Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide - Page 1457 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 49Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #43681 of 43696 Old 01-27-2015, 12:46 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 1070
Stereo Mode still uses the Sub for steered bass.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #43682 of 43696 Old 01-27-2015, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Then my sub won't be engaged when the setup mode for music is stereo, or am I wrong?
Your sub will be active if the source is set to 'analog dsp' and ARC is enabled. In 'source set-up'-- For that music source set 'audio in' (g) to 'analog dsp'. (m) turn ARC on.
Tom

"You can have my remote when you pry it from my cold dead fingers" tngiloy
Anthem D2v;Anthem A5;Golden Ear Aon3,SuperCenter XL,SuperSat3;SVS SB13 Plus x 2;Oppo BDP-103D;Ayre CX-7eMP;Panasonic plasma; Dish Hopper;PS Audio Power Plant 5- Subject to change without prior notification.
tngiloy is offline  
post #43683 of 43696 Old 01-27-2015, 01:27 PM
Member
 
solly46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
You need to press MODE then use the arrow keys to scroll through the choices. You will have more choices if you have > 5 speakers, but there should always be some choices.
I tried pressing mode , then arrow keys, no change?
solly46 is online now  
post #43684 of 43696 Old 01-27-2015, 02:53 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 1070
^ The available Modes are determined by the content you are playing and the number of speakers you have configured.

Press the Select button on the remote several times and note the display that shows the speaker channels coming in on the content you are playing.

If your Dolby Digital input is 5.1, and you have 5.1 speakers configured, there's no work for the Surround Sound Modes to do, so none are offered. (You can still choose to add THX post processing or not with the THX button.)

If you have 7.1 speakers configured, that same 5.1 input will now offer several Mode choices -- i.e., different ways to expand that into 7.1 speakers output.

If you play stereo input, you'll have even more Mode choices available to expand that into 5.1 or 7.1 speakers output.

So what were you playing as input and what were you trying to achieve as output?
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #43685 of 43696 Old 01-28-2015, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Exactly, TV material is so center channel centric that my mains fall silent and at times, they power down because they receive no signal. This often happens when I watch hour long PBS news broadcasts with no commercials.


I really like the ambience effect and like you said, its the main reason I wanted to see if I can duplicate it if I route all program material from the center channel to the main speakers. I re-upload the 4.1 configuration last night before I went to sleep so I'll test it this week to see if it works well.


Tom:
For my music setup, I have ARC set up as a 2.1 for stereo sources, so I can't have both 5.1 and 4.1 configurations in ARC, as it doesn't have a third configuration. But thanks for the great suggestions...
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Then my sub won't be engaged when the setup mode for music is stereo, or am I wrong?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Stereo Mode still uses the Sub for steered bass.
--Bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
Your sub will be active if the source is set to 'analog dsp' and ARC is enabled. In 'source set-up'-- For that music source set 'audio in' (g) to 'analog dsp'. (m) turn ARC on.
Tom
Guys

I hate to be the contrarian but why would you care about low rez audio for hour long PBS News broadcasts ?
There is no need for sub output and probably no sub signal exists and the audio is probably 384mhz or less.
The PBS network news when I checked on my cable system was mainly a mono signal

I also question the source hookup if it is dropping the signal so you might tell us how you are feeding the PBS news network to the Anthem.
thestewman is offline  
post #43686 of 43696 Old 01-28-2015, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Stew:


The original intent was not to engage sub output when watching low-res PBS newscasts as you've stated. My goal was to try eliminating the center channel since its so predominant in TV material for both news and music shows leaving sometimes causing my L/R speakers to power down. I have a 5.1 DD cable feed into the Anthem.


Hence the suggestion I came up with to try a 4.1 setup (without center channel activated) and that's when I asked if I need to re-ARC or not. Bob P. told me to simply set it to 'n' and re-upload ARC. Others suggested other helpful tips as well hence the back and forth you observed.


As you've observed, having subs engaged for mono low-res material like newscasts is meaningless(even kind of silly I'd say). I'm giving the new 4.1 configuration a try the next few weeks (w/o center) and will make the final decision whether to keep it or revert to the original 5.1.

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #43687 of 43696 Old 01-28-2015, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Stew:


The original intent was not to engage sub output when watching low-res PBS newscasts as you've stated. My goal was to try eliminating the center channel since its so predominant in TV material for both news and music shows leaving sometimes causing my L/R speakers to power down. I have a 5.1 DD cable feed into the Anthem.


Hence the suggestion I came up with to try a 4.1 setup (without center channel activated) and that's when I asked if I need to re-ARC or not. Bob P. told me to simply set it to 'n' and re-upload ARC. Others suggested other helpful tips as well hence the back and forth you observed.


As you've observed, having subs engaged for mono low-res material like newscasts is meaningless(even kind of silly I'd say). I'm giving the new 4.1 configuration a try the next few weeks (w/o center) and will make the final decision whether to keep it or revert to the original 5.1.
Don't get me wrong I was not criticizing your objective just questioning what would be the result.
I am and think you should be concerned the signal drops out to keep your amps powered up for the left and right front speakers. Something is not right there
I assume the DD 5.1 cable signal is over HDMI ?
Why not try listening to the PBS News broadcasts using the normal 5.1 source feed using all the speakers as a mono or Anthem Logic or All Channel just for the news broadcasts.
It definitely will give you ambience for a low rez source without using up your ARC setup choices
thestewman is offline  
post #43688 of 43696 Old 01-28-2015, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Sorry for the miss-speak on my part. The power down is caused by my speakers and not the amps. They have this thing where if they don't get a large enough signal for about 10-15 minutes, they power down. All Martin-Logan electro-stats do that. Its part of the power-saving feature required for active components that are to be sold world-wide, especially the EU.


I would also implement your suggestion if it wasn't for the faulty encoding PBS does for its programming. The news broadcasts are encoded at DD5.1, yet when you check each speaker, only the center channel is active and others are silent. Its a farce that sours me greatly but they do that a lot. Even their music programs are encoded as DD5.1 but only the front mains (L/R) are really active. So I can't engaged other surround modes because according to Anthem, its receiving DD5.1 material(even though actual material isn't) so no way to engage other surround modes.

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #43689 of 43696 Old 01-28-2015, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
studlygoorite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have this problem with hockey games a lot lately, if you are able to go into your cable/satellite box and change the audio to PCM you will then have other audio options available on the Anthem.

Anthem Statement D2v3D, Paradigm Sub 2, Paradigm S8s with C5, Anthem Statement M1 Amps, 174" AT Scope Screen, Epson 6010 3D Projector
studlygoorite is offline  
post #43690 of 43696 Old 01-28-2015, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nick @ Anthem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
My goal was to try eliminating the center channel since its so predominant in TV material for both news and music shows leaving sometimes causing my L/R speakers to power down. I have a 5.1 DD cable feed into the Anthem.
Movie config - 5.1
Music config, or in this case TV config - 4.1
Mode for stereo input - None. This makes no use of surround channels, providing identical result to using 2.1 config.

If you measured separately for Music and it was only for 2.1 speakers, you'll need to re-measure. Do so *only* for Movie, then go to Targets, enable Music (all channels will be copied from Movie), and disable its center channel.

The most important noise floor is in your head. Always remember to protect your hearing.
Nick @ Anthem is offline  
post #43691 of 43696 Old 01-28-2015, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Sounds like a good plan Nick. Thanks !

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #43692 of 43696 Old 01-28-2015, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Stew:


The original intent was not to engage sub output when watching low-res PBS newscasts as you've stated. My goal was to try eliminating the center channel since its so predominant in TV material for both news and music shows leaving sometimes causing my L/R speakers to power down. I have a 5.1 DD cable feed into the Anthem.


Hence the suggestion I came up with to try a 4.1 setup (without center channel activated) and that's when I asked if I need to re-ARC or not. Bob P. told me to simply set it to 'n' and re-upload ARC. Others suggested other helpful tips as well hence the back and forth you observed.


As you've observed, having subs engaged for mono low-res material like newscasts is meaningless(even kind of silly I'd say). I'm giving the new 4.1 configuration a try the next few weeks (w/o center) and will make the final decision whether to keep it or revert to the original 5.1.
Would this be another possibility and eliminate modifying the 2 ARC options ?
Since we are talking mainly about a low rez voice input of a news program
Add an analog, optical or coaxial audio output from your cable box to the Anthem.
Set up one of the multiple available DVD or TV sources for the news broadcast
Select the appropriate audio input you added from the cable box to use for the source you will use now only for the news broadcasts. Then Select Mono, Stereo, All channel stereo, etc as you desire.
Much simpler and No need to change ARC.

Last edited by thestewman; 01-28-2015 at 07:45 PM.
thestewman is offline  
post #43693 of 43696 Old Today, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Nicoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have been using an Oppo 105 plugged into the Anthem through the 6-Channel RCA inputs. When doing the calibration of the Oppo I had to change the speaker trims to make sure that all channels had the same volume.
I have not engaged ARC with the 6-Channel source on the Anthem. That's because I think that since I made volume changes, aRC would be trying to make further changes to the volume of each speaker. Am I correct in my assumption?
Nicoff is offline  
post #43694 of 43696 Unread Today, 02:01 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 1070
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicoff View Post
I have been using an Oppo 105 plugged into the Anthem through the 6-Channel RCA inputs. When doing the calibration of the Oppo I had to change the speaker trims to make sure that all channels had the same volume.
I have not engaged ARC with the 6-Channel source on the Anthem. That's because I think that since I made volume changes, aRC would be trying to make further changes to the volume of each speaker. Am I correct in my assumption?
If you want to enable ARC with the 6-Channel Analog input, then set the OPPO 105 to do no processing on its multi-channel Analog outputs.

To do this: In the OPPO, set all speakers LARGE and the Subwoofer ON. Set all speakers and Sub equidistant -- any distance will do so long as they are all the same. You can just leave them at the default 12 feet. Set all speakers and Sub to 0dB Volume trim. Set the Down-Mix to 5.1.

With these settings, the OPPO will do no Crossover processing, no speaker time alignment and no volume trim. The Sub output of the OPPO will need +10dB boost to match the level of the other RCA jacks, but the Anthem provides that automatically, so there's nothing special you need to do to achieve that.

In the Anthem, set the 6-Channel Source to ANALOG-DSP, and enable Room EQ.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #43695 of 43696 Unread Today, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Nicoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If you want to enable ARC with the 6-Channel Analog input, then set the OPPO 105 to do no processing on its multi-channel Analog outputs.

To do this: In the OPPO, set all speakers LARGE and the Subwoofer ON. Set all speakers and Sub equidistant -- any distance will do so long as they are all the same. You can just leave them at the default 12 feet. Set all speakers and Sub to 0dB Volume trim. Set the Down-Mix to 5.1.

With these settings, the OPPO will do no Crossover processing, no speaker time alignment and no volume trim. The Sub output of the OPPO will need +10dB boost to match the level of the other RCA jacks, but the Anthem provides that automatically, so there's nothing special you need to do to achieve that.

In the Anthem, set the 6-Channel Source to ANALOG-DSP, and enable Room EQ.
--Bob
Thank you Bob!!
tngiloy likes this.
Nicoff is offline  
post #43696 of 43696 Unread Today, 09:53 PM
Member
 
leeshanok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Wondering if anyone who has both an AVM20 or 30 and an AVM50, if there is a noticeable improvement in sound quality in 2-ch analog direct. I have an AVM20 which I love, but thinking of getting the AVM50. I'm 90% music/10% movies.
leeshanok is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off