The Official Yamaha RX-V1700/RX-V2700 Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 01:36 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by isomdh View Post

I'll take the quiz if there's a course about how to hook up stuff and I can study it first. Seriously, did you figure all that yourself by (a) reading the owner's manual, (b) trial and error, or (c) long time experience?

Sounds like RF is the way to go. You know, professional wiring geeks are still pushing IR based multi-zone setup. You are showing that RF can take care of all zoning needs plus the convenience of macros. Awesome!

D... All of the above. As for "C", I wouldn't say long time experience.

As for RF vs. IR, I believe that if they are done right, either one would work. I use an IRP2Plus with an MX700 in the master bedroom for an independent system. It works just fine. The main system and additional zones are handled by an MX850 with an MRF250. Not having to point the remote is definately sweet. Although I occationally catch the wife pointing the MX850 at the TV .

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 02:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

The 2700s and 1700s are shipping right now. Some stores already have them. Tweeter in New England has an arrival date of Oct. 6th to their dist. centers. Add a couple of days to get them to the stores.

yeah, I'll probably wait until just after christmas, they should be saturated fairly everywhere by then hopefully (I purchased my RX-V1600 that time last year). I'm using, both, the RX-V1600 & RX-V2600 receivers in two systems right now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

No, you cannot open WMP through the receiver. It uses it's own GUI to search through whatever folders containing music files you've decided to share.

I see, I think?..........So this (Yamaha) GUI is available via-PC as well as on the receiver-side? Man I can't wait to get one just for this (streaming music)capability.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

I'll tell you in a day or 2. Just gotta grab an HDMI cable. I am curious as well as I have heard there are issues with the Motorola boxes recognizing the receivers as pass through devices.
Understandable...

yeah, I would think any issues (or errors) would be moreso related to cable-box "repeater" dysfunction, etc.,...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

Now all I need is a DVD-S2700BL (1080p upconverting player) to go with it.

there you go! yeah, I'll probably wait until after christmas again for this one as well. Actually, I'm still very happy with my fairly new, current, Sony DVP-NS90V DVD/CD player (DVD-A/SACD), this thing has beautiful video quality, and wonderful audio. Although, it would be nice to have full HDMI for video and multi-channel audio, I hear it's pretty cool.

anyway, I [really] appreciate all your efforts an information Mr. Eddie!
WestCoastD is online now  
post #153 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ssabripo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Plantation, Floriduh
Posts: 6,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
good stuff!! keep it coming! and some pics would be nice
ssabripo is offline  
post #154 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 08:14 AM
Member
 
audiorecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I think I already know the answer to this, but Can you stream video over ethernet too??? That would be awesome! It would be kinda a replacement for my HTPC.
audiorecon is offline  
post #155 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bwclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Redwood Empire
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I currently have a Philips Streamium for getting mp3 music from my PC, as well it connects to the internet wirelessly to get internet radio, etc. I can also select via a menu on the TV screen what music I wish to play or use playlists!

Now how does the Yamaha compare...can you select music or does it just stream from a file off the PC? On TV menu? Selecton process please?

I am looking at the RX-V1700. It lacks the network function which I already have; it lacks the USB(I have no devices to connect anyway); it has only 2 HDMI inputs(compared to 3); and it deinterlaces 480p while the 2700 has the ABT scaler for 480p/720p/1080i. With a 1080p TV and scaling functions in it, not sure I understand the benefit.

Is the 1700 the best buy for me?

Bob
bwclark is offline  
post #156 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssabripo View Post

good stuff!! keep it coming! and some pics would be nice

Bear with me as this will be my first time attaching pictures.

I've attached pix of OSD for the network connectivity. I can only do 3 at a time. I did them in order from the opening choice.

Hope this works
LL
LL
LL

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #157 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssabripo View Post

good stuff!! keep it coming! and some pics would be nice

Pictures of OSD for network connectivity Pt. 2:
LL
LL
LL

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #158 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssabripo View Post

good stuff!! keep it coming! and some pics would be nice

Final OSD for network connectivity. I threw in a couple of pix of my set up (usually I don't have cables showing, but I rushed the hook up of the 2700!

And yes, I did paint my TV black. It came out mint! Much better than "sony grey". The spot you see is from the flash. Also, you normally don't see the internal speakers. It's due to the flash on the camera. I'm better at home theater than photography.
LL
LL
LL

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #159 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bwclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Redwood Empire
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks Eddie!
bwclark is offline  
post #160 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwclark View Post

I currently have a Philips Streamium for getting mp3 music from my PC, as well it connects to the internet wirelessly to get internet radio, etc. I can also select via a menu on the TV screen what music I wish to play or use playlists!

Now how does the Yamaha compare...can you select music or does it just stream from a file off the PC? On TV menu? Selecton process please?

I am looking at the RX-V1700. It lacks the network function which I already have; it lacks the USB(I have no devices to connect anyway); it has only 2 HDMI inputs(compared to 3); and it deinterlaces 480p while the 2700 has the ABT scaler for 480p/720p/1080i. With a 1080p TV and scaling functions in it, not sure I understand the benefit.

Is the 1700 the best buy for me?

Bob

From what you described. Yes, it's my opinion that the 1700 would be the wiser choice.

.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #161 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 09:21 AM
Member
 
isomdh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

D... All of the above. As for "C", I wouldn't say long time experience.

Here's a question from a novice: Is there one and only one way to hook up all equipment for optimum sound/visual effects? Putting it another way, is there a best way vs better vs good vs bad? And how important a role do cables play in all this?

Quote:
As for RF vs. IR, I believe that if they are done right, either one would work.

I know both works but isn't RF a bit simpler to set up? IR requires pre-wiring in the walls, which is always a hassle.
Quote:
I use an IRP2Plus with an MX700 in the master bedroom for an independent system. It works just fine. The main system and additional zones are handled by an MX850 with an MRF250.

I take it your 2nd system is sitting close to the main? And you had the IR set up long ago?
Quote:
Not having to point the remote is definately sweet. Although I occationally catch the wife pointing the MX850 at the TV .

It's got to be a learning process. I'm sure no one can escape it.

In Search Of My Dream HD Theatre
isomdh is offline  
post #162 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ssabripo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Plantation, Floriduh
Posts: 6,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

Bear with me as this will be my first time attaching pictures.

I've attached pix of OSD for the network connectivity. I can only do 3 at a time. I did them in order from the opening choice.

Hope this works

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

Pictures of OSD for network connectivity Pt. 2:


cool....so it is still confusing: when you connect to your PC via ethernet, do you HAVE to use Yammy's musicCast server, or can you just share your folders where your music is located, and the RX will find it?
ssabripo is offline  
post #163 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by isomdh View Post

Here's a question from a novice: Is there one and only one way to hook up all equipment for optimum sound/visual effects? Putting it another way, is there a best way vs better vs good vs bad? And how important a role do cables play in all this?

I know both works but isn't RF a bit simpler to set up? IR requires pre-wiring in the walls, which is always a hassle.I take it your 2nd system is sitting close to the main? And you had the IR set up long ago?It's got to be a learning process. I'm sure no one can escape it.

This is kind of a broad stroke answer, but there are many ways to hook up a system. Some folks like to use the receiver as a video switching device (meaning audio and video feeds go to the receiver, and then video to the display) for ease of use. Some like to send the video straight to the display and have the receiver deal with audio only. In that case, there is no right or wrong way.
As for the cables, I'm not wearing a flame retardant suit, so I'm not going there . Just use something better than the s#*t that comes in the boxes. With most gear today, the right type of cables for how you will want to hook up the system do not come in the box (meaning the right type of connection, as well as quality). I like the 5-10% rule. Meaning, plan on 5-10% of your budget on cables and protection.
I prefer RF, but it's not as stable in some cases as IR. I got mine to work 99% of the time. You are right that it is easier to set up for long runs.
My second system consists of a Sony 32HV600/Pioneere Elite VSX47TX/ RePlayTV/ Motorola DCT???? HD box. Everything sits in a rack, but I set up the IRP2Plus so the flasher is fixed to the top right of the TV. Easier when lying in bed. That system is totaly independent of the rest of the house. It's kinda ghetto, but it's only the bedroom.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #164 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssabripo View Post

cool....so it is still confusing: when you connect to your PC via ethernet, do you HAVE to use Yammy's musicCast server, or can you just share your folders where your music is located, and the RX will find it?


As for the MusicCast, you do NOT need to have one. The RXV can act as a client for the MusicCast server. So you can access music stored on a MusicCast if it is set up in another area of the house.
Yes, you can share folders and access them from the RXV. The pictures I posted are of my TV screen on the opposite side of the house from the computer. Sorry if that confused the issue.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #165 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 10:12 AM
Member
 
isomdh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

This is kind of a broad stroke answer, but there are many ways to hook up a system. Some folks like to use the receiver as a video switching device (meaning audio and video feeds go to the receiver, and then video to the display) for ease of use. Some like to send the video straight to the display and have the receiver deal with audio only. In that case, there is no right or wrong way.

From your earlier post, if I understood you correctly, you've got it set up both ways, right? Which way works better? Maybe not much difference in audio but more in video?[quote]As for the cables, I'm not wearing a flame retardant suit, so I'm not going there . You ought to know, as a former "Monster specialist"
Quote:
Just use something better than the s#*t that comes in the boxes. With most gear today, the right type of cables for how you will want to hook up the system do not come in the box (meaning the right type of connection, as well as quality).

This is both shocking and disappointing. We plunk down tons of cash but we are not ready to rock and roll out of the box?
Quote:
I like the 5-10% rule. Meaning, plan on 5-10% of your budget on cables and protection.

That's a lot of additional dough, when you consider each piece of equipment aldready costs a bundle. For instance, your new Yamaha toy is well over a grand, and it's a shame 5-10% of that are not in the calbes.
Quote:
I prefer RF, but it's not as stable in some cases as IR. I got mine to work 99% of the time.

This is interesting. Do you know the reason for occasional failure of RF?
Quote:
My second system consists of a Sony 32HV600/Pioneere Elite VSX47TX/ RePlayTV/ Motorola DCT???? HD box. Everything sits in a rack, but I set up the IRP2Plus so the flasher is fixed to the top right of the TV. Easier when lying in bed. That system is totaly independent of the rest of the house. It's kinda ghetto, but it's only the bedroom.

As long as the WAF is there, which apparently you do.

In Search Of My Dream HD Theatre
isomdh is offline  
post #166 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, I can't figure out how to separate messages the way you did to mine!

Q: "From your earlier post, if I understood you correctly, you've got it set up both ways, right? Which way works better? Maybe not much difference in audio but more in video?"

A: As for my main set up, I use the RXV as a video switcher. Initially, I ran the HDMI out of the cable box directly to the TV to test the scaling capabilties of the receiver. I then went back to component video from the cable box to the receiver (didn't have an HDMI to HDMI cable, only HDMI to DVI) and then HDMI out of the receiver to DVI on the TV. It's really personal preference.


"This is both shocking and disappointing. We plunk down tons of cash but we are not ready to rock and roll out of the box?/That's a lot of additional dough, when you consider each piece of equipment aldready costs a bundle. For instance, your new Yamaha toy is well over a grand, and it's a shame 5-10% of that are not in the calbes."

Hey, Noel Lee (CEO/Monster Cable) needs another Ferrari. Help the guy out. LOL

Yamaha doesn't know how you will be hooking up your gear. In their defence, should they put a set of component, S video, composite video, HDMI, optical, and coax digital cables in the box?? And how many of each??... Sorry, playing devils advocate.

Q: "This is interesting. Do you know the reason for occasional failure of RF?"

A: All sorts of things can cause RF interference, such as microwave ovens, cordless phones etc..


"As long as the WAF is there, which apparently you do."

If you mean the Wife Acceptance Factor, it's a done deal. She was a little sketchy some years ago, but she's become a seasoned vet. She's the perfect test subject. She loves what happens, and what she can do. But she doesn't give a rats ass how it happens, as long as it works. And it does.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #167 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 11:58 AM
Member
 
isomdh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

Man, I can't figure out how to separate messages the way you did to mine!

This low-tech stuff is my speciality. It's easier than you think. Wait for my PM.
Quote:
Hey, Noel Lee (CEO/Monster Cable) needs another Ferrari. Help the guy out. LOL

You're not kidding. The auto collection supposedly belongs to the company but who gets to use them besides... According to a relative of mine who works for Monster, he is an absolute monster.
Quote:
Yamaha doesn't know how you will be hooking up your gear. In their defence, should they put a set of component, S video, composite video, HDMI, optical, and coax digital cables in the box?? And how many of each??... Sorry, playing devils advocate.

I don't expect Yamaha to stuff cables for every connection possibility but how about the ones that make the most sense and how about making sure they are high quality! BTW, what cables do come with the unit?

In Search Of My Dream HD Theatre
isomdh is offline  
post #168 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 12:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,598
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1398 Post(s)
Liked: 1520
Anyone have a clue as to how the new 2700 sounds compared to the Elite 84? Their feature sets are pretty close now that Yamaha has added a 3rd HDMI input.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #169 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ssabripo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Plantation, Floriduh
Posts: 6,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Anyone have a clue as to how the new 2700 sounds compared to the Elite 84? Their feature sets are pretty close now that Yamaha has added a 3rd HDMI input.

do a search....this has been talked before (albeit between 2600 and 84)

for example, here is my audition:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post8417429
ssabripo is offline  
post #170 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssabripo View Post

do a search....this has been talked before (albeit between 2600 and 84)


Concerning your demo experience.... I'm assuming neither the Pio or Yamaha had either MCACC or YPAO enabled (or was calibrated with that setup)? I've heard each sound totally different with their equalization modes enabled--with the PIO having the biggest degree of difference (heresay). I've been looking at both of these for quite some time and cannot make up my mind. I'm starting to believe the only way I'll be happy is to demo them in my home. Aahhhh....if only the Outlaw 1070 had something like MCACC or YPAO, then life would be simple.

Oh, I do have a question for the 2700, if it hasn't been addressed already. Does it have bass management and YPAO through HDMI?
javanpohl is offline  
post #171 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ssabripo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Plantation, Floriduh
Posts: 6,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by javanpohl View Post

Concerning your demo experience.... I'm assuming neither the Pio or Yamaha had either MCACC or YPAO enabled (or was calibrated with that setup)? I've heard each sound totally different with their equalization modes enabled--with the PIO having the biggest degree of difference (heresay). I've been looking at both of these for quite some time and cannot make up my mind. I'm starting to believe the only way I'll be happy is to demo them in my home. Aahhhh....if only the Outlaw 1070 had something like MCACC or YPAO, then life would be simple

there you go.....Demo them in your home and that will honestly be the best bet!

Correct, neither unit was setup with MCACC or YPAO, which is the way I wanted it...I wanted to see what they sound like naturally...no adjustments, no EQ, etc. You can get each one to sound really good with the EQ and so on. I do my own calibration anyways, as I found that most of the time the settings come out better. But there are many stories of people being really happy with Auddessey/MCACC/YPAO, and some that are not.

but you are doing the right thing...demo them in your room...
ssabripo is offline  
post #172 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 02:48 PM
Member
 
audiorecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So.... Can you put video files in a shared folder and access them through the 2700?
audiorecon is offline  
post #173 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by saunak1 View Post

same for Denon, Marantz...

Think about it - something like a Yamaha RX-v2700 or Pioneer VSX-84TXSi without the amp section - for about $1100. Would be SWEET...

Does Denon no longer make a preamp??
javanpohl is offline  
post #174 of 5380 Old 10-03-2006, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiorecon View Post

So.... Can you put video files in a shared folder and access them through the 2700?

Nope. Audio only.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #175 of 5380 Old 10-04-2006, 07:17 PM
Member
 
kepy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump
Sorry did I miss it.....Has an 'Official' 1700/2700 thread been started??

I would suggest the lack of buzz around the 2700 is that folks 'got all they need' for awhile with the 2600.

I literally stumbled on the fact Yamaha was coming out with the 2700 as I was/am VERY happy with the 2600.
I had been seeing ads for a yamaha ipod dock and finally got a chance to stop by my dealer to ask about it.

Obviously I'm not high end audiophile drooling over every last great innovation.
But as with the 2600, this forum has enlightened and informed me to know end and I will be figuring out how to go from 2600 to 2700 keeping the WAF high.

as for HDMI1.3, keep waiting for the next best thing and you'll never enjoy today's best thing. At one point in time a Color TV was the just around the corner.....think of all the B&W shows you'd of missed.

Thoughts/insight on controling the yammy with the Software via the Network Jack?
kepy is offline  
post #176 of 5380 Old 10-04-2006, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bwclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Redwood Empire
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
bwclark is offline  
post #177 of 5380 Old 10-04-2006, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ssabripo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Plantation, Floriduh
Posts: 6,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kepy View Post

bump
Sorry did I miss it.....Has an 'Official' 1700/2700 thread been started??

I think you are looking at it
ssabripo is offline  
post #178 of 5380 Old 10-04-2006, 11:57 PM
Member
 
Darthfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
eddie can you give a more detailed (hardware to sofeware) run through on how to set up the 2700 using Windows media connect. btw besides downloading wmc 2.0 do you need the device manager? Thanks for helping.

Cheers!

Darthfunk Mini Review

OPPO DV-983H
Darthfunk is offline  
post #179 of 5380 Old 10-05-2006, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: the mostest funnest place ever
Posts: 2,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Kramer View Post

The 2700 is already on ebay, and one online retailer.

Im waiting for Soundpros to get theirs in, as I have used them before with good success.

Prices seem to be about the same. About 25% off MSRP.

EDIT:
They DID get them in, and one is on the way to me.

right on, scott actually talked me into the the pioneer VSX-84TXSI.

and mine will be here Friday! be sure to let me know what you think of yours please.

"the one who has the most fun wins."
billymac is offline  
post #180 of 5380 Old 10-05-2006, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob Kramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my 54TX from Scott also. I'll bet they sell lots of Pioneers.

I might have tripped them up with my Yamaha order.
Rob Kramer is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off