The "Official" Denon AVR-4306 Thread - Page 81 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2401 of 2411 Old 02-07-2015, 07:31 AM
Member
 
kschoenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think if you go back through this thread you might find a changelog. I would suggest not making the change as you're happy with what you have and haven't experienced problems. While the chance of bricking your receiver is small...why risk it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tabooki View Post
I'm guessing I've have had my amp for probably 7 years now. Never bothered upgrading the firmware. Stumbled across this thread and I'm seeing lots of people posting about it. Judging from a recent post it looks like I can go straight to the 6.0.0.4 one from whatever I'm on now.

My question. Is it worth it? I'm really not experiencing any bugs or issues. Is there any audio improvements that would make upgrading worthwhile?

Seems like a minefield ridden buggy upgrade so if there is not much benefit unless I have a bug that get's fixed should I bother?

Thanks for any help.
kschoenberg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2402 of 2411 Old 02-07-2015, 07:38 AM
Member
 
kschoenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Phase Error Question...

We recently moved and I now have my home theater setup with the Denon 4306 in the back. I have three speakers M&K 150s under my screen, an M&K Subwoofer off to the viewer's left and two speakers M&K 150s in the back. I made the cables and checked them for continuity. When I read the Audyssey auto setup the receiver complained that the speakers were out of phase. I checked multiple times...they're not.

I didn't have this problem in the past, but the receiver was in a more traditional location (under the screen) then.

Any one have any idea why I'm getting this error? I skipped through it and everything sounds okay.

The only other difference is that I'm using one of the newer (little tower) Audyssey mics rather than the button which was lost in the move.
kschoenberg is offline  
post #2403 of 2411 Old 03-26-2015, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Dutchman01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Again the list of changes after upgrade up to 6.0.0.4 firmware:


* Main version update because off code bugs in the AVR-4306.
* Memory problems fixed for AVR-4306 can't remember serveral programmed stations etc.
* When several FM stations are programmed in the presets there occurs a
malfunction when you use PC Control or the AVR-4306.
* Improve the Transaction of Bass management setting.
* supporting the Audio Digital signal at PC resolution (SVGA,XGA,etc.) from the HDMI input with DVD-3930 or DVD-2930,
* when the customer connected the HDMI output of the source equipment which does not support HDCP
(High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection system) to the HDMI input of an AV amplifier, a picture is blinking.
* Improvement for the Web control.
* supporting the LPCM 7.1 ch digital signal form the HDMI input.
* supporting of the PC resolution (1600 x 1200, 60Hz max.) from the HDMI input.


You can grab firmware here: http://www.zoonsweb.nl/files/denon/AVR-4306/

DENON AVR-4306
Firmware: Main ver. 01.00, Sub ver. 00.50, DSP ver. 00.04.

DENON DVD-3930
Firmware: BE 8284-A, Make Day C09, DSP 8250, IP 070518
Dutchman01 is offline  
post #2404 of 2411 Old 06-28-2015, 05:26 PM
Member
 
awalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am hoping someone can help me with a problem that has cropped up on my Denon AVR-4306 receiver.

Last week we lost audio on the DVD player. It was a low end Samsung. I did a little investigation and thought, since it was old, that the DVD player may have gone bad. I replaced it with another similar DVD player, low end ( but now has BluRay!), but still no audio. The problem is I can't get audio working despite all my efforts!

Here is my setup:

Input:
HDMI-1: DVD
HDMI-2: DirecTV box
HDMI-3: Apple TV

Output: HDMI cable to Sony TV.

Sound/picture from Apple TV and DirecTV are fine.

I have:
- replaced DVD player
- tried another brand new HDMI cable from DVD player to HDMI-1 input
- Unconfigured the Apple TV and put the DVD player on HDMI-3 (re-setup in Denon Setup, again video fine no audio, yet audio/video are fine on HDMI-3 input with Apple TV)
- Added a Coax cable from DVD player to Denon, and setup the input audio to come from that coax input (I think I might have read this won't work because it won't send Coax audio to the HDMI output to the TV though, this may have been bogus attempt)
- tried about 4 different DVDs
- checked to make sure there were no audio settings with volume or mute on both DVDs, and made sure mute was not on, on the Denon.

So I have basically replaced the DVD player, DVDs, HDMI cable, and tried two different ports (coax and HDMI) to figure out what was no longer working, with no luck. IT's like the audio is being suppressed from the DVD player for some reason. Did some technology change happen that DVD players' audio no longer works?

Does anyone have any ideas? I am lost what could be failing as I feel I have replaced everything that matters.

Thanks!
awalt is offline  
post #2405 of 2411 Old 06-29-2015, 06:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,608
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9357 Post(s)
Liked: 4317
^^
Does the DVD player pass audio/video when connected directly to the TV? Try powering off the AVR and unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2406 of 2411 Old 06-29-2015, 07:41 AM
Member
 
awalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated the firmware and the audio is back! Not sure why that would have been required - uit wasn't like there was a new DVD or something - it just stopped working. Oh well, it works now!
awalt is offline  
post #2407 of 2411 Old 10-04-2015, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
No Web Page Access

Hi, folks. I am trying to repair a black AVR-4306 (US model). Everything works fine but it can't be accessed over the network: the page is there but gives an Access Error. This was the result of attempting to upgrade the firmware to 6004. After searching around, it seems that this upgrade was for Euro models only. I found the Denon UK Firmware page & this Serial # isn't recognized.

I tried running the update repeatedly myself and it always fails at "Erasing (Web page)".

The SS Manager program seems to work fine...it backs up & loads the backup...but what does it back up...the settings?

The best bet seems to be the Firmware Recovery Tool but it fails at "Communication NG", despite a known working Com port & a tested straight cable. At the same time, the unit will accept SOME commands using the Serial Protocol, so I know that the RS-232 is there...just not responding.

I would appreciate any help or advice any of you might offer as to what to try.
UncleAndy is offline  
post #2408 of 2411 Old 03-10-2016, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
Jameshtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello. I just received my avr 4306 (black usa spec) as a gift. 1st receiver I have ever owned. Can someone please tell me how on earth do I upgrade the firmware on this thing?

I got a laptop running on wifi and 1 ethernet cable. What's the next step?

Thanks for your input

James

Last edited by Jameshtx; 03-10-2016 at 06:25 PM.
Jameshtx is offline  
post #2409 of 2411 Old 03-12-2016, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
Jameshtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I called Denon support on how to update firmware and she didn't know how to either
Jameshtx is offline  
post #2410 of 2411 Old 03-12-2016, 02:09 PM
Newbie
 
juxtafras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had a denon avr 4306 for about 8 years and everything has worked well until today. All of a sudden today no sound goes to the subwoofer. No sound from games, movies or even the receiver setup test sounds. Al other speakers work well in my 7.1 setup. The subwoofer is set to on and I've set the decibel settings. The subwoofer power lights come on to confirm it has power.

Is there a setting that could cause this problem that I accidentally changed? I did notice that the display shows MultI and I accidentally pushed Amp on the receiver remote. Could that have caused this error? I remember I've accidentally pushed receiver remote buttons in the past and it has caused weird audio issues like this.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I've looked on many sites and the manual but I can't find a solution. Is there a way to reset the receiver to just start over and remove any setting that could be causing this problem?
juxtafras is offline  
post #2411 of 2411 Old 03-13-2016, 01:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,608
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9357 Post(s)
Liked: 4317
Quote:
Originally Posted by juxtafras View Post
I've had a denon avr 4306 for about 8 years and everything has worked well until today. All of a sudden today no sound goes to the subwoofer. No sound from games, movies or even the receiver setup test sounds. Al other speakers work well in my 7.1 setup. The subwoofer is set to on and I've set the decibel settings. The subwoofer power lights come on to confirm it has power.

Is there a setting that could cause this problem that I accidentally changed? I did notice that the display shows MultI and I accidentally pushed Amp on the receiver remote. Could that have caused this error? I remember I've accidentally pushed receiver remote buttons in the past and it has caused weird audio issues like this.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I've looked on many sites and the manual but I can't find a solution. Is there a way to reset the receiver to just start over and remove any setting that could be causing this problem?
Is the sub cable plugged into the AVR's sub "pre-out" and not the "EXT IN"? When you press the INPUT button on the remote, is it set to "Auto" and not something else? If yes, check to make sure the cable/sub are actually working by unplugging the cable from the sub pre-out and rubbing your finger over the end tip with the sub powered on. Hear static? If not, either the cable or sub is bad. Otherwise, if you do, refer to p. 64 in the Owner's manual to reset the microprocessor back to factory defaults.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4306b 7 1 Ch Home Theater Multimedia A V Receiver Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off