The "Official" Denon AVR-2807 Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
Ninjakettle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
folks,

Can someone tell me if the 2807 is capable of upconverting from s-video/composite to Component out?

I know from reading that it does this over HDMI - but i don't have HDMI input on my projector and i'd like to have only one cable (Component) running to it.

cheers
Ninjakettle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 08:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jase H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: España
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
US Tech Support may well be wrong. Denon USA's site states 1080P HDMI switching, so does Denon UK, Denon Germany and Denon Japan. Also been mentioned on other sites. These units have been around for a little while now so if it didn't have this feature I'd presume they'd have removed it from all their website literature. Here's a couple of links.

http://www.denon.co.uk/site/popup/ve...=an&go=1#Punkt

http://www.homecinemachoice.com/cgi-...ws.php?id=8382

http://www.homecinemachoice.com/cgi-...ws.php?id=8431

FWIW I have the A1XV (5805) which doesn't have 1080P HDMI switching. Unfortunately, it needs an upgrade for that.
Jase H is offline  
post #183 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jase H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: España
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjakettle View Post

Can someone tell me if the 2807 is capable of upconverting from s-video/composite to Component out?

Yes, it has this feature.
Jase H is offline  
post #184 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
YodaDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little story which relates to the 2807.
I decided to upgrade to the 2807, a Samsung 6768 (1080P 67 inches; yup bigger is better) and a low budget Toshiba dvd (with HDMI out). I bought the Sammy via internet, saved $1500, but developed a small ulcer dealing with "customer service" pelple to actually get it to shipping company.
The 2807 I got from Magnolia in Bellevue WA. Good price: 999. However, like many getting the video from dvd to 2807 to monitor while simultaneously getting the audio from dvd to 2807 to speakers seemed impossible. The guy at Magnolia called me back after hours and spent about 30 minutes with me and like magic: everything works.
The moral: sometimes, especially in the case of the 2807, unless you're an uber-geek, brick and mortar purchases have their place and advantages.
Next up: Blu-ray vs. HDDVD.
YodaDad is offline  
post #185 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
BlakeN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone using the 2807 with paradigm speakers? Particularly monitor 5s. I have monitor 5s and have heard them on a marantz sr7500 and they sound awsome but it doesn't have close to the amount of features the 2807 does for the same money.

I might have to see if my local denon dealer will let me borrow one for a few days. It kind of scares me that you can now buy denon products inside a best buy. Does that bother anyone else?
BlakeN is offline  
post #186 of 4119 Old 03-26-2006, 04:15 PM
Newbie
 
egiles7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Numbernine View Post

Do we have any idea as to when the 2807 will be released?

I had been waiting for the 2807 since I read the CES reviews. I have been scanning the web looking for anyone selling or taking pre-orders. Then I read a post here that said that Denon had posted the unit on the website. Sure enough, not only did I find a seller, but one that had six in stock (as of 3/24). I am now the proud owner of a Denon AVR 2807. Since I ended up buying my NEC from a seller recommended here I will return the favor for anyone looking for the 2807 now. ZAP Audio (714) 526-2154 ask for Sanjay (owner). I also ended up getting a great deal on the speakers as well. Not trying to spam or anything, but I know these are hard to come by (or were) and he's an authorized Denon reseller with 2807s in stock. I'll let you know when I get the whole setup installed and running. I can't wait.
egiles7 is offline  
post #187 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 10:43 AM
Member
 
sdjdguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm10541 View Post

Your plasma is a native 768P so I doubt it accepts 1080P. It will accept 1080i. Even if it does its downscaled to the 768 native resoution.

Even the first HD-dvd players are 1080i--not sure if Blu-raywill be 1080P at intro.

Be careful even most 1080P native displays do not accept 1080P inputs.


You are mistaken, at least if the owner's manual is to be believed. It clearly states that it will accept a 1080p input via HDMI.
sdjdguy is offline  
post #188 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 12:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdjdguy View Post

You are mistaken, at least if the owner's manual is to be believed. It clearly states that it will accept a 1080p input via HDMI.

Good at least Panasonic is doing it right. I was amazed that Sony, Samsung and JVC introduced 1080P native RPTVs that did not accept 1080P in
dlm10541 is offline  
post #189 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 12:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
mziegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the system:
Denon 2807 Receiver
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma (two HDMI slots)
Scientific Atlanta 8300HD cable box
Denon 2910 DVD
Polk RM 7500 speakers

I guess I want to go from the cable box to the receiver via HDMI (but I hear there is a problem with this), so I will use component cable from box to receiver, and attach the plasma and DVD to the receiver via HDMI.

With this set-up will I be limited to my Polk speakers? For casual watching I like to use the speakers on the Plasma. If I am limited to the Polk, is there a better configuration?

I'm actually pretty intelligent, but not when it comes to some of these issues, so I need things spelled out.

Thank you in advance for any help/insight you can offer.

AVS: Where everything you write will be used against you.
mziegler is offline  
post #190 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mziegler View Post

Here's the system:
I guess I want to go from the cable box to the receiver via HDMI (but I hear there is a problem with this), so I will use component cable from box to receiver, and attach the plasma and DVD to the receiver via HDMI.

With this set-up will I be limited to my Polk speakers? For casual watching I like to use the speakers on the Plasma. If I am limited to the Polk, is there a better configuration?

Set-up allows audio to speakers or display not both. I guess you could go into the menu and change it but that would be a pain. Too bad they don't have an audio toggle on the remote
dlm10541 is offline  
post #191 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
broadwayblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 3,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Has anyone been able to get their 2807 to work with a SA8300HD via HDMI ?
broadwayblue is offline  
post #192 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 05:14 PM
Newbie
 
snowblade2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dlm: Yes, I'm outputting via HDMI.
snowblade2 is offline  
post #193 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 05:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
mziegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by broadwayblue View Post

Has anyone been able to get their 2807 to work with a SA8300HD via HDMI ?

I talked to customer service at Denon today. I was told that this will not work, that you need to use component from cable box to receiver. This was confirmed by a forum user (sdjdguy). The tech said that the problem was that Scientific Atlanta had not updated its driver. He also said that the difference between component and HDMI was very slight (consider the souce--I'm only the messenger here).

AVS: Where everything you write will be used against you.
mziegler is offline  
post #194 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 05:26 PM
Member
 
Pitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I was checking out the SA8300HD, and the fellow at the store said that many of the units were coming back because of sync problems between audio and video when using HDMI.
Pitman is offline  
post #195 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 06:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jason Priestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Darnnn!!!! So should I go the 4306 route? Any problems with the 4306? I know we can't discuss price but if I'm getting over 25+% should I go for it? I'm also curious about the sound quality of the 2807 being lower than the 3806....hmmm....
Jason Priestley is offline  
post #196 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 06:41 PM
Member
 
AV Land's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, PQ, CA
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitman View Post

Yeah, I was checking out the SA8300HD, and the fellow at the store said that many of the units were coming back because of sync problems between audio and video when using HDMI.

Which units were being sent back, the 2807 or the SA8300HD? If it's the SA8300HD, I can say that I've been using it for 4 months with no sync problem except on some occasions (mostly FOX HD and it's not the cable box fault).
AV Land is offline  
post #197 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 06:58 PM
Member
 
befman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

I just got mine for $930

How / where did you manage to get one for that price?
befman is offline  
post #198 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 06:58 PM
Member
 
AV Land's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, PQ, CA
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have a Denon AVR2800 and am very pleased with it as far as music quality is concerned (using Paradigm speakers). Of course, having recently acquired an HDTV set this receiver does not fit the bill anymore (no component or HDMI inputs/outputs) so I decided to order the 2807. However, I'd like to make sure that I do not lose the musical quality of my 2800. So can anybody comment on their experience on the musicality side of the 2807?

Thanks,
AV Land is offline  
post #199 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 07:25 PM
Member
 
rothlike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by broadwayblue View Post

Has anyone been able to get their 2807 to work with a SA8300HD via HDMI ?

I got it to "work" but anytime I switched inputs, and then return, the SA8300HD says the TV is not HDCP compliant (it is though) and will not display through HDMI. I have to switch off the SA and then my TV, then turn the TV back on, followed by the SA for it to recognize the HDCP in the TV. Switching inputs and back and the SA would not recognize the TV's HDCP again. Too much hassle so I bagged the HDMI hookup and went component. I assumed it was a handshaking issue with the TV which I have heard is a common issue with the Toshiba 34HF85. Looks and sounds fine through component.

-- Rich

Cheers! Big Rich
rothlike is offline  
post #200 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 09:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Land View Post

(and it's not the cable box fault).

Yes it is, because not all 8300's have the updated firmware that allows them to work with HDMI repeaters properly. And if someone has one with the old firmware, it's most definitely the fault of the 8300 that it's not working properly with a receiver with HDMI switching.
Johnla is offline  
post #201 of 4119 Old 03-27-2006, 11:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
On Videogon...one of the dealers has it on Auction.. I called them and they have one for 899 + shipping. I got a friend to match it

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #202 of 4119 Old 03-28-2006, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
artimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guys have any of you compared the sound of the 2807 against the 3806-- thoughts???
artimp is offline  
post #203 of 4119 Old 03-28-2006, 11:12 AM
Member
 
jgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any opinions from those who have this receiver as to the video upconversion capabilities? I, like others, am trying to decide between the 3806 and 2807. I have a Panasonic AE900 and wonder if the 2807 may do a better job with 480i sources than the Panasonic.
jgriffin is offline  
post #204 of 4119 Old 03-28-2006, 11:14 AM
 
Chris in SD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post

Yes it is, because not all 8300's have the updated firmware that allows them to work with HDMI repeaters properly. And if someone has one with the old firmware, it's most definitely the fault of the 8300 that it's not working properly with a receiver with HDMI switching.

has anyone established what firmware DOES work? I have SARA 1.87.16.1
Chris in SD is offline  
post #205 of 4119 Old 03-28-2006, 11:15 AM
 
Chris in SD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Land View Post

Which units were being sent back, the 2807 or the SA8300HD? If it's the SA8300HD, I can say that I've been using it for 4 months with no sync problem except on some occasions (mostly FOX HD and it's not the cable box fault).

What firmware version does your have?
Chris in SD is offline  
post #206 of 4119 Old 03-28-2006, 11:17 AM
 
Chris in SD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowblade2 View Post

dlm: Yes, I'm outputting via HDMI.

What firmware does your 8300 have?
Chris in SD is offline  
post #207 of 4119 Old 03-28-2006, 12:42 PM
Member
 
befman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

On Videogon...one of the dealers has it on Auction.. I called them and they have one for 899 + shipping. I got a friend to match it

they look like a pretty shady place to purchase from. Just curious though, how much did shipping run you? Where are they located?
befman is offline  
post #208 of 4119 Old 03-28-2006, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
True Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: N. Virginia, USA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
I have to admit that I also got very excited upon the news of this (potentally) wonderful 2807 receiver with HDMI upconversion and so on.
Having older 3803 receiver, Paradigm Monitors surround setup, Pioneer 42" plasma HD w/HDMI , Denon DVD 2200 and SA 8300H, I thought the same way as almost everybody here: how wonderful it would be to connect plasma with receiver with just one HDMI cable. Right ? WRONG !!!

After hearing all these reports about incompatibilities in HDMI betw. SA83000 and 2807 and then reading that people decide to feed the HD signal with component instead, but still using HDMI for DVD, I realized it's all MADNESS !!!

Why would you feed BETTER (HD) picture with WORSE cable and the WORSE (DVD) picture with the BETTER cable ?

So, my personal solution is ... staying with the setup I have:
1) SA8300HD connected with plasma directly through HDMI and the extra audio
dig-coax connection w/3803.
2) Univ player (DVD, SACD, DVD-A) through component with 3803 (and all possible audio cables) and then 3803 through component w/plasma

CONS: So I have 2 cables going into my plasma and have to switch the TV's inputs with the remote ( and how tought it really is, huh ???)
PROS:
- the HD (cable) picture is fed through the HD-quality cable and it shows !
- the DVD picture is fed throug the component cable, which is effecient enough
( in a meanwhile we are all speculating about upcoming HD DVD ...)
- I don't even need to use the receiver in order to watch HD/SD TV, which greatly benefits my wife and daughter (they don't really know how to operate properly 3803)
- for the TV the sound is played through the TV's speakers (for news, etc.) and I can always choose to play it through my audio system at the same time or separately.
- heck, I can even watch the movie/game/news broadcast (with the low volume on TV) and listen to my favorite CD/SACD/DVD-A at the same time (which I love !)

So I keept what i have, enjoy, HD-quality picture, don't get frustrated by SA/cable industry inability to follow the same HDMI standards and ... wait until the dust settles over the HD DVD and HDMI formats wars .
And - forgot to mention - keep my $1100 intact, maybe I could upgrade my Digms in the meanwhile ???

Listening to sound opinions, preferring sound of music ...
True Fan is offline  
post #209 of 4119 Old 03-28-2006, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Pitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Land View Post

Which units were being sent back, the 2807 or the SA8300HD? If it's the SA8300HD, I can say that I've been using it for 4 months with no sync problem except on some occasions (mostly FOX HD and it's not the cable box fault).

Yes, the SA8300HD units were coming back with sync problems. But, it really is all about what monitor you are using. It depends on how quickly the monitor can digitize the information. And the problem is specific to the HDMI outputs on the cable box.
Pitman is offline  
post #210 of 4119 Old 03-28-2006, 05:03 PM
Member
 
AV Land's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, PQ, CA
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris in SD View Post

What firmware version does your have?

I don't know (how can I tell)? But as 'Johnla' stated the problem is with the 8300 and HDMI repeaters whis is not my case since I'm hooked up directly to my Toshiba 56HM195 (I currently have an AVR2800 which does not have HDMI and still waiting to receive my 2807).
AV Land is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off