Denon 3806 Owners Thread - Page 97 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 2904 Old 07-04-2014, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
EagleThrust77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi..have maybe a dumb question. Do the knobs on the front of the 3806 pull off? I don't want to force them off if they aren't suppose to. Thanks.
EagleThrust77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 2904 Old 07-08-2014, 11:41 AM
Member
 
KSparkuhl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EagleThrust77 View Post
Hi..have maybe a dumb question. Do the knobs on the front of the 3806 pull off? I don't want to force them off if they aren't suppose to. Thanks.
Yes, they pull straight off. A firm, gentle pull does the trick.
KSparkuhl is offline  
post #2883 of 2904 Old 07-08-2014, 08:46 PM
Newbie
 
EagleThrust77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks I appreciate that. I want to do a little cleaning job on the front. It got a little water/plaster on it from a leak in my ceiling. Still works fine as most of the water went into my cable box.
EagleThrust77 is offline  
post #2884 of 2904 Old 09-08-2014, 09:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
denon avr 3806 firmware update

Hey I just purchased a 2nd hand denon avr 3806 for $100. the seller told me he never updated the firmware. I couldn't download it from denon websites. Anyone has it and can send to me? thanks alot.
atx2014 is offline  
post #2885 of 2904 Old 09-08-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by atx2014 View Post
Hey I just purchased a 2nd hand denon avr 3806 for $100. the seller told me he never updated the firmware. I couldn't download it from denon websites. Anyone has it and can send to me? thanks alot.
I have never done mine either from brand new in 2006. I would love to do mine now for 7.1 LPCM
bluer101 is online now  
post #2886 of 2904 Old 11-25-2014, 11:30 PM
Newbie
 
janghell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware

I have the firmware file for the 3806.
I can send it to you if you like.
I updated my 3806 yesterday:-)
janghell is offline  
post #2887 of 2904 Old 11-26-2014, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by janghell View Post
I have the firmware file for the 3806.
I can send it to you if you like.
I updated my 3806 yesterday:-)
Thanks, I got it from another member. But have not upgraded since I bought a new Denon 4520ci. My 3806 is boxed up for future zone amplification.
bluer101 is online now  
post #2888 of 2904 Old 12-10-2014, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by janghell View Post
I have the firmware file for the 3806.
I can send it to you if you like.
I updated my 3806 yesterday:-)
Gentlemen,

I'm looking into upgrading the firmware on my 3806 because of an issue with the left front speaker tests.. the system always misjudges the distance of the left front speaker drastically compared to the others (which seem to be fairly accurate). Hoping a firmware upgrade would help.. or i'll have to swap out the mic.

can one of you make the firmware file available for me to download?

thanks,
Faisal Quadri is offline  
post #2889 of 2904 Old 12-10-2014, 12:00 PM
Newbie
 
janghell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faisal Quadri View Post
Gentlemen,

I'm looking into upgrading the firmware on my 3806 because of an issue with the left front speaker tests.. the system always misjudges the distance of the left front speaker drastically compared to the others (which seem to be fairly accurate). Hoping a firmware upgrade would help.. or i'll have to swap out the mic.

can one of you make the firmware file available for me to download?

thanks,
You can find it here in my next post. Need 5 post before I can share a link...
janghell is offline  
post #2890 of 2904 Old 12-10-2014, 12:00 PM
Newbie
 
janghell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
janghell is offline  
post #2891 of 2904 Old 12-13-2014, 10:28 PM
Newbie
 
mektare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by janghell View Post
Hi janghell, can you please help with few instructions on how to upgrade the firmware? My 3806 purchased in 2005 started acting up recently - no video output at all, no OST either. Tried everything including factory reset with no luck. Was thinking of buying the X4100W, but would like to see if the new firmware breathes life into 3806. Thanks!
mektare is offline  
post #2892 of 2904 Old 12-14-2014, 09:29 AM
Member
 
saurav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mektare View Post
can you please help with few instructions on how to upgrade the firmware?
Post 1960 describes the process nicely. There's also a pdf file inside the zip, in German, IIRC.
saurav is offline  
post #2893 of 2904 Old 12-14-2014, 10:50 PM
Newbie
 
mektare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saurav View Post
Post 1960 describes the process nicely. There's also a pdf file inside the zip, in German, IIRC.
Thanks a lot Saurav. I will try that out.
mektare is offline  
post #2894 of 2904 Old 12-20-2014, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Benefactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haven't visited this thread in awhile.

Something I've never been able to figure out...how/where do I connect an external headphone amp?

I've tried a variety of different ways to connect my Perreaux SX-H1 amp to the 3806, but can't get audio out of it.

Seems like something I should have been able to figure out after all these years...gave up on it after awhile and forgot about it.

Can anyone lend me a hand...where does the headphone amp connect?

I've searched this thread, and found a few posts asking the same question, but I still can't seem to figure it out.

Exactly which jacks on the back am I looking for, as I don't see any labeled "rec out"?

Can somebody please walk me through this as if I'm a child?

What am I missing?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Last edited by Benefactor; 12-20-2014 at 02:08 PM.
Benefactor is offline  
post #2895 of 2904 Old 12-21-2014, 06:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Another question related to the 3806. I recently connected a Sony Blu-Ray player (BDP-S790) to the 3806 via the optical link. Now when I play a movie the 3806 will abruptly shut off, with the power button blinking red. This seems to be correlated with loud scenes in the movie. Is this a known issue? Will updating the firmware fix it?

Thanks!
rvazreal is offline  
post #2896 of 2904 Old 12-22-2014, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Benefactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Disregard my question above - figured out the connection for an external headphone amp...after mucking around for a couple of hours.

I consider myself fairly well-versed in consumer electronics, but for the life of me, I forgot how unnecessarily complicated the 3806 is/was.

It would be comical if it wasn't so frustrating.
Benefactor is offline  
post #2897 of 2904 Old 01-04-2015, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Nasmo_Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another Firmware Question (HDMI problem)

Hi all.

I've been using my 3806 (US version) for many years with an old Sony VPL-50 projector (connected via HDMI) with no issues whatsoever. The projector recently died so I bought a new Epson Home Cinema 3000. The projector works great however, the 3806 will not recognize it, nor output to it, when connected to the 3806 over HDMI. The firmware versions I have are the original:

Main: 00.56
Sub: 00.42
DSP: 00.43

I found newer firmware that Janghell posted (thank you Janghell). The changelog for that version states:

Changelog of Firmware AVR3806

28.09.2007
00.76
When the customer connected the source equipment to the COMPONENT input of an AV amplifier and AV amplifier and Display with HDMI connection, the customer controlled MASTER VOLUME up and down, a Flashing Noise indicates in a picture at once.

06.09.2006
00.72
Improvement of the transaction of Bass management setting
Improvement of support the Audio Digital signal at PC resolution (SVGA, XGA, etc.) from the HDMI input with DVD-3930 or DVD-2930

16.06.2006
00.59
Supporting the LPCM 7.1ch digital signal
Supporting the PC resolution (1600x 1200, 60Hz max.) from HDMI iput

05.12.2005
00.56
adjustement the pop noise when operating the REC SELECT
Depending upon the timing after the function is switched, the Setup OSD is sometimes not indicated when the System Setup Button was operated continuously.
Improement of the RS232C Serial Control



A few questions:
Is this the latest firmware? If so, what versions does it update the Main, Sub and DSP to?
Will this work on the US version of the 3806?
The changelog doesn't mention the specific problem I'm having but does mention HDMI. Does anyone know if updating the firmware will address HDMI issues like what I'm seeing?


The reason I'm reluctant to upgrade is that I'm an Apple guy with no access to PCs, nevermind one old enough to have the serial port and XP, so I'll have to scrounge around to find something. That seems like a lot of hassle if it's not going to fix the problem, blow away all me existing settings etc.

Thanks very much,
Naz
Nasmo_Q is offline  
post #2898 of 2904 Old 01-07-2015, 06:29 AM
Member
 
sarcevic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use my 3806 to pass audio/video from my dvr and blu-ray with no issues. I'm considering purchasing a 4k tv and would like to know if the 3806 will have any issues passing 4k video content. I know that currently there isn't much in the way of content available, but I'd like to be able to see what content is available. Thanks.
sarcevic is offline  
post #2899 of 2904 Old 01-07-2015, 06:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,623
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3349 Post(s)
Liked: 2079
^^
No, it cannot pass full 1080p 3D or 4k. You would need to purchase a dual HDMI BDP to pass video to 4k TV and audio to AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2900 of 2904 Old 01-13-2015, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
niklass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys!

I've just bought an Epson TW3200 projector, since my old TW3500 broke this weekend.

Now I'm not getting any signal into the TW3200 via hdmi from my 3806. (When i hook the projector directly to my pc or ps4 i get signal, wich i tested to see that the HDMI "receiver" within the projector is working as it should)

the TW3500 worked just fine, and my backup samsung LCD/LED (series 5) are getting the picture via the same setup.

It seems that the TW3200 has some other interpretation of the HDMI signal than the other two "monitors".
I have an European D3806 and I've flashed it once wtih a download from denon.de to be able to pass through 1080p when i bought the TW3500 some 4-5 years ago.

I downloaded the new FW from the link above, but I'd like to figure out if that's the same patch that i applied some years ago, or if it's a newer one. How do i check my FW version on my 3806? (sorry if it's covered earlier in the thread, haven't read all the 100 pages yet)

EDIT: I googled a bit and found out how and wich version of the software i have in my 3806. it's 0.76 / 0.56 / 0.45 it seems that's the latest version that Denon released for this hardware?


I'd really like to keep the 3806 for a while more, since I still like it soundwise and featurewise.


Best regards

Last edited by niklass; 01-13-2015 at 11:09 AM.
niklass is offline  
post #2901 of 2904 Old 02-17-2015, 10:10 AM
Member
 
brasspile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Madisonville, LA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by janghell View Post
Thanks for posting this! Tried the link posted waaaay back in this thread and it was file not found.
John
brasspile is offline  
post #2902 of 2904 Old 02-23-2015, 07:21 PM
Member
 
StoleMyOwnCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have this thing paired with a Roku 3 box? I don't really care about Netflix as I do not use Netflix, but does this receiver in general play nicely with everything else on the Roku? I'm about to receive one of these from Ebay, and am considering a Roku to watch stuff. I know this thing is limited to like HDMI 1.1
StoleMyOwnCar is offline  
post #2903 of 2904 Unread Yesterday, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Dutchman01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi i have a new link to firmware in case people still needs it


You can grab firmware from here: http://www.zoonsweb.nl/files/denon/


Regards,
Dutchman01

DENON AVR-4306
Firmware: Main ver. 01.00, Sub ver. 00.50, DSP ver. 00.04.

DENON DVD-3930
Firmware: BE 8284-A, Make Day C09, DSP 8250, IP 070518
Dutchman01 is offline  
post #2904 of 2904 Unread Today, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I just got one of these units because i was hoping to start using some HDMI (I've been on the component bandwagon for a long time) and unfortunately, it seems like I can't get it to work.

I'm testing it with the Apple TV and a Optoma HD70.

It appears to me that the HDMI output works to an extent, because I can get the OSD to pop up when HDMI out is the only cable connected to my projector. I've also tested the cables I'm using plugging the Apple TV directly to the projector, and that works fine. But when I try to get a signal with everything hooked up to the 3806, all that happens is it appears like it's trying to read, and then it starts clicking.

I've tried resetting the microprocessor as well as trying to see if I can get it to output non-HDMI stuff (my PS3 is hooked up with component cables; no signal). I also made sure to set the AppleTV to 720P, as the HD70 won't do full 1080P (only 1080i).

Any thoughts? Did I get a bum unit? Can it be repaired or is it bricked in terms of HDMI?
girouxmcisaak is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3806 Av Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off