Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide - Page 1408 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #42211 of 43035 Old 12-23-2013, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
runninkyle17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post

It's in Source Setup. You'll need to set it to THROUGH to bypass the video processor or watch 3D.

What I was thinking was, if it was set since the "3D upgrade" then you have significantly changed the HDMI chain and may wish to try a different setting.

The THROUGH setting is not in Source Setup when I look. Also, I tried DTS-HD and TrueHD test tracks that I know for a fact were working perfectly before the 3D board upgrade. This is getting a bit frustrating. The only thing that has changed in the whole system is the 3D board upgrade and the firmware upgrade.

DTS 5.1, Dolby Pro Logic 5.1 tracks work just fine and register correctly. My computer is configured for 7.1 speaker config as it needs to be. The display on the D2v reads 7.1 PCM when playing the Dobly TrueHD track, but no sound output at all. The D2v display only reads Digital with no 7.1 or 5.1 reading when playing the DTS-HD track.
runninkyle17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42212 of 43035 Old 12-23-2013, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I'm asking this here cause I heard that there is an Anthem Rep that comes into this thread.

But I was wondering, does the "Analog-Direct" function still put the signal through the ADC and DAC just not perform any EQ on the signal? Or does it bypass the ADC and DAC entirely?

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #42213 of 43035 Old 12-23-2013, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimeran View Post

I'm asking this here cause I heard that there is an Anthem Rep that comes into this thread.

But I was wondering, does the "Analog-Direct" function still put the signal through the ADC and DAC just not perform any EQ on the signal? Or does it bypass the ADC and DAC entirely?

When you set the D2v to Analog Direct it bypasses the DAC and there is no Room EQ option available in the source setup.
The only thing in the analog path are the op-amps for the volume control.
thestewman is online now  
post #42214 of 43035 Old 12-23-2013, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by runninkyle17 View Post

The THROUGH setting is not in Source Setup when I look. Also, I tried DTS-HD and TrueHD test tracks that I know for a fact were working perfectly before the 3D board upgrade. This is getting a bit frustrating. The only thing that has changed in the whole system is the 3D board upgrade and the firmware upgrade.

DTS 5.1, Dolby Pro Logic 5.1 tracks work just fine and register correctly. My computer is configured for 7.1 speaker config as it needs to be. The display on the D2v reads 7.1 PCM when playing the Dobly TrueHD track, but no sound output at all. The D2v display only reads Digital with no 7.1 or 5.1 reading when playing the DTS-HD track.

The THROUGH setting is only available on HDMI 1-4 connections. Under Source Setup scroll through Video Outputs Cnfg.
You should have choices 1-4 and THROUGH.
Note: If you use THROUGH you will not have audio on HDMI 2 out.
Note: You only need THROUGH for BluRay 3D video output. If you rip a 3D Blu Ray to SBS or Top/Bottom viewed with polarized glasses you do not need to use THROUGH.

Are the Blu Ray videos you are playing ripped files ?
Are you using MakeMKV or DVDFab to rip your files. You may not be getting the lossless audio streams.
Some BluRay discs I encountered said something like Uncompressed 7.1 PCM
or something like that. They were only 48k PCM. NOT lossless streams
They were not DTS HD Master or Dolby True HD audio.
If a ripped BD try using Media Info and check the audio files that are in the video you are using.

I asked before.
Are you using HDMI connection on the video card or on the motherboard ?
And you are using that HDMI connection for your audio ?
thestewman is online now  
post #42215 of 43035 Old 12-23-2013, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
runninkyle17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
HDMI connection from GPU. Using the HDMI for audio. Configured correctly in D2v setup.

Mediainfo shows proper DTS-HD Master audio when looking at the audio track.
runninkyle17 is offline  
post #42216 of 43035 Old 12-23-2013, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Did you do the 3D upgrade yourself? I believe there were issues earlier where the board wasn't physically installed correctly and I beleive there was a very specific order in which the firmware add to be installed. Try searching this thread.

I'm concerned that you don't have a through setting, sounds like something didn't take.
obie_fl is offline  
post #42217 of 43035 Old 12-23-2013, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by runninkyle17 View Post

HDMI connection from GPU. Using the HDMI for audio. Configured correctly in D2v setup.

Mediainfo shows proper DTS-HD Master audio when looking at the audio track.

Did you check in Setup under Video Output Cnfg for THROUGH ? I believe it is Line "B"
thestewman is online now  
post #42218 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 01:49 AM
Newbie
 
Marke001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wondering if people could take a look at my graphs and pick the problem areas .
I am a bit limited by placement and room layout but looking for any improvements I can make
where feasable ?



Marke001 is offline  
post #42219 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My suggestions which are from an unprofessional viewpoint.
There are some strong 100 to 200 khz peaks and dips in both the right and left fronts. I would try to reposition the front speakers and use Quick Measure to see if the changes help.
The critical area are the left front at 125 khz and the center at 80 and 150 khz.
You might try to see if you can move them forward or back slightly or change the aiming to help alleviate the frequency dips.
ARC has helped a lot on the right front but was unable to eliminate the dips on the left front and center speakers.
Overall it should sound good. Your sub looks very good
thestewman is online now  
post #42220 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 78

Mark:

 

I would definately move the left front speaker around to eliminate the dip between 100Hz and 200Hz. That is a room mode. If you don't have room trearments(bass traps) behind your speaker, i would do so. They are good at absorbing resonant frequencies under 500Hz.

 

I would move the center speaker closer to the wall for better bass loading to reduce the swings between 50Hz - 200Hz.

 

Lastly, your right rear speaker placement to be optimized if possible. Superb sub by the way ...

 

My 2 cents...

 

David


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #42221 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post

My suggestions which are from an unprofessional viewpoint.
There are some strong 100 to 200 khz peaks and dips in both the right and left fronts. I would try to reposition the front speakers and use Quick Measure to see if the changes help.
The critical area are the left front at 125 khz and the center at 80 and 150 khz.
You might try to see if you can move them forward or back slightly or change the aiming to help alleviate the frequency dips.
ARC has helped a lot on the right front but was unable to eliminate the dips on the left front and center speakers.
Overall it should sound good. Your sub looks very good

 

Wow, these speakers are amazing. I wasn't aware ARC sampled that high:)..


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #42222 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 12:15 PM
Newbie
 
Marke001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks very much for the suggestion guys it gives me some idea now of where to start
to find tune things a bit. But limited for movement as I said but will see what the response
Is like with some repositioning . At least the sub is good a paradigm Sub1 btw smile.gif
Mark
Marke001 is offline  
post #42223 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

Wow, these speakers are amazing. I wasn't aware ARC sampled that high:) ..

I noticed that extended response also.
I have never seen ARC respond above 5000 khz without changing ARC to a Max frequency higher than 5000khz. and never at that flat a curve
I wonder how this came about ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marke001 View Post

Thanks very much for the suggestion guys it gives me some idea now of where to start
to find tune things a bit. But limited for movement as I said but will see what the response
Is like with some repositioning . At least the sub is good a paradigm Sub1 btw smile.gif
Mark

The Anthem Subs are awesome. I had a SUb 1 until Anthem delivered my Sub 2.
thestewman is online now  
post #42224 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The word of the day is "K" as in Kilo. Stew you need to drop some zeroes or the "K". wink.gif

Nice to know ARC can help my dogs listening experience though. biggrin.gif
obie_fl is offline  
post #42225 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
Marke001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post

I noticed that extended response also.
I have never seen ARC respond above 5000 khz without changing ARC to a Max frequency higher than 5000khz. and never at that flat a curve
I wonder how this came about ?
The Anthem Subs are awesome. I had a SUb 1 until Anthem delivered my Sub 2.

May be the beryllium tweeters and the fact they are level with the listening position ?
Mark
Marke001 is offline  
post #42226 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by obie_fl View Post

The word of the day is "K" as in Kilo. Stew you need to drop some zeroes or the "K". wink.gif

Nice to know ARC can help my dogs listening experience though. biggrin.gif

Yes. My typing mistake. Good catch
thestewman is online now  
post #42227 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Well David caught it first but you missed his rolleyes.gif and ran with it smile.gif
obie_fl is offline  
post #42228 of 43035 Old 12-30-2013, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marke001 View Post

Thanks very much for the suggestion guys it gives me some idea now of where to start
to find tune things a bit. But limited for movement as I said but will see what the response
Is like with some repositioning . At least the sub is good a paradigm Sub1 btw smile.gif
Mark

The Anthem Subs are awesome. I had a SUb 1 until Anthem delivered my Sub 2.

 

$10K for a Sub 2 :eek:?


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #42229 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 01:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

$10K for a Sub 2 eek.gif ?

Nope. I bought it when it first came out and the original price it was substantially less.
Then there was a substantial discount from my dealer
thestewman is online now  
post #42230 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 09:41 AM
 
ttlnb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The 100-200hz dip might be wall interference. I forget the technical name and it has to do with the wavelength and cancellation, etc. Beyond me but a local acoustician explained it to me. Anyway, the closer you move the speaker to a wall this cancellation will happen at a higher frequency, the further away the speaker lower the frequency it will occur. For an 80hz crossover the speakers have to 3.5ft or greater from the wall to get this phenomenon below the crossover point. There are other solutions as well like moving the speakers closer and treating the wall. This is one of those things EQ can't fix. See what happens when you move your speakers.
ttlnb is offline  
post #42231 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post

when it first came out and the original price it was substantially less.

I noticed that too. Even the Sub-1 has increased 2 g's in as many years.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #42232 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post

I noticed that too. Even the Sub-1 has increased 2 g's in as many years.

Good deals with substantial savings can be had
thestewman is online now  
post #42233 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
Marke001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep I paid almost half retail just recently for my sub 1
Marke001 is offline  
post #42234 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 05:26 PM
Newbie
 
Marke001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After getting feedback from everyone I played around with the speaker positions a little - dont have much leaway , and moved the listening position (couch)
forward a little . So while not ideal I think the results are a little easier on arc this time around.
edit to reupload images for missing graphs


Marke001 is offline  
post #42235 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Two things. I do not see any improvement in the actual measured response.
Your charts are missing the displayed graph line were ARC actually made the changes.
Your graphs only have the measured response and the changes ARC would attempt to make
thestewman is online now  
post #42236 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 7,035
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Looks good to me.

Senior Video Editor
Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity

Click Here To See My Current Setup
Kris Deering is offline  
post #42237 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marke001 View Post

After getting feedback from everyone I played around with the speaker positions a little - dont have much leaway , and moved the listening position (couch)
forward a little . So while not ideal I think the results are a little easier on arc this time around.

 

Open ARC ---> View ---> Show Calculated


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #42238 of 43035 Old 12-31-2013, 06:44 PM
Newbie
 
Marke001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dont know why it didnt show I just recaptured and updated
Marke001 is offline  
post #42239 of 43035 Old 01-01-2014, 10:42 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 852
^ You are good to go. Enjoy!
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #42240 of 43035 Old 01-01-2014, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marke001 View Post

Dont know why it didnt show I just recaptured and updated

Looks nice but in my view, since the LF speaker has no gain in the 100Hz region while the RF has the 4dB of room gain, i'd reduce the room gain maybe until the responses match in that region?


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off