The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 4127 Old 08-31-2006, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
jerry0038's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my denon avr2807 from rainbowtronics for 722.00 shipped a few days ago and have set everything up. the sound is amazing. it is definitly way better than my yamaha rxv1000. everything seems to work fine no problems with OSD. or setup. except for the remote. I can't seem to toggle between functions like dvd, tuner, or tv. I have read the manual and still don't work. I have to go up to the receiver and turn the knob inorder to switch fucntions. is there a button that i am missing. what am i doing wrong? help.
jerry0038 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 4127 Old 08-31-2006, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
colep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, first post here. Firstly, this looks like one of the most useful and informative forums I've seen, well done all.

My question: I have a 2807 and am building a home theater addition on my house using Klipsch in-wall speakers for the fronts and center. My problem is that I can't put the center speaker directly below where the screen will be because there are studs and posts in the way inside the wall, but if I use 2 smaller in-walls on either side of the post it will work great and everything will be centered and symetrical. I think my old Onkyo amp had dual center channel outputs to drive 2 center speakers but the 2807 doesn't. So I'm wondering what you guys think about connecting 2 individual speakers to the center speaker terminals on the 2807. I don't know enough about the impedance issues involved to figure out if this would work well or not. Anything else I should worry about?

Any insights would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Pete
colep is offline  
post #723 of 4127 Old 09-01-2006, 06:14 AM
Member
 
lorddraco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just brought my 2807. Waiting for the speakers to arrive. Any recommendation on DVD-Players? Mine have prematurely retired .... I am thinking to get either a simple robust one instead of getting the HDMI type players as I have yet to upgrade my CRT to LCD type with HDMI.

Any suggestion will be great.

I question....

If I put my DVD-Player with HDMI into the AV and uses RGB instead to TV. Will there be a down-scale? :P
lorddraco is offline  
post #724 of 4127 Old 09-01-2006, 07:39 AM
Member
 
larrysano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SW OH
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry0038 View Post

I can't seem to toggle between functions like dvd, tuner, or tv. I have read the manual and still don't work. I have to go up to the receiver and turn the knob inorder to switch fucntions. is there a button that i am missing.

The buttons at the top of the remote just change the functions of the other buttons on the remote, depending on what you have them programmed to do. To change the actual input, make sure you've pressed one of the 3 "Amp" buttons and then press a number button (2 for CD, 4 for DVD, etc.) to change the input. If you look real close, you can see the input labels above the number buttons...
larrysano is offline  
post #725 of 4127 Old 09-01-2006, 07:15 PM
Newbie
 
jerry0038's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrysano View Post

The buttons at the top of the remote just change the functions of the other buttons on the remote, depending on what you have them programmed to do. To change the actual input, make sure you've pressed one of the 3 "Amp" buttons and then press a number button (2 for CD, 4 for DVD, etc.) to change the input. If you look real close, you can see the input labels above the number buttons...


Thanks larrysano that did it. now everything works. time to enjoy some movies.
jerry0038 is offline  
post #726 of 4127 Old 09-03-2006, 04:40 PM
Member
 
PShow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it worth buying this unit from an un-authorized dealer to save the $300 - $400? I really want to purchase unit but it is way out of my budget.
PShow is offline  
post #727 of 4127 Old 09-03-2006, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdmi4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PShow View Post

Is it worth buying this unit from an un-authorized dealer to save the $300 - $400? I really want to purchase unit but it is way out of my budget.

You're taking a big gamble if you do that. Denon won't honor the warranty and many of those unauthorized dealers don't accept returns (or claim they do but then give you the runaround), so if it doesn't work you're hosed (unless you take legal action or something).

If you want to save without taking such a risk, try the authorized B-stock/refurbished sellers listed on Denon's web site at http://www.usa.denon.com/OnlineETailers.asp , where you can get a 90-day warranty. I was looking at them myself as I also don't want to pay full MSRP for the 2807. I didn't see any of them having the 2807, but other comparable (or better) models like the 3805 are available.
hdmi4ever is offline  
post #728 of 4127 Old 09-04-2006, 06:03 PM
Member
 
coolcoach2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the AVR 2807 the same as the new 987 model? The specs look identical. My installer recommended going with the Denon. I expected the 2807, but he brought the 987 saying it is the newest Denon Release. Any comments?
coolcoach2u is offline  
post #729 of 4127 Old 09-04-2006, 06:46 PM
Member
 
AlbertA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Garland,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, it's the same.

I have bought on the past the equivalent 2801 and 2801 (981 and 982).

ÂMusic is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light. --Claude Debussy
AlbertA is offline  
post #730 of 4127 Old 09-04-2006, 06:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,060
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 834
Why the different model numbers if they are the same?

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #731 of 4127 Old 09-04-2006, 07:15 PM
Member
 
AlbertA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Garland,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I believe they are the "same", but the specifications on components might be more relaxed in that line, or maybe they don't go through the same QA as the 2807's... We don't know... The opinion before is that they were created to sell in mass stores such as Sears.

ÂMusic is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light. --Claude Debussy
AlbertA is offline  
post #732 of 4127 Old 09-05-2006, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
JackHu22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone bought the 2807 from Dakmart.com? They are listed as a factory authorized dealer, but I've read a lot of bad things about that website.
JackHu22 is offline  
post #733 of 4127 Old 09-05-2006, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
ciotime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi...My HT room will be finished in about a month. I cant decide between the Denon AVR3806 or AVR2807. The room will be about 14X21. Speakers are B&W DM602 S3.
ciotime is offline  
post #734 of 4127 Old 09-05-2006, 09:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Memphis
Posts: 4,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddraco View Post

Just brought my 2807. Waiting for the speakers to arrive. Any recommendation on DVD-Players? Mine have prematurely retired .... I am thinking to get either a simple robust one instead of getting the HDMI type players as I have yet to upgrade my CRT to LCD type with HDMI.

Any suggestion will be great.

I question....

If I put my DVD-Player with HDMI into the AV and uses RGB instead to TV. Will there be a down-scale? :P

I think you are asking whether the Denon will convert an incoming HDMI signal and output a component signal. I was under the impression that it won't. You're probably better off using the component cables in this case.

As an aside, I skipped the last 5 or 6 pages of this thread so I don't know if it has been mentioned anymore. I have the SA8300HD box from time warner and it works flawlessly through HDMI. I'm glad I didn't read this thread until after I bought the receiver b/c I probably would have been scared off by the HDMI issues so many people seemed to be having.

Another great thing is that I was able to hook up my Nintendo 64 to my pj for the first time in 5 years. That conversion from regular RCA yellow video to 480p over HDMI works pretty well. Enjoyed drinking mariokart and NFL blitz 2k last night immensely.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #735 of 4127 Old 09-05-2006, 10:54 AM
Member
 
lorddraco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrlittlejeans View Post

I think you are asking whether the Denon will convert an incoming HDMI signal and output a component signal. I was under the impression that it won't. You're probably better off using the component cables in this case.

As an aside, I skipped the last 5 or 6 pages of this thread so I don't know if it has been mentioned anymore. I have the SA8300HD box from time warner and it works flawlessly through HDMI. I'm glad I didn't read this thread until after I bought the receiver b/c I probably would have been scared off by the HDMI issues so many people seemed to be having.

Another great thing is that I was able to hook up my Nintendo 64 to my pj for the first time in 5 years. That conversion from regular RCA yellow video to 480p over HDMI works pretty well. Enjoyed drinking mariokart and NFL blitz 2k last night immensely.

Thats what I think so too ....

But then ... it is alright to me cause buying this model instead of 2106 got 3 key reason plus an added bonus.

1. Better power output to drive my new MA RS (120W vs 140W per channel)
2. Made in Japan as compare to made in China
3. Front cover as compare to expose coverage

Bonus
1. HDMI

Also because I could still stretch my budget a little more to buy this model.

Think if there isnt any downsizing .... I rather buy a simple DVD player instead of target Denon 1730 or DVD with HDMI like Panny DVD-S52
lorddraco is offline  
post #736 of 4127 Old 09-07-2006, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Britcanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All, Just upgraded to the 2807 from the 1906 since the shop let me return it for exchange. I'm pretty happy with it, as it seems to power my MA bronze's just fine.

My question now has to do with hdmi.

I have Panasonic s77 upconverting player, and a Toshiba 44nhm84 dlp with dvi input.

Please go easy if this is isn't the smartest questions coming....
1) Will I get an audio advantage hooking my dvd player into the 2807 via hdmi?

2) Will the receiver have issues sending the video from the hdmi out to the dvi in on the tv?

Currently I have the setup with video going from hdmi on the dvd to dvi on the tv, and optical from the dvd to the receiver, and would like to try the hdmi video switching if it will work and there is an audio advantage to it.

Thanks
Britcanuck is offline  
post #737 of 4127 Old 09-07-2006, 01:27 PM
Member
 
aeh10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeh10 View Post

Ok so after reading the manual for the tenth time (at least)....I decided that I am getting nowhere with the OSD situation. There is a chart or graphic within the manual that shows the relationship between video signal input and monitor signal output according to the video convert settings. This is found on page 14 for all who would like to follow along ;-). On this same page in the bottom right hand corner are three asterixed items *1, *2,*3. I am curious about the on screen display and its ability to be superimposed on video signal and output (*1). So my question to my fellow AVR 2807 owners is that does this mean that :
1. Will the OSD be superimposed on the screen via composite cables?
2. Does superimposed mean that I will have the ability to see what I am watching and OSD at the same time?
3. Will I risk image resolution by sacrificing my HDMI monitor out for a composite monitor out?
4. If my TV only accepts 480i,480p,1080i signals will this affect my OSD? (Philips 60")?
5. I do not want to run two sets of inputs to my monitor just one?

I promise this is the last time I bring up OSD as it is probably an easier problem than most!!!

Thank you to all who help!!


Did anyone see this??? Can anyone help???
aeh10 is offline  
post #738 of 4127 Old 09-07-2006, 02:04 PM
Member
 
AlbertA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Garland,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what deintarlacer the 2807 uses to convert 480i material to 480p?

ÂMusic is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light. --Claude Debussy
AlbertA is offline  
post #739 of 4127 Old 09-07-2006, 02:14 PM
Member
 
larrysano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SW OH
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeh10 View Post

Did anyone see this??? Can anyone help???

Well, I'm not sure I completely understand what the manual says is supposed to happen, but I'll tell you my setup and answer your questions based on how it works for me:

Video in:
S-Video from SD satellite box
Componenet from DVD player
Composite from VCR

Video Out:
HDMI monitor out to HDMI in on my TV

My responses to your questions:

1. No, like every other video signal, it's sent over whatever you're sending the TV for that particular input. In my case, since I use HDMI for everything, it's sent through the HDMI cable.

2. Yes.

3. Not applicable, because you don't need composite to view the OSD.

4. When I'm viewing a source that's 480i (i.e. satellite or vcr), then the OSD is superimposed over the program I'm watching. Otherwise, all I see is a black screen and the menu.

5. All you need is one monitor out to the TV.
larrysano is offline  
post #740 of 4127 Old 09-07-2006, 05:08 PM
Member
 
RADMANK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BUELER
RADMANK is offline  
post #741 of 4127 Old 09-08-2006, 01:54 PM
Member
 
IrmoSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I prepare to do an Auto Setup, I have a question. Is there a bonafide reason to assign my surrounds to "Front" or Zone2? I see that's an option as stated in the Owners Manual (page 10). I'm confused about this part of the procedure. Thanks!
IrmoSC is offline  
post #742 of 4127 Old 09-08-2006, 10:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
soundlovr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDreier View Post

As I prepare to do an Auto Setup, I have a question. Is there a bonafide reason to assign my surrounds to "Front" or Zone2? I see that's an option as stated in the Owners Manual (page 10). I'm confused about this part of the procedure. Thanks!

If you use surround back speakers, set it to surround back.

If you want to passively bi-amp your fronts, set it to front.

If you want the surround back amplifiers to power a second zone, set it to zone 2.

Which part are you confused about?
soundlovr is offline  
post #743 of 4127 Old 09-09-2006, 05:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Harden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help!

I have a 5.1 setup in my home theater, but for some reason, I only hear sound out of the front right, center and subwoofer.

I initially did the auto eq setup (e.g. put the microphone on a tripod and tested 6 locations). I don't think it's the speakers or the wiring because when I did the auto eq setup, I could hear the "whoop, whoop" sound out of every speaker, respectively.

I called Denon and their only suggestion - besides taking it in for service - was a hard reset and then manually programming the speaker setup. I did that, but the problem persists.

Any ideas out there? I can't believe my receiver is bad since I've only had it for 40 days. Thanks.
Harden is offline  
post #744 of 4127 Old 09-09-2006, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
tkc9789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the volume levels on the 2807 set differently for different input source?
For example, can I set 'default volume' for "CD" to -30dB and "DVD" to -10dB. When I switch from CD to DVD, the volume will auto adjust to -10dB?
tkc9789 is offline  
post #745 of 4127 Old 09-09-2006, 09:27 AM
Member
 
ammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciotime View Post

Hi...My HT room will be finished in about a month. I cant decide between the Denon AVR3806 or AVR2807. The room will be about 14X21. Speakers are B&W DM602 S3.

Why not the Denon 2307CI? isn't it supposed to be better than the 2807?

I invented the question mark.....
ammer is offline  
post #746 of 4127 Old 09-09-2006, 11:31 AM
Member
 
AlbertA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Garland,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ammer View Post

Why not the Denon 2307CI? isn't it supposed to be better than the 2807?

Where did you get that idea?

ÂMusic is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light. --Claude Debussy
AlbertA is offline  
post #747 of 4127 Old 09-09-2006, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
soundlovr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ammer View Post

Why not the Denon 2307CI? isn't it supposed to be better than the 2807?

Lower, cheaper models are not generally considerred "better" than their higher-priced, feature-increased brethren.
soundlovr is offline  
post #748 of 4127 Old 09-09-2006, 03:31 PM
Member
 
ammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertA View Post

Where did you get that idea?

I'll called Denon and spoke with tech support. It has a "New high resoltion 32bit floating point DSP" for High-quality sound reproduction instead of a 24bit one.
It also upconverts all sources to 1028p.

other than the loss of 10 watts I'm not sure why the 2307 is not better than the 2807

I invented the question mark.....
ammer is offline  
post #749 of 4127 Old 09-09-2006, 09:17 PM
Member
 
AlbertA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Garland,TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ammer View Post

I'll called Denon and spoke with tech support. It has a "New high resoltion 32bit floating point DSP" for High-quality sound reproduction instead of a 24bit one.
It also upconverts all sources to 1028p.

other than the loss of 10 watts I'm not sure why the 2307 is not better than the 2807

You got wrong information:

2807: http://usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/3038.asp

The 2307 does not upconvert to 1080p (it doesn't even deinterlace) and the 2807 has the same 32-bit floating point DSP.

ÂMusic is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light. --Claude Debussy
AlbertA is offline  
post #750 of 4127 Old 09-10-2006, 04:20 PM
Member
 
sobiloff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkc9789 View Post

Can the volume levels on the 2807 set differently for different input source?

Yep. RTFM (link at <<a href="http://usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/3038.asp" target="_blank">http://usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/3038.asp >), p. 48.
sobiloff is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off