The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 138 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4111 of 4124 Old 06-21-2014, 05:10 AM
Member
 
habudab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a denon 2807. and a sony blue ray player.. I had a lightning strike and the HDMI in and out ports on DENON do not work.. so I wanted to go back to the old way I set up my DENON and DVD player with HDMI from blu ray to TV and then optical line to the DENON... I think that used to work with the old DVD player.. but I cant get any sound when I play a BLu Ray.. I am getting the DENON fixed, not sure what to do for sound until that??? help. I did the set up screen and set DVD to OPTICAL 1 which is the one I have the line hooked into from the TV?? help??
habudab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4112 of 4124 Old 06-21-2014, 05:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
The optical inputs may have been taken out as well. Try connecting the optical from the Blu Ray player in order to get DD/DTS 5.1 as the optical from the TV is likely only going to pass stereo 2.0.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4113 of 4124 Old 06-21-2014, 09:11 AM
Member
 
habudab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i did that.. still nothing. I am not sure it is the optical.. because I have an optical from my direct tv box to the Denon.. and it is working perfectly.. dolby 5.1..


any other options??


another thing, when I plug the optical at the tv. the other end of the optical line is lighting up RED.. so I figured it is working from the tv??
habudab is offline  
post #4114 of 4124 Old 06-21-2014, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by habudab View Post
i did that.. still nothing. I am not sure it is the optical.. because I have an optical from my direct tv box to the Denon.. and it is working perfectly.. dolby 5.1..
Hi habudab, check the Blu-ray audio track option. Most likely it doesn't offer standard dolby digital (but it may have Spanish, French, etc...).
JChin is offline  
post #4115 of 4124 Old 07-04-2014, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
kwburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello to anyone still watching this thread
I'm using an AVR-2807 which I do like very much EXCEPT for the volume control ratio with the knob.


Maybe this is normal but on mine you have to turn the volume knob what I consider A LOT in order to bring up the volume or bring it down. Meaning I have to keep spinning and spinning it to go from very low to very high.
While this of course allows it to be very finely adjusted as needed, I find it to be a real pain. Seriously I would be happy if I could just do two twists of the wrist to get from low to high. Currently it takes 9 twists of the wrist or 7 complete turns of the dial to get from lowest to highest.


Is there any way to adjust the ratio in the settings? I looked through the manual the best I could and didn't see anything.


Also, while I am asking...is there any way to make the volume increments be in another format than -80dB to +18dB? No biggie but thought I would ask.
Thanks!
kwburn is offline  
post #4116 of 4124 Old 07-04-2014, 06:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Do you use/have the remote? That way you don't have to spin the volume dial on the receiver.

If you want to get the manual in pdf you can download it here:
http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchf...033AV2807B.PDF

Page 55 shows you how to set the power on volume. Maybe you should set it to -30 or -25 so that you don't have to start off with a really low volume.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #4117 of 4124 Old 07-05-2014, 04:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwburn View Post
Also, while I am asking...is there any way to make the volume increments be in another format than -80dB to +18dB? No biggie but thought I would ask.
Thanks!
No. A new "absolute" volume display (0-100) was only first introduced on XX10 and newer models.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4118 of 4124 Old 07-28-2014, 07:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Selecting both A and B Speakers on a Denon AVR 2807

I have a Denon AVR 2807 with no remote. I have been unable to select the A & B speakers to play at the same time. Help! Please! I need both to play at the same time.
Seaplane100 is offline  
post #4119 of 4124 Old 07-29-2014, 02:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
Purchase a Harmony remote and download the 2807 remote codes from the Logitech website.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4120 of 4124 Old 10-12-2014, 06:29 PM
Newbie
 
Okiedoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Subwoofer problem

With the help of this forum, I was able to get the AVR-2807 set up with the PSW125 many years ago. One of the main problems before was that there was no sound (connected using LFE) and the light at the back of the subwoofer stayed orange instead of green. Then we had a child and moved and have spent the last few years only watching TV at night after he went to bed on low volume and with closed captioning on. Today, I finally had a day to myself so thought I'd recalibrate Audyssey and get the system sounding optimally again. Well, it looks like I have the exact same problem again. I have all speakers set to large and the subwoofer to main+LFE with the crossover at 120Hz. I've tried on, auto, and standby setting on the PSW125 as well as the phase switch. Even with the volume on the subwoofer up full, there's still nothing. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

BTW, I also noticed the Audyssey light on the front panel is red instead of green. How do I make it green again? Do I need to recalibrate?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Okiedoke is offline  
post #4121 of 4124 Old 10-13-2014, 03:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
Set the sub gain to about 10 o'clock. Run Audyssey. Reset all speakers to SMALL and raise the crossovers up to 80Hz. Raise the Subwoofer level about 5db using the AVR test tones. Press "Room EQ" until Audyssey is selected to change light to green.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4122 of 4124 Old 10-18-2014, 04:06 PM
Newbie
 
Okiedoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Set the sub gain to about 10 o'clock. Run Audyssey. Reset all speakers to SMALL and raise the crossovers up to 80Hz. Raise the Subwoofer level about 5db using the AVR test tones. Press "Room EQ" until Audyssey is selected to change light to green.
Thanks a lot! I'm getting sound from the subwoofer now. The Audyssey light is still red. Does this mean Audyssey is still on and is just saying that I've changed settings after running Audyssey? Should I run Audyssey again after changing speakers to SMALL and raising crossovers?
Okiedoke is offline  
post #4123 of 4124 Old 10-18-2014, 04:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
No need to run Audyssey again as it is still active.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4124 of 4124 Old 10-18-2014, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
jlever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 2807 will cut out sound randomly. Input is by optical cable. Stays out until I power off the receiver and back on. Any ideas?

Thanks,

John
jlever is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off