"Official" Marantz 7400/7500/8400/8500 thread - Page 24 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 703 Old 08-20-2009, 10:14 PM
Newbie
 
Arron Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

New here and thanks for your help.

My SR7400 when turned on displays a message Check Power 5 and the suts down.
If I turn it on again the volume is shown and then it shuts down...
Actual message is "Check Pow 5"

any ideas... turning off does at the wall does nothing.
thanks
Arron Duke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 703 Old 01-01-2010, 10:10 AM
Newbie
 
Christian6809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the SR-8500 and would like to know if I can change the source names on the RECEIVER itself (i.e. change DVD, VCR, TV, AUX1 to maybe "Plasma", "PS3", "XBOX", "Samsung" not just on the remote. Having difficulty finding it in the manual

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!
Christian6809 is offline  
post #693 of 703 Old 01-04-2010, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
morpheus6d9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian6809 View Post

I have the SR-8500 and would like to know if I can change the source names on the RECEIVER itself (i.e. change DVD, VCR, TV, AUX1 to maybe "Plasma", "PS3", "XBOX", "Samsung" not just on the remote. Having difficulty finding it in the manual

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

no you can't change the source name on the receiver
morpheus6d9 is offline  
post #694 of 703 Old 01-04-2010, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
Christian6809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you!
Christian6809 is offline  
post #695 of 703 Old 06-03-2011, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
juancmjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I think my 8500 is starting to fail. A couple of weeks ago the DVI 1 input started to fail as it would just flash a picture for about a 1/2 second then just go black. Today the display started to show strange characters and unused indicators like Peak, HDCD and 96/24 would turn on at random when increasing or decreasing volume. Performance wise it still functions but this is the first time anything like this has happened. Turning it off and back on helped. However, one of those SR7005s looks pretty good right now...

Occupation: Millionaire Philanderer... I mean philanthropist

juancmjr is offline  
post #696 of 703 Old 10-02-2011, 05:36 PM
Member
 
minidiscbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ocean County, New Jersey
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arron Duke View Post

Hi,

New here and thanks for your help.

My SR7400 when turned on displays a message Check Power 5 and the suts down.
If I turn it on again the volume is shown and then it shuts down...
Actual message is "Check Pow 5"

any ideas... turning off does at the wall does nothing.
thanks

Wow, I just found this thread hoping to find an answer to the same exact problem. Did you ever get an answer to this? Mine was proceeded by a sudden flash of sparks on the back while watching a DVD and was followed by a strong burning smell. I hope my receiver is not fried!
minidiscbob is offline  
post #697 of 703 Old 04-11-2012, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 31
To all SR8500 owners out there... what audio mode do you usually set your unit to when watching blurays? How about normal TV? I know my ears aren't as trained as many of yours and am curious what you all feel sounds best.

Thank you.
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #698 of 703 Old 05-21-2012, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
juancmjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For Bluray I use the analog ins and for tv, dvr and SDDVDs I'll use coax or optical and have the receiver set to THX auto. I have an SR8500

Occupation: Millionaire Philanderer... I mean philanthropist

juancmjr is offline  
post #699 of 703 Old 07-27-2012, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
roxreps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping a few of you can give me some straight advice.

I've got an SR8400 I found in my parents house a few weeks ago. Apparently my dad bought it in 04' and never took it out of the box. For practical purposes, is this receiver worth using as my mainstay, and what drawbacks are there? If i keep it, what can i add to it, and If i sell it, what's it worth (new, still in box)?


Thanks in advance.

Bo
roxreps is offline  
post #700 of 703 Old 07-27-2012, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
ChrisAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxreps View Post

I'm hoping a few of you can give me some straight advice.
I've got an SR8400 I found in my parents house a few weeks ago. Apparently my dad bought it in 04' and never took it out of the box. For practical purposes, is this receiver worth using as my mainstay, and what drawbacks are there? If i keep it, what can i add to it, and If i sell it, what's it worth (new, still in box)?
Thanks in advance.
Bo

That's a nice find, it won't be worth much in this HDMI world if you try to sell it, but it is worth keeping for the sound, provided your TV has enough HDMI inputs you can bypass the video in the 8400, especially if you program your remote to switch inputs on the TV at the same time it switches sound input on the 8400. You could use the Component Video switching for all your gear, but some people believe HDMI is slightly better, and is the best choice for components that feature 1080P playback, as opposed to Component Video's limitation of 720P or 1080i only. However, since most displays upscale a 1080i signal to 1080P anyway, there may not be much if any quality loss if you use the Component switching.

You can still get the high-resolution Dolby HD and DTS Master Audio if your BD player has analogue outputs to the 8400's 7.1 inputs. If not, if you use TOSlink or Coaxial digital, at least the "regular" DTS may take advantage of full bitrate for a sound that is slightly better than that on DVD. Then again if most of your viewing is digital TV or DVD, you won't have a need for HD audio anyway. For the Marantz's on-screen display use the unit's Component Out to your TV.

As you can see there are some workarounds necessary, but at least it saves you from spending cash on a modern unit. The bypass HDMI above is what I do with my older SR9300.
ChrisAG is offline  
post #701 of 703 Old 09-20-2012, 07:47 PM
Member
 
g12345567's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still using an old SR7500 here. But looking to retire it in the next few months with the new model SR6007. In the meantime, the upscaling circuit stopped working on the SR7500 a while back. Is it worth repairing? Everything else still works perfectly. I know the receiver is around 8-9 years old and not worth much at all to sell. Even the remote is probably worth more than the receiver.
g12345567 is offline  
post #702 of 703 Old 12-08-2012, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
GEAR56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Marantz SR-5001 and the HDMI is not working.

LG 60PV250 television
xbox 360
SONY Blueray Disc Player

I am using HDMI 3 in on the TV

When I connect the HDMI Cable from the TV to the xbox or Blueray player it works great (of course sound is throught the TV.

However when I plug the XBOX 360 and SONY BD player into the Marantz SR-5001 there is no output to the TV. In additon there is no sound through the speakers and turning the dial on the received between DVD and TV shows no data message. Any thoughts for troubleshooting?
GEAR56 is offline  
post #703 of 703 Old 02-20-2014, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I'm getting the dreaded check pow5 message when I power on my SR8500 and it immediately shuts down. I read multiple posts online that this means there's a problem with a 5V supply in the unit. Has anyone been able to overcome this problem on their own (without sending it out for service) and if so what did you do?

I see this thread has been dead for over a year an a half so hopefully someone out there sees it smile.gif
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off