"Official" Marantz 7400/7500/8400/8500 thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 703 Old 09-10-2005, 11:44 PM
lpm
Senior Member
 
lpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not up to speed on the Marantz product release cycle and was wondering if anyone here was. Specifically, there are now SR 4600, 5600 and 9600 models out. So when might 7600 and 8600 models appear?
lpm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 703 Old 09-11-2005, 03:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattburk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wold guess the 7600 by the end of the year and the 8600 by spring.
mattburk is offline  
post #273 of 703 Old 09-13-2005, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
oogs18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey just got a marantz 7500 and like it a lot. my speaker set up is sonus faber home concertino's and a sf home solo center. i'm using some old speakers for my surrounds.

I was wondering if I upgraded my l/r to sf grand piano homes would the 7500 be able to handle it or am I going to need a better a/v receiver. another option I have is to add a 2 channel amp to power the l/r grand piano and use the 7500 for a preamp

thanks for the help.
oogs18 is offline  
post #274 of 703 Old 09-13-2005, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Jorge59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to jump in so late, but I'm afraid I'm another victim of Marantz LFE coarse. I live in Brazil (where electronics are very expensive) and I wanted to upgrade my HT system (Yamaha RXV-520 rcvr) so, as I was going to spend a few days in NJ in August, I bidded for the 8400 on Ubid in May and unfortunately I "won".

Upon arriving in NJ, I just tested the receiver with 2 channel. As it turned on and was "speaking", I thought it was OK, so I packed it back and brought it home (Rio de Janeiro).

How dispappointed I was to see that it could not drive my sub properly. It looks like the bass is fainting, farting or clipping (sorry I'm not native English speaker), weak and boomy. Even cranking the sub volume up, the LFE is weird. I kept trying settings of volume, surround modes etc, exchanging subs and cables to check if it was the sub, but now I found that other people in this forum have had the same problem. Besides, both my subs sound great with my old Yamaha.

I'd like to know what other victims like buchinmj and jdcohen (who reported this problem in this forum) got from Marantz. Is it worth complaining? My situation is critical because I'm out of the US and warranty might not apply here. So, I don't believe Marantz will honor their reputation, even though they have one representative in Brazil, cause it was not bought from them.

I guess it might be a problem of processing the LFE signal. What would the repair be, if any? Just replace one faulty module? Or would it be a project defect? Might it be a QC rejected lot that they sent out through Ubid?

Any help will be appreciated.
Jorge59 is offline  
post #275 of 703 Old 09-13-2005, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mattburk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you get a proper signal when your in the menu adjusting the volume to each channel, on the test tone?
mattburk is offline  
post #276 of 703 Old 09-14-2005, 06:47 AM
Member
 
cmexec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorge59 View Post

How dispappointed I was to see that it could not drive my sub properly. It looks like the bass is fainting, farting or clipping (sorry I'm not native English speaker), weak and boomy. Even cranking the sub volume up, the LFE is weird. I kept trying settings of volume, surround modes etc, exchanging subs and cables to check if it was the sub, but now I found that other people in this forum have had the same problem. Besides, both my subs sound great with my old Yamaha.

Any help will be appreciated.

Jorge: Unless you have a passive subwoofer or it is not connected correctly, I don't think you should really be expecting the Marantz to drive your sub. However, there have been some complaints from users about substandard subwoofer performance with the 8400 most problems are usually related to speaker setup in the receiver and the quality of the subwoofer used.

HT Core:- Marantz SR-8500|DVDO iScan HD+|Samsung HLP5085w|Philips ProntoProNG|Download my Pronto PCF here
cmexec is offline  
post #277 of 703 Old 09-14-2005, 08:54 AM
Member
 
cmexec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Over at Audioholics there is this article about Marantz AVRs at CEDIA 2005. I doesn't appear to mention replacement pieces for the 7500/8500 but the last paragraph appears to state that the Marantz line is supplied with the RC3200 remote control. Is this correct? Has marantz revised the 7500 and 8500 package? It is a little confusing to say the least, since the URL actually has cedia2004 and the article mentions 4600/5600 (new) and 7500/8500 (old) products.

HT Core:- Marantz SR-8500|DVDO iScan HD+|Samsung HLP5085w|Philips ProntoProNG|Download my Pronto PCF here
cmexec is offline  
post #278 of 703 Old 09-14-2005, 10:50 AM
Member
 
Jorge59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, cmexec,

Of course the Marantz is not driving the active sub. It just doesn't send a proper signal. Mine is a brand new Hsu STF-2. I also tested with a Polk sub and the result is also HORRIBLE. The test tone through the sub is weak too. My feeling is that the unit is defective. Since others have mentioned the same problem, I guess it might be a project mistake or a weak point in the model/brand.
Just for sake, I'll make some last calibration trials before I call Marantz. I can't believe how could such a reputable maker let blunders like this out of the factory....
Jorge59 is offline  
post #279 of 703 Old 09-14-2005, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fraoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmexec View Post

Over at Audioholics there is this article about Marantz AVRs at CEDIA 2005. I doesn't appear to mention replacement pieces for the 7500/8500 but the last paragraph appears to state that the Marantz line is supplied with the RC3200 remote control. Is this correct? Has marantz revised the 7500 and 8500 package? It is a little confusing to say the least, since the URL actually has cedia2004 and the article mentions 4600/5600 (new) and 7500/8500 (old) products.

For the life of me, I can't figure out what's "new" about the 5600. There seems to be a simple setup option. The website indicates a "variable crossover" (as opposed to the variable crossover in the 5500?). The crossover is actually 90, 100 and 120 Hz now, so IMHO that's a step backwards - no more 80 Hz option.
Fraoch is offline  
post #280 of 703 Old 09-14-2005, 06:54 PM
Member
 
cmexec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fraoch View Post

For the life of me, I can't figure out what's "new" about the 5600. There seems to be a simple setup option. The website indicates a "variable crossover" (as opposed to the variable crossover in the 5500?). The crossover is actually 90, 100 and 120 Hz now, so IMHO that's a step backwards - no more 80 Hz option.

Yes, whatever differences there are between the 5500 and 5600 are really hard to spot. The most obvious is that the 5600 has a HDCD decoder (like anyone really cares). According to the SR5600 user manual, the crossover frequencies are 80, 100 and 120 Hz, just like the previous models.

HT Core:- Marantz SR-8500|DVDO iScan HD+|Samsung HLP5085w|Philips ProntoProNG|Download my Pronto PCF here
cmexec is offline  
post #281 of 703 Old 09-14-2005, 11:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Tonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had this question asked by email, but thought I may as well also post the information to this thread... the SR9600 supports subwoofer crossover frequencies of 60, 70, 80, 90, 100, 110, 120, 130, 140, 175 and 200hz.
Daniel Tonks is offline  
post #282 of 703 Old 09-15-2005, 01:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattburk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmexec View Post

Yes, whatever differences there are between the 5500 and 5600 are really hard to spot. The most obvious is that the 5600 has a HDCD decoder (like anyone really cares). According to the SR5600 user manual, the crossover frequencies are 80, 100 and 120 Hz, just like the previous models.

Don't forget that big detachable Power cord!
mattburk is offline  
post #283 of 703 Old 09-16-2005, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fraoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmexec View Post

Yes, whatever differences there are between the 5500 and 5600 are really hard to spot. The most obvious is that the 5600 has a HDCD decoder (like anyone really cares). According to the SR5600 user manual, the crossover frequencies are 80, 100 and 120 Hz, just like the previous models.

Oh yes...I was seeing the manual zoomed out. The "80 Hz" text looked like "90 Hz".

Makes sense now.

Still, I don't know why they are advertising "variable crossover points" when it had it before, as did the rest in the product line for several product generations now.
Fraoch is offline  
post #284 of 703 Old 09-16-2005, 07:41 AM
Member
 
cmexec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The variable cross over points may have been a marketing department gimmick, to make it sound like there are variable options for setting crossover independently for front/center/rear channels (which some AVRs do). I have no idea why they released a 5600, instead of updating the 75/8500 to feature-compete with the Yamaha, Pioneer and Denon of the same price bracket.

HT Core:- Marantz SR-8500|DVDO iScan HD+|Samsung HLP5085w|Philips ProntoProNG|Download my Pronto PCF here
cmexec is offline  
post #285 of 703 Old 09-16-2005, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fraoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmexec View Post

The variable cross over points may have been a marketing department gimmick, to make it sound like there are variable options for setting crossover independently for front/center/rear channels (which some AVRs do). I have no idea why they released a 5600, instead of updating the 75/8500 to feature-compete with the Yamaha, Pioneer and Denon of the same price bracket.

Yes, I would have assumed the next logical step would have been to include basic autosetup in the 4X00 and 5X00 series, and increased functionality autosetup/autoEQ in the 7X00 and 8X00 series. As you indicated in post 181, the current autosetup/autoEQ has no adjustable parameters.

Although personally I can take or leave this stuff, but it's what the competition is doing.

I would have liked to see:

- independent crossovers for every speaker
- ability to layer Dolby Pro-Logic IIx on DTS

The first request is asking a lot, but the second one isn't.
Fraoch is offline  
post #286 of 703 Old 09-16-2005, 10:51 AM
Member
 
cmexec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I concur, except to say that I have to "live with" the autoEQ (if any) that comes with my SR8500 as the user is not allowed the option to enable/disable it.

HT Core:- Marantz SR-8500|DVDO iScan HD+|Samsung HLP5085w|Philips ProntoProNG|Download my Pronto PCF here
cmexec is offline  
post #287 of 703 Old 09-16-2005, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Nauman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im thinking of upgrading my 7400 to 7500 or 8500, the reason being autoEQ coz my room does not have ideal acoustics. is there a fair difference in autoEQ sound? wut other features wud benefit frm apart frm tat? currently i have a 5.1 setup and it wud be nice if i could bi-amp fronts with rear channels
my only concern is, is it the right time to upgrade or shud i wait for new models to arrive in the market. im very pleased with the performance of marantz.
Nauman is offline  
post #288 of 703 Old 09-16-2005, 12:37 PM
Member
 
cmexec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nauman View Post

im thinking of upgrading my 7400 to 7500 or 8500, the reason being autoEQ coz my room does not have ideal acoustics. is there a fair difference in autoEQ sound? wut other features wud benefit frm apart frm tat? currently i have a 5.1 setup and it wud be nice if i could bi-amp fronts with rear channels
my only concern is, is it the right time to upgrade or shud i wait for new models to arrive in the market. im very pleased with the performance of marantz.

Despite your use of the language I'll try to answer... The SR7500/8500 does not have autoEQ in the same sense as what would be found in the Yamaha, Pioneer or Denon receivers. It has the ability to automatically set speaker size and levels. However, as hinted in my previous post, whatever else it (M.R.A.C.) does is not user configurable or alterable. Obviously this is not the same for the flagship SR9600, which has a fully coinfigurable autoEQ facility. In terms of what difference MRAC makes, it's hard to say since I can not compare my setup with it off.

HT Core:- Marantz SR-8500|DVDO iScan HD+|Samsung HLP5085w|Philips ProntoProNG|Download my Pronto PCF here
cmexec is offline  
post #289 of 703 Old 09-17-2005, 10:12 AM
Member
 
damess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oakland Ca
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do u guys think of the DVI switching on the 8500 any good ? I'm thinking about getting it for that reason .I have been useing marantz products for the last 5 years current set up is av9000pre mm9000amp powering linns 51 series speakers witch are 4ohms up front and klipsch rears 8ohms.
damess is offline  
post #290 of 703 Old 09-17-2005, 12:29 PM
Member
 
bwcgrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: N. Little Rock, AR
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DVI switching on my 8500 works perfectly. I've used around half a dozen DVI devices with it and it works as it should. I've heard some reports that it might not like to switch 1080p sources. I can attest that it handles 1080i, 720p, 480p, and 480i fine.

Some would say not to buy built-in DVI switching since it has really become a stepchild in the world of Digital video connections. For me though I wanted an integrated solution and liked the features of the Marantz. My Display is DVI and all my components are DVI. If you are looking for a full featured A/V receiver the 8500 will not disapoint. It is easy to setup and the audio quality is in my opinion fantastic.

The Marantz makes my Klipsch Cornwalls and Hereseys sound incredible.

Brian C. A.K.A. "CHIP"
bwcgrx is offline  
post #291 of 703 Old 09-17-2005, 02:17 PM
Member
 
damess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oakland Ca
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my Marantz av9000 preamp does a nice job component switching. There just not assignable as far as DVI thats what my projector has wich is also a marantz 12s3. I am a marantz guy
damess is offline  
post #292 of 703 Old 09-20-2005, 03:16 PM
nmo
Senior Member
 
nmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a fairly recent 8400 that did a strange thing few days ago. We were watching a movie and all of a sudden the receiver clicks off and restarts by itself at Volume -15. We were watching at -25. It surprised us both. It did the same thing two more times during the movie. The top of the receiver was a tad hot, but not searing. Its connected to a Monster HTS-2000 powerbar and while the receiver clicked off the TV and the DVD player kept running.

This has never happened before and hasn't since. Only thing I can say is that my 4 yr-old left the receiver on for a few hours after he finished watching his cartoons. There was nothing feeding the receiver during that time.

Any clues as why this would have happened? Has anything similar happened to anyone else?

Happiness is merely the remission of pain.
nmo is offline  
post #293 of 703 Old 09-21-2005, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fraoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's very strange.

It sounds like the overcurrent protection tripped, but at -25, that shouldn't be demanding with most speakers. I might also ask if you're using inefficient speakers, but if you're at a comfortable listening level at -25 they must be reasonably efficient.

Your speakers aren't 4-ohm, are they?

As for it restarting at -15, there's no explanation for that other than a DSP glitch, and if it's doing it repeatedly, it could mean trouble.

Check your speaker connections, both at the receiver and at the speaker. If you can't find anything amiss, unplug ALL your speakers and run the receiver for a few hours. If it doesn't trip, try reconnecting the speakers one at a time, testing each one.
Fraoch is offline  
post #294 of 703 Old 09-21-2005, 01:24 PM
nmo
Senior Member
 
nmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My speakers are NHT (ST4, SC2, SB1)-- 8-ohm, 86-88db. They are a tad power hungry but this has never happened before even when I demoed my setup at close to 0 volume (calibrated to 75db).

I too felt it might have been a protection but we were watching a movie thats was primarily dailogue driven. Hardly anything dynamic happened, hence my concern.

*Knock wood* it hasn't happened since. I'd love my HT setup and would hate for something like this to happen to it.

I'll check my speaker connection. Hopefully I will find something amiss and can fix it and sleep easy.

Happiness is merely the remission of pain.
nmo is offline  
post #295 of 703 Old 09-21-2005, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fraoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmo View Post

My speakers are NHT (ST4, SC2, SB1)-- 8-ohm, 86-88db. They are a tad power hungry but this has never happened before even when I demoed my setup at close to 0 volume (calibrated to 75db).

Yes, those are fairly inefficient speakers.

Quote:


I too felt it might have been a protection but we were watching a movie thats was primarily dailogue driven. Hardly anything dynamic happened, hence my concern.

Yeah, that only adds to the weirdness, but it could happen if you were experiencing an intermittent speaker short.
Fraoch is offline  
post #296 of 703 Old 09-25-2005, 03:34 PM
Member
 
dartinbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just hooked up my SR8500 today and wanted to check out the DVI switching. I'm using a 35" Lindy cable to my HS51 using a DVI to HDMI adapter. I'm switching a Motie DCT6412 and a Bravo D1 DVD player. I'm termporarily using Dell DVI moitor cables. When I first hooked it up, I got a video signal into my HDMI input, then after playing with a variety of other setup choices, I get no more video I reset the SR8500 and the HS51. I'm thinking this might be a cable problem or a HDCP issue. Anybody have any ideas?

dartinbout
dartinbout is offline  
post #297 of 703 Old 09-25-2005, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Whttkrasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: the desert
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DVI problem, too. I'm switching an Oppo DVD and Hughes HD STB. I get intemittent snow and flickering. I just sent it in for warranty replacement/repair. I've seen at least one other thread mentioning this, and I'm hoping it's no biggie - just a bad DVI board. I'll report back when it returns.
Whttkrasst is offline  
post #298 of 703 Old 10-03-2005, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Bignickfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuruption View Post

Hey I'm looking for a reference to serial commands for the SR7500 receiver. Basically, I want to use girder plugins to change inputs and modes on the receiver using the serial link. Some searching has come up with no information, but I could have missed something.

Thanks!

I have not looked through the whole thread but here is the link for commands

http://www.marantz.com/new/index.cfm...=3197&single=1
Bignickfly is offline  
post #299 of 703 Old 10-04-2005, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fraoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bignickfly View Post

I have not looked through the whole thread but here is the link for commands

http://www.marantz.com/new/index.cfm...=3197&single=1

Good find!

Too bad the 7400 and 8400 links result in a 404. I'll have to assume that the 7400 and 8400 are similar to the 7500 and 8500 in terms of serial commands...
Fraoch is offline  
post #300 of 703 Old 10-04-2005, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another small fish to be added to the big pond.

I'm a proud 4500 owner. I've used the 4400 before that as well.

I love the sound the 4500 gives me for the price.

I've spent some time today reading up on proper settings and I'm going to try them out when I get home (thanks in most part to Fraoch).

I have noticed that when all 7 of my speakers are calibrated to 75 dB (using internal test tones), that the movie and music can drown out the Center Channel Dialogue. I've already started boosting up the Center Channel myself.

Otherwise, just another proud Marantz owner here.
Finalheaven is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off