Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide - Page 1435 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

RobDec's Avatar RobDec
11:40 PM Liked: 11
post #43021 of 43696
08-26-2014 | Posts: 225
Joined: Mar 2008
Hello
Been in the market for a new processor to replace my Lexicon mc8b. Ive been researching the AVM 50v 3d. I have some questions and I would appreciate some answers please.

1) It is my understanding that the avm50v3d does not have OSD for 3d content. Is this true and can you get OSD for just regular HDMI hookup?

2)Does it have anything similar to Logic 7?

3) Can you use phono with a phono Preamp?

4)Does anyone think there will be a upgrade to 4K?

5)Will the latest models being shipped have the latest firmware (ARCv 3.02 and v3.10)

6) Will there be a upgrade from 6 analog ins to 8 analog ins? If not possibly on a later version of the AVM50v 3d?

Thanks for any replies,

Rob
AuburnM5's Avatar AuburnM5
03:10 AM Liked: 11
post #43022 of 43696
08-27-2014 | Posts: 33
Joined: Nov 2012
Hey guys, I am in the need of a processor that can do basic HDMI switching and has balanced outputs. My source is an Oppo 103D. If I were to pick up the Statement D2 with ARC, I can set my 103 to decode the blu-rays ( in order to get DTS MA) and pass it through the Anthem via HDMI, correct? Only other source is a DirecTV genie.
stanger89's Avatar stanger89
05:50 AM Liked: 197
post #43023 of 43696
08-27-2014 | Posts: 17,689
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Hello
Been in the market for a new processor to replace my Lexicon mc8b. Ive been researching the AVM 50v 3d. I have some questions and I would appreciate some answers please.

1) It is my understanding that the avm50v3d does not have OSD for 3d content. Is this true and can you get OSD for just regular HDMI hookup?
Yes, you get an OSD unless you're using the "Through" function (video passthrough), which is required for 3D.

Quote:
2)Does it have anything similar to Logic 7?
I'm not exactly sure what Logic 7 does, but there's DPL IIx, Anthem's proprietary solution, and DTS Neo.

Quote:
4)Does anyone think there will be a upgrade to 4K?
My wild guess is that there will be a new model once the "true" 4K HDMI hardware (ie that capable of HDCP 2.2 and 18Gbps) becomes available. There maybe be an upgrade/trade-in program at that time. There was something like that for the 50V/D2V.

Quote:
5)Will the latest models being shipped have the latest firmware (ARCv 3.02 and v3.10)
I would assume so.

Quote:
6) Will there be a upgrade from 6 analog ins to 8 analog ins? If not possibly on a later version of the AVM50v 3d?
I'm sure there won't be an upgrade, that would be a major hardware (chassis) change, and I kind of doubt there will be more on a future version. Analog inputs are kind of dead with HDMI now.
thestewman's Avatar thestewman
11:23 AM Liked: 39
post #43024 of 43696
08-27-2014 | Posts: 1,688
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Hello
Been in the market for a new processor to replace my Lexicon mc8b. Ive been researching the AVM 50v 3d. I have some questions and I would appreciate some answers please.

1) It is my understanding that the avm50v3d does not have OSD for 3d content. Is this true and can you get OSD for just regular HDMI hookup?

OSD works with anything other than Pass Through which is used for Blu Ray 3D playback


2)Does it have anything similar to Logic 7?

Anthem uses PLIIx

3) Can you use phono with a phono Preamp?

The Anthem phono input requires a phono preamp

4)Does anyone think there will be a upgrade to 4K?

Pure speculation. Probably not. They had an opportunity when they devised the 3D upgrade and stated they had little or no interest.

5)Will the latest models being shipped have the latest firmware (ARCv 3.02 and v3.10)

Yes. but the software is easily uploaded so don't hesitate buying a older or used unit

6) Will there be a upgrade from 6 analog ins to 8 analog ins? If not possibly on a later version of the AVM50v 3d?

Again pure speculation. Probably not. There are not many 8 channel analog sources or 6 channel analog sources either

Thanks for any replies,

Rob
Personally, if your Lexicon works I would wait. The newer processors require less video processing and the newer HDMI, codecs, h265 and 4K will be a must.
Kris Deering's Avatar Kris Deering
12:53 PM Liked: 421
post #43025 of 43696
08-27-2014 | Posts: 7,284
Joined: Oct 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by AuburnM5 View Post
Hey guys, I am in the need of a processor that can do basic HDMI switching and has balanced outputs. My source is an Oppo 103D. If I were to pick up the Statement D2 with ARC, I can set my 103 to decode the blu-rays ( in order to get DTS MA) and pass it through the Anthem via HDMI, correct? Only other source is a DirecTV genie.
If I was in your position I wouldn't use the HDMI switching of the Anthem at all. Feed the Genie into one of the HDMI inputs on the Oppo and use it for switching. Send HDMI 2 to the Anthem for audio and HDMI 1 out to your display directly. This allows you to take advantage of the video processing in the Oppo for satellite sources and you don't have to worry about any HDMI synch issues with different resolutions with the Anthem. Best of all worlds.
AuburnM5's Avatar AuburnM5
01:00 PM Liked: 11
post #43026 of 43696
08-27-2014 | Posts: 33
Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
If I was in your position I wouldn't use the HDMI switching of the Anthem at all. Feed the Genie into one of the HDMI inputs on the Oppo and use it for switching. Send HDMI 2 to the Anthem for audio and HDMI 1 out to your display directly. This allows you to take advantage of the video processing in the Oppo for satellite sources and you don't have to worry about any HDMI synch issues with different resolutions with the Anthem. Best of all worlds.
Excellent idea!
stanger89's Avatar stanger89
02:51 PM Liked: 197
post #43027 of 43696
08-27-2014 | Posts: 17,689
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post
Personally, if your Lexicon works I would wait. The newer processors require less video processing and the newer HDMI, codecs, h265 and 4K will be a must.
I just want to comment because I see this a lot. H.265 (or H.264, or VC1, or MPEG-2 or whatever) have no impact on a video processor, they are all decoded to raw video in the player. You will not see or need H.265 support in a AVR, SSP or Video Processor. H.265 and the like have nothing to do with HDMI or video processing.

The only way you might see it, is if they start integrating streaming services (Netflix/etc) in which case the decoding would be done in the AVR/SSP/VP, but I find that unlikely except maybe in HTIBs.
thestewman's Avatar thestewman
07:13 PM Liked: 39
post #43028 of 43696
08-27-2014 | Posts: 1,688
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I just want to comment because I see this a lot. H.265 (or H.264, or VC1, or MPEG-2 or whatever) have no impact on a video processor, they are all decoded to raw video in the player. You will not see or need H.265 support in a AVR, SSP or Video Processor. H.265 and the like have nothing to do with HDMI or video processing.

The only way you might see it, is if they start integrating streaming services (Netflix/etc) in which case the decoding would be done in the AVR/SSP/VP, but I find that unlikely except maybe in HTIBs.
I don't think I meant to infer that the processor was necessary for h265 etc only its switching and the capability of passing the signal of which it currently cannot. I currently cannot use my Anthem for any HDMI 2.0. H265, 4K or other new video formats or codecs.
stanger89's Avatar stanger89
06:11 AM Liked: 197
post #43029 of 43696
08-28-2014 | Posts: 17,689
Joined: Nov 2002
But that's my point, H.265 will never make it to your SSP. H.264 never leaves the BD player or video streamer today. So you don't switch H.265, you don't pass H.265, and you won't ever see H.265 on a video processor spec sheet. I think people get confused because they see H.265 on TV spec sheets, but that's only for the TVs internal apps (streaming/Netflix/USB/etc). H.265 is a video compression codec, not a video format, and HDMI does not pass compressed video. Video is not like audio, there is no "bitstream" option that passes the compressed video over HDMI, so what codecs get used for 4K (or any) video (H.265, VP9, whatever) are irrelevant to the AVR/SSP/Video Processor.

But you're right about the rest though, Anthem's don't support HDMI 2.0 and can't pass 4K video. At least I assume no, but has anyone tried 4K24 via "through", that should work with HDMI 1.4.
RobDec's Avatar RobDec
11:12 PM Liked: 11
post #43030 of 43696
08-28-2014 | Posts: 225
Joined: Mar 2008
Thanks to all for the informative posts. I have thought it over and I think I will wait for a future processor with 4K. Ill just have to recover from the upgrade bug.LOL

Rob
stanger89's Avatar stanger89
05:48 AM Liked: 197
post #43031 of 43696
08-29-2014 | Posts: 17,689
Joined: Nov 2002
Yeah, at this point I'd at least wait til CEDIA in a couple weeks to see what's announced. If we're lucky maybe we'll hear from Lumagen and Anthem about HDMI 2.0 products.
wingnut4772's Avatar wingnut4772
03:48 PM Liked: 29
post #43032 of 43696
09-02-2014 | Posts: 1,470
Joined: Dec 2004
My African Grey parrot, Sterling, has taken to making the ARC frequency sweep sounds now as a call for me. Just thought that was kinda funny.
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
04:08 PM Liked: 1070
post #43033 of 43696
09-02-2014 | Posts: 28,245
Joined: Jul 2004
^ It's good to have a well-calibrated parrot. So long as it doesn't try to mate with your speakers.
--Bob
wingnut4772's Avatar wingnut4772
07:11 PM Liked: 29
post #43034 of 43696
09-02-2014 | Posts: 1,470
Joined: Dec 2004
Lol!
thestewman's Avatar thestewman
08:08 PM Liked: 39
post #43035 of 43696
09-02-2014 | Posts: 1,688
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post
My African Grey parrot, Sterling, has taken to making the ARC frequency sweep sounds now as a call for me. Just thought that was kinda funny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ It's good to have a well-calibrated parrot. So long as it doesn't try to mate with your speakers.
--Bob
Most important to the sound and equalization of your system is the natural dampening material
which may be deposited on your speakers.
Thxtheater's Avatar Thxtheater
10:59 AM Liked: 79
post #43036 of 43696
09-03-2014 | Posts: 860
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut4772 View Post
My African Grey parrot, Sterling, has taken to making the ARC frequency sweep sounds now as a call for me. Just thought that was kinda funny.
I'd love to see a video of that! Share if you can.
Nick @ Anthem's Avatar Nick @ Anthem
03:21 PM Liked: 70
post #43037 of 43696
09-03-2014 | Posts: 924
Joined: Aug 2005
^ And maybe Sterling can post his graphs?

As an aside, sweep sounds are known in the industry as...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chirp
thestewman's Avatar thestewman
07:04 PM Liked: 39
post #43038 of 43696
09-03-2014 | Posts: 1,688
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick @ Anthem View Post
^ And maybe Sterling can post his graphs?

As an aside, sweep sounds are known in the industry as...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chirp
Good to see you are alive and well, And that you still occasionally monitor the forum,
Any information on products that are being upgraded or advanced ?
Nick @ Anthem's Avatar Nick @ Anthem
09:12 AM Liked: 70
post #43039 of 43696
09-04-2014 | Posts: 924
Joined: Aug 2005
^ Plan is to keep producing AVM/D the way it is. The 4K upgrade question comes up every now and then but $4K camcorders aside, playing native material means using a TV with streaming apps (Netflix/Amazon/DirecTV by 2016) or hard drive/streamer that works only when connected straight to certain TVs from same manufacturer. This negates foreseeable need for switching in the AV processor.
barhoram's Avatar barhoram
07:57 AM Liked: 18
post #43040 of 43696
09-06-2014 | Posts: 2,440
Joined: Jan 2002
I'm doing some theater room reconstruction and playing with sub positions. Which of the two ARC results look better? The left chart is the preferred position as it has the sub behind the screen wall. Position on the right is near-field with the sub just to the right of the seating area. Sound wise--I couldn't tell that much of a difference, but its hard to readjust and listen for differences.

Also--not sure why the sub levels are so different between the two...measurements were taken a few days apart. Will ARC readjust...left one seems to low 65db?
Attached: compare.jpg (127.8 KB) 
thestewman's Avatar thestewman
11:16 PM Liked: 39
post #43041 of 43696
09-07-2014 | Posts: 1,688
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
I'm doing some theater room reconstruction and playing with sub positions. Which of the two ARC results look better? The left chart is the preferred position as it has the sub behind the screen wall. Position on the right is near-field with the sub just to the right of the seating area. Sound wise--I couldn't tell that much of a difference, but its hard to readjust and listen for differences.

Also--not sure why the sub levels are so different between the two...measurements were taken a few days apart. Will ARC readjust...left one seems to low 65db?
Left chart looks better but may be the result of the lower levels. Your sub may have performed better with the lower levels so maybe not such a good comparison.
drlopezmdfacp's Avatar drlopezmdfacp
01:56 PM Liked: 10
post #43042 of 43696
09-08-2014 | Posts: 13
Joined: May 2014
Hooked up and unable to play 5.1 sacd via hdmi//D2 says it is getting 2.0 signal while oppo says it is playing 5.0? Help!
drlopezmdfacp's Avatar drlopezmdfacp
02:40 PM Liked: 10
post #43043 of 43696
09-08-2014 | Posts: 13
Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhrvatin View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by bhrvatin

I am curious however to see what the output would be at 480i - would the two units sync and just lower the bitrate? One other odd test is that I am going to set the Oppo to DSD over HDMI and see what the result is. This would require HDMI 1.2 - but I am curious to see how the 980H and D2 work that out.


I am still unable to pass 3.0, 4.0 and 5.0 SACDs to the D2 via HDMI from the Oppo 980H in any configuration. 5.1 and 2.0 work as expected. I am running the v1.31 firmware on the Anthem and the "...-0903" on the Oppo. I'll call Anthem & Oppo tech support on Monday and see what they have to say.

Bart
Was this resolved by anyone? I am having same issue
Neuromancer's Avatar Neuromancer
03:11 PM Liked: 189
post #43044 of 43696
09-08-2014 | Posts: 10,997
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by drlopezmdfacp View Post
Was this resolved by anyone? I am having same issue
This is an Anthem issue. Anthem, in their infinite wisdom, designed the D2 series to not process a multi-channel signal unless there is a Subwoofer signal available in the HDMI signal. OPPO does not phantom speaker channels. So if the soundtrack were 3.0, you would get LCR only.

The lack of the subowofer channel on the 0.x SACDs is what is causing the Anthem to be stereo only.

You will need to use multi-channel analog in this case.
drlopezmdfacp's Avatar drlopezmdfacp
04:13 PM Liked: 10
post #43045 of 43696
09-08-2014 | Posts: 13
Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
This is an Anthem issue. Anthem, in their infinite wisdom, designed the D2 series to not process a multi-channel signal unless there is a Subwoofer signal available in the HDMI signal. OPPO does not phantom speaker channels. So if the soundtrack were 3.0, you would get LCR only.

The lack of the subowofer channel on the 0.x SACDs is what is causing the Anthem to be stereo only.

You will need to use multi-channel analog in this case.
Thanks! Contacted Anthem (PF took phone call). I hope they have a different answer. Otherwise, have to buy cables. Thank you again.
RobDec's Avatar RobDec
06:52 PM Liked: 11
post #43046 of 43696
09-08-2014 | Posts: 225
Joined: Mar 2008
Hello,
I have one simple question. From what I heard, (that no new processors will be coming out), Will the AVM50v 3d remain competitive?

Rob
Bob Pariseau's Avatar Bob Pariseau
07:19 PM Liked: 1070
post #43047 of 43696
09-08-2014 | Posts: 28,245
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by drlopezmdfacp View Post
Hooked up and unable to play 5.1 sacd via hdmi//D2 says it is getting 2.0 signal while oppo says it is playing 5.0? Help!
Which OPPO, and how is it cabled? What is your SACD Output setting in the OPPO?
--Bob
stanger89's Avatar stanger89
05:48 AM Liked: 197
post #43048 of 43696
09-09-2014 | Posts: 17,689
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Hello,
I have one simple question. From what I heard, (that no new processors will be coming out), Will the AVM50v 3d remain competitive?

Rob
The only thing I can think of that it's missing, that can't be handled by an HDMI switch or (superior) video processor (ie HDMI 2.0), is Dolby Atmos, but it will probably take a while for that to gain traction. Maybe Anthem will have a new model next year for 4K BD.
RobDec's Avatar RobDec
11:58 AM Liked: 11
post #43049 of 43696
09-09-2014 | Posts: 225
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
The only thing I can think of that it's missing, that can't be handled by an HDMI switch or (superior) video processor (ie HDMI 2.0), is Dolby Atmos, but it will probably take a while for that to gain traction. Maybe Anthem will have a new model next year for 4K BD.
Thanks Stranger

Rob
barhoram's Avatar barhoram
12:27 PM Liked: 18
post #43050 of 43696
09-09-2014 | Posts: 2,440
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post
Left chart looks better but may be the result of the lower levels. Your sub may have performed better with the lower levels so maybe not such a good comparison.
Thanks. Any reason why the levels are low? Do i need to raise the sub(s) volume prior to calibration? I think I set them both at 73db with the internal tone prior to running ARC with the assumption that they would combine to 75db.
Tags: Receivers Amplifiers

Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3