The Official Yamaha RX-V1700/RX-V2700 Thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 5364 Old 01-12-2007, 11:02 PM
Member
 
Darthfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys i have finally hooked up and got everything going.

Question is i have hook up my ethernet cable to my router but how do i get it set up with Windows Media Player 11 as it is suppose to have WMC. Can someone kindly share or guide me through this process.

To bad it cant read from itunes directly.

Darthfunk Mini Review

OPPO DV-983H
Darthfunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 5364 Old 01-12-2007, 11:55 PM
Member
 
Darthfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well got my answer on pg 46.

Darthfunk Mini Review

OPPO DV-983H
Darthfunk is offline  
post #1443 of 5364 Old 01-13-2007, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Houseofhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to second a comment made earlier in this thread. You can CALL J&R Music & they will sell the Rx-V2700 for $1199. Then ask them to waive the shipping ($34 to GA). They will say no & then they will offer to lower the price less the shipping & still charge the shipping. But, the final price will be $1199 no tax & from a authorized dealer!!! If one rep says no on lowering the price by shipping call back & ask another. They will do it. One told me no & the second yes. But, even if u have to pay the shipping it is a deal. The grey market prices are great. But, if they have a firmware update for the network functions like they did on the lower end network reciever then it will much easier to get.
Houseofhor is offline  
post #1444 of 5364 Old 01-13-2007, 08:18 AM
Member
 
hv9200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Houseofhor View Post

I want to second a comment made earlier in this thread. You can CALL J&R Music & they will sell the Rx-V2700 for $1199. Then ask them to waive the shipping ($34 to GA). They will say no & then they will offer to lower the price less the shipping & still charge the shipping. But, the final price will be $1199 no tax & from a authorized dealer!!! If one rep says no on lowering the price by shipping call back & ask another. They will do it. One told me no & the second yes. But, even if u have to pay the shipping it is a deal. The grey market prices are great. But, if they have a firmware update for the network functions like they did on the lower end network reciever then it will much easier to get.

I paid 1140.00 for my RX-V2700 2 weeks ago from Tweeter, asked them to give me thier best price, which was 1200.00 plus I am a Tweeter Avid member so I get 5% off all purchases. walked out with the RX-V2700 in less than 20 minutes for 1140.00
hv9200 is offline  
post #1445 of 5364 Old 01-13-2007, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gruson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DALLAS, TX
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know what JR or Tweeter will sell the 1700 for?
Gruson is offline  
post #1446 of 5364 Old 01-13-2007, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Houseofhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also am a Avid member at Tweeter. But, with tax @ 8% I could not get them this low.
Houseofhor is offline  
post #1447 of 5364 Old 01-13-2007, 10:50 AM
Member
 
hv9200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Houseofhor View Post

I also am a Avid member at Tweeter. But, with tax @ 8% I could not get them this low.

Gotta love NH for one thig...tax free purchases
hv9200 is offline  
post #1448 of 5364 Old 01-13-2007, 01:32 PM
Member
 
packetlosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Electronics HQ has it for $1028 including shipping. They aren't a Yamaha dealer, however, they give their own 1 year replacement warranty on it.


Anything bad about going this route?
packetlosss is offline  
post #1449 of 5364 Old 01-13-2007, 02:29 PM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Butterfly Photo has it for 980 before shipping. I'm skeptical of buying expensive things over the internet..it is hard to tell which places are reputable. Provided nothing goes wrong its a great move, but once something goes wrong it is much easier to bring it back to a retail store instead of dealing with internet merchants. I can either buy it for 1100 shipped, or 1500 in a store...hmm
ZippZopp is offline  
post #1450 of 5364 Old 01-13-2007, 08:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jay_WJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any differences on audio side between 2700/1700 and 2600/1600?

I know the differences in amplifier power, lower YPAO EQ range, network capability, and SACD over HDMI.

Other than these?
Jay_WJ is offline  
post #1451 of 5364 Old 01-14-2007, 12:07 AM
Member
 
Mikef2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikef2000 View Post

Thanks for the advice. I only re-checked the connections about 10 times using multiple different RCA cables. Right now I am going on the assumption that I am one unlucky guy who's Subwoofer crapped out just as I installed a new setup. Since that is the only other area I have not checked. The light is still on on my subwoofer, just no bass is coming out. I am gonna take my subwoofer and try hooking it up on another friends system and see if it works.


Well apparently I'm just unlucky. It seems that my subwoofer crapped out EXACTLY as I connected my new RX-V2700. I took it to my friends house and the subwoofer didn't work also(even though all the lights were on). Then I took it to a electronics store to disassemble it, and yes the speaker was dead. So now I'm in the market to replace my subwoofer.


Anyone know if the RX-V2700 could have done something to kill my subwoofer? It was working fine the day before on my RX-V750.

"I am fuel we are friends, I've got means to make ammends. I am lost, I'm no guide, but I am right by your side."
Mikef2000 is offline  
post #1452 of 5364 Old 01-14-2007, 01:00 AM
Newbie
 
JayBhai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I might have got lucky, but I was able to get BB to sell me a 2700 for $1049 + 4 year ext. warranty for a total of about $1300. I brought in a print out of the ButterflyPhoto pricing and convinced the A/V manager to give me a price close to the online price + shipping... He was hesitant, but agreed to the deal if I bought the 4 year warranty, which gave me some piece of mind and still allowed me to take it home for a lot less than retail at most other places.

Might be worth a shot at your local BB, but the manager I worked with did say that he was only doing it b/c he wanted my business and it was a new store that was trying to build a customer base. The original price when I bought it was about $1600... but when I went in recently it had been marked down to about $1450... not sure why it went down in price... but I still think I got a good deal... and now I know I can just take it in for any service or firmware upgrades. :-)

Good luck to those looking to buy one. I almost bought from ButterflyPhoto, but could not justify spending that much on something that Yamaha would not cover for warranty claims.
JayBhai is offline  
post #1453 of 5364 Old 01-14-2007, 02:07 AM
Member
 
ZippZopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wow you did luck out! if i could get best buy to sell me one for that low I'd buy it! maybe i'll give it a shot
ZippZopp is offline  
post #1454 of 5364 Old 01-14-2007, 03:43 AM
Member
 
Darthfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys I have a modded Marantz 63SE which is hook up through analog to the receiver, should i use Pure Direct (Fronts only) or Straight Effect Analog (with Sub)?

Which would be the most optimal musically?

Darthfunk Mini Review

OPPO DV-983H
Darthfunk is offline  
post #1455 of 5364 Old 01-14-2007, 07:59 AM
Member
 
apaiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the stupid question, but I hope somebody can help. If you hvae a connection that uses HDMI can you override the audio on the HDMI and use optical audio?


Thanks,
Al
apaiz is offline  
post #1456 of 5364 Old 01-14-2007, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Timl2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by apaiz View Post

Sorry for the stupid question, but I hope somebody can help. If you hvae a connection that uses HDMI can you override the audio on the HDMI and use optical audio?


Thanks,
Al

yes
Timl2 is offline  
post #1457 of 5364 Old 01-14-2007, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gruson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DALLAS, TX
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Butterfly Photo are known to be pretty bad.

That said, anyone know the best place to get the 1700?

I see it for $750 on Ebay but would prefer to buy from a authorized dealer.
Gruson is offline  
post #1458 of 5364 Old 01-15-2007, 10:21 AM
Member
 
Danke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippZopp View Post

Butterfly Photo has it for 980 before shipping. I'm skeptical of buying expensive things over the internet..it is hard to tell which places are reputable. Provided nothing goes wrong its a great move, but once something goes wrong it is much easier to bring it back to a retail store instead of dealing with internet merchants. I can either buy it for 1100 shipped, or 1500 in a store...hmm


I bought from them and added a 3 year warranty that allows me to take the receiver into a local shop if anything goes wrong.
Danke is offline  
post #1459 of 5364 Old 01-15-2007, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Danke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrple View Post


Media Player 11
I had a major issue with Media Player 11 after I installed the program and I thought I would share the solution in case anyone else has the same issue. I wasn't able to turn on media sharing (computer would sit for a while and nothing would happen). Here is the fix:
Turn off your 2700 and your 360. Go to start, run, then type services.msc. When that pops up go to the bottom and pick windows media network sharing and stop that. Close the window. Go to my computer then go to tools at the top and folder options. From there hit the view tab and select the show hidden files and folders and about 2 spaces under that is something about hiding system files. Check and then uncheck both of these. When you click the second one it will ask you if you are sure and say yes. Then get out of that and go to c drive, docs and settings, all users, then under that there should be a DRM folder. Delete everything in that folder. Go back to servies.msc and start back up the windows media sharing thing. Then turn back on your 2700 and 360 and it should work.


-Pyrple


I tried this, still no luck. I have read they may have a firmware update for the 2700?


Anyone have any other ideas to get WMP11 to recognize the 2700?
Danke is offline  
post #1460 of 5364 Old 01-15-2007, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
misterjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danke View Post

I bought from them and added a 3 year warranty that allows me to take the receiver into a local shop if anything goes wrong.

I'm an extended warranty dealer; I would read the fine print of the warranty that Butterfly Photo sold you. Extended warranties are usually only valid if the product comes with the original manufacturers warranty (which it would not have if you purchased it from them). I could be wrong though.
misterjensen is offline  
post #1461 of 5364 Old 01-15-2007, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
bogie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jax Fl
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterjensen View Post

I'm an extended warranty dealer; I would read the fine print of the warranty that Butterfly Photo sold you. Extended warranties are usually only valid if the product comes with the original manufacturers warranty (which it would not have if you purchased it from them). I could be wrong though.

I bought my 2700 from Butterfly and they posed the warranty as a substitute for the factory warranty which I would not receive. I refused it as I doubted it would be valid. They gave me a hard sell treatment which I did not appreciate as I placed the order over the internet. Maybe thats why they sent me a 2700 set up with Japanese language and PAL video.

Ron
bogie3 is offline  
post #1462 of 5364 Old 01-15-2007, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Danke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterjensen View Post

I'm an extended warranty dealer; I would read the fine print of the warranty that Butterfly Photo sold you. Extended warranties are usually only valid if the product comes with the original manufacturers warranty (which it would not have if you purchased it from them). I could be wrong though.

The warranty company (RepairTech) said they will cover it...

1-888-814-TECH REPAITECHINC

Hope I never have to find out just how good their service is.
Danke is offline  
post #1463 of 5364 Old 01-15-2007, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Houseofhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been very pleased w/ the radio network option. It loads very quickly & I can listen to some stations for specific music. However, the PC connect has not worked so well. My main poblems is I pick a song & it plays something else on the album or of the artist. I have made play list & even w/ 5 or 6 songs it will not play the one I pick. I can skip ahead & eventually it will get to the song. But, sometimes I want to play that specific song. Does anyone have a solution?

Most of my music is MP3 VBR @ the highest setting.
Houseofhor is offline  
post #1464 of 5364 Old 01-15-2007, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
psychdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

I own a 1700 and I can tell you the following for a fact... tested on both a A2 and a PS3.

1. Both systems connected via HDMI.
2. Ran Auto-EQ and all channels are tweaked to the same level.
3. Ran AVIA subwoofer setup tones which sends a test tone to each channel followed by the subwoofer then to the next channel, subwoofer, etc.
4. The subwoofer matched (it was at the same level) each of the other channels. In my case the sound meter read 76 the entire time.

Charles:
what HD-DVD movies have you watched? Do you use optic Toslink or audio LPCM via HDMI? DO the movies have TrueHD/DD+? Do you notice lower volume(all channels & LFE) on HD-DVD movies via A2?

PSN ID: PSYCHDOCTOR1
psychdoctor is offline  
post #1465 of 5364 Old 01-16-2007, 07:01 AM
Member
 
dbuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks.. Check out this thread regarding some success and nightmare stores about ButterflyPhoto and other e-tailers. Also, it looks like some had success at purchasing from www.unitedonlineshopping.com.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3&page=1&pp=30
dbuchler is offline  
post #1466 of 5364 Old 01-16-2007, 10:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Houseofhor View Post

I have been very pleased w/ the radio network option. It loads very quickly & I can listen to some stations for specific music. However, the PC connect has not worked so well. My main poblems is I pick a song & it plays something else on the album or of the artist. I have made play list & even w/ 5 or 6 songs it will not play the one I pick. I can skip ahead & eventually it will get to the song. But, sometimes I want to play that specific song. Does anyone have a solution?

Most of my music is MP3 VBR @ the highest setting.

I have not seen that behavior. Yamaha did say something about relative position in an errata sheet (which may have nothing to do with your issue.)

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #1467 of 5364 Old 01-16-2007, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
bimmerguy288's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I am wondering if any of the RXV2700 owners have audio problem with Toshiba XA2 HD DVD players?

I have my Yamaha RXV2007 connected via HDMI to a Toshiba XA2 HD DVD player and a Play Statation 3 for blue ray playback. I am getting excellent bass from the PS3 playing both regular DVDs and blue ray disks, I am also getting excellent bass from the Toshiba XA2 when it plays regular DVDs, but when it plays HD DVDs, the bass is VERY weak, and the overall sound level is very low. I have to turn my Yamaha's master volume knob to -15db to hear what I normally hear at -30 db.

Thanks,
bimmerguy288 is offline  
post #1468 of 5364 Old 01-16-2007, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
drtoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
same thing here for some reason im not sure how to fix it i think the a2 needs a update
drtoronto is offline  
post #1469 of 5364 Old 01-16-2007, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
bimmerguy288's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drtoronto View Post

same thing here for some reason im not sure how to fix it i think the a2 needs a update

Mine is the XA2. Audio with HD DVD sounds like a $100 boom box.

Edit: Later I borrowed a Toshiba A2 HD DVD player to test the low sound level, weak bass problem, the result was the same as the XA2.
bimmerguy288 is offline  
post #1470 of 5364 Old 01-16-2007, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
fernalfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like the same LFE issue the pio elite receivers are having aswell. They too are awaiting some kind of firmware update to fix the problem. This sucks because my choices of receivers to buy are the yamaha 1700,2600 or the pio elite 82 or 84.
fernalfer is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off