The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 102 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3031 of 4119 Old 08-26-2007, 01:50 PM
Member
 
gutlass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK i Just ordered a 2807 to control my living room setup. Thank s for your info. What do you think will be the best way to get the computer to play music on the receivers? I was just gonan run in to one of the aux input and rename them computer. Do you think that will work?
gutlass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3032 of 4119 Old 08-26-2007, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
userb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you can get an audio signal to the receiver, the receiver will play it. Your connection will depend on the output options on your pc's sound card (or motherboard).
userb is offline  
post #3033 of 4119 Old 08-26-2007, 02:45 PM
Member
 
gutlass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you seem to know the answers to all my questions this is great lol Do you know about the multi zone functions? Cause I was wondering if I use a 1907 in the bedroom cause says it does multi zone, I wonder if I can watch tv and play music in the bathroom (only 1speaker in the bathroom) and can control the volume of just the bathroom?
gutlass is offline  
post #3034 of 4119 Old 08-26-2007, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
userb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the speaker in the bathroom is setup with as zone 2, you should be able to turn power to that speaker off and on separately and control the volume separately.
userb is offline  
post #3035 of 4119 Old 08-26-2007, 03:49 PM
Member
 
gutlass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK great you've been a big help, I'll be ordering a 1907 for the bedroom.
gutlass is offline  
post #3036 of 4119 Old 08-26-2007, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
userb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right on. Good luck with your setup.
userb is offline  
post #3037 of 4119 Old 09-01-2007, 10:28 AM
Member
 
daspaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I`ve got 2 questions re the denon avr-2807, before I go and purchase it. I read the manual online, but i`m not sure about 2 things.

1) I`m thinking of using the avr-2807 for a 5.1 system in the main zone, and a 2channel stereo in my bathroom. Is it possible to use 2different sources in both zones because i will be using the Rear Back surround terminals not the dedicated Zone two outs, as i`m not going to use an extra amplifier for the bathroom. in simple words, is it possible to for example to watch a dvd in the living and simultanousely hearing the radio in the bathroom, by using the avr-2807`s Rear back surround`s assingned as Zone2??

2) I will be having a set of A speakers and B speakers connected to the avr-2807. I will be using the B speakers mainyl for 2channel stereo listening. is it possible to use the B speakers instead of the A speakers while in 5.1 surround mode?

Thanks!
daspaceman is offline  
post #3038 of 4119 Old 09-01-2007, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
userb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes to both.
userb is offline  
post #3039 of 4119 Old 09-02-2007, 02:18 PM
Member
 
daspaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even if using the SURROUND BACK`s L/R for zone2 instead of the dedicated Zone2 connections?

Thanks!
daspaceman is offline  
post #3040 of 4119 Old 09-02-2007, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
userb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. Using the Surround Back speaker connections is the more versatile option since digital sources aren't output through the Zone2 outputs.
userb is offline  
post #3041 of 4119 Old 09-03-2007, 12:46 AM
Member
 
daspaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is awesome, off to buy my new avr2807
daspaceman is offline  
post #3042 of 4119 Old 09-03-2007, 01:44 AM
Member
 
Highend.nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if I would like to play dts sound into 2 channels...how do I wire it all up? and what connections are preferred?

dvd-->2807-->amplifier-->speakers (i only use the preamp in 2807)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can download Basta! loudspeaker simulator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Newest update (new category):

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Highend.nu is offline  
post #3043 of 4119 Old 09-03-2007, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highend.nu View Post

if I would like to play dts sound into 2 channels...how do I wire it all up? and what connections are preferred?

dvd-->2807-->amplifier-->speakers (i only use the preamp in 2807)

1- Tell the player that you want 2 channel output in bitstream, not PCM.

2- Choose your connection method. I prefer HDMI but you can go component video and a digital audio connection.

3- You could stop there but you can do the auto-setup so that you can choose Audyssey Room EQ if you wish. You will also want to adjust the audio delay setting if you notice any lip-sync problems.

4- Choose your audio track on the DVD carefully. It's fine to go for DTSI tend to prefer DTS soundtracks myselfbut go for a 2 channel track if it's offered rather than downmixing 5.1 or more to 2 channels. A native 2 channel track always sounds better than a downmixed surround track in my experience.

The above assumes that you only have 2 speakers hooked up. If you have more speakers/channels connected then you are going to have to set the 2807 to stereo as well or you're likely to get DTS Neo6 processing trying to expand the 2 channel signal from the player to however many channels you actually have connected.
David Aiken is offline  
post #3044 of 4119 Old 09-03-2007, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
truffleshuffle83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
will the 2807 pass 1080p/ 24?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
truffleshuffle83 is offline  
post #3045 of 4119 Old 09-04-2007, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
truffleshuffle83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
anyone??


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
truffleshuffle83 is offline  
post #3046 of 4119 Old 09-04-2007, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
60SXRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anybody else have this problem? When I was watching a HD Net concert this weekend I was unable to increase the volume beyond -12 dB. I'm using a DirecTV HD DVR with HDMI to the TV and optical (toslink) to the AVR-987. I checked my settings and have the volume limiting set to off.

Cheers,

Jeff

SXRD/Denon/OPPO/HTPC/PS4/PS3/XB360/NHT/HSU
PSN ID: Krondorian
XBL ID: Midkemian
West Coast
Twitter: @Krondo_jd
60SXRD is offline  
post #3047 of 4119 Old 09-04-2007, 11:38 AM
Member
 
darthpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by truffleshuffle83 View Post

will the 2807 pass 1080p/ 24?

Yes...

cheers!

Long Live WaltChan
darthpaul is online now  
post #3048 of 4119 Old 09-04-2007, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
truffleshuffle83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
god thank you. i thought i was gonna have to upgrade again


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
truffleshuffle83 is offline  
post #3049 of 4119 Old 09-04-2007, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
Dsantiagoaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be too broad of a question, but i just purchased the 2807 (along with KEF 3000 speakers) and set it up last night... boy, is this system a far cry from the HTIB i've been accustomed too. Are there any helpful hints for the set-up? i ran a HDMI cable from an OPPO DVD player to the receiver, then HMDI out to a SONY projector. I finally got the audio and video working, but with all the complications, i'm sure i'm missing a lot. Any helpful hints to optimize sound / video. How do i know the signal to the projector is 1080p (or 1080i)... best sound set-up? it asked for a bass level (no idea)? i printed out an article that talked about a auto-set-up/calibration, so i'll look into that. i was just hoping there might be a short "denon2807-for-dummies" someone might be able to put together.
Dsantiagoaa is offline  
post #3050 of 4119 Old 09-04-2007, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevec325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newtown, PA
Posts: 3,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsantiagoaa View Post

This may be too broad of a question, but i just purchased the 2807 (along with KEF 3000 speakers) and set it up last night... boy, is this system a far cry from the HTIB i've been accustomed too. Are there any helpful hints for the set-up? i ran a HDMI cable from an OPPO DVD player to the receiver, then HMDI out to a SONY projector. I finally got the audio and video working, but with all the complications, i'm sure i'm missing a lot. Any helpful hints to optimize sound / video. How do i know the signal to the projector is 1080p (or 1080i)... best sound set-up? it asked for a bass level (no idea)? i printed out an article that talked about a auto-set-up/calibration, so i'll look into that. i was just hoping there might be a short "denon2807-for-dummies" someone might be able to put together.

Congratulations on the 2807.

This thread is a great place to start learning - take some time to read through it. There is a lot of information. I'm not sure that anyone has created a "2807-for-dummies" guide, though

As complicated as it might seem, at first - you'll get the hang of it pretty quick. Perhaps, a good start is getting the Audyssey calibration completed. It's not that complicated, and the manual does a "reasonable" job of walking you through it. That is the single best thing you can do to optimize your audio. Once you have that completed, you're about 90% done. the rest is just adjustments, preferences, and customizations, that you'll pick up as you go along.

Take a crack at running Audyssey, and if you have questions, ask them here. The folks in this thread are very good about helping out, and offering guidance & suggestions.

As for your 1080p question... the 2807 will pass through (via HDMI) whatever you send it. So, if you are feeding the 2807 a 1080p HDMI signal, it will pass it on to your display. As far as video goes, there isn't much to it.

If you want some good general information about HT, check out this thread...
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=824554
It's a gold mine

-steve

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"...and all the science, I don't understand. It's just my job, five days a week."
stevec325 is offline  
post #3051 of 4119 Old 09-05-2007, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
bootsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am sure that somewhere in these 100+ pages of forum this topic is probably covered. Please spare me the time and tell me if there is a volume limit on audio from some DVD's? Is there a way around this? For example I was watching 3G live in Tokyo but would only go to a certain volume level and stopped. I have the Oppo Dv 980hooked up via HDMI. Your assistance is greatly appreciated. Thanks, Rob
bootsan is offline  
post #3052 of 4119 Old 09-06-2007, 12:00 AM
Newbie
 
danrod43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, someone asked before but no one seemed to give an answer. I am trying to run component inputs and output through hdmi. The xbox 360 is one of the inputs on the receiver, it is sending a 720p signal but nothing happens when i try to output through hdmi. I have analog to hdmi off and convert signal off. The same happens for the wii (480p signal). My cable box is connected through hdmi and that outputs fine. Please help with this issue.
danrod43 is offline  
post #3053 of 4119 Old 09-06-2007, 04:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootsan View Post

I am sure that somewhere in these 100+ pages of forum this topic is probably covered. Please spare me the time and tell me if there is a volume limit on audio from some DVD's? Is there a way around this? For example I was watching 3G live in Tokyo but would only go to a certain volume level and stopped. I have the Oppo Dv 980hooked up via HDMI. Your assistance is greatly appreciated. Thanks, Rob

Turn down the volume knob some on your sub and run Audyssey setup again.

Gary J
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gary J is offline  
post #3054 of 4119 Old 09-06-2007, 04:08 AM
Senior Member
 
userb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danrod43 View Post

Hello, someone asked before but no one seemed to give an answer. I am trying to run component inputs and output through hdmi. The xbox 360 is one of the inputs on the receiver, it is sending a 720p signal but nothing happens when i try to output through hdmi. I have analog to hdmi off and convert signal off. The same happens for the wii (480p signal). My cable box is connected through hdmi and that outputs fine. Please help with this issue.

Component video is an analog signal. If you want Component input to convert to HDMI output, then "Analog to HDMI Convert" must be set to on.
userb is offline  
post #3055 of 4119 Old 09-06-2007, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
userb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootsan View Post

I am sure that somewhere in these 100+ pages of forum this topic is probably covered. Please spare me the time and tell me if there is a volume limit on audio from some DVD's? Is there a way around this? For example I was watching 3G live in Tokyo but would only go to a certain volume level and stopped. I have the Oppo Dv 980hooked up via HDMI. Your assistance is greatly appreciated. Thanks, Rob

Just to add to Gary's comments, the manual states: "depending on the channel level settings and the different surround mode settings and when in the down-mix mode, it may not be possible to adjust the volume to 18 dB." Even if you are not sending an audio signal to the receiver, you'll notice that the max volume you can set will often be less than 18dB for various surround modes. Sometimes 18dB minus your highest channel level, sometimes 18dB minus (the difference between your highest and lowest channel level), etc...
userb is offline  
post #3056 of 4119 Old 09-10-2007, 12:56 PM
Member
 
gameling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I have had the 2807 since May 2006. I have tried to use it to pass HDMI video/audio from my SA8300HD STB and Oppo DV981HD DVD/SACD/DVD-A player to my HDTV but it doesn't pass the signal. I contacted Denon and was told to try a reset to re-initialize the microprocessor. The reset seemed to work like described on page 42 of the manual but didn't fix the problem. Still no sound or picture making it to the TV. I gave up for several months and have been running the video/sound straight to the TV via HDMI and the sound separately to the 2807 via optical out/in on the receiver. This works fine but now that my 2 year warranty is only a few months from running out I am interested in getting the 2807 working as it should. Anyone else have this problem or know of something to do to fix it. I really don't want to pack up my receiver and ship it off to Denon for several weeks . Thx.
gameling is offline  
post #3057 of 4119 Old 09-10-2007, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
userb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have the same equipment that you do, but I've never had any problem using HDMI. It should be straightforward as long as there are no HDCP issues.

1. Connect HDMI outputs from equipment to the 2807's HDMI1 and HDMI2 inputs.
2. Connect HDMI from 2807's ouput to TV's HDMI input.
3. Set 2807's HDMI In assigments for connected equipment to HDMI1 and HDMI2: System Setup screen 4-1. Set audio to TV or AMP on this screen as well.
4. Set 2807's Digital In assigments for connected equipment to HDMI1 and HDMI 2: System Setup screen 3-1.

I'm not sure what could be wrong if that doesn't work. Can you even see the System Setup screens using HDMI from receiver to TV?
userb is offline  
post #3058 of 4119 Old 09-10-2007, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You say the 2807 doesn't pass the signal and that neither sound or picture makes it to the TV.

I can understand sound not making it to the TV. The default is for the 2807 to pass video only, and to route the sound part of the signal to its own processors. There is a setting in the HDMI assignment menu that allows you to choose whether the audio goes to the 2807 (Amp) or the TV.

If you're not getting video going to the TV however, I can only think of 7 reasons why it would not be passed:

1- you haven't assigned the HDMI inputs to input sources. You definitely need to do that and you'll find the "HDMI In Assign" options in the Video setup menu. You need to tell the 2807 which sources (DVD player, etc) that you want the signals from HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 to go to. If the 2807 can play audio received via the HDMI inputs then you've obviously got this part right but if you're not getting sound from the 2807's speaker connections, then this would be the first place to start checking.

2- you've mixed up the connections on the back of the 2807 and you have the output to the monitor connected to one of the inputs. If that's the case, you will also have the input from one of your sources connected to the monitor output socket. Check your connections.

3- the HDMI input sockets are faulty or damaged. Since there are only 2 and you have both in use there's no easy way to check this.

4- the HDMI output socket to the monitor is faulty. Connect a source to the 2807 via an analog video input and turn on HDMI conversion for that input. Connect the TV to the 2807 via an HDMI cable and see if you get a video signal passing to the TV. If you don't, and you don't get HDMI signals from your sources passed to the TV, then the HDMI output socket may be faulty/damaged.

5- the HDMI cable from the 2807 to the TV is damaged. Replace it with a different cable and see if that makes a difference. If it does, then it's a damaged cable . If you only get video from one of your HDMI sources, try replacing the cable for the input that doesn't work since you may also have 1 faulty input cable. Worst case scenario is that all of your HDMI cables are faulty but you can verify that by trying a new cable to the TV and a single new cable for one of the sources, then swapping that new cable to the second source.


6- you do have the TV set to the HDMI input, don't you?

7- if none of those possibilities is the problem, then the one remaining possibility is a fault in the 2807's HDMI processing.

Really, those should be the options for why you're not getting a signal passed to the TV. You can fix the assignments, ensuring things are connected to the right input and output sockets, the cables if one or more is faulty, and the TV input selection yourself but faulty HDMI sockets or processing in the 2807 are going to mean that the 2807 needs servicing.
David Aiken is offline  
post #3059 of 4119 Old 09-10-2007, 06:50 PM
Member
 
gameling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by userb View Post

I don't have the same equipment that you do, but I've never had any problem using HDMI. It should be straightforward as long as there are no HDCP issues.

1. Connect HDMI outputs from equipment to the 2807's HDMI1 and HDMI2 inputs.
2. Connect HDMI from 2807's ouput to TV's HDMI input.
3. Set 2807's HDMI In assigments for connected equipment to HDMI1 and HDMI2: System Setup screen 4-1. Set audio to TV or AMP on this screen as well.
4. Set 2807's Digital In assigments for connected equipment to HDMI1 and HDMI 2: System Setup screen 3-1.

I'm not sure what could be wrong if that doesn't work. Can you even see the System Setup screens using HDMI from receiver to TV?

Thanks for the quick response. I have double checked all the settings you mentioned and no go. The cable works fine direct to the TV so I know the device is outputting the digital signal ok and the TV can receive it and convert it ok. I suspect my HDMI out is broken or there is some sort of strange handshake problem.
gameling is offline  
post #3060 of 4119 Old 09-10-2007, 06:54 PM
Member
 
gameling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Aiken View Post

You say the 2807 doesn't pass the signal and that neither sound or picture makes it to the TV.

I can understand sound not making it to the TV. The default is for the 2807 to pass video only, and to route the sound part of the signal to its own processors. There is a setting in the HDMI assignment menu that allows you to choose whether the audio goes to the 2807 (Amp) or the TV.

If you're not getting video going to the TV however, I can only think of 7 reasons why it would not be passed:

1- you haven't assigned the HDMI inputs to input sources. You definitely need to do that and you'll find the "HDMI In Assign" options in the Video setup menu. You need to tell the 2807 which sources (DVD player, etc) that you want the signals from HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 to go to. If the 2807 can play audio received via the HDMI inputs then you've obviously got this part right but if you're not getting sound from the 2807's speaker connections, then this would be the first place to start checking.

2- you've mixed up the connections on the back of the 2807 and you have the output to the monitor connected to one of the inputs. If that's the case, you will also have the input from one of your sources connected to the monitor output socket. Check your connections.

3- the HDMI input sockets are faulty or damaged. Since there are only 2 and you have both in use there's no easy way to check this.

4- the HDMI output socket to the monitor is faulty. Connect a source to the 2807 via an analog video input and turn on HDMI conversion for that input. Connect the TV to the 2807 via an HDMI cable and see if you get a video signal passing to the TV. If you don't, and you don't get HDMI signals from your sources passed to the TV, then the HDMI output socket may be faulty/damaged.

5- the HDMI cable from the 2807 to the TV is damaged. Replace it with a different cable and see if that makes a difference. If it does, then it's a damaged cable . If you only get video from one of your HDMI sources, try replacing the cable for the input that doesn't work since you may also have 1 faulty input cable. Worst case scenario is that all of your HDMI cables are faulty but you can verify that by trying a new cable to the TV and a single new cable for one of the sources, then swapping that new cable to the second source.


6- you do have the TV set to the HDMI input, don't you?

7- if none of those possibilities is the problem, then the one remaining possibility is a fault in the 2807's HDMI processing.

Really, those should be the options for why you're not getting a signal passed to the TV. You can fix the assignments, ensuring things are connected to the right input and output sockets, the cables if one or more is faulty, and the TV input selection yourself but faulty HDMI sockets or processing in the 2807 are going to mean that the 2807 needs servicing.

David, thanks for the quick and very thorough reply. I have already ruled several of your things to check (the cable works fine, the TV HDMI input works fine, I have assigned the inputs). I will mess around some more but suspect it is a bad HDMI out connector on the 2807.
gameling is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off