Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide - Page 1477 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 131Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #44281 of 44652 Old 01-23-2016, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
RobDec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks guys
And LOL Bob and Stefan!

Rob
RobDec is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44282 of 44652 Old 01-23-2016, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Anthem AVM50/3D or Yamaha CX-A5000. Which one would you choose. Setup is Paradigm Studio 100(v3)/CC690(v5)/ADP590(v5), powered by and Anthem MCA5.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #44283 of 44652 Old 01-23-2016, 10:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Try a dart board.




In all seriousness go watch the type of videos you watch. 1080p 4k etc. Then carefully listen to each. Check and make sure the features and applications you need are there. Then decide if the cost is in your budget
thestewman is offline  
post #44284 of 44652 Old 01-24-2016, 02:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ed Weinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I need help activating the ARC program.

I've reinstalled the program from the disc several times and the message that I get is
"failed to find microphone calibration files for unit no...."

What am I doing wrong?

Any help would be appreciated.
Ed Weinman is offline  
post #44285 of 44652 Old 01-24-2016, 05:20 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,505
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^ Sent you a PM with Sage Advice™.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #44286 of 44652 Old 01-24-2016, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ed Weinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Bob,

Thank you
Ed
Ed Weinman is offline  
post #44287 of 44652 Old 01-24-2016, 10:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
bekindrewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Hi
Been researching new amps for my D2v 3D. Considering Anthem A5 and A2. How do these amps do with the D2v 3D? I also have B&W 804n fronts and 805n surrounds and rears, and an HTM center. Also considering Parasound A51 and A21. But am leaning on the A5 and A2 combo because I have the Anthem processor.
Ill be replacing Krell Kav 250a amps.

Thank you
Rob
Researching amps for the D2v 3D. Consider researching which amps sound good with the brand of speakers you're using too. My research said that B&W speakers sound good with McIntosh. I'm very happy with that combination.

That may be a question for the D2v / D2v3D guys here. Did you, do you, put more weight on the processor/amp combination or amp/speaker combination.

Life is a garden, dig it.
PRO-70X5FD, McIntosh MC205, Marantz AV7702MKII, Oppo 103, JL Audio f113, Richard Gray 400S, Harmony one

Last edited by bekindrewind; 01-24-2016 at 11:16 PM.
bekindrewind is offline  
post #44288 of 44652 Old 01-24-2016, 11:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
bekindrewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ What firmware do you have installed in the D2v? Press Select once on the remote and it will show in the on-screen display.

You should have v3.09 installed in a D2v, or v3.10 installed in a D2v / 3D.
--Bob
Bob, wanted to post a thank you for chimming in on how to fix the problem I had.
I updated the D2v firmware and it fixed the problem.
You so smart.
We're lucky to have you help us.
Cheers.

Life is a garden, dig it.
PRO-70X5FD, McIntosh MC205, Marantz AV7702MKII, Oppo 103, JL Audio f113, Richard Gray 400S, Harmony one
bekindrewind is offline  
post #44289 of 44652 Old 01-25-2016, 07:13 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,505
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^ Fortunately, my Plan comes with Extra Nights and Weekends Minutes of Fame.

I'm glad the fix was as simple for you as updating the firmware!
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #44290 of 44652 Old 01-26-2016, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post
Try a dart board.




In all seriousness go watch the type of videos you watch. 1080p 4k etc. Then carefully listen to each. Check and make sure the features and applications you need are there. Then decide if the cost is in your budget
Either one would fit the bill. My setup is 5.1/1080p so 4k is irrelevant right now. I can get a 2.5yr old AVM50V 3D for $2300CDn. What you think?
Kevin. W is offline  
post #44291 of 44652 Old 01-26-2016, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
studlygoorite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
Either one would fit the bill. My setup is 5.1/1080p so 4k is irrelevant right now. I can get a 2.5yr old AVM50V 3D for $2300CDn. What you think?
Sent you two PMs but I can't see that they went through.

Anthem AVM 60, Paradigm Sub 2, Paradigm S8s with C5, Anthem Statement M1 Amps, 174" Curved AT Scope Screen, Epson Pro Cinema LS10000 Laser 3D Projector, Samsung 4K Blu-ray Player
studlygoorite is online now  
post #44292 of 44652 Old 01-27-2016, 05:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 37
If Anthem was to offer an upgrade to 4K video for the unit like they did for 3D would you buy it?
Kevin. W is offline  
post #44293 of 44652 Old 01-27-2016, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
studlygoorite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
If Anthem was to offer an upgrade to 4K video for the unit like they did for 3D would you buy it?
I am waiting and would.

Anthem AVM 60, Paradigm Sub 2, Paradigm S8s with C5, Anthem Statement M1 Amps, 174" Curved AT Scope Screen, Epson Pro Cinema LS10000 Laser 3D Projector, Samsung 4K Blu-ray Player
studlygoorite is online now  
post #44294 of 44652 Old 01-27-2016, 06:43 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,505
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^ The question to ask is if you would be satisfied with just 4K "pass through", or would it only make sense if the unit also offered video processing for 4K content?

Keep in mind that in addition to the higher resolution (much more processing power needed), 4K processing is complicated by Wide Color Gamut and High Dynamic Range which comes in several flavors. Video processing would also require the unit to handle the conversion between 4K input and less than 4K output when connected to non-4K displays. (With pass-through, it is the source device that handles that.) Processing 4K video would absolutely require replacing the video board in the unit, not just the HDMI hardware. The video board is the single most expensive piece in the unit.

Then tack on "3D" audio and you've pretty much got a whole new device -- hardware and firmware. The bottom line being that an "upgrade" seems unlikely. At best Anthem would likely offer some sort of subsidized "trade in" plan.

If you are going to go for 4K "pass through" then it would likely have to function like the "through" mode in the D2v/3D today. I.e., *NO* access to video processing or conversion features on either input or output. Which pretty much means what you are paying for is audio quality alone. And as an "upgrade" that would almost certainly mean no "3D" audio support (Atmos, etc.) because there's no real estate left on the back panel for the extra speaker outputs.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #44295 of 44652 Old 01-27-2016, 07:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 20,865
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1092
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Keep in mind that in addition to the higher resolution (much more processing power needed), 4K processing is complicated by Wide Color Gamut and High Dynamic Range which comes in several flavors. Video processing would also require the unit to handle the conversion between 4K input and less than 4K output when connected to non-4K displays. (With pass-through, it is the source device that handles that.) Processing 4K video would absolutely require replacing the video board in the unit, not just the HDMI hardware. The video board is the single most expensive piece in the unit.
Yeah, just go look at the cost of a Lumagen Radiance Pro for an idea of what good 4K video processing costs.

Interestingly, I was playing my new Roku 4 and Integral, and when I had the second output send just audio to my AVM50V, it actually displayed 2160p on the display
stanger89 is online now  
post #44296 of 44652 Old 01-27-2016, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
studlygoorite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ The question to ask is if you would be satisfied with just 4K "pass through", or would it only make sense if the unit also offered video processing for 4K content?

Keep in mind that in addition to the higher resolution (much more processing power needed), 4K processing is complicated by Wide Color Gamut and High Dynamic Range which comes in several flavors. Video processing would also require the unit to handle the conversion between 4K input and less than 4K output when connected to non-4K displays. (With pass-through, it is the source device that handles that.) Processing 4K video would absolutely require replacing the video board in the unit, not just the HDMI hardware. The video board is the single most expensive piece in the unit.

Then tack on "3D" audio and you've pretty much got a whole new device -- hardware and firmware. The bottom line being that an "upgrade" seems unlikely. At best Anthem would likely offer some sort of subsidized "trade in" plan.

If you are going to go for 4K "pass through" then it would likely have to function like the "through" mode in the D2v/3D today. I.e., *NO* access to video processing or conversion features on either input or output. Which pretty much means what you are paying for is audio quality alone. And as an "upgrade" that would almost certainly mean no "3D" audio support (Atmos, etc.) because there's no real estate left on the back panel for the extra speaker outputs.
--Bob
I noticed the new MRX-1120 has everything needed for 4K with pre-outs and power, I wonder if this may be the D2v replacement...........

Anthem AVM 60, Paradigm Sub 2, Paradigm S8s with C5, Anthem Statement M1 Amps, 174" Curved AT Scope Screen, Epson Pro Cinema LS10000 Laser 3D Projector, Samsung 4K Blu-ray Player
studlygoorite is online now  
post #44297 of 44652 Old 01-27-2016, 10:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 20,865
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1092
There's an AVM60 that's the AVM50V replacement. HDMI 2.0, Atmos, DTS-X, but no video processor, just passthrough (though it does have an OSD).
stanger89 is online now  
post #44298 of 44652 Old 01-27-2016, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
studlygoorite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
There's an AVM60 that's the AVM50V replacement. HDMI 2.0, Atmos, DTS-X, but no video processor, just passthrough (though it does have an OSD).
Wow, I did not know that either, thanks. I need to get out more.

Anthem AVM 60, Paradigm Sub 2, Paradigm S8s with C5, Anthem Statement M1 Amps, 174" Curved AT Scope Screen, Epson Pro Cinema LS10000 Laser 3D Projector, Samsung 4K Blu-ray Player
studlygoorite is online now  
post #44299 of 44652 Old 01-30-2016, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by studlygoorite View Post
Wow, I did not know that either, thanks. I need to get out more.
AVM 50v 3D: $8999CDN
AVM 60: $3499CDN

Makes you wonder what was comprised. Personally I just took ownership of an AVM50v 3D. What a beautiful piece of hardware. Just got to figure out the ARC calibration to finalize my setup.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #44300 of 44652 Old 01-30-2016, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
AVM 50v 3D: $8999CDN
AVM 60: $3499CDN

Makes you wonder what was comprised. Personally I just took ownership of an AVM50v 3D. What a beautiful piece of hardware. Just got to figure out the ARC calibration to finalize my setup.
Mostly the video processor.
Shrike645 is online now  
post #44301 of 44652 Old 01-30-2016, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,386
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide

That and no longer made in Canada as an analog preamp first.

It's an MRX without amps, better ADC and balanced outputs added.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #44302 of 44652 Old 01-30-2016, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I was wondering if anyone can help me on this issue. Have my computer(its a beast) hooked up to the Anthem via HDMI, which then runs to the tv.

1. When I turn on the computer I'm not able to get a picture on the screen until it gets to the Win 10 login screen, so I am unable to access the BIOS.

2. Playing COD, my audio is cutting in and out. Didn't happen with my Yamaha CX-A5000

Video Card is an AMD FuryX. Audio is via AMD High Def Audio Device
Kevin. W is offline  
post #44303 of 44652 Old 01-30-2016, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin. W View Post
I was wondering if anyone can help me on this issue. Have my computer(its a beast) hooked up to the Anthem via HDMI, which then runs to the tv.

1. When I turn on the computer I'm not able to get a picture on the screen until it gets to the Win 10 login screen, so I am unable to access the BIOS.

2. Playing COD, my audio is cutting in and out. Didn't happen with my Yamaha CX-A5000

Video Card is an AMD FuryX. Audio is via AMD High Def Audio Device
1. This is probably because your bios is set to auto or intergrated graphics as primary GPU, so it doesn't display anything until Fury is detected by os.

Not sure about item 2. If you don't have an issue with the sound when watching a movie then it might be to do with Windows audio settings not being setup correctly for non bitstreamed audio. (e.g. sending out 16bit audio or too high a sampling rate).
Apgood is offline  
post #44304 of 44652 Old 01-31-2016, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
dweltman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
That and no longer made in Canada as an analog preamp first.

It's an MRX without amps, better ADC and balanced outputs added.


Kind of makes you wonder how the AVM60 will stack up against a D2V on the audio side? Is the D2V a product anyone would want to purchase anymore? If a D3 (if we ever see one) doesn't include video processing, what will its price point be?
dweltman is offline  
post #44305 of 44652 Old 02-01-2016, 07:51 AM
Member
 
gerard1meehan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
In the end the video processing is more important to me than the “3d” audio. But if it’s truly going to be their Flagship processor than it really has to include the Video, and the new 3D audio. There is a significant amount of “legacy” inputs on the back of this unit. But if you are going to rearrange the real-estate on the back of the unit that means redoing established boards, so almost a new unit.


I'd be up for either providing they provide original owners an upgrade "assist"
gerard1meehan is offline  
post #44306 of 44652 Old 02-01-2016, 07:51 AM
Member
 
gerard1meehan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
In the end the video processing is more important to me than the “3d” audio. But if it’s truly going to be their Flagship processor than it really has to include the Video, and the new 3D audio. There is a significant amount of “legacy” inputs on the back of this unit. But if you are going to rearrange the real-estate on the back of the unit that means redoing established boards, so almost a new unit.


I'd be up for either providing they provide original owners an upgrade "assist"
gerard1meehan is offline  
post #44307 of 44652 Old 02-01-2016, 08:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 20,865
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1092
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerard1meehan View Post
In the end the video processing is more important to me than the “3d” audio. But if it’s truly going to be their Flagship processor than it really has to include the Video, and the new 3D audio.
The problem IMO, is that they don't include flagship video processing. That's my biggest gripe with my AVM50V. I was forced to pay an enormous premium for video processing, and it wasn't even flagship-class. Sure they use good components, but video is just not Anthem's forte and it shows. I ended up getting a Lumagen Radiance XE anyway. Despite them using the same Genum chip inside, they're just not remotely on the same level. Not only is the video quality better through the Lumagen, but the features and flexibility just obliterate Anthem's offering.

And on top of all that, the Lumagen was likely cheaper than the video processor surcharge of the 50V.

I'd much rather have a video processor-less Anthem with a Lumagen Radiance Pro than any in-house Anthem video processor.
AVfile likes this.
stanger89 is online now  
post #44308 of 44652 Old 02-01-2016, 11:54 AM
Member
 
gerard1meehan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
The problem IMO, is that they don't include flagship video processing. That's my biggest gripe with my AVM50V. I was forced to pay an enormous premium for video processing, and it wasn't even flagship-class. Sure they use good components, but video is just not Anthem's forte and it shows. I ended up getting a Lumagen Radiance XE anyway. Despite them using the same Genum chip inside, they're just not remotely on the same level. Not only is the video quality better through the Lumagen, but the features and flexibility just obliterate Anthem's offering.

And on top of all that, the Lumagen was likely cheaper than the video processor surcharge of the 50V.

I'd much rather have a video processor-less Anthem with a Lumagen Radiance Pro than any in-house Anthem video processor.
An interesting perspective. The processing in the Anthem was, and is better than anything I had experienced in house. But I'm still waiting to upgrade to projection so the Anthem's 'week spots" are not so prevalent to my eyes. (although it would be nice to try the Lumagen!!) I've been putting more resources into my Two Channel sources and the D2V handles those very well IMO.

The tough part is everyone's "silver bullet" is different from the others. It will be interesting what direction they choose to go.
gerard1meehan is offline  
post #44309 of 44652 Old 02-01-2016, 11:54 AM
Member
 
gerard1meehan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
The problem IMO, is that they don't include flagship video processing. That's my biggest gripe with my AVM50V. I was forced to pay an enormous premium for video processing, and it wasn't even flagship-class. Sure they use good components, but video is just not Anthem's forte and it shows. I ended up getting a Lumagen Radiance XE anyway. Despite them using the same Genum chip inside, they're just not remotely on the same level. Not only is the video quality better through the Lumagen, but the features and flexibility just obliterate Anthem's offering.

And on top of all that, the Lumagen was likely cheaper than the video processor surcharge of the 50V.

I'd much rather have a video processor-less Anthem with a Lumagen Radiance Pro than any in-house Anthem video processor.
An interesting perspective. The processing in the Anthem was, and is better than anything I had experienced in house. But I'm still waiting to upgrade to projection so the Anthem's 'week spots" are not so prevalent to my eyes. (although it would be nice to try the Lumagen!!) I've been putting more resources into my Two Channel sources and the D2V handles those very well IMO.

The tough part is everyone's "silver bullet" is different from the others. It will be interesting what direction they choose to go.
gerard1meehan is offline  
post #44310 of 44652 Old 02-01-2016, 12:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 20,865
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1092
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerard1meehan View Post
An interesting perspective. The processing in the Anthem was, and is better than anything I had experienced in house.
Don't get me wrong, it's not bad by any means. That said, I had an AVM 20V2, I upgraded to an AVM50V. The 50V was over $3000 more. Now granted there were new features (ARC, audio decoding), but that's still more expensive than the Radiance XE I later added. Even if we go with just the difference between the AVM50V and AVM 40, that's a price difference of about $2000, which is still more than the cost of a Radiance Mini.

When I added the Lumagen it was a noticable (if subtle) improvement in just the scaling, but then you add all the features of the Lumagen, like 125 point 3D LUT calibration, completely configurable aspect ratio control (no lack of horizontal squeeze, for example) and it's just no contest. To give you an idea, the 50V's video processor manual covers 10 pages, the Lumagen's manual is 48, almost five times the size.

Anthem's video processor settings/configurability is rudimentary at best. If you've just got a 16:9 TV, you probably wouldn't run into these things but when you've got a more advance projection setup (with anamorphic lens and scope screen) you run into walls pretty quickly with what Anthem provides.

I guess what I'm getting at, is if I'm going to pay a $2000+ premium for integrated video processing, it needs to be on par with what I can get externally for a similar cost. I was glad to see the AVM60 doesn't have video processing included for that very reason.
AVfile likes this.
stanger89 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off