The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 139 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4141 of 4167 Old 03-23-2015, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 187
I have a Chromecast plugged to the TV with optical going back to the 2807.
Gary J is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4142 of 4167 Old 03-23-2015, 10:41 AM
Newbie
 
funkiejack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
I have a Chromecast plugged to the TV with optical going back to the 2807.
Thanks, I really wanted to avoid another cable running to my projector about 15 feet away but I guess that does free up another port on the AVR.. I'm guessing the older HDMI on the 2807 simply has handshake issues with some of the new stuff.
funkiejack is offline  
post #4143 of 4167 Old 03-23-2015, 10:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,949
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8440 Post(s)
Liked: 3798
^^
Others have commented the Chromecast works best when the included HDMI cable is NOT used.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4144 of 4167 Old 06-01-2015, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
chrissou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, sorry for my english i'm french.

I have a problem with my Denon 2807 and my panasonic TV TX-55as640E with HDMI connection.

frequently the amp bug and nothing respond remote or keyboard. Reboot the denon is the only solution ...

I have tried my denon with other tv (Philips) and it works very well.

Is this HDMI bug known ? have you a solution for me ?

Thanks a lot for your help
chrissou is offline  
post #4145 of 4167 Old 06-01-2015, 11:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,949
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8440 Post(s)
Liked: 3798
^^
Denon AVR's generally work well with Panasonic TVs. Not sure what you mean by no response from remote or keyboard ... what keyboard? Does this only happen with a certain source (eg. HTPC)?

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4146 of 4167 Old 06-01-2015, 11:36 AM
Newbie
 
chrissou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Denon AVR's generally work well with Panasonic TVs. Not sure what you mean by no response from remote or keyboard ... what keyboard? Does this only happen with a certain source (eg. HTPC)?
Thanks for your response

All sources make this problem (already if the sources is switch off)

When the problem append, my denon is frozen, the remote didn't work and on the denon i rotate volume switch but it didn't work. so i switch off and on the denon and it works again.
chrissou is offline  
post #4147 of 4167 Old 06-01-2015, 11:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,949
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8440 Post(s)
Liked: 3798
^^
Try powering off and unplugging all sources for 10 minutes. If the issue still occurs, then reset the 2807 at least 4-5 times and if still no joy, repair or replace.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4148 of 4167 Old 06-01-2015, 12:01 PM
Newbie
 
chrissou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok i will try this

thanks again
chrissou is offline  
post #4149 of 4167 Old 06-01-2015, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
chrissou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin33100 View Post
Hi, I have just bought a Panasonic TXP50GT60 and its not playing ball with my Denon AVR2807 amp, I know the amp is ok because it works with a Pioneer and LG plasma.
The Hdmi switcher works the first time and then the amp freezes up, ie you can't change the volume, function ie another source and even the standby button doesn't work, you have to use the on/off to turn the amp off.
I have read some reviews that this amp may have compatibility issues with the new Panasonic tv's, any adice will be greatly appreciated.
woooooo, exactly the same problem :/
chrissou is offline  
post #4150 of 4167 Old 11-16-2015, 10:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Connecting Smartphone

Hello, we have a 2807 and would like to hook up our new smartphone so we can play Pandora. We live in an area that gets a limited amount of reception, hence we'd like to connect via wifi to Pandora. How do we hook the phone up? We've tried an audio cable to microphone, but nothing. Tried as a last resort to control dock, nothing. Tried audio input on front panel, but the connector to the phone won't connect because of the case. I hesitate to purchase anymore cables until I get help from a 2807 expert with correct instructions. This receiver has got to be the most user unfriendly one out there! Good quality, but very hard to work with. Can anyone help?
Karin Runyen is offline  
post #4151 of 4167 Old 11-16-2015, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Won't connect because of what case?
Gary J is online now  
post #4152 of 4167 Old 11-16-2015, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Won't connect because of what case?
My cell phone case makes the microphone too small for any connector other than a slimline. I do not want to purchase any more cords until I know for sure that this is how I am to connect to the receiver
Karin Runyen is offline  
post #4153 of 4167 Old 11-16-2015, 11:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,949
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8440 Post(s)
Liked: 3798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karin Runyen View Post
Hello, we have a 2807 and would like to hook up our new smartphone so we can play Pandora. We live in an area that gets a limited amount of reception, hence we'd like to connect via wifi to Pandora. How do we hook the phone up? We've tried an audio cable to microphone, but nothing. Tried as a last resort to control dock, nothing. Tried audio input on front panel, but the connector to the phone won't connect because of the case. I hesitate to purchase anymore cables until I get help from a 2807 expert with correct instructions. This receiver has got to be the most user unfriendly one out there! Good quality, but very hard to work with. Can anyone help?
The 2807 is not a networking model, however, you should be able to connect a 3.5mm to analog (red/white) cable with no issues other than the volume will have to be turned up very high to hear anything.

You may instead want to consider purchasing one or more Denon HEOS speakers (Heos 1/3/5/7) that are powered speakers that can be placed around the house in which you can use the Denon HEOS app to stream one of several services (including Pandora) from your smart phone.

http://usa.denon.com/us/heos

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4154 of 4167 Old 11-16-2015, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
You are correct, I connected the 3.5 mm to analog cable to my other phone that did not have a case and I have to turn the volume way up to get any kind of sound, and it won't Play on the rear speakers.
Karin Runyen is offline  
post #4155 of 4167 Old 11-16-2015, 11:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,949
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8440 Post(s)
Liked: 3798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karin Runyen View Post
You are correct, I connected the 3.5 mm to analog cable to my other phone that did not have a case and I have to turn the volume way up to get any kind of sound, and it won't Play on the rear speakers.
Not with a STEREO surround mode selected, however, if you select another surround mode (eg. DD PLII) the audio will be simulated to the other speakers in your setup.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4156 of 4167 Old 11-16-2015, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Tried plII, nothing. The volume is so low, we can't function with it like this anyway. I guess we have two choices, purchase a new receiver or purchase wireless/Bluetooth speakers?
Karin Runyen is offline  
post #4157 of 4167 Old 11-16-2015, 12:38 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,949
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8440 Post(s)
Liked: 3798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karin Runyen View Post
Tried plII, nothing. The volume is so low, we can't function with it like this anyway. I guess we have two choices, purchase a new receiver or purchase wireless/Bluetooth speakers?
It is a 9 year old model ... time to upgrade to a networking model that can stream Pandora from the AVR itself. Although the Denon X4200W is the current successor to your 2807, you can get the same version of Audyssey MultEQ XT on as low as the X1200W.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4158 of 4167 Old 11-16-2015, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Jdsmoothie, I appreciate the time you took to help out. I don't think a Denon is in our future solely because of the non user friendliness! Good product, but a pain to adjust the volume in zone 2 for example. After Christmas I guess a new receiver is in order! Thanks again.
Karin Runyen is offline  
post #4159 of 4167 Old 11-17-2015, 03:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karin Runyen View Post
don't think a Denon is in our future solely because of the non user friendliness!
false statement about Denons not 10 years old.
Gary J is online now  
post #4160 of 4167 Old 11-17-2015, 05:35 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,949
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8440 Post(s)
Liked: 3798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karin Runyen View Post
Thanks Jdsmoothie, I appreciate the time you took to help out. I don't think a Denon is in our future solely because of the non user friendliness! Good product, but a pain to adjust the volume in zone 2 for example. After Christmas I guess a new receiver is in order! Thanks again.
You're basing your decision on 9 year old technology. The GUI/menu/setup of all brands to include Denon has greatly improved over the past 9 years.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4161 of 4167 Old 11-17-2015, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Our decision is based on the stinging of 9 years dealing with a non user friendly receiver, it would be ignorant of us to think they had not changed for the better. We make decisions on past happiness with a product, period. Thanks again Jd, you were very helpful.
Karin Runyen is offline  
post #4162 of 4167 Old 11-19-2015, 04:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
After resetting my 2807, my DirecTV HR20 connected via HDMI will no longer function.

I've been using this combination for about nine years fine and I reset the 2807 to try and get an XBOX to play DVDs (It didn't work). I have a BenQ 720p connected to the HDMI output of 2807. The HR20 displays fine when it is in the Startup/Self Test mode but it turns the screen black with no sound after the startup. If I leave the projector off when the HR20 is resetting then it turns on and plays sound fine but as soon as I turn on the projector, the picture turns off. Also, if I try to use the on screen menu for the 2807, the screen turns black and I can't see it.

A couple of other hints:
The projector displays HDMI(720px60) just before the screen turns black.
The 2807 display has numerous lights on when I can hear sound and they all change when the projector is turned on.

There must be some option I'm overlooking. Any ideas? (Other than buying a new receiver or not using HDMI)
lhirsch is offline  
post #4163 of 4167 Old 11-19-2015, 04:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
2807 not displaying DirecTV after reset

After resetting my 2807, my DirecTV HR20 connected via HDMI will no longer function.

I've been using this combination for about nine years fine and I reset the 2807 to try and get an XBOX to play DVDs (It didn't work). I have a BenQ 720p connected to the HDMI output of 2807. The HR20 displays fine when it is in the Startup/Self Test mode but it turns the screen black with no sound after the startup. If I leave the projector off when the HR20 is resetting then it turns on and plays sound fine but as soon as I turn on the projector, the picture turns off. Also, if I try to use the on screen menu for the 2807, the screen turns black and I can't see it.

A couple of other hints:
The projector displays HDMI(720px60) just before the screen turns black.
The 2807 display has numerous lights on when I can hear sound and they all change when the projector is turned on.

There must be some option I'm overlooking. Any ideas? (Other than buying a new receiver or not using HDMI)
lhirsch is offline  
post #4164 of 4167 Old 11-19-2015, 08:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,949
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8440 Post(s)
Liked: 3798
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhirsch View Post
After resetting my 2807, my DirecTV HR20 connected via HDMI will no longer function.

I've been using this combination for about nine years fine and I reset the 2807 to try and get an XBOX to play DVDs (It didn't work). I have a BenQ 720p connected to the HDMI output of 2807. The HR20 displays fine when it is in the Startup/Self Test mode but it turns the screen black with no sound after the startup. If I leave the projector off when the HR20 is resetting then it turns on and plays sound fine but as soon as I turn on the projector, the picture turns off. Also, if I try to use the on screen menu for the 2807, the screen turns black and I can't see it.

A couple of other hints:
The projector displays HDMI(720px60) just before the screen turns black.
The 2807 display has numerous lights on when I can hear sound and they all change when the projector is turned on.

There must be some option I'm overlooking. Any ideas? (Other than buying a new receiver or not using HDMI)
Ensure the HR20 set to output only 720p.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4165 of 4167 Old 11-19-2015, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Ensure the HR20 set to output only 720p.
Thanks. I tried that. I just tried RCA cables from the HR20 into the front AUX ports (video/L & R stereo) and no success even with the HDMI cable completely out of consdieration. The projector displayed 525p when I switched to AUX before the screen went black. I'm not familiar with that resolution.
lhirsch is offline  
post #4166 of 4167 Old 11-29-2015, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
bigboygelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: macomb, michigan
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Im thinking on replacing my current display with a samsung 65unjs9500.

Is my AVR-2807 compatible with this particular display?

DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY:
BP7006 FRONTS,CLR2006 CENTER, BP1.2X SURROUNDS,A60 ATMOS ENABLED SPEAKERS

SAMSUNG UN65JS9500
AVR-X3200W
SAMSUNG UBD-K8500
bigboygelo is offline  
post #4167 of 4167 Old 11-29-2015, 01:53 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,949
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8440 Post(s)
Liked: 3798
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboygelo View Post
Im thinking on replacing my current display with a samsung 65unjs9500.

Is my AVR-2807 compatible with this particular display?
To pass a 1080p or lower resolution signal, yes, but not to pass a 4k or 3D signal.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off