Denon AVR-5700 --> AVR-4806Ci - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 07-15-2006, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomaszK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking about ugrading my old Denon received. The 4806 looks like today's equivalent, but I wonder given it's a 4xxx series rather than a 5xxx series, I wonder if it really is the right upgrade (it is roughly the same cost). Thoughts?
TomaszK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 07-16-2006, 04:58 AM
dem
Senior Member
 
dem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Apex, NC, USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pondering the same upgrade. What I'm struggling with is that for the features I care about, the 4806CI doesn't offer me a whole lot more than the 5700.

Roughly the same cost? I paid $2,500 for the 5700 in 1999, and the 4806CI is $4,000 from an authorized dealer.

Dave
dem is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 07-16-2006, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomaszK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I paid more than that, but I also bought it earlier ('97-'98?).

For me the upgrade does a few things: HDMI+DVI switching, video up/down-conversion, 7 channel sound. The rest is mostly noise .

My concern is that the sound quality may be decreased, since the 4xxx series is a step down from the flagship 5xxx series. That said, I'm not crazy about spending $7k on a 5805mk2, even though it seems like a sweet amp. I would like the Faroudja scaler for all sources, but I don't need multiple zones/rooms, or ten channel sound.

Any other thoughts?

Tom
TomaszK is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 07-16-2006, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I'm sort of in the same boat except I have a 5600 (with MSI 6ch analog input). I'm going to wait and see what the next 4806CI replacement will be. I also want to know about how HDMI 1.3 and internal verses external HD audio decoding is going to play out. Would also like to see HDMI to HDMI up conversion plus more HDMI inputs. Denon could scarp many of the wasted space analog connectors. I may then decide to pick up a 4806CI cheaper or go with the new model. Hope there is info by CES time.

Also $2500 to less than $4000 in 8 years is not to far out of line.
William is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 07-17-2006, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomaszK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought it will up/down convert HDMI to HDMI as well as other signal sources - is that not the case?
TomaszK is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 07-17-2006, 03:39 PM
dem
Senior Member
 
dem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Apex, NC, USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomaszK View Post

I thought it will up/down convert HDMI to HDMI as well as other signal sources - is that not the case?

The manual says:
Quote:
The video signals input from the HDMI or DVI-D input terminals are output to the HDMI monitor with their original resolution, so the image will not be displayed if the resolutions of the input signal and the monitor being used are not matched. In this case, change the setting of the resolution on the source device (player) to one which the monitor can handle.

Also, the downconversion capabilities are somewhat limited. The image below is also from the manual.
LL

Dave
dem is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 07-17-2006, 03:53 PM
dem
Senior Member
 
dem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Apex, NC, USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by William View Post

Also $2500 to less than $4000 in 8 years is not to far out of line.

If my trusty 5700 should stop working I'd definitely order a 4806CI. But with the 5700 still going strong, there are only a few features of the 4806CI I'd realistically make use of:
  • Audyssey EQ
  • Front channel bi-amplification
  • Analog video upconversion to HDMI
$4,000 is a lot just to add those features.

Dave
dem is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 07-17-2006, 03:59 PM
dem
Senior Member
 
dem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Apex, NC, USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomaszK View Post

My concern is that the sound quality may be decreased, since the 4xxx series is a step down from the flagship 5xxx series.

When the 5800 first came out, I thought one of the most significant new features was the use of 2 differential DACs on each channel. Since the 4806CI also has 2 DACs per channel, I think it's probably not a step down from the 5700.

Dave
dem is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 07-17-2006, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by dem View Post

If my trusty 5700 should stop working I'd definitely order a 4806CI. But with the 5700 still going strong, there are only a few features of the 4806CI I'd realistically make use of:
  • Audyssey EQ
  • Front channel bi-amplification
  • Analog video upconversion to HDMI
$4,000 is a lot just to add those features.

Does the 4806CI offer biamping of the mains? If so that is a positive because I hate waisting $s on unused amps.

Also my 5600 is still going strong as the day I bought it. If it will just hold out for up to one more year max.
William is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 07-17-2006, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomaszK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dem View Post

The manual says:
Also, the downconversion capabilities are somewhat limited. The image below is also from the manual.

Well, bugger. I was really hoping to be able to do HDMI-->component until I upgrade to a new display.

Now rethinking my whole strategy...
TomaszK is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 07-20-2006, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I had a great PE49TXI after My Dennon 5600. Loved both but wanted to upgrade to the HDMI Switching. The 4806 has DCDI encoder which is fradudja. I tried a couple of switchers with the PE and some things worked and some did not. The 4806 ci switches all HDMI components beautifully, great in upscalling and Sounds as good actually better than the prior two. in all modes. This is a very powerful and versitile receiver. There is a 4807 comming late fall. Do not know what it will have. You can get the 4806Ci at some power authorized dealers for a good price. Mine was $1300.00 under list. Good Luck, I am glad I made the switch selling my 49TXI.

william06 is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 07-20-2006, 10:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomaszK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At least according to Denon's site, the scaler in the 4806 is not the Faroudja - you need to get the 5805 to get that.
TomaszK is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 07-21-2006, 12:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jase H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: España
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomaszK View Post

At least according to Denon's site, the scaler in the 4806 is not the Faroudja - you need to get the 5805 to get that.

The UK/Euro version of the 4806CI (A11XVA) has the same scaler as the 5805MKII (A1XVA). Both use Faroudja FLI-2310 chips. Only difference is the 5805MKII (A1XVA) also has scaling via the Component Outputs (although only to 1080i and not 1080p like it can via HDMI). The original 5805 (A1XV) only has scaling via the Component Outputs (also with the Faroudja FLI-2310).
Jase H is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 07-21-2006, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The DCDI logo is on the promo and specs of the 4806ci and that is a faroudja chip. also in answer to bi-amping the 4806ci yes you can you can assign the rear b speakers to the front in addition to the fronts.

william06 is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 07-21-2006, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ehlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I am in a silimar boat although I have a 4800 - looking at the situation with most DVD/HD-DVD players having onboard decoders and no particular need for HDMI switching I'm not in any particular hurry to upgrade - and if I do upgrade it will be to seperates. Buying another dreadnaught class reciever just doesn't seem to be in the cards when I can get a far better amp that comes with a 10-20 year warranty as a separate.

"Nature Abhors a Vacuum Tube" -  J. R. Pierce
ehlarson is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 07-23-2006, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
rman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just bought the 4806ci brand new for around $2300 plus shipping. I know this price sounds too good to be true but the seller seems reputable with some excellent feedback on ebay. I know for a fact there is no warranty but I have been assured this is a brand new sealed unit so I am taking my chances I guess.
rman66 is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 07-24-2006, 05:22 AM
Member
 
eugenee326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rman66 View Post

I just bought the 4806ci brand new for around $2300 plus shipping. I know this price sounds too good to be true but the seller seems reputable with some excellent feedback on ebay. I know for a fact there is no warranty but I have been assured this is a brand new sealed unit so I am taking my chances I guess.

I've seen that and was tempted myself - but was worried about actually receiving it, then whether you would be able to download updates later. I'm curious to hear how it turns out for you.
eugenee326 is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 07-24-2006, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
rman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On product updates, here is a link
http://usa.denon.com/ProductUpdatesUpgrades.asp

Notice all it asks is for you to pick a product and provide the product serial number.. I dont think this is much of an issue.

Also, since I am buying a brand new item still sealed in manuf. box, I am assuming the serial number is intact..

The main risk I am taking is in case there is a warranty issue I think. Also, access to owners forums might not be available but I will know in a few days.
rman66 is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 07-24-2006, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomaszK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rman, please keep us posted.
TomaszK is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 10-10-2006, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomaszK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey rman66,

Can you PM me with info about where you ordered the 4806Ci from?

Thanks,
Tom
TomaszK is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 10-11-2006, 05:33 AM
Senior Member
 
rman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I found out the serial number on my Denon was intact. I went to Denon website and was able to register my reciever successfully. There was an "owner link" that was provided where I found nothing. zilch nada..
Is it just a marketing gimmick by denon to give perception of a non existant group or am I missing something
rman66 is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 10-11-2006, 06:36 AM
Member
 
HiFiListener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rman,

I had the same problem. Enter my SN# and get no "hits". So I sent Denon an email requesting what updates/upgrades are available, and what is the cost? I will paste below the email I sent. The email address is 'contactus@denonnj.com'. Hope this helps.


From:
Sent: Friday, October 06, 2006 9:09 AM
To:
Subject: RE: What Upgrades/Updates are available for my AVR4806?



Your receiver is available for the ci upgrade its $500 dollars let me know if your interested we can fax the form to you.




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From:
Sent: Friday, October 06, 2006 9:07 AM
To: contactus@denonnj.com
Subject: What Upgrades/Updates are available for my AVR4806?



Hello,

I have registered on your owner's site. When I enter the query to locate all updates/upgrades available nothing is returned. I know for a fact I should be eligible for the upgrade which provides the functionality of the 4806CI. What updates/upgrades is my 4806 eligible for? How do I go about getting the upgrade/update? What are the costs if any? Is there any waiting list? My serial number is 6011xxxxxx. My receiver is a Black AVR-4806.

Thanks
HiFiListener is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 10-11-2006, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomaszK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So did rman66 not get the 4806-CI - just the 4806?
TomaszK is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 04-07-2007, 11:27 PM
Senior Member
 
rman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomaszK View Post

So did rman66 not get the 4806-CI - just the 4806?


Mine is the 4806 CI . I am not planning on using Internet Radio [sic]

sorry about the delay.. just saw your question.

also, I think I lucked out in the transaction on Ebay.. having bought the 4806 CI for about $2300 and having tried it for about 6months now, it works great!

Only issue I am having is when trying to configure Internet radio, the web page keeps flickering so fast, I cant adjust any settings. Other settings via web page work fine.. just the internet radio seems to be buggy. I dont know if it is to do with the receiver or something else.. no idea. Because I dont use Internet radio, I am happy.
rman66 is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 05-07-2007, 04:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steve Richards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Norwell, MA, USA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rman66 View Post


Only issue I am having is when trying to configure Internet radio, the web page keeps flickering so fast, I cant adjust any settings.

Try hitting the browser stop button on the flickering page. You should be able to adjust the settings after that...

Regards,
Steve
Steve Richards is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 05-07-2008, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
rman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Richards View Post

Try hitting the browser stop button on the flickering page. You should be able to adjust the settings after that...

the refresh wont stop. I think it is a bug. A very annoying bug.
rman66 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off