Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide - Page 1486 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 121Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #44551 of 44561 Old 07-08-2016, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Checked the ASUS website and see what you mean.

So even the usb 2.0 motherboard headers don't work? That's a bit strange.

Sounds like I'm lucky that the ARC mic detects properly on the Surface Pro docking station.

By the way I've been told it is only the ARC mics that have a serial number that starts with 2 that have this problem, so if you can get it to work on the old laptop an option is to contact Anthem about buying a new ARC microphone that works with usb 3, but no idea how much they cost.

Sent from my LG-D802T using Tapatalk
Apgood is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44552 of 44561 Old 07-08-2016, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 199
It has to be the mic itself. Wouldn't work at all on the Windows 8 laptop. So I even pulled out an old old old Windows Vista desktop tower PC and no go on that either.

Going to email Anthem and see how much a replacement will cost. And check eBay.
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #44553 of 44561 Old 07-08-2016, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Man that bites

Sent from my LG-D802T using Tapatalk
Apgood is online now  
post #44554 of 44561 Old 07-08-2016, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
It has to be the mic itself. Wouldn't work at all on the Windows 8 laptop. So I even pulled out an old old old Windows Vista desktop tower PC and no go on that either.

Going to email Anthem and see how much a replacement will cost. And check eBay.
Found this one on ebay and mic serial number starts with a 3 based on what I've read previously it should work with a USB3.0 port, but Anthem support should be able to confirm this.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-in-Box-A...4AAOSwhOVXdDau
Apgood is online now  
post #44555 of 44561 Old 07-09-2016, 05:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
Found this one on ebay and mic serial number starts with a 3 based on what I've read previously it should work with a USB3.0 port, but Anthem support should be able to confirm this.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-in-Box-A...4AAOSwhOVXdDau
I found another one with a '3' serial # that's cheaper, also new in box.

Before I pull the trigger...an ARC 1M kit will work just fine too, right? If I go to the support section of Anthem, a microphone serial # works for both ARC-1 and ARC-1M downloads and the mic calibration file for both downloads is identical. As far as I can tell, if I get an ARC-1M kit and use the mic cal file from it with the ARC-1 software there shouldn't be any issues.

I ask because I have a local Anthem/Paradigm dealer who may have a 1M kit I can pick up today (waiting until they open to call) which would be easiest and allow a quick return if it doesn't work.

Thanks!
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #44556 of 44561 Old 07-09-2016, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
I found another one with a '3' serial # that's cheaper, also new in box.

Before I pull the trigger...an ARC 1M kit will work just fine too, right? If I go to the support section of Anthem, a microphone serial # works for both ARC-1 and ARC-1M downloads and the mic calibration file for both downloads is identical. As far as I can tell, if I get an ARC-1M kit and use the mic cal file from it with the ARC-1 software there shouldn't be any issues.

I ask because I have a local Anthem/Paradigm dealer who may have a 1M kit I can pick up today (waiting until they open to call) which would be easiest and allow a quick return if it doesn't work.

Thanks!
Don't know I would call Anthem to check before buying an ARC 1M kit.

Sent from my LG-D802T using Tapatalk
Apgood is online now  
post #44557 of 44561 Old 07-09-2016, 06:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
It has to be the mic itself. Wouldn't work at all on the Windows 8 laptop. So I even pulled out an old old old Windows Vista desktop tower PC and no go on that either.

Going to email Anthem and see how much a replacement will cost. And check eBay.
Could be the USB cable has gotten damaged. Try another USB cable.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #44558 of 44561 Old 07-09-2016, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Could be the USB cable has gotten damaged. Try another USB cable.
--Bob
I did

I have a small collection of USB cables and none made a difference but they all worked fine with the Keyspan adapter/MRX 700 interface.

I got a good enough deal on this MRX700 so I don't mind spending a little more on a new ARC kit. Will give it a try.
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #44559 of 44561 Old 07-11-2016, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Just got a response from Anthem while at the same time trying an ARC-1M kit my local dealer lent me: any microphone with Serial # 312000 or higher "should do the trick" for Windows 10/USB 3.0 support. I also confirmed that getting an ARC-1M kit and using the calibration file with the ARC-1 software also works just fine. A replacement mic can be ordered from Anthem for $69 plus shipping.

Looks like I am set to go.


Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #44560 of 44561 Old 07-11-2016, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
That's great news!

Sent from my LG-D802T using Tapatalk
Apgood is online now  
post #44561 of 44561 Old Today, 09:04 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
From Our Learn Something New Every Day department:

If you leave Zone 3 powered on the D2v / 3D, the Main path will power up much faster.

I find this surprising, because I wouldn't think all the parts of Main path (digital audio and video) would be booted just because Zone 3 was live.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off