The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 4117 Old 03-20-2006, 01:13 PM
Member
 
mattbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
YodaDad,
How did you get the price point down to $999? Magnolia here in Baltimore is listing it at $1099 when their shipment arrives in a week or two.

Matt
mattbrown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 4117 Old 03-20-2006, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JayMan007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Short Pump, VA
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm10541 View Post

I ordered from Crutchfield this morning. Shipping Monday. They had 38 at the time.

I just looked at the Crutchfield site and did not see the 2807.

Also, anyone with this unit... Is it possible to display volume on a monitor with Component or HDMI when in 480P, 720P or 1080i?

Thanks,
JayMan...
JayMan007 is offline  
post #93 of 4117 Old 03-20-2006, 01:38 PM
Member
 
brad79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
magnolia in chicago also $1,099.

Anyone know if it will be available in silver when released?
brad79 is offline  
post #94 of 4117 Old 03-20-2006, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
YodaDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Matt, don't know, 999 was the "special sale price" they came up with. I didn't even try to bargain.

Blake, the 2807 will generate a series of sound pulses through each speaker sequentially, including the sub. By the way if you only have a 5.1 or 6.1 connect your surrounds to "surround" and not to "surround back"; like I did first time.
YodaDad is offline  
post #95 of 4117 Old 03-20-2006, 06:24 PM
Member
 
dqdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey YodaDad...

Any luck with the Audio?
I'm having the same problem myself...unreal!!!
dqdude is offline  
post #96 of 4117 Old 03-20-2006, 06:33 PM
Newbie
 
timrh23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2807 is available at Crutchfield...you have to go to chat with a service person...he will give you a link immediately to order it...have fun
timrh23 is offline  
post #97 of 4117 Old 03-20-2006, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monterey Bay, Ca.
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad79 View Post

magnolia in chicago also $1,099.

Anyone know if it will be available in silver when released?

It is my understanding that Denon is dropping silver on all new receivers starting with the 2807.

Mike
Big Mike is offline  
post #98 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 06:22 AM
Member
 
sdjdguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I just picked up the AVR-2807 at Tweeter in San Diego yesterday. The local Magnolia (Best Buy) didn't have it. So, check out Tweeter if you don't want to wait to order one from Crutchfield.
sdjdguy is offline  
post #99 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Heuristix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Strafford, PA
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I scanned this thread and couldn't find whether anybody has mentioned whether room equalization works on the analog inputs, as the forthcoming HK-640 will be able to do. The manual does not seem to address this either.
Heuristix is offline  
post #100 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 11:56 AM
Member
 
gdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newbie here, first post.

UPS just delivered my Denon AVR-2807 from Crutchfield. I haven't even taken it out of the box yet. My axiom M60's and QS8's are not due for another 3-4 weeks. Also, my Mirage S12 is backordered from Vanns. I only have a passive sub at the moment with some 100 watt surrounds. What would be the best way to hook up the passive sub? Or should I leave the amp in the box until I get some real speakers? I would like to get a head start and at least familiarize myself with the receiver. Dang, just like a kid with a new toy
gdaddy is offline  
post #101 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 01:40 PM
Member
 
grinwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The answer, gdaddy, is you should take it out, take lots of pictures, attach whatever speakers you got and post a detailed description along with the pictures
grinwell is offline  
post #102 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 02:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 18,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdaddy View Post

What would be the best way to hook up the passive sub?

On the receiver, set the front L/R speakers to LARGE. Run speaker wire from the L/R speakers outs to the passive sub. Run speaker wire from the passive sub to your L/R satellites.

Sanjay

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #103 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 02:45 PM
Member
 
gdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


On the receiver, set the front L/R speakers to LARGE. Run speaker wire from the L/R speakers outs to the passive sub. Run speaker wire from the passive sub to your L/R satellites.

Forgive me, but I'm not sure I understand this. The sub only has one set of (-) (+) inputs. Wouldn't this be a crossover between the L/R speaker outs of the receiver?
gdaddy is offline  
post #104 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 03:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 18,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdaddy View Post

The sub only has one set of (-) (+) inputs.

Wups, I thought it was a passive subwoofer from a sub/sat combo. Since it isn't, you're probably better off just connecting your speakers (no sub) until the powered sub arrives. No simple way to connect a passive sub without an outboard amp.

Sanjay

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #105 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 03:05 PM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Mike View Post

It is my understanding that Denon is dropping silver on all new receivers starting with the 2807.

Are you sure?

Because I read this:

'The AVR-2807 is scheduled to be available in March 2006, in black or silver. '

http://www.cnet.com/4831-11405_1-6413272.html
QZ1 is offline  
post #106 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 03:16 PM
Member
 
gdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post

Wups, I thought it was a passive subwoofer from a sub/sat combo. Since it isn't, you're probably better off just connecting your speakers (no sub) until the powered sub arrives. No simple way to connect a passive sub without an outboard amp.

Sanjay

It's an older Panasonic Sub "Theatre in a Box." I'll just wait on the Mirage S12 to arrive. I appreciate your help!
gdaddy is offline  
post #107 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdaddy View Post

Newbie here, first post.

UPS just delivered my Denon AVR-2807 from Crutchfield. I haven't even taken it out of the box yet. My axiom M60's and QS8's are not due for another 3-4 weeks. Also, my Mirage S12 is backordered from Vanns. I only have a passive sub at the moment with some 100 watt surrounds. What would be the best way to hook up the passive sub? Or should I leave the amp in the box until I get some real speakers? I would like to get a head start and at least familiarize myself with the receiver. Dang, just like a kid with a new toy

Mine won't be in till next week..... how about you send yours to me and i can tell you how it works?

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, 2 Danley DTS10 subs, & Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is offline  
post #108 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by timrh23 View Post

2807 is available at Crutchfield...you have to go to chat with a service person...he will give you a link immediately to order it...have fun

It is now listed on their page..at full list price

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, 2 Danley DTS10 subs, & Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is offline  
post #109 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 03:33 PM
Member
 
brad79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABT Electronics also has it up on their website, on backorder though.
brad79 is offline  
post #110 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 03:48 PM
Member
 
dqdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update...

I'm making good progress setting up all my gear. I finally got all the settings correct for the audio to pass through properly.

As expected...the video is another story though.
I am not able to get my Comcast Motorola 6412's DVI to pass through the 2807's HDMI switch.

I have been able to pass Component Video with my Satellite box and my Oppo Dvd player is working with a DVI to HDMI cord.

Anyone able to get their Motorola 6412 Cable box to work with the HDMI Switch on the receiver?
dqdude is offline  
post #111 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 07:37 PM
Member
 
dqdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update #2

I just finished setting up all the components and had a chance to auto speaker setup.

I am using optical cables for sound from all componets

Cable: Could not get the HDMI to work (big surprise) so I used component with no noticable change in video quality. In fact, my non-HD channels look a lot better. The audio is nothing short of FANTASTIC! I should note that this opinion is coming from someone that was using a 14 year old Pioneer Surround receiver.

DVD: HDMI works great! Audio is again...FABULOUS!

Satellite: Component...looks much better then when I had it hooked up directly to my Samsung DLP. Upconversion must be working great! Optical cable for audio is FAB!

I have barely scratched the surface in what this baby can do. I have a LOT of reading and playing to do before I master the capabilities of this receiver. I am extremely pleased with this purchase!
dqdude is offline  
post #112 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
YodaDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dq, sounds like you have had a fair amount more success than I. Also I was hoping to not have to buy a bunch of new (optical??) cables, and do everthing via HDMI.
I did manage to get the denon to output audio from the dvd via hdmi but only to L/R speakers (not sub, center or surrounds). I know they can get signals, as all worked during the room eq set up. Pg. 49 of the manual talks about setting up the video portion and then switches to audio. This is where I get lost. Anybody have any ideas???
YodaDad is offline  
post #113 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 09:20 PM
Member
 
dqdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yoda...

If you have the audio/video setup correctly...but no sound???
You may need to adjust surround mode. I'm not at the unit right now so I can't say for sure what button to adjust on the front of the unit. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out why my Satellite would not play audio...i replaced cables and everything. Of course it was something simple!
dqdude is offline  
post #114 of 4117 Old 03-21-2006, 11:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 228
How is the remote? I hope it is better than the 3806 ...that one sucked.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, 2 Danley DTS10 subs, & Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is offline  
post #115 of 4117 Old 03-22-2006, 02:37 AM
Newbie
 
unsolvedmistere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased and set mine up today but didnt really have a chance to mess with it besides the auto room eq. So far, sounds good, but like I said - didnt put it through any serious tests. The remote is exactly the same as the 2805 (as far as I can tell). If anyone has specific questions, let me know. Right now, all my devices are patched through using component and out to the TV using HDMI. Just some info for you guys to chew on if you're curious.
unsolvedmistere is offline  
post #116 of 4117 Old 03-22-2006, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
paxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ouch... I know it's very early, but I am a bit concerned that no one apparently has actually been able to transmit both audio and video via HDMI.
paxi is offline  
post #117 of 4117 Old 03-22-2006, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
artimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please guys I know it is time consuming to go thru that manual and really work out this receiver BUT PLEASE PLEASE more posts on thoughts concerning sound, good power? Maybe a comparison to the 3806 if anyone had listened to that...does it sound warm?, bright? I am using paradigm monitors fronts, cc370 center and adp370 surrounds-- thx!!
artimp is offline  
post #118 of 4117 Old 03-22-2006, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxi View Post

Ouch... I know it's very early, but I am a bit concerned that no one apparently has actually been able to transmit both audio and video via HDMI.

I run 4 devices through a video processor via HDMI with HDMI audio and video to the 2807 and HDMI video only to my display. You can run audio to speakers or display-not both.

I have had little play time so I recommend carefully following the Advance Setup-Part 1 instructions starting on page 44.
dlm10541 is offline  
post #119 of 4117 Old 03-22-2006, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jason Priestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Argghhhhh. So I did the instant messenger thing on crutchfield at work this morning to ask about the denon 2807. Confirmed to me that they had it, free shipping was nice, as was no tax. Asked if I wanted to buy. I said I just need to speak to the wifey. Fiance said to hold off until she was done teaaching at 3. She called me then, went over it and she gave the green light. I called crutchfield and then they said it was SOLD OUT!!!!!!!AARRRGHHHH. They asked if i wanted to pre-order. They don't have any ETA as to when they will get their next batch but typically its a couple of weeks. They told me they had 20-30 in the morning. Now I'd be 3rd on the pre-order list....any other dealers out there that have it?
Jason Priestley is offline  
post #120 of 4117 Old 03-22-2006, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Cajun_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lafayette, La.
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Priestley View Post

Argghhhhh. So I did the instant messenger thing on crutchfield at work this morning to ask about the denon 2807. Confirmed to me that they had it, free shipping was nice, as was no tax. Asked if I wanted to buy. I said I just need to speak to the wifey. Fiance said to hold off until she was done teaaching at 3. She called me then, went over it and she gave the green light. I called crutchfield and then they said it was SOLD OUT!!!!!!!AARRRGHHHH. They asked if i wanted to pre-order. They don't have any ETA as to when they will get their next batch but typically its a couple of weeks. They told me they had 20-30 in the morning. Now I'd be 3rd on the pre-order list....any other dealers out there that have it?


Jason, have you tried going to the official Denon website and typing in your zip code 90210 into the search engine to see if there are any local dealers?
Cajun_Mike is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off