Anthem AVM 30 ==> 40 / 50 upgrade prices ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 281 Old 02-15-2006, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Rmassey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the upcoming upgrade options to the Anthem AVM 30 to:

AVM 40 - Adds HDMI switching + $700
AVM 50 - Adds HDMI switching and Scaler + $1700

Are these prices fixed in stone by Anthem/dealers or can we expect some reasonalble discounts (say 10-20%) like when we purchased the AVM initially?
Rmassey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 281 Old 07-04-2006, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
PaulG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Out There
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know if my AVM-20 can follow a similar upgrade path or is it finally time to move on?

thx!
PaulG is offline  
post #3 of 281 Old 07-04-2006, 02:34 PM
ekb
AVS Special Member
 
ekb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ
Posts: 4,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulG View Post

Anybody know if my AVM-20 can follow a similar upgrade path or is it finally time to move on?

thx!

I'm pretty sure that you can upgrade the 20.

Ed
ekb is offline  
post #4 of 281 Old 07-04-2006, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Massimo N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm curious what the Canadian pricing is going to be ... I'm assuming those are US funds. Hopefully they won't be outragious ... especially since they are a Canadian Company

Did Anthem give any details when the upgrades are going to be made available?

Any indication of HDMI 1.3 compliance?
Massimo N is offline  
post #5 of 281 Old 07-04-2006, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I email Nick at Anthem about 2 weeks ago and they are working on it and looking into 1.3 hdmi also for upgrade. Thats all he said for now. I have the avm20 and looking at waiting and see what happens next.

jsil is offline  
post #6 of 281 Old 07-07-2006, 06:29 PM
Member
 
alfredo mora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone actually upgraded their AVM30 to 40 or 50. Please let us know,

thanks
alfredo mora is offline  
post #7 of 281 Old 07-08-2006, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jose_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lafayette, La. U.S.A.
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spoke to Frank at Anthem tech support yesterday.

He said it could be months (would say how long) till upgrades.

He also said to go from a Avm20v2 to a Avm20v3 (AVM50) would cost approx. $1700 US funds.

Regards,
Jose
Jose_L is offline  
post #8 of 281 Old 07-08-2006, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
PaulT_BC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: B.C., Canada
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The upgrade path for the AVM30 bypasses the 40 - it is to AVM50 level only.

I received that in a email from Nick.

No set timeframe was given (a few months??) and I did not ask about prices as I will be going ahead regardless.

I expect the AVM20 upgrade will also bypass the 40 and all upgrades will include the Gennum scaler to make it equal to the 50.

"One of the problems of taking things apart and seeing how they work--supposing you're trying to find out how a cat works--you take that cat apart to see how it works, what you've got in your hands is a non-working cat."
-- Douglas Adams
PaulT_BC is offline  
post #9 of 281 Old 07-08-2006, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
PaulT_BC

That's right the avm 20 will upgrade to avm 50. I got the same email from Nick on 7/06/06.

jsil is offline  
post #10 of 281 Old 08-13-2006, 11:03 AM
Member
 
alfredo mora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news on the AVM's upgrades? thanks!!
alfredo mora is offline  
post #11 of 281 Old 08-13-2006, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I think it will be sometime before we see upgrades for the avm 20/30.

jsil is offline  
post #12 of 281 Old 08-29-2006, 04:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrPainMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How much is the avm 20 alone?

super dirty , super clean , pow
DrPainMD is offline  
post #13 of 281 Old 08-29-2006, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
PaulT_BC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: B.C., Canada
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPainMD View Post

How much is the avm 20 alone?

Discontinued as a retail product. Used - anywhere from 1200 to 1800USD at places like audiogon.com

"One of the problems of taking things apart and seeing how they work--supposing you're trying to find out how a cat works--you take that cat apart to see how it works, what you've got in your hands is a non-working cat."
-- Douglas Adams
PaulT_BC is offline  
post #14 of 281 Old 08-29-2006, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrPainMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulT_BC View Post

Discontinued as a retail product. Used - anywhere from 1200 to 1800USD at places like audiogon.com

Thanks, what about the AVM 30,40 and 50?

and if you know rough prices on the MCA 20/30/50 ?

super dirty , super clean , pow
DrPainMD is offline  
post #15 of 281 Old 08-29-2006, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
PaulT_BC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: B.C., Canada
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPainMD View Post

Thanks, what about the AVM 30,40 and 50?

and if you know rough prices on the MCA 20/30/50 ?


US MSRP 30/40/50/D2
http://www.anthemav.com/NewSitev2.0/...50_d2_comp.pdf
for CAD MSRP, call your Dealer, they will give you MSRP over the phone.

"One of the problems of taking things apart and seeing how they work--supposing you're trying to find out how a cat works--you take that cat apart to see how it works, what you've got in your hands is a non-working cat."
-- Douglas Adams
PaulT_BC is offline  
post #16 of 281 Old 08-29-2006, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrPainMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulT_BC View Post

US MSRP 30/40/50/D2
http://www.anthemav.com/NewSitev2.0/...50_d2_comp.pdf
for CAD MSRP, call your Dealer, they will give you MSRP over the phone.


Thanks, could'nt find that. What about the MCA 20/30/50 ?

super dirty , super clean , pow
DrPainMD is offline  
post #17 of 281 Old 10-28-2006, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Massimo N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone received an update on the upgrade from the AVM30 -> 50 (Price and Timing)?

Thanx
Massimo N is offline  
post #18 of 281 Old 10-28-2006, 05:37 PM
aus
Senior Member
 
aus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you eligible for the upgrade if you bought a used AVM?
aus is offline  
post #19 of 281 Old 10-28-2006, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I asked that question of Nick at Anthem a while back and was told that as long as it is not stolen you can take a used unit to any dealer for the upgrade. I haven't heard anything about the upgrades or the AVM-40 in quite a while. I ended up buying a D2 new.
obie_fl is online now  
post #20 of 281 Old 10-29-2006, 12:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Kishore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: San Diego
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Massimo N View Post

Has anyone received an update on the upgrade from the AVM30 -> 50 (Price and Timing)?

Thanx

Anthem had mentioned to me that early Q1 '07 will see official roll out of the upgrade. Well, let's see

Price was approx difference in MSRPs (for full upgrade)- TBD

Quote:
Originally Posted by aus View Post

Are you eligible for the upgrade if you bought a used AVM?

Yes, and you also get warranty on the upgraded unit.

Cheers,
Kishore
Kishore is offline  
post #21 of 281 Old 10-29-2006, 11:01 PM
aus
Senior Member
 
aus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good info. Thanks. How reliable is the $1700 price listed above?

Also, is it still labeled as an AVM20/30 after the upgrade?

And are prices better in Canada?
aus is offline  
post #22 of 281 Old 10-30-2006, 04:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by aus View Post

Also, is it still labeled as an AVM20/30 after the upgrade?

Yes, nick has said the 20 upgrade would be to an AVM 20 V3.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is online now  
post #23 of 281 Old 10-30-2006, 09:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by aus View Post

Good info. Thanks. How reliable is the $1700 price listed above?

Also, is it still labeled as an AVM20/30 after the upgrade?

And are prices better in Canada?

I talked to Anthem a few weeks ago and thought the price was $2000.00 but I could be wrong. I was hoping Anthem would offer a HDMI upgrade without the Gennum processor but was told that it wold not be offered without the processor. Maybe they will eventually offer the HDMI upgrade by itself as I do not want the processor or want to pay $1700-2000 for the upgrade.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #24 of 281 Old 10-30-2006, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Rmassey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$2000 - cripe, if so, anthem is pricing itself out of my comfort zone. I was not pleased with $1700 and hoping for typical dealer discounts to bring it down to $1500ish.
Rmassey is offline  
post #25 of 281 Old 11-23-2006, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthemAVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the advantage to upgrade to the 50? Couldn't you get a better Video Processor for less?

I just got a 70" XBR2, so I am very intersted, as I would love to be able to take SD signal and make it 1080p.

Thanks
AnthemAVM is offline  
post #26 of 281 Old 11-24-2006, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 31
A standalone scaler with the same Gennum chip as in the AVM-50 such as the PixelMagic Crystalio II goes for $4.5K and you still wouldn't have HDMI audio. Not sure if you are thinking HD DVD or Blu-ray but to fully exploit the new audio codecs you will need the HDMI audio inputs of the AVM-50 too.
obie_fl is online now  
post #27 of 281 Old 11-24-2006, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LEVESQUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthemAVM View Post

What is the advantage to upgrade to the 50? Couldn't you get a better Video Processor for less?

No.
LEVESQUE is offline  
post #28 of 281 Old 11-24-2006, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nethomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Mexico, Missouri
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Anthem AVM, I'm with you. I also have the 70in XBR2 and the D1.

gthomas
nethomas is offline  
post #29 of 281 Old 11-24-2006, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthemAVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by obie_fl View Post

A standalone scaler with the same Gennum chip as in the AVM-50 such as the PixelMagic Crystalio II goes for $4.5K and you still wouldn't have HDMI audio. Not sure if you are thinking HD DVD or Blu-ray but to fully exploit the new audio codecs you will need the HDMI audio inputs of the AVM-50 too.


Thanks, I have a email into my anthem dealer, to see if he has a good trade in policy, trade in AVM30 walk out with AVM50.

Michael
AnthemAVM is offline  
post #30 of 281 Old 12-02-2006, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kenrosencpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I upgrade my AVM20 with HDMI and scaling will I essentially have an AVM50? These upgrades were supposed to availiable last year at this time and now a year later we are still waiting . If I can upgrade for $2000 plus the value of my 20 is $$1,200-1,400 that sounds like a better deal than a new AVM50
Kenrosencpa is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off