Help... Yamaha RX-V1500 AVR Shuts down after on for 3 seconds?! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 23 Old 06-19-2006, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, this is my first time posting. I always checked here in the past for solutions to problems, but this time I am in need of direct feedback.

Background: I've got a Yamaha RX-V1500 Receiver that sits as a center piece in my home theater. I had a DVD player (component plugs) and a DirecTV box (RCA plugs) feeding into it, and it was hooked up to ceiling built in speakers(5.1) and a Panasonic projection HDTV (480p, 720i, 1080i), all put together by the nice people at Ultimate Electronics. And everything worked fine and dandy.

Problem: A couple of days ago, I bought myself an Xbox 360 and hooked it up to the receiver, setup the Xbox to 1080i display and played until I passed out. my god, it was gorgeous. This morning, when I went to go download some stuff onto my Xbox, I turned on the receiver, and it turned off in 3 seconds. "Strange," i thought to myself. I turned it on once again, and it turned off in 2 seconds. I pulled out the manual and looked in the troubleshooting section, and it told me to unplug the receiver for 30 seconds, and then plug it back in and turn it on. So, I did, and it still turns off about 3 seconds after I turn it on. I tried changing inputs, turning down the volume, and shutting off the other zones that the receiver controls. Still the same. Picture come through once I turn it on, but there seems to be no sound before it turns off again. Any guesses as to what is up?

As of right now, it has been unplugged for about 10 minutes, long enough for me to write this. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 06-19-2006, 03:00 AM