Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide - Page 766 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22951 of 42980 Old 08-01-2009, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

Nick goes on holidays and the whole thread goes with him
John

Yes THREE DAYS of Quiet.

Why did you WAKE US UP Jay Ray
drhankz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22952 of 42980 Old 08-01-2009, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Alcasid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milt99 View Post

I know this is totally OT, but I tried to watch Watchmen Friday and only made it about 40 minutes before I gave up.

I didn't care for it either. I got so bored, I got my laptop out and started surfing the web.
Ron Alcasid is offline  
post #22953 of 42980 Old 08-01-2009, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
jamhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Somewhat off topic...
Do you guys think an Anthem MCA 20 would sufficiently drive a pair of Dynaudio Contours s3.4 (86db/4ohm) in a fairly large room? Or is the Anthem not quite up to the level of my speakers??
jamhead is offline  
post #22954 of 42980 Old 08-01-2009, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
abc999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamhead View Post

Somewhat off topic...
Do you guys think an Anthem MCA 20 would sufficiently drive a pair of Dynaudio Contours s3.4 (86db/4ohm) in a fairly large room? Or is the Anthem not quite up to the level of my speakers??

It should, mca20 is rated at 370w/4 ohms. the continous power handling of the 3.4 is just 270w. The real question is if the S3.4's are the right speaker for your LARGE room.
abc999 is offline  
post #22955 of 42980 Old 08-01-2009, 05:10 PM
Member
 
pjpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

Nick goes on holidays and the whole thread goes with him
John

Hmm. Haven't heard from Bob either. Could they be one and the... nahhh
pjpoon is offline  
post #22956 of 42980 Old 08-01-2009, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpoon View Post

Hmm. Haven't heard from Bob either. Could they be one and the... nahhh

I wonder if Bob wears glasses during the day and hides his cape
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #22957 of 42980 Old 08-01-2009, 08:06 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpoon View Post

Hmm. Haven't heard from Bob either. Could they be one and the... nahhh

Why that's just silly. Besides, everybody KNOWS I'm just a mild mannered reporter for a great, metropolitan, AVS thread.
--Bob (But sheesh! The things I could tell you about Batman) P.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22958 of 42980 Old 08-01-2009, 08:49 PM
Member
 
MDRbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cragger View Post

I am wondering if the same upgrade will apply for the avm30 to be upgraded to the avm50v.It probably have to be traded in do it being more "cost effective".

Ran

Here's the offer on the older AVM30 units:

There will be no hardware conversion of any unit to a 'V' series processor. We will begin a trade in / up change program though. You can receive a new AVM 50V for a traded in AVM 30. Cost is $4599
MDRbone is offline  
post #22959 of 42980 Old 08-02-2009, 05:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
jamhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by abc999 View Post

It should, mca20 is rated at 370w/4 ohms. the continous power handling of the 3.4 is just 270w. The real question is if the S3.4's are the right speaker for your LARGE room.


Thank you for the reply. Yes, definitely, the Contours are the right speaker..........they sound sooo sweet.
jamhead is offline  
post #22960 of 42980 Old 08-03-2009, 10:27 PM
Member
 
snweiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDRbone View Post

Here's the offer on the older AVM30 units:

There will be no hardware conversion of any unit to a 'V' series processor. We will begin a trade in / up change program though. You can receive a new AVM 50V for a traded in AVM 30. Cost is $4599

A new AVM50v can be bought for less than this. It makes more sense to buy a new AVM 50v and try to sell the used AVM 30.

Steve
snweiler is offline  
post #22961 of 42980 Old 08-04-2009, 11:55 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Looks like all the Paradigm and Anthem web addresses are down this afternoon. Wonder if any changes are in the works?

ETA: Never mind. They're back. Doesn't look like anything has changed.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22962 of 42980 Old 08-04-2009, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Donloz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: GTA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Looks like all the Paradigm and Anthem web addresses are down this afternoon. Wonder if any changes are in the works?

ETA: Never mind. They're back. Doesn't look like anything has changed.
--Bob

Bob, in the test area, 1.47f is up for D2 and the others. I wonder if we need that special power supply Anthem didn't say anything about restrictions. No i'm not going to be the first one to try it either. I started with 1.06

Every day above ground is a good day.
Donloz is offline  
post #22963 of 42980 Old 08-04-2009, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Is 2.07f a new firmware version? I'm having trouble remebering the diff letters. The tech page has this version in the folder for the D2v as well.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #22964 of 42980 Old 08-04-2009, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Donloz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: GTA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayray View Post

Is 2.07f a new firmware version? I'm having trouble remebering the diff letters. The tech page has this version in the folder for the D2v as well.
John

I believe 2.07E was your last update, and the f. came out today. But Bob for sure would know, he maybe taking a nap

Every day above ground is a good day.
Donloz is offline  
post #22965 of 42980 Old 08-04-2009, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jayray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donloz View Post

I believe 2.07E was your last update, and the f. came out today. But Bob for sure would know, he maybe taking a nap

thanks, I saw the release notes and they are diff.
John

Jayray
Read the FAQs
jayray is offline  
post #22966 of 42980 Old 08-04-2009, 03:16 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 796
New "Test" Firmware Versions for Both Old & New Processors now on Password Protected Download Page!

As mentioned above, new "test" firmware versions have appeared this afternoon on Anthem's password protected download page.

For the D2v and AVM 50v, the new "test" version is V2.07f. It is dated July 22. (The previous "test" version, V2.07e, was dated July 20.) My guess would be it has been sitting waiting for Nick to get back into the office to post it.

It looks like the only change is in the HDMI code.

BEWARE! THE *WARNING* STILL EXISTS ABOUT INSTALLING THIS VERSION! A FAILURE DURING THE INSTALL MAY REQUIRE RETURNING THE ANTHEM TO THE FACTORY FOR REPROGRAMMING!

The change notes since V2.06 read as follows:

Quote:


CHANGE LIST

WARNING: Do not attempt to load beta software unless the computer and connection is known to successfully update an AVM 50v or D2v. A programming failure may result in the necessity for factory reprogramming.


v2.07f beta:

1. Faster HDMI lock when switching sources.


v2.07e beta:

More changes to address video switching, audio dropouts, and audio glitches.


v2.07c beta:

1. More changes to video code base.



v2.07b beta:

1. Video processor code base updates.

2. Audio DSP code base update.

3. Fix for Sony as second monitor.



v2.07:

1. Fix for popping that began in v2.06 with Toshiba XA2 as source.

2. New VXP video processor code.

3. Fix for a DSP problem that affected the AVM 50v with 44.1 kHz input.

============================================

Meanwhile, the "test" version for the original D2 and AVM 50 is V1.47f. It is dated July 28. (The prior "test" version, V1.47c, was dated July 7.)

The change notes since V1.33 read as follows:

Quote:


CHANGE LIST


v1.47f beta:


1. Fix for bug that prevented ARC from uploading.


v1.47c beta:


1. New HDMI code base.

2. Fix for AVM 50 DACs not muting while HDMI input has video without audio.

Note that there is no mention of the restriction to newer versions of the D2 and AVM 50 hardware (spotting EITHER a Red video board, OR a power supply WITHOUT the large Toroidal transformer through the vent holes of your unit means you have the newer hardware.)

However, I note that the older V1.21 firmware is no longer included in the download, and folks have speculated that this older firmware was used to help folks recover if they mistakenly installed this D2 / AVM 50 firmware on the older version of the hardware for those units.

I'll see if I can get a clarification from Nick.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22967 of 42980 Old 08-04-2009, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Donloz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: GTA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'll see if I can get a clarification from Nick.
--Bob

Bob, thanx that would be great, and i thought you were napping, you waz busy typing

Every day above ground is a good day.
Donloz is offline  
post #22968 of 42980 Old 08-04-2009, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Alcasid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can someone PM the link and password to flash eraser?
Ron Alcasid is offline  
post #22969 of 42980 Old 08-04-2009, 07:59 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 796
D2v "test" firmware V2.07f installed without problems for me.

It appears to have several significant fixes compared to the last "test" version. I've had no cases of the "BRAAAAPP!" noise when audio formats change. I've also had no cases of the unit powering up with no volume (requiring a change to a different input and back to cure).

The failure where bitstream input of the 7.1 DTS-HD MA track from "Hairspray" Blu-ray often got seen only as 5.1 has also been fixed. This problem is one I've been tracking since the very first D2v firmware.

HDMI handshakes appear a little bit faster, and with fewer retries. But of course the basic delays built into the handshake still keep it at about at least 2 seconds.

I've also spotted no new problems.

At this point it looks to me like V2.07f is at least as clean for audio/video as "official" V2.07.

However, there are still problems as yet unfixed:

1) My problem where un-dithered video from the Oppo BDP-83 (whether 36 bit, 30 bit, or 24 bit) doesn't look as good as dithered video (either 30 bit or 24 bit) remains. I see it as subtle amounts of false-contouring. This is especially an issue for the PS3 since you can only get 36 bit (un-dithered) from it when connected to the D2v. This may be another case of a problem specific to the math the D2v needs to do for my display (see (7) below).

2) I still get the "Buzz - SNAP!" noise from my Pioneer DV-59avi SD-DVD player.

3) There is still a problem whenever 5.1 HDMI LPCM (as from the PS3 or the Oppo) only has audio active on 1 channel at a time -- as when playing calibration test tones. Channels other than LF/RF are either missing or corrupted.

4) There is still a problem where 44.1 KHz 2.0 HDMI LPCM input into PLIIx-Movie or PLIIx-Music mode may only produce output on LF/RF/Sub instead of all 5.1 speakers. Workaround: Switch audio mode to anything else and back.

5) There is still a problem where HDMI input from my Comcast HD-DVR can cause black levels to shift a small amount when you change channels and have the box sending 1080i to the D2v for every channel (i.e., no new HDMI handshake, but still a new input detection as the video stream gets interrupted). This is apparently a problem in the loading of settings from the Video Source Adjust menu as it can be cured by toggling Video Source Adjust > Crop Input > Edges -- which of course means it can't be a Comcast bug.

6) Bitstream input of the unusual, 7.1 DTS-HD HR (not MA) track from the "Dragon Encounter" bonus feature on "Sleeping Beauty" Blu-Ray still gets incorrectly seen as 5.1. It may be the D2v is telling the Oppo it will only accept 5.1 for this.

7) There are several video level issues that appear to be related to the particular processing the D2v has to do to convert video to the 1360x768p Studio RGB for my display. YCbCr 4:2:2 input, for example, has black levels too high for any input resolution other than 480i. And the near black video screen put up by Acoustic Reality, "Vivaldi: The Four Seasons", audio-only Blu-Ray generates some large scale, geometric noise patterns -- but only when using 1080p 36-bit video. Folks with 1080p displays may very well not see these problems.

All in all, this "test" version seems to be a significant improvement over the prior test versions released since "official" V2.07. It looks to me like the Anthem engineers are back on track with the new HDMI code.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22970 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

6) Bitstream input of the unusual, 7.1 DTS-HD HR (not MA) track from the "Dragon Encounter" bonus feature on "Sleeping Beauty" Blu-Ray still gets incorrectly seen as 5.1. It may be the D2v is telling the Oppo it will only accept 5.1 for this.

Sounds like an Oppo problem with this format?

My PCH-A110 bitstreams this properly, and it shows up as 7.1 DTS-HD HR on the D2v, with 7.1 channels input.

My issue is that there is some slight crackling in the audio during the first couple of minutes.

TiVo is on it's way out - stream everything!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #22971 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 07:56 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

Sounds like an Oppo problem with this format?

My PCH-A110 bitstreams this properly, and it shows up as 7.1 DTS-HD HR on the D2v, with 7.1 channels input.

My issue is that there is some slight crackling in the audio during the first couple of minutes.

That's surprising, but no, the Oppo sends this bitstream out as 7.1 DTS-HD HR to other AVRs. What sampling frequency is the D2v showing when you bitstream this track?

And just to confirm, we're talking about the "Dragon Encounter" bonus feature, not the main movie.

Also, are you set up with 7.1 speakers? I'm using 5.1, and that may be the bug in the D2v for this.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22972 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

That's surprising, but no, the Oppo sends this bitstream out as 7.1 DTS-HD HR to other AVRs. What sampling frequency is the D2v showing when you bitstream this track?

And just to confirm, we're talking about the "Dragon Encounter" bonus feature, not the main movie.

Also, are you set up with 7.1 speakers? I'm using 5.1, and that may be the bug in the D2v for this.
--Bob

I'll check tonight when I'm home.

Yes, I have a 7.1 speaker setup.

TiVo is on it's way out - stream everything!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #22973 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 09:40 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

I'll check tonight when I'm home.

Yes, I have a 7.1 speaker setup.

Thanks. If you have a chance, try temporarily turning off the rears in your speaker configuration and see if it still shows the bitstreamed input as 7.1 for Dragon Encounter.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22974 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 11:39 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 796
OK, that's it! I temporarily told the D2v I had a 7.1 speaker setup (even though nothing is connected to the Rear outputs) and it immediately recognized 7.1 DTS-HD HR 48KHz bitstream input from the Oppo for that "Dragon Encounter" bonus feature on "Sleeping Beauty" Blu-Ray.

When I switched the D2v back to having only the actual 5.1 speakers, the input now showed as only 5.1 again.

An email is on its way to Nick.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22975 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
usxplong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Hello Bob.
I recently purchased a subsonic sub. But since my D2v is damaged (waiting for Anthem to send me a new one) I cannot run ARC or turn off Room Eq. My previous sub was not subsonic and had -3db at 30 hz. The question is I see very little difference between the new sub and the sub I had before in terms of sound quality. Is it because the ARC equalization is sending the signal like -3db at 30 hz or something wrong with the new sub? I appreciate it.
usxplong is offline  
post #22976 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

OK, that's it! I temporarily told the D2v I had a 7.1 speaker setup (even though nothing is connected to the Rear outputs) and it immediately recognized 7.1 DTS-HD HR 48KHz bitstream input from the Oppo for that "Dragon Encounter" bonus feature on "Sleeping Beauty" Blu-Ray.

When I switched the D2v back to having only the actual 5.1 speakers, the input now showed as only 5.1 again.

An email is on its way to Nick.
--Bob

Don't you think that is how it SHOULD WORK?

HDMI handshake says what a system can and can not do?
drhankz is offline  
post #22977 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 01:29 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

Don't you think that is how it SHOULD WORK?

HDMI handshake says what a system can and can not do?

Nope. The D2v takes all other 7.1 input just fine -- and down mixes that to 5.1 speakers if that's what you have. This is a bug.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22978 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 01:32 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by usxplong View Post

Hello Bob.
I recently purchased a subsonic sub. But since my D2v is damaged (waiting for Anthem to send me a new one) I cannot run ARC or turn off Room Eq. My previous sub was not subsonic and had -3db at 30 hz. The question is I see very little difference between the new sub and the sub I had before in terms of sound quality. Is it because the ARC equalization is sending the signal like -3db at 30 hz or something wrong with the new sub? I appreciate it.

Your old, outdated ARC setup is likely rolling off the low end of the sub.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22979 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 01:53 PM
Member
 
Kruginator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried to install the D2 v1.47f beta software. Same problem as before: install failed.

First time I went back to 1.33, that installed fine, then tried to reinstall 1.47f, it failed again and then 1.33 would not install at all.

I had to go back to 1.21d then upgrade to 1.33 (same procedure as with 1.47c).

Edited version of ordeal: v1.47f beta is not for owners of older versions of the D2.

----------------------------------------------------

Eeesh, I am embarrassed for myself......here is n update to my post above:

Given that I had spent quite a bit of time trying to get the 1.47f software to install, I thought I would persist: when all else fails, get the latest drivers!!!

I use a Vista laptop with USB-to-serial adapter. Once I downloaded and installed the latest drivers for the USB-to-serial adapter, 1.47f installed just fine.
Kruginator is offline  
post #22980 of 42980 Old 08-05-2009, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
usxplong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Your old, outdated ARC setup is likely rolling off the low end of the sub.
--Bob
Thanks Bob.
Would you review my settings to make sure it is my old d2v not the new sub.
the new subs -3db is below 20hz.
I really appreciate it.

 

1.doc 134.5k . file

 

2.doc 133k . file
usxplong is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off