The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 4119 Old 03-23-2006, 09:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattbrown View Post

What's the word on this? Got my monthly Crutchfield today. It is advertising the 2807 saying that in DOES in fact have Burr-Brown. Looking at it right now, top of page 19. 4th paragraph.

Don't go by what Crutchfields says, go by what Denon says. And again, look for the green "check" mark. Because when you get down to the Burr-Brown area for the 2807, 3806 and 4806, all you will see is a "-" and not a green "check" mark for the 2807. So that means no on the Burr-Brown. And in fact, what you will see for the 2807, that it has that 24-bit/192-kHz DACs - Analog Devices chip, and not the Burr-Brown.


http://usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/...mageField.y=22
Johnla is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 4119 Old 03-24-2006, 03:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe the 2807 is the first Denon AVR to pass 1080P over HDMI
dlm10541 is offline  
post #153 of 4119 Old 03-24-2006, 06:06 AM
Member
 
phoard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by murz View Post

OK, got it. Do both pass 1080p analog-to-analog and/or digital-to-digital (i.e., if I run component in at 1080p will it send 1080p to my display and/or 1080p in via HDMI and then HDMI out to my display?)

Really, my problem (as I perceive it to be) is that my HDTV has only one DVI and three component inputs. I'm looking to see which receiver 3806 vs. 2807 will be able to run hi-def DVD to my display, and how I can do that...

I don't have the 2807 yet, but here is what I believe to be the case from the manual. All analong inputs, such as component, can be upconverted to HDMI. It will NOT upscale the signal, just pass it through. It doesn't appear that it will upconvert any 1080P inputs at all. In order to get it out via HDMI it needs to be input via HDMI.
phoard1 is offline  
post #154 of 4119 Old 03-24-2006, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe 1080P is passed only over HDMI. This means run HDMI-DVI cable for video. Will your display accept 1080P in? To my knowledge only the HP DLP will currently.
dlm10541 is offline  
post #155 of 4119 Old 03-24-2006, 07:23 AM
Member
 
sdjdguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm10541 View Post

I believe 1080P is passed only over HDMI. This means run HDMI-DVI cable for video. Will your display accept 1080P in? To my knowledge only the HP DLP will currently.

FYI, my brand new Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma will accept 1080p input via HDMI. I believe the Sony XBR rear projection sets will as well.
sdjdguy is offline  
post #156 of 4119 Old 03-24-2006, 07:38 AM
Newbie
 
murz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm10541 View Post

I believe 1080P is passed only over HDMI. This means run HDMI-DVI cable for video. Will your display accept 1080P in? To my knowledge only the HP DLP will currently.

My display will only accept 720p/1080i, so my understanding is that it will downscale the 1080p when I feed it in.

So, given all the info, the 2807 will pass 1080p and the 3806 does not. Therefore, if I'm planning on being as "future-proofed" as I can with regard to hi-def DVD, the 2807 is the only choice between it and the 3806 (assuming I run video through the receiver) - right?
murz is offline  
post #157 of 4119 Old 03-24-2006, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdjdguy View Post

FYI, my brand new Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma will accept 1080p input via HDMI. I believe the Sony XBR rear projection sets will as well.

Your plasma is a native 768P so I doubt it accepts 1080P. It will accept 1080i. Even if it does its downscaled to the 768 native resoution.

Even the first HD-dvd players are 1080i--not sure if Blu-raywill be 1080P at intro.

Be careful even most 1080P native displays do not accept 1080P inputs.
dlm10541 is offline  
post #158 of 4119 Old 03-24-2006, 02:06 PM
Member
 
phoard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdjdguy View Post

FYI, my brand new Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma will accept 1080p input via HDMI. I believe the Sony XBR rear projection sets will as well.

The current Sony sets do NOT accept 1080P. I would expect the ones released later this year will.
phoard1 is offline  
post #159 of 4119 Old 03-24-2006, 05:38 PM
Newbie
 
snowblade2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my 2807, along with a Sanus stand and a few other goodies from Crutchfield the other day. After a couple of sleepless days (I work the night shift), I've now got everything set up, calibrated and controlled with a Harmony 880. I gotta say, I'm happier than Al Bundy with a stack of Big 'Uns. The sound quality is incredible! Granted I'm not running audiophile speakers (Bose 301s for surrounds, a VCS-10 for center and a Sony 100-watt sub), but the improvement over my old JVC receiver is VERY noticeable. I had to tweak the Audyssey setup a little bit to get some bass, but once that was done I felt like I finally had a decent setup. The only complaint I'd have is that switching between components causes a momentary green flash on my screen (I've got everything running through one HDMI cable to the tv), but I can certainly live with that.
snowblade2 is offline  
post #160 of 4119 Old 03-24-2006, 07:35 PM
Member
 
rothlike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowblade2 View Post

Got my 2807, along with a Sanus stand and a few other goodies from Crutchfield the other day. After a couple of sleepless days (I work the night shift), I've now got everything set up, calibrated and controlled with a Harmony 880. I gotta say, I'm happier than Al Bundy with a stack of Big 'Uns..

I'm jealous! The local Best Buy won't have any for "a couple weeks" and Crutchfield's site says they are out of stock and no ETA on availability...Have to continue to wait...D'oh...

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowblade2 View Post

The sound quality is incredible! Granted I'm not running audiophile speakers (Bose 301s for surrounds,

I like Bose speakers, have for many years. Can't go wrong with them!

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowblade2 View Post

The only complaint I'd have is that switching between components causes a momentary green flash on my screen (I've got everything running through one HDMI cable to the tv), but I can certainly live with that.

Wonder if that green flash might not be a normal thing. The switching could be triggering a scan for resolution, or something. Congrats on the new toy, keep us posted on the 2807.

-- Rich

Cheers! Big Rich
rothlike is offline  
post #161 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 01:04 AM
Senior Member
 
jesyjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowblade2 View Post

I had to tweak the Audyssey setup a little bit to get some bass, but once that was done I felt like I finally had a decent setup.

How did you tweak the audyssey setup for your bass? I set mine up and while the "surround" movie experience was awesome, bass was less than exciting. I realize it's "smoothing" it out, and that's great. I have an HK-635 to compare to and the subwoofer equalization there sounds spot on. With the 2807 it sounded really thin. I demoed the Monster's Inc trailer on Toy Story 2 and those awesome knocks at the start with the really low bass info were completely eqed out.. same with the great subsonic material during the opening Toy Story 2 scene as buzz is flying around. I'm really only concerned about the low low end that I don't want eqed out as it needs a boost to be noticed given our insensitivity to those lower frequencies. Any ideas..?
jesyjames is offline  
post #162 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 04:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JayMan007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Short Pump, VA
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowblade2 View Post

Got my 2807, .... The only complaint I'd have is that switching between components causes a momentary green flash on my screen (I've got everything running through one HDMI cable to the tv), but I can certainly live with that.

Does or can the 2807 display volume on your monitor? This receiver is rising to the top of my list quickly.
JayMan007 is offline  
post #163 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayMan007 View Post

Does or can the 2807 display volume on your monitor? This receiver is rising to the top of my list quickly.

It is supposed to but I am having trouble with the OSD. The manual says that over HDMI OSD works on set -up or when display is press on remote. Neither works for me.

Snowblade I believe the flashing you see is caused by HDMI/HDCP handshaking as you change inputs. This is normal
dlm10541 is offline  
post #164 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jase H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: España
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm10541 View Post

I believe the 2807 is the first Denon AVR to pass 1080P over HDMI

The 3806 and 4306 also do.
Jase H is offline  
post #165 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
asianoncdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently ABT electronics has the Denon 2807 in stock. I believe they are an authorized online retailer.
asianoncdoc is offline  
post #166 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jase H View Post

The 3806 and 4306 also do.

Denon Tech Support says they do not-at least on US models. Check out other AV receiver threads
dlm10541 is offline  
post #167 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 12:36 PM
Member
 
befman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those who have already received their units, can you please tell me how easy it is to access the Ipod connectivity port and what kind of success, complaints, criticism you have of it? Thanks.
befman is offline  
post #168 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
artimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you could buy the 4306 for $1400 from a good friend WOULD YOU or would you buy the 2807 if you could get that for $850?
artimp is offline  
post #169 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 12:56 PM
Member
 
befman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by artimp View Post

if you could buy the 4306 for $1400 from a good friend WOULD YOU or would you buy the 2807 if you could get that for $850?

Since I have never heard either, I honestly can't say. What I'm sure everyone would like to know is where they can get one for $850...or even $950 for that matter. Please elighten us :-)
befman is offline  
post #170 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
artimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my friends father owns a specialty store and was being kind to me
artimp is offline  
post #171 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 04:58 PM
Newbie
 
sdwyatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rec'd my 2807 from Crutchfeld yesterday and was reading through the manual prior to setup. I plan to use it to drive a 7.1 setup in a media room with 2 sets of rear surrounds. It will also drive a "B" pair of front speakers in a different room. I was a bit confused when reading the set up procedures referencing ZONE2. I assume ZONE2 is only relevant if separate components are powered not just speakers. Does anybody with a similar config as above have any advise on setup?
sdwyatt is offline  
post #172 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 07:56 PM
Member
 
rothlike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rothlike View Post

I'm jealous! The local Best Buy won't have any for "a couple weeks" and Crutchfield's site says they are out of stock and no ETA on availability...Have to continue to wait...D'oh...

Well after calling another Best Buy store and speaking to one of the guys in the Magnolia there he said that he had been to a nearby Magnolia store (not one inside a BB), and they had one on display, but the earliest they would have one in the BB stores was April 16th. So I Googled for the local Magnolia's and found the one the BB guy was talking about and I called them and all they have is the display model there . The guy I talked to checked his computer and said he was going to their San Francisco store tonight and would pick one up for me there, since they have them in stock ($999). I'll be picking it up in the morning at their San Ramon store!. Totally stoked!

Cheers! Big Rich
rothlike is offline  
post #173 of 4119 Old 03-25-2006, 10:00 PM
CHG
Advanced Member
 
CHG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm10541 View Post

Denon Tech Support says they do not-at least on US models. Check out other AV receiver threads


Denon website for the 3806 and 4306 says "1080p HDMI switching ", which is the same thing that it says for the 2807.
CHG is offline  
post #174 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,988
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by befman View Post

Since I have never heard either, I honestly can't say. What I'm sure everyone would like to know is where they can get one for $850...or even $950 for that matter. Please elighten us :-)

I just got mine for $930

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #175 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 01:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jase H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: España
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm10541 View Post

Denon Tech Support says they do not-at least on US models. Check out other AV receiver threads

As has been pointed out, Denon USA's Website says they do. The UK/European models do as well.

http://www.usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/AVReceivers.asp
Jase H is offline  
post #176 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 03:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Look in the manual. In the appendix there is a chart. A footnote says 1080P is not handled.

I hope I am wrong but I do not want to see disappointed people if I am not. I saw same thing as you when shopping and called Denon. That is why I waited for 2807. That plus reported other HDMI problems
dlm10541 is offline  
post #177 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 06:00 AM
Newbie
 
snowblade2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To answer some questions:

The way I tweaked the sub was to set the crossover frequency at 100 mhz (under the speaker setup menu). Any higher than that and the sound quality dropped. I don't know if this means I'm no longer running under the Audyssey setting, but the sound is still incredible. I tested it with various scenes from Revenge of the Sith and got the floor to shake a little

Yes, the volume is displayed onscreen. I initially had some problems getting it to display, but was able to get it to show up by accessing the menus from the receiver itself (the remote can call up the OSD now, but only after I initially got it to show up). Try pressing the setup button on the remote.

I'm glad to hear the flashing is normal...I was worried for a minute there

It's a bummer to hear Crutchfield's out, but from what I've experienced so far with this receiver, it's well worth the wait. Having seen how easy it was to do the auto setup and eq (even though I had to switch the wiring on my speakers a few times before it stopped saying they were out of phase), I'm blown away by the improvement in sound.
snowblade2 is offline  
post #178 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Snowblade

Are you ouputting HDMI? I am and have done the OSD setup however still not getting OSD even when I press set-up or when I press display. I am waiting til Monday to call Denon.
I have not changed anything yet but I found the sound to be better (to me) than the Audessey setup. I agree it is lacking in bass.
dlm10541 is offline  
post #179 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jase H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: España
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm10541 View Post

Look in the manual. In the appendix there is a chart. A footnote says 1080P is not handled.

That's referring to the fact it can't convert an analog 1080p signal to HDMI.
Jase H is offline  
post #180 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Jase

I am not trying to argue the point with you. I am not sure what is correct. However I took the word of Tech Support and waited.

There is an apparent discrepancy between the manuals/datasheets and what Tech support says. This is common unfotuneatly. I assume you have the 3806 and can confirm its performance first hand. If so I stand corrected

I am simply trying to tell people to be careful. If a feature is important to you then reasearch carefully. You are doing a dis-service to forum users to state something as fact without definitive proof.
dlm10541 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off