HK AVR 525 DIED! what to do? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 04-27-2006, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well,
As stated in the subject, my reciever is not working. It is about three years old and recently started acting funny.

When I would turn on the Multiroom (power by channel 6+7) I would get some sound through my center channel speaker, which happens to be the speaker input right above the two for channel's 6+7. I checked the wires to make sure it was not touching and it wasn't (I use Bannana Plugs for all my wires except the center).

A little odd. Then one day I lost a channel. All of a sudden one of my multiroom channels was not working.
So I started playing with it a bit in the OSD to switch between 7 channel and 5 channel + multiroom. I also hooked up an old AVR to the multiroom rca outs.

Then, for some reason the system would not turn on. I could get the multiroom to turn on, but the Main system would not. It was not in protect from what I can tell because the light was amber and would turn green for a brief second. I tried unplugging everything on the back panel...nothing. I tried resetting the processor..nothing.

When I press the power button it goes green for a split second and shuts down. The tech thought it might be the power supply. The unit is NOT under warranty anymore and I can't decide what to do. It is going to be $50-80 just to get someone to look at it and tell me what's wrong. It just doesn't seem worth fixing if it is around $200-300 because I would constantly doubt the system and worry about it breaking again.

Help, please.

Eric

Still Learning...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-27-2006, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member

It sucks, but it sounds like you need to start shopping. I had an Onkyo fixed once under warranty then it died again after warranty.
post #3 of 6 Old 04-27-2006, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member