Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide - Page 1434 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #42991 of 43003 Old 07-30-2014, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
I thought that would get some attention When I explain it fully nobody seems to care.

Say you power-on to your usual BD input with video output mode set to THROUGH (because you want to use 3D or an external VP). It works fine until you try to bring up the Anthem SETUP menu. The processor doesn't know what video output to use for the internal menu system since it was never initialized properly. It tries to handshake with the display and fails, resulting in either blank or corrupted display (until you select another video output configuration).
Anthem clearly stated that using Through would cause the user to NOT be able see the on screen menus or displays as they use S-video for the on screen display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
There is another side effect of using THROUGH that I get: No audio unless the display is on! So if you just want to listen to an SACD or DVDA the TV must be turned on temporarily, or setup another input with video output NOT THROUGH for the handshake to complete.
I listen to audio everyday and never have to turn on a video display.
Possibly one of your source settings is incorrect or needs changing.
What is the source of your audio ? HDMI ?
List all the audio source setup settings for us.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post

Anthem clearly did not cover all the bases in testing the 3D pass-through mod. Nick acknowledged that a fix might be possible in the mainboard software and to check with tech support, but that was a long time ago and they are not confirming any fix when I contact them.
Anthem clearly at times has avoided addressing some issues for some reason.
They have done it to me several times. They said they would have an answer and never responded after multiple telephone calls.
So I gave up asking.

Stew
thestewman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42992 of 43003 Old 07-30-2014, 12:33 PM
Member
 
marky301067's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Scotland. UK.
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post
Anthem clearly at times has avoided addressing some issues for some reason.
They have done it to me several times. They said they would have an answer and never responded after multiple telephone calls.
So I gave up asking.

Stew

That doesn't sound like very good customer service to me

Dali Helicon 400 - C200 MK2'S | Paradigm Signature Sub1 | OPPO 105D | Arcam FMJ P777 Power Amp | Primare SP33 | JVC Dila 950 | Cables: AudioQuest Yukon XLR|Pioneer Kuro 500A | Tivo | Harmony Ultimate
marky301067 is offline  
post #42993 of 43003 Old 07-30-2014, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
nucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've had the Anthem D2v 3D for a few months now and never had any problems with it. And it is the best pre amp that I have heard in my house so far.

Anthem D2v 3d Preamp & Arcam p777 power amp. oppo-103D .oppo 95: JVS DLA-X3 projector. Sub JL f113 fathem & 2 DIY SI HD 15 subs Dali Helicon 400 C200 phantom iw 200.Speakers cable talk excel 4.mark grant cables.
nucky is online now  
post #42994 of 43003 Old 07-30-2014, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
barasn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i bought anthem 50 v 3d second hand but the owner lost cd so i cant upgrade software and cant use arc what i need to do ? need rs 232 driver and arc software how can i get it
barasn is online now  
post #42995 of 43003 Old 07-30-2014, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
nucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by barasn View Post
i bought anthem 50 v 3d second hand but the owner lost cd so i cant upgrade software and cant use arc what i need to do ? need rs 232 driver and arc software how can i get it
Go here and download it to your laptop or pc
http://www.anthemav.com/support/latest-software.php

Anthem D2v 3d Preamp & Arcam p777 power amp. oppo-103D .oppo 95: JVS DLA-X3 projector. Sub JL f113 fathem & 2 DIY SI HD 15 subs Dali Helicon 400 C200 phantom iw 200.Speakers cable talk excel 4.mark grant cables.
nucky is online now  
post #42996 of 43003 Old 07-30-2014, 02:57 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by barasn View Post
i bought anthem 50 v 3d second hand but the owner lost cd so i cant upgrade software and cant use arc what i need to do ? need rs 232 driver and arc software how can i get it
You don't need any special driver for the serial (RS232) connection. If you use a USB to serial adapter, such as the commonly used Keyspan USA-19HS that Anthem ships with the unit, you can get its driver from the Tripplite.com web site (Tripplite owns Keyspan). Download and install the driver for your particular flavor of Windows. If you need the actual USB to serial adapter itself you can purchase it from Amazon or even from Anthem. You will also need a "straight through" serial cable -- pins 1-9 connect directly to pins 1-9 -- available from places like Radio Shack, or from Anthem.

As mentioned above, the ARC install kit can be downloaded from the Anthem web site. As can the latest firmware installer.

So the one thing that's really missing from all this is that you don't have the ARC license and the ARC mic calibration file that came on that original install CD.

For those, email Anthem tech support with the Serial Number of your AVM 50v/3D and with the Serial Number of your ARC microphone, and they can email those two files to you. The two files they send you will have names made up of numbers -- those two Serial Numbers.

When you download the ARC install kit, UnZip it (if your Windows computer hasn't done that automatically) so that you have a folder. Look in that folder until you find the Setup.Exe program which is the installer itself for the ARC Windows application program. Copy the two files you got from Anthem Tech Support into the same place where you found that Setup.Exe program, then double click on that program to run the Installer. It will install the ARC Windows application on your Windows PC, and also copy those two files to where they need to be when you run the ARC setup.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #42997 of 43003 Old 07-30-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by barasn View Post
i bought anthem 50 v 3d second hand but the owner lost cd so i cant upgrade software and cant use arc what i need to do ? need rs 232 driver and arc software how can i get it
Hopefully he had the serial numbered ARC microphone ?
thestewman is offline  
post #42998 of 43003 Old 07-30-2014, 11:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
tranle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Question for old timers: when did Anthem start including the Keyspan USB-serial adapter with their D2V ?
Did they do that when started including ARC with it ?

Thanks.
tranle is online now  
post #42999 of 43003 Old 07-31-2014, 08:08 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
No, it came quite a bit after bundled ARC first shipped. After they negotiated a distribution deal with Tripplite.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #43000 of 43003 Old Yesterday, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
barasn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank for help bob i got mic driver but now i have 0x03 code problem how can i solve it ?
barasn is online now  
post #43001 of 43003 Old Yesterday, 04:31 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
^ Reboot the Windows PC after any driver install or uninstall. Make sure the USB plugs are fully inserted. If using the Keyspan driver, check its USB plugs as well.

Check whether you have the latest (v3.10) firmware installed.

When you run an ARC Measurement pass, it will ask you to specify which speakers you want it to Measure. Be sure you don't tell it to Measure speakers you don't actually have connected or it will fail when it gets to that speaker.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #43002 of 43003 Old Yesterday, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
tranle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by barasn View Post
thank for help bob i got mic driver but now i have 0x03 code problem how can i solve it ?
Not Bob, but I had a similar problem a few month ago with a Lenovo laptop and it seems that the Anthem mic driver does not like to be in a USB3 mode.
Check if you have an option in your bios be in a USB2 mode (compatibility or forced).

Without it my notebook would see the mic in the device manager app but ARC could not see it.
tranle is online now  
post #43003 of 43003 Old Today, 12:46 AM
Senior Member
 
barasn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tranle View Post
Not Bob, but I had a similar problem a few month ago with a Lenovo laptop and it seems that the Anthem mic driver does not like to be in a USB3 mode.
Check if you have an option in your bios be in a USB2 mode (compatibility or forced).

Without it my notebook would see the mic in the device manager app but ARC could not see it.
its ok now ty guys
barasn is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off