Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide - Page 1432 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #42931 of 42945 Old 06-22-2014, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thxtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 74
The way ARC does it's sub correction is correct and the preferred way. You ideally should treat all subs as one and apply an EQ that way. While it may seem inuitive to EQ them all individually, anthem is correct in their approach. You can certainly argue that there is still manual setting of distance and phase but it's pretty straightforward to do that.
Thxtheater is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42932 of 42945 Old 06-22-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
So, is a mono cable absolutely necessary, or will a stereo cable work??
Stereo cables work perfectly.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #42933 of 42945 Old 06-22-2014, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Stereo cables work perfectly.

Thanks Roger. I was actually able to find a mono cable at RS, even though I could not find it on their website.

"You can have my remote when you pry it from my cold dead fingers" tngiloy
Anthem D2v;Anthem A5;Golden Ear Aon3,SuperCenter XL,SuperSat3;SVS SB13 Plus x 2;Oppo BDP-103D;Ayre CX-7eMP;Panasonic plasma; Dish Hopper;PS Audio Power Plant 5- Subject to change without prior notification.
tngiloy is offline  
post #42934 of 42945 Old 06-22-2014, 06:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thxtheater View Post
The way ARC does it's sub correction is correct and the preferred way. You ideally should treat all subs as one and apply an EQ that way. While it may seem inuitive to EQ them all individually, anthem is correct in their approach. You can certainly argue that there is still manual setting of distance and phase but it's pretty straightforward to do that.

Audyssey also treats the subs as one. But first it eq's the subs to each other, then matches them together, treating them as one, to the other speakers (and the room).
The sub matching that XT32 --and the SVS AS-EQ1 and the DSPeaker units, and others-- just saves the time needed to phase match the subs yourself.


I spent hours matching my subs using QM, and was able to get it pretty good.
I used the SVS AS-EQ1 and it took minutes and did a better job. I sold the SVS unit when I bought the Integra since XT32 had the same sub eq included.
Since I went back to Anthem I have been using the DSPeaker Anti-mode 2.0 Dual Core. It matches my subs to each other better and faster than I can do. I then use ARC.
I stand by my statement that ARC would be improved if it were able to do dual sub equalization on top of everything else it does now. Hopefully they will include that feature on their future units.


Tom

"You can have my remote when you pry it from my cold dead fingers" tngiloy
Anthem D2v;Anthem A5;Golden Ear Aon3,SuperCenter XL,SuperSat3;SVS SB13 Plus x 2;Oppo BDP-103D;Ayre CX-7eMP;Panasonic plasma; Dish Hopper;PS Audio Power Plant 5- Subject to change without prior notification.
tngiloy is offline  
post #42935 of 42945 Old 06-23-2014, 04:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Thxtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
Audyssey also treats the subs as one. But first it eq's the subs to each other, then matches them together, treating them as one, to the other speakers (and the room).
The sub matching that XT32 --and the SVS AS-EQ1 and the DSPeaker units, and others-- just saves the time needed to phase match the subs yourself.


I spent hours matching my subs using QM, and was able to get it pretty good.
I used the SVS AS-EQ1 and it took minutes and did a better job. I sold the SVS unit when I bought the Integra since XT32 had the same sub eq included.
Since I went back to Anthem I have been using the DSPeaker Anti-mode 2.0 Dual Core. It matches my subs to each other better and faster than I can do. I then use ARC.
I stand by my statement that ARC would be improved if it were able to do dual sub equalization on top of everything else it does now. Hopefully they will include that feature on their future units.


Tom
This is just symantics in terminology but ARC does do multiple sub EQ it doesn't phase and level match multiple subs.

I think what you're saying--and it's a fair point--is the option to do multiple sub phase and level matching in addition to the EQ curve.

It's important to note that phase isn't part of even the single sub proceess with ARC.
Thxtheater is online now  
post #42936 of 42945 Old 06-23-2014, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Let's not forget that Audyssey down-samples all data to 48kHz which shocked the heck of out me. So all your Hirez sources at 96kHz, 176kHz and 192kHz will be processed at 48kHz by Audyssey. So What's the point paying extra coin for these pristine hirez sources only to be down-sampled to 48KHz??? The analogs will be output with a limited frequency range of 24 kHz(in theory).


Please see attachment of the Marantz AV8801 pre-pro which uses Audyssey MultiEQ XT32. The frequency response curve with Xt32 activated speaks for itself.

But ARC samples and processes analog signals up to 96KHz and digitals up to 192kHz. BuYah!!!


http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/audio...all-pages.html
Attached Images
File Type: gif Anthem-Room-Correction-FrequencyResponse-24-96-AudysseyXT32-On.gif (15.1 KB, 21 views)

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630

Last edited by dmusoke; 06-23-2014 at 11:19 AM.
dmusoke is offline  
post #42937 of 42945 Old 06-23-2014, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Let's not forget that Audyssey down-samples all data to 48kHz which shocked the heck of out me. So all your Hirez sources at 96kHz, 176kHz and 192kHz will be processed at 48kHz by Audyssey. So What's the point paying extra coin for these pristine hirez sources only to be down-sampled to 48KHz??? The analogs will be output with a limited frequency range of 24 kHz(in theory).


Please see attachment of the Marantz AV8801 pre-pro which uses Audyssey MultiEQ XT32. The frequency response curve with Xt32 activated speaks for itself.

But ARC samples and processes analog signals up to 96KHz and digitals up to 192kHz. BuYah!!!


http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/audio...all-pages.html
thestewman is offline  
post #42938 of 42945 Old 06-24-2014, 04:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thxtheater View Post
This is just symantics in terminology but ARC does do multiple sub EQ it doesn't phase and level match multiple subs.

I think what you're saying--and it's a fair point--is the option to do multiple sub phase and level matching in addition to the EQ curve.

It's important to note that phase isn't part of even the single sub proceess with ARC.

I use the process explained in the link at the bottom of dmusoke's post to phase match my subs to my speakers. Takes a little extra time but its well worth it. It's an important final step when doing ARC.

"You can have my remote when you pry it from my cold dead fingers" tngiloy
Anthem D2v;Anthem A5;Golden Ear Aon3,SuperCenter XL,SuperSat3;SVS SB13 Plus x 2;Oppo BDP-103D;Ayre CX-7eMP;Panasonic plasma; Dish Hopper;PS Audio Power Plant 5- Subject to change without prior notification.
tngiloy is offline  
post #42939 of 42945 Old 06-24-2014, 05:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Let's not forget that Audyssey down-samples all data to 48kHz which shocked the heck of out me. So all your Hirez sources at 96kHz, 176kHz and 192kHz will be processed at 48kHz by Audyssey. So What's the point paying extra coin for these pristine hirez sources only to be down-sampled to 48KHz??? The analogs will be output with a limited frequency range of 24 kHz(in theory).


Please see attachment of the Marantz AV8801 pre-pro which uses Audyssey MultiEQ XT32. The frequency response curve with Xt32 activated speaks for itself.

But ARC samples and processes analog signals up to 96KHz and digitals up to 192kHz. BuYah!!!





http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/audio...all-pages.html
Great point. I had forgotten about the down sampling that Audyssey does.
One more reason to go with ARC.

"You can have my remote when you pry it from my cold dead fingers" tngiloy
Anthem D2v;Anthem A5;Golden Ear Aon3,SuperCenter XL,SuperSat3;SVS SB13 Plus x 2;Oppo BDP-103D;Ayre CX-7eMP;Panasonic plasma; Dish Hopper;PS Audio Power Plant 5- Subject to change without prior notification.
tngiloy is offline  
post #42940 of 42945 Old 07-03-2014, 07:17 AM
Senior Member
 
MStanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the ARC-2 software be available for the D2V-3D? Is it better than the ARC-1 software we currently use?
MStanic is offline  
post #42941 of 42945 Old 07-03-2014, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 244
No and No. ARC-2 is more of a software upgrade for the ARC process because the new receivers work over USB. There is no benefit in terms of actually processing performance and from what I've been told by the engineers at Anthem the ARC solution in the D2V is still the most robust and capable of all Anthem products.

Contributing Editor/Writer
Sound And Vision Magazine

Click Here To See My Current Setup
Kris Deering is offline  
post #42942 of 42945 Old Yesterday, 11:08 AM
Member
 
marky301067's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Scotland. UK.
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Will the D2V be able to get updated to Atmos and DTS-UHD in the near future?

Dali Helicon 400MK2'S | Dali Helicon C200 MK2 | Dali Phantom Ikon's | Paradigm Signature Sub1 | OPPO 105D | Quake 10B | Arcam FMJ P777 Power Amp | Primare SP33 | JVC Dila 950 | AudioQuest Yukon XLR audio cables |Pioneer Kuro 500A | Tivo | Harmony 1100
marky301067 is offline  
post #42943 of 42945 Old Yesterday, 02:33 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 774
^ That seems highly unlikely. It would take a massive hardware change to add additional speaker outputs, and in the current hardware configuration (i.e., max 7.1 output) you'd be limited in say, Atmos, to a 5.1 configuration of regular speakers plus 2 height speakers. I.e., the minimum configuration for Atmos.

Doing the firmware work needed to support just the minimum configuration hardly seems worth it.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #42944 of 42945 Old Yesterday, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by marky301067 View Post
Will the D2V be able to get updated to Atmos and DTS-UHD in the near future?
How many Atmos or DTS-UHD videos or recordings are there ?

And Anthem has yet to get on the 4K video bandwagon as other manufacturers and streaming sources are rapidly doing.

Maybe Anthem will surprise us with a D3
At MRSP of $10-$12000 US I'll bet
thestewman is offline  
post #42945 of 42945 Old Today, 04:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post
And Anthem has yet to get on the 4K video bandwagon as other manufacturers and streaming sources are rapidly doing.
I don't blame them, Lumagen hasn't either (well not really). Take a look in the projector or AVR forums for the disaster that is 4K right now. Currently there seem to be two tactics being taken by AVR manufacturers. Onkyo is going the HDMI 2.0b route, only 8 bit, 4:2:0 color, 10.2Gbps support but with HDCP 2.2 so it should work with the Sony Puck for 4k content. Many other manufacturers (Pioneer, etc) are going the HDMI 2.0a route, full 18Gbps support but without HDCP 2.0, so while they support the full HDMI 2.0 bandwidth for high bit depths and frame rates, there's a very good chance they won't support any commercial 4K content due to lacking HDCP 2.2. Apparently the 18Gbps HDMI 2.0 chips with HDCP 2.2 are in vanishingly short supply.

So frankly it would be stupid for Anthem to release a 4K SSP today, especially if it's in the 8-10k MSRP range, since anything they would release with currently available hardware would essentially already be obsolete, especially given that there is essentially no 4k content available right now. Rumors are Lumagen is just waiting for hardware availability (presumably 18Gbps/HDCP 2.2 HDMI chips) to release their true 4K processors, if I were Anthem, I would be doing the same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post
Maybe Anthem will surprise us with a D3
At MRSP of $10-$12000 US I'll bet
I'd love to be surprised by an AVM60 without a video processor and the associated cost. Unless they decided to partner with Lumagen, now that would be something special. Anthem audio with Lumagen video, that would be a match made in Heaven just about.
AVfile and marky301067 like this.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off