The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 138 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2014, 06:10 AM
Member
 
habudab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a denon 2807. and a sony blue ray player.. I had a lightning strike and the HDMI in and out ports on DENON do not work.. so I wanted to go back to the old way I set up my DENON and DVD player with HDMI from blu ray to TV and then optical line to the DENON... I think that used to work with the old DVD player.. but I cant get any sound when I play a BLu Ray.. I am getting the DENON fixed, not sure what to do for sound until that??? help. I did the set up screen and set DVD to OPTICAL 1 which is the one I have the line hooked into from the TV?? help??
habudab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2014, 06:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
The optical inputs may have been taken out as well. Try connecting the optical from the Blu Ray player in order to get DD/DTS 5.1 as the optical from the TV is likely only going to pass stereo 2.0.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 06-21-2014, 10:11 AM
Member
 
habudab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i did that.. still nothing. I am not sure it is the optical.. because I have an optical from my direct tv box to the Denon.. and it is working perfectly.. dolby 5.1..


any other options??


another thing, when I plug the optical at the tv. the other end of the optical line is lighting up RED.. so I figured it is working from the tv??
habudab is offline  
Old 06-21-2014, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by habudab View Post
i did that.. still nothing. I am not sure it is the optical.. because I have an optical from my direct tv box to the Denon.. and it is working perfectly.. dolby 5.1..
Hi habudab, check the Blu-ray audio track option. Most likely it doesn't offer standard dolby digital (but it may have Spanish, French, etc...).
JChin is offline  
Old 07-04-2014, 06:27 PM
Newbie
 
kwburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello to anyone still watching this thread
I'm using an AVR-2807 which I do like very much EXCEPT for the volume control ratio with the knob.


Maybe this is normal but on mine you have to turn the volume knob what I consider A LOT in order to bring up the volume or bring it down. Meaning I have to keep spinning and spinning it to go from very low to very high.
While this of course allows it to be very finely adjusted as needed, I find it to be a real pain. Seriously I would be happy if I could just do two twists of the wrist to get from low to high. Currently it takes 9 twists of the wrist or 7 complete turns of the dial to get from lowest to highest.


Is there any way to adjust the ratio in the settings? I looked through the manual the best I could and didn't see anything.


Also, while I am asking...is there any way to make the volume increments be in another format than -80dB to +18dB? No biggie but thought I would ask.
Thanks!
kwburn is offline  
Old 07-04-2014, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Do you use/have the remote? That way you don't have to spin the volume dial on the receiver.

If you want to get the manual in pdf you can download it here:
http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchf...033AV2807B.PDF

Page 55 shows you how to set the power on volume. Maybe you should set it to -30 or -25 so that you don't have to start off with a really low volume.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Old 07-05-2014, 05:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwburn View Post
Also, while I am asking...is there any way to make the volume increments be in another format than -80dB to +18dB? No biggie but thought I would ask.
Thanks!
No. A new "absolute" volume display (0-100) was only first introduced on XX10 and newer models.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 07-28-2014, 08:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Selecting both A and B Speakers on a Denon AVR 2807

I have a Denon AVR 2807 with no remote. I have been unable to select the A & B speakers to play at the same time. Help! Please! I need both to play at the same time.
Seaplane100 is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 03:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
Purchase a Harmony remote and download the 2807 remote codes from the Logitech website.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 10-12-2014, 07:29 PM
Newbie
 
Okiedoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Subwoofer problem

With the help of this forum, I was able to get the AVR-2807 set up with the PSW125 many years ago. One of the main problems before was that there was no sound (connected using LFE) and the light at the back of the subwoofer stayed orange instead of green. Then we had a child and moved and have spent the last few years only watching TV at night after he went to bed on low volume and with closed captioning on. Today, I finally had a day to myself so thought I'd recalibrate Audyssey and get the system sounding optimally again. Well, it looks like I have the exact same problem again. I have all speakers set to large and the subwoofer to main+LFE with the crossover at 120Hz. I've tried on, auto, and standby setting on the PSW125 as well as the phase switch. Even with the volume on the subwoofer up full, there's still nothing. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

BTW, I also noticed the Audyssey light on the front panel is red instead of green. How do I make it green again? Do I need to recalibrate?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Okiedoke is offline  
Old 10-13-2014, 04:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
Set the sub gain to about 10 o'clock. Run Audyssey. Reset all speakers to SMALL and raise the crossovers up to 80Hz. Raise the Subwoofer level about 5db using the AVR test tones. Press "Room EQ" until Audyssey is selected to change light to green.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 10-18-2014, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
Okiedoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Set the sub gain to about 10 o'clock. Run Audyssey. Reset all speakers to SMALL and raise the crossovers up to 80Hz. Raise the Subwoofer level about 5db using the AVR test tones. Press "Room EQ" until Audyssey is selected to change light to green.
Thanks a lot! I'm getting sound from the subwoofer now. The Audyssey light is still red. Does this mean Audyssey is still on and is just saying that I've changed settings after running Audyssey? Should I run Audyssey again after changing speakers to SMALL and raising crossovers?
Okiedoke is offline  
Old 10-18-2014, 05:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
No need to run Audyssey again as it is still active.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 10-18-2014, 06:09 PM
Newbie
 
jlever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 2807 will cut out sound randomly. Input is by optical cable. Stays out until I power off the receiver and back on. Any ideas?

Thanks,

John
jlever is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 02:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey all,

I picked up a 2807 via Craigslist for $125. Upon getting it home found out it doesn't work right. Took it in for diagnostics. The repair folks said it was the main DSP board and there are no available parts (probably too old). Does anyone have advice for me? Would it be worthwhile to buy another broken unit and try to repair one? Sell it? Scrap it? Thanks.
zeldaman is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 02:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,239
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1313 Post(s)
Liked: 1693
Junk it, the $125 is a sunk cost (unless you can get the guy you bought it from to refund you) and it's not worth putting more money into a unit that old.

You may be able to sell it broken for a few bucks.
zeldaman likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 11-13-2014, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Junk it, the $125 is a sunk cost (unless you can get the guy you bought it from to refund you) and it's not worth putting more money into a unit that old.

You may be able to sell it broken for a few bucks.
Thank you for the response. It's sad to see such a beautiful receiver be a waste of space.
zeldaman is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeldaman View Post
Hey all,

I picked up a 2807 via Craigslist for $125. Upon getting it home found out it doesn't work right. Took it in for diagnostics. The repair folks said it was the main DSP board and there are no available parts (probably too old). Does anyone have advice for me? Would it be worthwhile to buy another broken unit and try to repair one? Sell it? Scrap it? Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Junk it, the $125 is a sunk cost (unless you can get the guy you bought it from to refund you) and it's not worth putting more money into a unit that old.

You may be able to sell it broken for a few bucks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeldaman View Post
Thank you for the response. It's sad to see such a beautiful receiver be a waste of space.
I am considering picking up a Craigslist 2807 also. For whatever strange reason I am strongly considering replacing my Adcom GFA 6000 and using this Japan-made Denon as amplifier from Yamaha 765. Can anyone think of a reason to not do something like this?

Mike

Mkard is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 03:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
Yup. Keep the Adcom.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 12-31-2014, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Yup. Keep the Adcom.
^ ^

JDSmoothie,

So the @15yr old Adcom would give better amplification than the 8yr old Denon? I am not arguing so much as trying to understand how you reached your conclusion.

Mike

Mkard is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkard View Post
^ ^

JDSmoothie,

So the @15yr old Adcom would give better amplification than the 8yr old Denon? I am not arguing so much as trying to understand how you reached your conclusion.

Mike
I bought a used 2807 a couple years ago for $50. it works fine but is very user unfriendly. The remote is difficult, there are only 2 HDMI inputs, doesn't decode TrueHD or DTS-MA so you have to set your devices to send multichannel PCM instead.

I ended up taking it to my dad's house and installed in my old bedroom. I visit a couple times a month and only have the DirecTV genie mini connected to it with Energy RC Mini and micro speakers. It's perfectly fine for that use but I wouldn't want it as the control center for a main home theater setup. Very frustrating receiver. The newer Denon receivers and remotes are easier to use.

It does sound good though, don't know if it would sound as good as your Adcom.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 04:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
For whatever strange reason I am strongly considering replacing my Adcom GFA 6000 and using this Japan-made Denon as amplifier from Yamaha 765. Can anyone think of a reason to not do something like this?
If both are 5 channel amps, I'd just use the Adcom. Simpler setup.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
I bought a used 2807 a couple years ago for $50. it works fine but is very user unfriendly. The remote is difficult, there are only 2 HDMI inputs, doesn't decode TrueHD or DTS-MA so you have to set your devices to send multichannel PCM instead.

I ended up taking it to my dad's house and installed in my old bedroom. I visit a couple times a month and only have the DirecTV genie mini connected to it with Energy RC Mini and micro speakers. It's perfectly fine for that use but I wouldn't want it as the control center for a main home theater setup. Very frustrating receiver. The newer Denon receivers and remotes are easier to use.

It does sound good though, don't know if it would sound as good as your Adcom.
Afrogt,

Well, I was thinking of keeping the Yamaha as the controlling unit, and outputting to the Multi-Ch inputs of the Denon. Reputedly, the Denon amplifiers are high quality and fairly honest power ratings.
The Adcom puts out 100W pretty honest for the front channels, 60 for the rears. I'd expect the Denon to do reasonably well driving 3 speakers.
You got yours for a much better price than they show up here. People asking more than I am willing to pay so far. Keeping my eye out.
Mike

Mkard is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 04:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkard View Post
^ ^

JDSmoothie,

So the @15yr old Adcom would give better amplification than the 8yr old Denon? I am not arguing so much as trying to understand how you reached your conclusion.

Mike
If only using the 2807 for external amplification, you likely won't notice any difference.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 12-31-2014, 04:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My surround L/R are Paradigm Monitor 7, V.2. Reasonably easy to drive. Front stage is V1 Paradigm Monitor 7, with a Paradigm reference Center. I am currently using the Yamaha to amplify the surround L/R and the height book shelves. Adcom doing the front 3 only, as it has a bad surround amp.

Mkard is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If only using the 2807 for external amplification, you likely won't notice any difference.
OK. I suppose I am just leaning in the direction of durability, as the Adcom is a bit long in the tooth. One channel has gone south already, but front stage is holding on.

Thanks.

Mike

Mkard is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 04:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkard View Post
Afrogt,

Well, I was thinking of keeping the Yamaha as the controlling unit, and outputting to the Multi-Ch inputs of the Denon. Reputedly, the Denon amplifiers are high quality and fairly honest power ratings.
The Adcom puts out 100W pretty honest for the front channels, 60 for the rears. I'd expect the Denon to do reasonably well driving 3 speakers.
You got yours for a much better price than they show up here. People asking more than I am willing to pay so far. Keeping my eye out.
Mike
The former owners bought a newer Denon receiver with more HDMI inputs, networking, Pandora and internet radio streaming, etc. Even though the new one was a lower level model, it was easier to use. The wife told the husband to get rid of the 2807 ASAP!!

I got lucky and saw it on Craigslist at the right time. But after fiddling with it for a few days, I was glad I didn't pay any more than that.

I dunno if the amps in the Denon would be better than a dedicated 5 channel amp like the Adcom.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Afrogt,

Yep. You and me both. But, if I ever stumble upon one of these at a price close to what you found, I'll sure as heck find out!

Happy New Year. Be safe.

Mike

Mkard is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 05:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,239
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1313 Post(s)
Liked: 1693
Amplification technology doesn't change that much. Receivers are advancing rapidly in processing and features, not raw guts amp grunt.
batpig is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off