Tape mon loop or pre out/in -- preference? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-19-2005, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TomCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The main qualification for a new A/V receiver for me is the ability to process 2-channel analog audio with an EQ and AGC level control. Since these are line-level outboard items, the receiver must have some way to connect them post-input selection and pre-multi-channel processing and power amplification. I have typically done this with separates in the past.

I'm discovering, much to my chagrin, that the implementation of multi-channel and digital audio is making these kinds of opportunities scarce on consumer equipment. This brings up two questions:

1. Would you recommend using a tape monitor loop or pre in/out connections, or does one or the other suffice?

2. Can anyone recommend amps that have either of these features (any price point between $300-$1200)?

TIA to the experts. AVS is the best source anywhere. :)

There's no place like 127.0.0.1
TomCat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-19-2005, 07:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,468
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 138
For your gadgets, either approach will work.

Kal

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-19-2005, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Dolby does not certify AVRs with a Tape Monitor..
As they cannot control the Tape Monitor input level as it depends upon the gain of the external component..
Such as a processor or 3-head tape deck..
And it can drive the Dolby decoder into clipping....

If you are going to connect an EQ, than go between the Pre-Outs and Main-Ins. However many of the AVRs available today utilize a digital EQ which offer better sonic/electrical performance over an external analog type....
M Code is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-21-2005, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TomCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code
...many of the AVRs available today utilize a digital EQ...
Can you site some good examples? If I can do it in the box, I'm sold.

There's no place like 127.0.0.1
TomCat is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-21-2005, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomCat
Can you site some good examples? If I can do it in the box, I'm sold.
The major AVR brands of Pioneer/Elite, Yamaha, Denon and Harman/Kardon include this Room EQ feature...
M Code is online now  
Closed Thread Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off