The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 4127 Old 03-03-2006, 03:20 PM
Member
 
s002wjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post

No problemo, here's the link to the 2807 user manual:

http://usa.denon.com/AVR-2807-OM.pdf

I guess global crossovers are history for Denon (can be set individually for each speaker pair).

Sanjay

about the 1080p, in the manaul if you search 1080p there is a chart about video in and out conversin table(page 18). At the bottom of the table it says "Note resolution of 1080p is not handled." I also ask denon technical support about the 3806, and got 2 different answer, one said its able to pass 1080p, and the other says no. the chart in the manual are excaltly same as the chart in the 3806 manaul. Now I'm totally confuse about wheather 3806/2807 are able to pass 1080p or not.
s002wjh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 4127 Old 03-03-2006, 06:40 PM
Member
 
mattbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I feel flattered to have my post forwarded to Denon and to get the response. Okay, so from what he said, "
Quote:


As
far as the AACS, I believe the receiver will need HDMI
version 1.3 for it to work properly from the information
that I have seen. I can't agree with his statement.

"

Since the AACS spec was just finalized within the last week or two, that would mean (according to my reading of his response), that there is not a single piece of hardware (monitors/receivers) on the market, in your house,etc.. that has HDMI ver1.1...that will work with Blu-Ray or HD-DVD.

Nothing will work with these players that are coming out within months?!?!? We have to wait for 1.3 before we can watch movies over HDMI? So what's the point in buying an HDMI receiver if it only has 1.1?

mello 1, I know all you were doing was posting the rep's reply. Don't mistake my post for shooting the messenger. Thanks for taking the time to contact Denon. I just want to see an official response from the community. Will HDMI 1.1 work with the new players or not?

Forgive me for not taking the Denon rep's word for it.
mattbrown is offline  
post #63 of 4127 Old 03-03-2006, 06:53 PM
Member
 
phoard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by s002wjh View Post

about the 1080p, in the manaul if you search 1080p there is a chart about video in and out conversin table(page 18). At the bottom of the table it says "Note resolution of 1080p is not handled." I also ask denon technical support about the 3806, and got 2 different answer, one said its able to pass 1080p, and the other says no. the chart in the manual are excaltly same as the chart in the 3806 manaul. Now I'm totally confuse about wheather 3806/2807 are able to pass 1080p or not.

You are paraphrasing. It states: "Signals up-converted to HDMI are output to the HDMI monitor with the resolution at which they are input. Note that resolutions of 1080P are not handled." The key here is "signals up-converted to HDMI".

The way I read this is simply that you cannot input a 1080P via component and have it output on HDMI. This is consistent with the chart. The chart also shows that that 1080P input via HDMI is output via HDMI.

This is on page 14 of the manual (page 18 of the PDF)
phoard1 is offline  
post #64 of 4127 Old 03-05-2006, 02:17 PM
Member
 
SuperBuck27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If someone can update the group as to the first 2807 deliverie and where those units were sourced from -- that would be terrific.

Thanks.
SuperBuck27 is offline  
post #65 of 4127 Old 03-05-2006, 02:21 PM
Member
 
SuperBuck27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trpltongue View Post

TMG,

Upscaling changes the resolution (480 to 720, etc.)

Upconverting changes the carrier signal (rca to component etc)
Upconverting can also change from interlaced to progressive but will not alter resolution (480i to 480p, etc.)

DVD players are upSCALING. The take the dvd signal and upscale it to whatever resolution you desire (720p, 1080i). DVD's are a digital signal to begin with and therefore DVD players to not upconvert anything (they don't change the carrier signal).

This is an awesome explanation. Thank you. Dumb question: I take it this means that the 2807, while great at upconverting, cannot help me upscale NTSC and other signals? Still need a DVDO type or other box to do this? Thanks.
SuperBuck27 is offline  
post #66 of 4127 Old 03-07-2006, 10:43 AM
Member
 
mattbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw this question in the "Yammy 2600 vs Denon 2807" thread. Is there a subwoofer out on this Denon. The only thing I see in the picture is a sub out for the pre out. Will that work?
mattbrown is offline  
post #67 of 4127 Old 03-07-2006, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jase H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: España
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattbrown View Post

I saw this question in the "Yammy 2600 vs Denon 2807" thread. Is there a subwoofer out on this Denon. The only thing I see in the picture is a sub out for the pre out. Will that work?

Yup. Connect your Sub to the SW Pre-Out.
Jase H is offline  
post #68 of 4127 Old 03-07-2006, 09:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jason Priestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the denon dealer i spoke to said that he had heard it was pushed towards the end of the month....sigh...I'm getting my 5.1 speakers this weekend. I'm wondering if I should just get the yamaha 2600 or the denon 4306. Do either of them allow you to consolidate all your video components (both digital and analog) and have one hdmi cable run into the TV?
Jason Priestley is offline  
post #69 of 4127 Old 03-08-2006, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
BTT917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Priestley View Post

the denon dealer i spoke to said that he had heard it was pushed towards the end of the month....sigh...I'm getting my 5.1 speakers this weekend. I'm wondering if I should just get the yamaha 2600 or the denon 4306. Do either of them allow you to consolidate all your video components (both digital and analog) and have one hdmi cable run into the TV?

I think both the Denon and Yamaha will allow a single HDMI output connection for all video, but is a month really worth $1000?
BTT917 is offline  
post #70 of 4127 Old 03-08-2006, 05:48 PM
Member
 
phoard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Priestley View Post

the denon dealer i spoke to said that he had heard it was pushed towards the end of the month....sigh...I'm getting my 5.1 speakers this weekend. I'm wondering if I should just get the yamaha 2600 or the denon 4306. Do either of them allow you to consolidate all your video components (both digital and analog) and have one hdmi cable run into the TV?


The Yamaha 2600 surely does. It also upscales signals to 720P or 1080i. The main cons seem to be that it doesn't handle 1080P and it is slightly more expensive, maybe 20%.
phoard1 is offline  
post #71 of 4127 Old 03-17-2006, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Ben Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My distributor spoke with Denon. They said the 2807's will be in next week. Hope this is the case.

ben
Ben Harper is offline  
post #72 of 4127 Old 03-17-2006, 09:05 AM
Member
 
brad79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have finally settled on the 2807, was starting to look at the 4306 thinking it had better multizone capabilities but a 3rd zone requires a preamp on both recievers so I will stick with the 2807.
brad79 is offline  
post #73 of 4127 Old 03-17-2006, 03:10 PM
Member
 
dqdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought my 2807 today at Magnolia...picking it up Sunday.
dqdude is offline  
post #74 of 4127 Old 03-17-2006, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Cajun_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lafayette, La.
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dqdude View Post

Bought my 2807 today at Magnolia...picking it up Sunday.

Come on Man... give us more information. Which Magnolia store in what state, how much did you pay? Is the unit in stock or they expect it to arrive for your pickup on Sunday? Gives the complete skinny!
Cajun_Mike is offline  
post #75 of 4127 Old 03-17-2006, 07:00 PM
Member
 
dqdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun_Mike View Post

Come on Man... give us more information. Which Magnolia store in what state, how much did you pay? Is the unit in stock or they expect it to arrive for your pickup on Sunday? Gives the complete skinny!



Sorry...didn't realize I would get you worked up by not posting the skinny!

I bought it at the Magnolia in Tacoma...1st one to buy one over the counter according to the Magnolia rep. A few were preordered..but I am getting mine first!One dollar shy of a grand. They have them in stock at their warehouse but not their stores. Mine will be in Sunday...not sure if they will be stocking the stores this day as well. I asked about return policy....30 days money back. I told them I was concerned about the HDMI switch and my Moto 6412. The rep said..."you will not be needing to return the unit for any reason".

Did I miss anything?

I'll report more once I get the unit installed and fully functional.

Feel free to ask more questions if anyone wants to know more
dqdude is offline  
post #76 of 4127 Old 03-17-2006, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
Patrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My AVR 2807 shipped from Crutchfield today.... Yeah!

It will arrive in 3 days!!!

Good news!
Patrak is offline  
post #77 of 4127 Old 03-17-2006, 09:36 PM
Newbie
 
snowblade2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crutchfield has them listed? I checked the site, but couldn't find any .
snowblade2 is offline  
post #78 of 4127 Old 03-18-2006, 12:14 AM
Newbie
 
Patrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called them on March7th and it shipped today! I have a package of 39.26 lbs on its way... look at the info from their website:
Quantity
ordered Quantity
backordered Quantity
shipped Item # Item Description Price Total
1 0 1 033AV2807B Denon AVR-2807 Black Home Theater Receiver

Patrak is offline  
post #79 of 4127 Old 03-18-2006, 12:15 AM
Newbie
 
Patrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need to call Crutchfield or any other authorized dealer. I called Magnolia here in Bellevue, WA and they had some... they received 40 but 36 were already sold as pre-ordered!
Patrak is offline  
post #80 of 4127 Old 03-18-2006, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
snowblade2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got off the phone with Crutchfield, and mine's shipping out on Monday . I went a little nuts with some extras (speaker wire, connectors, universal remote), so the HT setup's getting a total facelift. Now, what to do with my old JVC RX-DP10VBK...
snowblade2 is offline  
post #81 of 4127 Old 03-18-2006, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I ordered from Crutchfield this morning. Shipping Monday. They had 38 at the time.
dlm10541 is offline  
post #82 of 4127 Old 03-18-2006, 03:39 PM
Member
 
bg55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PDX
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Magnolia hi fi in oregon has them in the main warehouse and could have one there as soon as tomorow if ordered. if not they said it should be displayed by tuesday...
bg55 is offline  
post #83 of 4127 Old 03-20-2006, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
YodaDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought my 2807 @ Magnolia Bellevue WA Fri 3/17 for 999.
Question: I have a toshiba dvd which has hdmi out. I figured it was a snap the toshiba hdmi to the denon hdmi to the Samsung 6768 via HMDI. However, no picture and no sound. The Sammy can't find a signal. Suggestions. Thanx.
YodaDad is offline  
post #84 of 4127 Old 03-20-2006, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
kulu99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Bought my 2807 @ Magnolia Bellevue WA Fri 3/17 for 999.
Question: I have a toshiba dvd which has hdmi out. I figured it was a snap the toshiba hdmi to the denon hdmi to the Samsung 6768 via HMDI. However, no picture and no sound. The Sammy can't find a signal. Suggestions. Thanx.

Is your dvd player HDCP compliant? It sounds like it might not be.

Living in a mostly non-HD world
kulu99 is offline  
post #85 of 4127 Old 03-20-2006, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by YodaDad View Post

Bought my 2807 @ Magnolia Bellevue WA Fri 3/17 for 999.
Question: I have a toshiba dvd which has hdmi out. I figured it was a snap the toshiba hdmi to the denon hdmi to the Samsung 6768 via HMDI. However, no picture and no sound. The Sammy can't find a signal. Suggestions. Thanx.

Try going to page 49 of the manual and set up the HDMI video input. The audio will automatically be passed through when the video is assigned to HDMI 1 or 2
dlm10541 is offline  
post #86 of 4127 Old 03-20-2006, 11:05 AM
TMG
Member
 
TMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know it's important, but I'd rather not learn about the various versions of HDMI -- 1.1, 1.2, etc. Maybe things will get clearer when more of these are available, and folks can describe their actual experiences, with specific components.

For example, I'd love to see a post where someone describes the following:

I have the new 2807 -- I connected my Panny S77 (or S97, or whatever) and my DirecTV HD-receiver to each of the HDMI inputs, and I connected the single HDMI output to my Panny 32" LCD TV, and everything works GREAT -- oh, and by the way, no macroblocking!

anyone?
TMG is offline  
post #87 of 4127 Old 03-20-2006, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
YodaDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dlm thanx. Followed instructions and now have video!! Still don't have audio. Magnolia wanted to blame the Toshiba DVD as "we don't sell those." Tried to change the audio from original setting to "bitstream" No change: no audio, still have video. Any other suggestions?
YodaDad is offline  
post #88 of 4127 Old 03-20-2006, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by YodaDad View Post

dlm thanx. Followed instructions and now have video!! Still don't have audio. Magnolia wanted to blame the Toshiba DVD as "we don't sell those." Tried to change the audio from original setting to "bitstream" No change: no audio, still have video. Any other suggestions?

On the same page(49) once you havr set the video toggle down and see if you are set to connect audio to the speakers or to the display. Apparently you can only do one or the other.

Why do you want to go directly to the display with audio when you are using the 2807 for audio?

Mine arrives on Weds so I will be smarter then????
dlm10541 is offline  
post #89 of 4127 Old 03-20-2006, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
YodaDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I'm slow, but all I'm trying to do at this point is get the Toshiba dvd to send the audio portion of the the dvd signal via HMDI to the 2807. I'm guessing once I get that done, the toshiba will also send CD information via the same HDMI.
Glad yours is getting to you Wed. I'm quite sure helping me will make you smarter.
YodaDad is offline  
post #90 of 4127 Old 03-20-2006, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
BlakeN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone explain how the denon room eq works. Does it set different levels for certain frequencies? If so how many frequencies does it check and does it also eq the subwoofer? I tried reading the manual but I couldn't find any specifics.
BlakeN is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off