Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide - Page 1489 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 132Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #44641 of 44653 Old 11-02-2016, 10:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,386
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDudeAbides View Post
The Bluray player output was HDMI from output 1, resolution on auto. Cable output was just HDMI 1080p.

Thanks!
Video Output Config in the Anthem Source Setup?

Sent from my Lenovo YT3-850F using Tapatalk

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44642 of 44653 Old 11-15-2016, 10:44 AM
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,708
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 33
For a 5.1 Blu-Ray audio (understand D2 can't do 7.1) would there be any sonic difference between a D2 (via PCM) and D2V (via bistream)?
barhoram is online now  
post #44643 of 44653 Old 11-15-2016, 02:27 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
For a 5.1 Blu-Ray audio (understand D2 can't do 7.1) would there be any sonic difference between a D2 (via PCM) and D2V (via bistream)?
It's been quite some time since I had a D2, but when I made the transition from the D2 to the D2v, I was startled to discover the D2v sounded much better. I was not expecting that. In the tests that I did, I found no important difference between the quality of Bitstream and LPCM played through the D2v for the same audio track (i.e., if the player was decoding the Bitstream and thus sending LPCM, or not).
--Bob
AVfile likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #44644 of 44653 Old 11-18-2016, 09:51 AM
Member
 
ragdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have not been here for some time. Is there a 4k update to the d2v?

Thanks in advance.
ragdog is offline  
post #44645 of 44653 Old 11-18-2016, 10:00 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
^ Nope. The AVM 60 can do "pass through" of 4K.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #44646 of 44653 Old 11-18-2016, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragdog View Post
Have not been here for some time. Is there a 4k update to the d2v?

Thanks in advance.
Not from Anthem. Or anyone else.
You would think a 4k bypass would be easily developed and added
thestewman is offline  
post #44647 of 44653 Old 11-19-2016, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
RobDec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 13
4K pass thru

Hi
I too am wondering if there will be an 4K pass thru upgrade on the D2v 3D. I heard no more upgrades, but am wondering if that is official. Can anyone confirm this?
Im not really interested in Atmos or DTS X, but 4K is appealing to me.

Rob
obie_fl likes this.
RobDec is offline  
post #44648 of 44653 Old 11-20-2016, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,386
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide

Well the almost identical AVM-50v 3D is discontinued so I would say it's official that there would be no upgrades for either model.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #44649 of 44653 Old 11-21-2016, 12:33 AM
Senior Member
 
RobDec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was hoping that because Anthem didn't discontinue the D2v 3D that they might have plans for it in the future. I don't think its to much to ask for considering its a 9.5K processor.

Rob
RobDec is offline  
post #44650 of 44653 Old 11-21-2016, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Posts: 2,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
From Our Learn Something New Every Day department:

If you leave Zone 3 powered up on the D2v / 3D, the Main path will power up much faster.

I find this surprising, because I wouldn't think all the parts of Main path (digital audio and video) would be booted just because Zone 3 was live.
--Bob
Bob:

I know this post from July is way back but, how do you accomplish what you discovered for zone 3. I have output triggers from my D2v that turn on all other components in my system(when it's powered up) and the turn on time is rather long.

Also, is the latest D2v software on their site beta 3.09j or the final 3.09h with supposedly all the fixes?

Thanks,
David
obie_fl likes this.

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #44651 of 44653 Old 11-22-2016, 09:24 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
^ The Zone 3 trick is not complicated. Of course it assumes you are not really USING Zone 3 audio. Power up Zone 3 using either the remote or the Front Panel button, and leave it powered up.

Turn Main or Zone 2 on/off as needed, leaving Zone 3 powered.

If you are using triggers, go into the Triggers table for each Trigger in Setup and confirm that the line for Power does not have the column for Zone 3 enabled, so the fact that Zone 3 is left powered on won't keep your Triggers live.

------------------------------

Last I heard, Anthem was still saying that the Official firmware for the D2v is v3.09 and for the D2v/3D is 3.10, and they are not recommending anyone use any of the development releases between 3.09 and 3.10.

Some of the fixes in those intermediate releases probably apply to the D2v, but since they were developed and tested for the D2v/3D apparently they can also cause problems in the original D2v. Since I've been using a D2v/3D for some time now, I've lost track of what those problems might be.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #44652 of 44653 Old 11-23-2016, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Posts: 2,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Thank you Bob... Happy Thanksgiving to all!
AVfile likes this.

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #44653 of 44653 Old Today, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ The Zone 3 trick is not complicated. Of course it assumes you are not really USING Zone 3 audio. Power up Zone 3 using either the remote or the Front Panel button, and leave it powered up.

Turn Main or Zone 2 on/off as needed, leaving Zone 3 powered.


--Bob
Would leaving Zone3 powered on cause any long term issue with a unit? I'd like to speed up the main zone power up process, but wouldn't want to cause any damage. Thanks.
barhoram2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off