a Yamaha service centre?

What about the Gracenotes DB is that stored on the orginal HDD - can't it just be downloaded fresh from network connection.

Any advice would be hugely appreciated.
zyka is offline  
post #15 of 154 Old 10-04-2006, 09:10 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Yamaha Rescue disk will partition your hard drive, load the original version of software and the original Gracenote CDDB. You can then upgrade the software to get to where you are today. The CDDB will be a bit dated and not have all the music information, but you can connect the server to the web so the server can access the latest information as needed per Cd (it does not update the CDDB). The problem is that whoever is going to do this for you will want the entire server to ensure the system will work when complete. Thus, you visit Yamaha locally, or you risk shipping your server and pay the shipping costs.

The backup makes a mirror copy, so if it worked when it left your hands, it'll work when it comes back. All I require is your old drive and your working drive - the Yamaha software does the rest. Shipping is inexpensive as the drives are light. In the end, the backup is faster, more robust and easier for the end user.

PM me if you are interested.
setter is offline  
post #16 of 154 Old 10-08-2006, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok:

What is the largest HDD that you all have tried with the MCX-1000.

I would like to go up to a 750 or so but with no user reports (since 300GB was the largest I though update 3 supported) I have never tried.

Anyone install a larger disk without issue?

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
post #17 of 154 Old 10-08-2006, 03:59 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've performed two backups to 750GB drives for Yamaha MCX-1000s. Both were flawless...
setter is offline  
post #18 of 154 Old 10-08-2006, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Setter:

What version of the system software are you on? 4.0 or will earlier revisions work?

I suppose if I have the dealer do it, it doesn't really matter anyway but I figured I would ask for the daring among us who might want to do it without the dealer.

Thanks for the reply.

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
post #19 of 154 Old 10-08-2006, 07:34 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you asking what version I used to backup the 80Gb drive to the 750Gb drive, or what software version the server operates on? The backup software has never been updated as far as I know. It will backup any version of system software to a new hard drive repartioning as necessary. Yamaha has released version 4.1 system software a few years back.
setter is offline  
post #20 of 154 Old 10-08-2006, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry. System software.

I never recived a 4.1 disk - despite multiple requests for same.
Hence I need to know if the prior release of system software will be sufficient
to allow disk sizes >300GB. My understanding was that at some point the software would not recognize larger sizes but if 4.1 will accept 750GB then I need to get that ASAP.

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
post #21 of 154 Old 10-09-2006, 11:52 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I have never used any versions other than 4.1 with the 750GB drives so I can not vouch for their capabilities. I could e-mail you the 4.1 upgrade, but it is 6.3MB...
setter is offline  
post #22 of 154 Old 10-10-2006, 07:21 PM
Member
 
georgep1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Setter, if I were to have you do the backup which 500gb or 750gb disks are compatible? Are the Maxtor drives compatible?
georgep1 is offline  
post #23 of 154 Old 10-10-2006, 09:45 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The compatible drives are listed above, however, I have extended the model lines to include larger drives without any troubles. I performed one backup on a Maxtor without issues (I think it was a 320GB). Send me a private message if you would like to proceed.
setter is offline  
post #24 of 154 Old 10-12-2006, 08:56 PM
Member
 
georgep1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Setter,

Just to clarify, which seagate or WD drives in 500gb and 750gb sizes do you recommend for purchase to send to you (stating the spec here may be helpful to others who may need you help).

As well, what does the backup process do to the oriiginal hard disk? Is it still useable in the Musiccast should you need to revert to it for whatever reason? And can it be used to backup onto another hdd at a later date should the new hdd fail down the road?

These clarifications would be extremely helpful in deciding how to proceed.

Thanks again.
georgep1 is offline  
post #25 of 154 Old 10-12-2006, 09:41 PM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The original 80GB drive can be retained for a backup, but it cannot be used in a different MusicCast it is encoded with the serial number of the MusicCAST server. The original data can be backed-up to other drives as backups or if your new 500GB fails. Heck, you can even backup your 500GB drive to another 500GB to protect you from having to load all 450 CDs in your collection (can you tell I'm actually thinking about it...).

The above listed hard drives are part of hard drive families that are still in production. I have used many of the drives in those families without problems. Specifically, one could use:

Seagate:
ST3300831A*
ST3400832A*
ST3500630A
ST3500641A*
ST3500830A
ST3750640A*
ST3750840A*

Hitachi:
HDS722516vlat20
HDS722516vlat80

Western Digital:
WD3200JB
setter is offline  
post #26 of 154 Old 10-13-2006, 03:10 PM
Member
 
rodal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SO CAL
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have the software tools for the MCX-2000 yet?
rodal is offline  
post #27 of 154 Old 10-22-2006, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Tachy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live near tampa, florida and local dealers knew nothing of backup or upgrading the drives. I did buy from a local dealer, but due to a problem with the musiccast from then (it was actually used and still had someone elses cd in it), I returned it and bought it online from an authorized dealer (who also did not offer any upgrade or backup service).

I take it from the above comments, that you cannot just pop out the hard drive and attach it to your pc and do an identical "symantec ghost" image copy?
Tachy is offline  
post #28 of 154 Old 10-22-2006, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Tympani IVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the updated software 4.1 for operating system of the MCX-1000, but
I'm looking for the restore disk. If anyone has ideas on were to find a clean copy of the restore disk please private message me. I would believe that it should become more available has the machine becomes more obsolete.
Tympani IVa is offline  
post #29 of 154 Old 10-24-2006, 06:50 AM
Member
 
setter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can make a backup copy of the hard disk with any program that will perform a bit-by-bit mirror of the drive. However, you cannot increase the hard drive size as your MusicCAST will not recognize the larger hard drive as the mirror copy transfers the 80GB partition size.

I have learned that only high-end Yamaha dealers in bigger cities seem to know how to upgrade and backup the MusicCAST. Most likely they have recieved sufficient inquiries to get them to order the Service Kit that allows them to repair, edit the firmware, backup and restore the MusicCAST. You might get lucky with your local dealer...

Send me a PM if you'd like to get your MusicCAST upgraded and backed-up.
setter is offline  
post #30 of 154 Old 11-26-2006, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
fatfee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Setter

Did you get the software for transfer data from a 1000 to a 2000? I have just upgraded to a 750 GB in my 1000, but am very interested in the 2000.
fatfee is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off