The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 32 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #931 of 4119 Old 11-01-2006, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
koolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellover009 View Post

Ok let me get this straight, you negotiated with magnolia and got it for $940

You also got one for $850 open box but brand new, where did you get this one from?

Sorry, I should've been clearer:
  • I negotiated a brand new 2807 from MSRP of $1,099 to $940.
  • Then, the manager (whom I've become friendly with when I bought my complete 5.1 Def Tech setup from him back in July) told me they had an open box 2807 that someone returned a few weeks ago. I told him that I'd consider it but he'd have to offer me a very compelling price on it since I never buy open box items b/c I never know what the previous person did to it. He offered it to me for $850.
  • I bought the open box 2807 for $850 + tax
  • All of the above occurred at Magnolia/Best Buy

My blog: Koolio - Thoughts and news on technology
koolio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #932 of 4119 Old 11-01-2006, 02:41 PM
Member
 
nightlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the advanced crossover settings where you can set individual crossovers for each speaker, why is there a crossover setting for LFE? Let's say I wanted to set the crossover for my surround speakers to 100hz because they are small. Do I also need to set the LFE crossover to 100hz?
nightlight is offline  
post #933 of 4119 Old 11-01-2006, 02:46 PM
Member
 
sobiloff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crossover is a bad label; what you're setting is the lower cut-off for the speakers and the upper cut-off for the sub.
sobiloff is offline  
post #934 of 4119 Old 11-01-2006, 08:49 PM
Member
 
nightlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobiloff View Post

Crossover is a bad label; what you're setting is the lower cut-off for the speakers and the upper cut-off for the sub.

Does this mean that if I set the surrounds to 100Hz I also need to set the LFE to 100hz?
nightlight is offline  
post #935 of 4119 Old 11-01-2006, 10:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
soundlovr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightlight View Post

Does this mean that if I set the surrounds to 100Hz I also need to set the LFE to 100hz?

Crossovers aren't a hard wall. If you set the surrounds crossovers at 100Hz it doesn't mean that 99Hz sounds won't be coming out of them. There's a slope and balancing the sub with the rest of the system can be helped out by having a highpass filter along with the lowpass filter.
soundlovr is offline  
post #936 of 4119 Old 11-02-2006, 06:18 AM
Member
 
sobiloff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundlovr View Post

Crossovers aren't a hard wall. If you set the surrounds crossovers at 100Hz it doesn't mean that 99Hz sounds won't be coming out of them. There's a slope and balancing the sub with the rest of the system can be helped out by having a highpass filter along with the lowpass filter.

Yep, so my label of "cut-off" was a bad one, too! I should have used the term "roll-off". Thx, soundlovr.
sobiloff is offline  
post #937 of 4119 Old 11-02-2006, 08:53 AM
Member
 
phoard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two set-up questions. I currently have my Directv HR20 connected to AVR-2807. Video is via HDMI, audio is optical. I have a 7.1 speaker set-up. Everything is working great. I also have a SONOS box connected via analog streaming music from my PC.

Question 1) Do I understand the manual correctly? There is no way for me to view the video from my Directv while listening to Music from my Sonos? The way I read it, this isn't possible if I have my Video source connected via HDMI.

Question 2) What do I need to do if I want to watch Directv Video on my TV and only 5.1 audio while using my surrond back speakers to listen to music via my Sonos. My speakers are currently wired as 7.1, does that matter? Is it just a receiver set-up issue? If so, what do I need to do?

Any help is appreciated.
phoard1 is offline  
post #938 of 4119 Old 11-02-2006, 08:56 AM
Member
 
phoard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rross111 View Post

Dave,
Did you ever get this problem sorted out ? I have the same configuration w/ the Oppo DVD player and the Denon2807 and can't get the video routed from the DVI out on the Oppo into the HDMI in on the Denon and then out via the HDMI on the Denon to a projector. If I use the Oppo component out I can get this signal out of the HDMI from the Denon but not at 1080i. I feel confident I have the HDMI in config set correctly. I played around w/ the resolution on the DVD player but haven't had any luck.

Thanks - Ray


Ray,

Weird thing. I was having the exact problem a number of months ago and just connected via component and forgot about it. Last night I decided to take another crack at it. I went in, messed with my video in and video out setting in the AVR2807 based on the manual and boom!! 1080i video output to my TV. Not exactly sure why I did different, but if you want to tell me your setting I can compare with mine and I'm sure we'll figure it out.

Patrick
phoard1 is offline  
post #939 of 4119 Old 11-02-2006, 09:34 PM
Member
 
mikea59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the Ipod dock work with the Nano?
mikea59 is offline  
post #940 of 4119 Old 11-03-2006, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
tigerkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please share your best deal of the 2807 with Authorized dealer.
Thx. Kev.
tigerkn is offline  
post #941 of 4119 Old 11-03-2006, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
koolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerkn View Post

Please share your best deal of the 2807 with Authorized dealer.
Thx. Kev.

$950 (+tax) for a brand new unit.

$850 (+tax) for an open box that was returned. This was the one I just bought this past Sunday and have had zero issues with it.

All of the above was at Magnolia/Best Buy.

My blog: Koolio - Thoughts and news on technology
koolio is offline  
post #942 of 4119 Old 11-03-2006, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
mendes9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
anyone compare the 2807 say to an outlaw 990 or 970? thanks

Save Your Frequent Flyer Miles !! Barber's jobs are also being exported to China, you will have to fly to China now for a hair cut.
mendes9 is offline  
post #943 of 4119 Old 11-03-2006, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
tigerkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please let me know which would be the Denon Receiver that has the same (or similar) juice/spec. as the 2807 withoutttttttttt HDMI.

Thx. Kev.
tigerkn is offline  
post #944 of 4119 Old 11-03-2006, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
Moistfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea59 View Post

Does the Ipod dock work with the Nano?


Yes


Has anyone gotten any updates on whether the motorola DVR's offered by Comcast will be able to pass through 1080p over HDMI soon?
Moistfly is offline  
post #945 of 4119 Old 11-03-2006, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rockokma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bout to jump on this for 840 from BB magnolia price matching w/ these guys w/ shipping price...

Anyone think I could get a better reciever for this price??? Or any warning before I buy for my Setup:

Hp Md5880n
SA8300
HD-A1
Xbox 360
HTPC
and polk audio rti4 set speakers w/ matching center...
Rockokma is offline  
post #946 of 4119 Old 11-04-2006, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Engine Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I think this is a 2807 issue, and not the other component (a DVD-3910), because I had this working ok with my old receiver...

I have my 3910 connected to my 2807 via HDMI. I also have 5.1 analog connections running from the 3910 to the 2807 Ext. In. But, I seem to be unable to get sound out of the Ext. In.

If I'm reading the manual correctly, all I should have to do is set the HDMI IN Assign to Audio: Amp, and No Signal 1: Ext. In. But I'm getting nothing.

It works fine if I let HDMI do the audio, but I'd prefer to use the DACs in the 3910, and more importantly, I cannot play SACDs without the analog connection working.

What's gone wrong? Thanks!

A Woofer in Tweeter's Clothing...
Engine Joe is offline  
post #947 of 4119 Old 11-04-2006, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
koolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerkn View Post

Please let me know which would be the Denon Receiver that has the same (or similar) juice/spec. as the 2807 withoutttttttttt HDMI.

Thx. Kev.

Dude, just go to Denon's website to compare the features of their different receivers.

www.usa.denon.com

My blog: Koolio - Thoughts and news on technology
koolio is offline  
post #948 of 4119 Old 11-05-2006, 07:42 AM
Member
 
pemarsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have denon 3801, sony 60 inch xbr2, and toshiba high def dvd player, and satellite high def box from directv.

Is there a reason for me to upgrade to the 2807 just becuase of its hdmi capability? As far as I can understand, it may be better to not involve your receiver in hdmi...i.e., better to go direct (e.g., dvd to tv, etc).

Am I missing out on anything by not getting a denon hdmi receiver? I post this here because this is the receiver i would most likely buy.

Problem is, I just can not understand what advantage i would gain.

Am I not understanding something here???
pemarsh is offline  
post #949 of 4119 Old 11-05-2006, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
mziegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IMO there is no reason to upgrade if HDMI is your only goal. Beyond the one cable, I have not been able to figure out any advantage. I have the 2807, it works fine, but there are issues with it and my cable box using hdmi.

Your box should work properly with hdmi, but I still can't see why you would want to "upgrade." I don't know anything about the 3801.

As long as the 3801 has sufficient power, I'd put money into better speakers and subs.

AVS: Where everything you write will be used against you.
mziegler is offline  
post #950 of 4119 Old 11-05-2006, 08:58 AM
Member
 
ellover009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Only advantage of HDMI is that it can pass through real 1080P, most television sets are not design to accept 1080P from an analog signal therefore you are forced to use digital in order to use the 1080P, otherwise analog will run 1080i and all the other resolutions. I did not say it was impossible to run 1080P through analog the problem is verry few sets are able to do this. I for one part have some doubts on HDMI until ver 1.3 comes out or at least a denon receiver with ver 1.2B, 1.2 is the most backwards compatible at this moment, 1.3 SHOULD fix compatability issues with older HDMI devices.
ellover009 is offline  
post #951 of 4119 Old 11-05-2006, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Engine Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Engine Joe View Post

OK, I think this is a 2807 issue, and not the other component (a DVD-3910), because I had this working ok with my old receiver...

I have my 3910 connected to my 2807 via HDMI. I also have 5.1 analog connections running from the 3910 to the 2807 Ext. In. But, I seem to be unable to get sound out of the Ext. In.

If I'm reading the manual correctly, all I should have to do is set the HDMI IN Assign to Audio: Amp, and No Signal 1: Ext. In. But I'm getting nothing.

It works fine if I let HDMI do the audio, but I'd prefer to use the DACs in the 3910, and more importantly, I cannot play SACDs without the analog connection working.

What's gone wrong? Thanks!

No one can help with this?

A Woofer in Tweeter's Clothing...
Engine Joe is offline  
post #952 of 4119 Old 11-05-2006, 03:31 PM
Member
 
sobiloff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Engine Joe View Post

If I'm reading the manual correctly, all I should have to do is set the HDMI IN Assign to Audio: Amp, and No Signal 1: Ext. In. But I'm getting nothing.

It works fine if I let HDMI do the audio, but I'd prefer to use the DACs in the 3910, and more importantly, I cannot play SACDs without the analog connection working.

Joe, I'm not seeing the menus you're referring to, so I'm not sure how to help you. I have my 2807 connected via HDMI to my Denon DVD-1920 and can play SACD via the six channel analog connectors just fine.

To play SACDs I set the 2807's function to DVD and change the input to External In. Are you doing that?
sobiloff is offline  
post #953 of 4119 Old 11-05-2006, 06:08 PM
Member
 
ivjo31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read some reviews about Denon cannot support the comcast HDMI, is it true? If it does, did they fix the problem already??
ivjo31 is offline  
post #954 of 4119 Old 11-05-2006, 11:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivjo31 View Post

I read some reviews about Denon cannot support the comcast HDMI, is it true? If it does, did they fix the problem already??

It a firmware problem with the Comcast box, that Comcast needs to fix. It's not really a Denon problem.
Johnla is online now  
post #955 of 4119 Old 11-06-2006, 12:03 AM
Member
 
ivjo31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
since i have a comcast, is there any way that i can solve this problem? Does the comcast also have problem with the other brand of receivers like Onkyo? I truely want to get the AVR 2807 but if i cannot use my cable box with it I think that is a big problem
ivjo31 is offline  
post #956 of 4119 Old 11-06-2006, 01:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivjo31 View Post

Does the comcast also have problem with the other brand of receivers like Onkyo?

Depending upon the box you have and what firmware it has, yes it can indeed be a problem with all receivers.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post8498128

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/searc...rchid=14576497
Johnla is online now  
post #957 of 4119 Old 11-06-2006, 04:24 AM
Member
 
Engine Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobiloff View Post

Joe, I'm not seeing the menus you're referring to, so I'm not sure how to help you. I have my 2807 connected via HDMI to my Denon DVD-1920 and can play SACD via the six channel analog connectors just fine.

To play SACDs I set the 2807's function to DVD and change the input to External In. Are you doing that?

Thanks for replying!

So you're manually switching the inputs every time? Is there no way to assign the External In the default audio input for the DVD function when using HDMI as the video input so that you don't have to do this step everytime you go to DVD?

A Woofer in Tweeter's Clothing...
Engine Joe is offline  
post #958 of 4119 Old 11-06-2006, 07:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Memphis
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 192
I have the 2807 and now have experience with two different comcast boxes in two cities. In Memphis, I had the SA8300HD. It worked fine although users in other locales were having issues. I'm now in Jacksonville, FL and have an HD motorola DVR cable box. It works fine as well.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #959 of 4119 Old 11-10-2006, 10:50 AM
Member
 
lrossnm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Santa Fe NM.
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone using the Oppo 971H DVI connection thru the Denon 2807. I'm told it will not pass through.

Thanks,

Larry
lrossnm is offline  
post #960 of 4119 Old 11-10-2006, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
dbacksfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking seriously about purchasing the 2807, but I need a few clarifications...

A salesman at UE today was recommending the Yamaha RXV-1700 and touting its ability to pass through a 1080p signal. He also said the Denon 2807 CANNOT pass 1080p, even though Denon's website says it can. I just want to be sure... Can the 2807 pass 1080p as advertised?

The salesman also told me that both the Denon 2807 and Yamaha RXV-1700 upscale the video signal to 720p or 1080i. I believe that is false, isn't it? Both receivers merely upconvert composite/s-video/component to HDMI; they don't scale the actual picture. Is that correct?

He also told me the Yanaha was a better receiver for watching movies, while the Denon had the edge for listening to music. Do you all agree or disagree?

Also, how many of you pass your HDMI video from your HD-DVRs and upscaling DVD players through the 2807? Any compatibility issues with that, or has it been smooth sailing? In other threads, people have been adamant about NOT passing HDMI through an A/V receiver, saying you can't save your picture settings for each component that way, and thus have to watch DVR and DVD in the same mode. Is that true with the 2807?

I'm really ready to pull the trigger and get the Denon 2807, but I want to make sure I really know what I'm getting before I do.

Thanks in advance for the clarifications and viewpoints.
dbacksfan is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off