Onkyo TX-SR804? - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1010 Old 01-25-2007, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caesar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill3508 View Post

Just recieved my 804 from ******* and set it up last night. No humming so far and no random clicking. ALso, so far I'm having no problems running HDMI through the receiver to my Samsung DLP. I haven't figured out the sound though, it seems different than my 777. Still playing around with it.

DId most of you guys use the auto set up and find it to be effective?

Running.
Onkyo 804
Axiom M60 fronts
Axiom MP100 center
Axiom QS4 surrounds
HSU VTF-2

Thanks

Bill3508

I don't have the 804 yet. But I will do a manual test of the speaker levels (and check the physical distance measurements), to make sure the auto config worked right. I would not trust any auto config in any receiver 100% (particularly with the sub).

Best to buy a radio shack meter and do manual config -- just out of curiosity anyway, to see how good the 804 auto is.
caesar1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1010 Old 01-25-2007, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
parkview51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bill 3508

I'm ready to order the 804 along with Axiom speakers and a HSU sub. I was wondering how your setup sounds with these speakers.

Thanks for the input

Parkview
parkview51 is offline  
post #453 of 1010 Old 01-25-2007, 03:08 PM
Member
 
fatsooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
on the 804 is LOUD at first, but works OK. I found it adjusted the sound levels to my room setup as I might have guessed based on distance (my room sucks for symmetry and acoustics).

I cranked the backs up a little b/c I like to hear them more than most people probably do.

Why the 804 over the Denon 887?

Check CC website for 804S...."S" is imp
fatsooner is offline  
post #454 of 1010 Old 01-25-2007, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do you run video through your 804?

Have you compared the video quality when going through the 804 as compared to going directly to your television?

I no longer run my video through my 804 since I discovered that I get a better picture with the video going directly to my television.

Your comments please.

Louisp

MY EQUIPMENT
Sony HDTV KDL-46HX750
Denon AVR 1912
DirecTV HD DVR HR24 & AM21N OTA Receiver
Panasonic HD DVD DMP-BD65 & Toshiba HD DVR A20
Infinity Alpha Series Speakers - 50's (2), 20's (2), 10's (2), 37c (1) & Velodyne Subwoofer
Panamax M4300-PM Power Center
Monoprice Cables & Harmony One Remote
49Merc is offline  
post #455 of 1010 Old 01-25-2007, 07:40 PM
Newbie
 
CarlNads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1953 View Post

Do you run video through your 804?

Have you compared the video quality when going through the 804 as compared to going directly to your television?

I no longer run my video through my 804 since I discovered that I get a better picture with the video going directly to my television.

Your comments please.

Louisp

I had problems with my 804 driving a 10 meter HDMI cable. The Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD would drive the display but when routed through the 804 I did not get a picture. The Accell UltraRun HDMI to HDMI cable I used has a small booster. the 8300HD was able to drive it properly while the 804 would not. Adding the 5v power supply to the cable resolved the issue.
CarlNads is offline  
post #456 of 1010 Old 01-25-2007, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlNads View Post

I had problems with my 804 driving a 10 meter HDMI cable. The Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD would drive the display but when routed through the 804 I did not get a picture. The Accell UltraRun HDMI to HDMI cable I used has a small booster. the 8300HD was able to drive it properly while the 804 would not. Adding the 5v power supply to the cable resolved the issue.


Have you compared video quality (direct to tv v. through 804)?

Lp

MY EQUIPMENT
Sony HDTV KDL-46HX750
Denon AVR 1912
DirecTV HD DVR HR24 & AM21N OTA Receiver
Panasonic HD DVD DMP-BD65 & Toshiba HD DVR A20
Infinity Alpha Series Speakers - 50's (2), 20's (2), 10's (2), 37c (1) & Velodyne Subwoofer
Panamax M4300-PM Power Center
Monoprice Cables & Harmony One Remote
49Merc is offline  
post #457 of 1010 Old 01-25-2007, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Bill3508's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, on my setup, the Axioms sound pretty good. I'm still playing with them as they seem to sound slightly different on the 777 the 804 replaced. The 777 sounded warmer. On the auto setup, it was pretty much dead on with the distances, only different was 1 ft difference in my surrounds. Also, it set the M60's to run full band, which I reset to 60, center to 90, and the QS4 surrounds to 120.

Also, so far I'm having no problems running video through this receiver with HDMI connects. I was going to be real pissed if it did not work, it all good so far. And to tell you the truth the picture is much better running through the receiver than going straight to the TV. However, I replaced my AR HDMI with one from BJ Cable, so I don't know if that would have made the big difference. I've got a Oppo 981 comming shortly, so hopefully my HDMI switching will continue to work.

Forgot to mention I'm running Direct TV HD through the DR10.

So no problems so far.

Bill3508

A wise man once said if it sounds like a broken record there is a motive behind the message.
Bill3508 is offline  
post #458 of 1010 Old 01-25-2007, 08:59 PM
Newbie
 
CarlNads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1953 View Post

Have you compared video quality (direct to tv v. through 804)?

Lp

I did this tonight and didn't see differance. Even had my wife look at it, even though she was bored looking at yet another test she said they looked the same
CarlNads is offline  
post #459 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 06:55 AM
Member
 
fatsooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picture is better running straight to the sony TV from the PS3. Not sure if better is 100% accurate, it was definitely brighter with the TV at the same setting direct to the TV. There were no artifacts or blurred edges when running through the 804...still looked damn good.

My cable box is very comparable if no different at all running component through the 804 vs. dvi->hdmi into the TV. But I have TWC so my image quality sucks either way.

Of course, PS3 does not work (display cuts out) in the menu mode through the 804.

I currently have an upconvert samsung DVD player running HDMI into the 804, and component with my cable box.

No issues running a 15ft monoprice 15' HDMI though. Perhaps a little drop in brightness, but that is adjustable.
fatsooner is offline  
post #460 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill3508's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update on my 804, still working great, but I'm still not sure about the equalizer settings in the auto setup, although distance was perfect. On my picture quality, the HD channels look the same as they were(great), but the poorer quality channels have improved greatly.

Bill3508

A wise man once said if it sounds like a broken record there is a motive behind the message.
Bill3508 is offline  
post #461 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Humanoid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill3508 View Post

Update on my 804, still working great, but I'm still not sure about the equalizer settings in the auto setup, although distance was perfect. On my picture quality, the HD channels look the same as they were(great), but the poorer quality channels have improved greatly.

Bill3508

Try it with eq off and see how you like it.
Humanoid1 is offline  
post #462 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
timmiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

My first post as I just pulled the trigger on a new 804. I wanted to share the deal that I got and if you're close to making the purchase, it may help you save some bucks too.

Circuit City online has it for $699.99 as you may already know. Before purchasing, go to ebay and search for "Circuit City coupon". You can purchase a 10% off coupon for $2 and it will work fine with this receiver. That puts the final price after 10% off at $629.99. Plus CC has a $50 rebate that is good through tomorrow to lower the final price to $579.99 with Free Shipping. (You do have to pay tax however depending on your state). Here is a summary.

Circuit City original price = $1099.99
Less price reduction -100.00
Circuit City new price 999.99
Add to cart for sale price -300.00
Total sale price 699.99
10% off coupon from ebay -70.00
Final checkout price 629.99
Circuit City $50 rebate -50.00 (rebate ends tomorrow 1/27/07)
Final price before tax: 579.99

(Free Shipping)

The other reason I went with Circuit City was it would be easy to return to a store if I get the evil hummm without having to pay a restocking fee and return shipping as with other online stores.

(Keeping my fingers crossed)


-Tim
timmiser is offline  
post #463 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Finally got my 804. Setup was fairly simple (I've been reading the Manual PDF for a few weeks now). Forgot how many wires were behind my HT..LOL I must say I am really pleased with the Sound of it. Threw in a lil Wynston Marsalis, and was very impressed with the pure sound option. I havent yet hooked my PS3 up to it, I'll get to that today and run it through some test. SACD via HDMI, BD movies Via HDMI to my Tv. I only have a 5.1 setup so i wont be able to test Resistance in 7.1. So far very happy with my purchase.
Oh..btw I got mine from lcdtvs.com for 649 shipped 670ish to my door in less than two days.
ndskyz is offline  
post #464 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
parkview51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To bad thats for the silver - I need BLACK......... I'm going to pull the trigger this weekend online @ 6th ave.
parkview51 is offline  
post #465 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 10:29 AM
Member
 
fatsooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
matched me on the black b/c they did not have the silver in stock (no stores do as far as I can tell). They were so good to me there it was unbelievable. $699 plus $29 for 3yrs. $10/year is worth it IMO. And I have 20 days left to exchange if I decide to.

ndskyz: pls advise your PS3 test. Mine does not work on the menu screen but fine while playing games.

Love the 804, just worried I'm missing something as the den887 will work with PS3 (I know a guy who has this setup), and new lossless audio formats - if anyone ever delivers some source material.
fatsooner is offline  
post #466 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 10:55 AM
Newbie
 
timmiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also should say that the 10% off coupons for CC available on ebay are good for both online and in-store purchases.

-Tim
timmiser is offline  
post #467 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 02:50 PM
Member
 
PhilH930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quick question about this receiver. Does it upconvert all video inputs on HDMI to a choice of 720p/1080i or 1080p.

The reason I ask is because I want to know if it will upconvert my cable picture (via HDMI) to the 1080i that my display can receive.
PhilH930 is offline  
post #468 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Bill3508's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanoid1 View Post

Try it with eq off and see how you like it.


Thats what I ended up doing. The EQ made it sound to harsh in the high range.

Bill3508

A wise man once said if it sounds like a broken record there is a motive behind the message.
Bill3508 is offline  
post #469 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
timmiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, just got an email from Circuit City and they have shipped my 804 that I ordered this morning and I have a Fedex ground tracking number! Only problem is it is shipping from the east coast and I'm on the west coast. Eta: Feb 1.

-Tim
timmiser is offline  
post #470 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 05:54 PM
Newbie
 
muellner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill3508 View Post

Thats what I ended up doing. The EQ made it sound to harsh in the high range.

Bill3508

You could also go into the advance set-up "EQ settings" and change it from automatic to manual and adjust the EQ settings from there. Cut back on the high freq. settings for each channel per your hearing taste and room accoustics. Pg 75 of the owners manual. You've got an adjustable 5 band equalizer built in so why not use it.
muellner is offline  
post #471 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 07:18 PM
Newbie
 
muellner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Onkyo lovers,
I've been reading all the messages and replies on this thread and the Yammy 5990-6090 threads for a while as I've been researching both Yammy and Onkyo for 6+ months swaying between both. 1st Yamaha then Onkyo and back and forth again reviewing good and the bad user problems. Die hards will be die hards as I'm an ol' Technics and Pioneer man myself way back when and still love my turntable and LP collection. So was looking for an A/V that could give me some of the old with the new and go HDMI when I get there for video. Finally decided to go Onkyo after the HDMI conflicts with the Yammy 6090 even though some of you are having some problem with hum from the surround speaker with the 804. eCost has the 803 for dirt cheap, black or silver. New, because Onkyo has discontinued it. If you're a first timer to Google's Checkout you get an additional $10 off. The 803 is much like the 804! Ordered it on 1/25 and will be here on 1/30. Downloaded the owners manual from Onkyo's site and am studying it very carefully on all of the set-ups. Good tip I learned on this site. Onkyo's manual is more user friendly compared to Yamaha's. Another plus. Can't wait to get it set up and running. I'm not a video gamer so............I leave that format to my computer!
muellner is offline  
post #472 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmiser View Post

Hi everyone,

My first post as I just pulled the trigger on a new 804. I wanted to share the deal that I got and if you're close to making the purchase, it may help you save some bucks too.

Circuit City online has it for $699.99 as you may already know. Before purchasing, go to ebay and search for "Circuit City coupon". You can purchase a 10% off coupon for $2 and it will work fine with this receiver. That puts the final price after 10% off at $629.99. Plus CC has a $50 rebate that is good through tomorrow to lower the final price to $579.99 with Free Shipping. (You do have to pay tax however depending on your state). Here is a summary.

Circuit City original price = $1099.99
Less price reduction -100.00
Circuit City new price 999.99
Add to cart for sale price -300.00
Total sale price 699.99
10% off coupon from ebay -70.00
Final checkout price 629.99
Circuit City $50 rebate -50.00 (rebate ends tomorrow 1/27/07)
Final price before tax: 579.99

(Free Shipping)

The other reason I went with Circuit City was it would be easy to return to a store if I get the evil hummm without having to pay a restocking fee and return shipping as with other online stores.

(Keeping my fingers crossed)


-Tim

Congratulations on your great deal! I'll check it out myself.
Mr. Mojo is offline  
post #473 of 1010 Old 01-26-2007, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anybody downloaded the new 1.5 version firmware for the ps3 and tried running hdmi through the 804 to see if the handshaking issue has been solved?

I am very hopeful but am still skeptical about it working with this latest firmware release from sony
thanks for any who try!

My Home Theater
JacobC1983 is offline  
post #474 of 1010 Old 01-27-2007, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have 1.5 on my PS3 and I had no problems with HDMI. If you are talking about the 1080P problems. I cant speak to that as Im only running 1080i. Smooth as a silk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JacobC1983 View Post

Has anybody downloaded the new 1.5 version firmware for the ps3 and tried running hdmi through the 804 to see if the handshaking issue has been solved?

I am very hopeful but am still skeptical about it working with this latest firmware release from sony
thanks for any who try!

ndskyz is offline  
post #475 of 1010 Old 01-27-2007, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My PS3 test was very impressive, again, my set is a Sony KDFE50A10, rear projection LCd 480i/p 720p 1080i Set. I had Zero problems with HDMI Video. Changing from 1080i to 720p to 480p brings the normal changes with the screen flickering. But No locks or freezes or screen flicker once the TV changed to the same resolution that the PS3 was putting out. The XMB menu at 1080i ..no problem. The PS3 and 804 works fine for me and My set. Audio via HDMI was another non event. The Onkyo did a great job of detecting Dolby D, PCM, or whatever the source was. I was testing my SACD's via HDMI and I must say the SACD's sounded excellent. I do have the "pop" that everyone else has been complaining about when changing sources...Thats a PS3 problem to my understanding. Tested Superman in BD format. Displayed 1080i with no problem, and again the audio was very pleasing.

I also have a Sammy upconvert DVD connected Via HDMI to the 804. I have the DVD set to 720p resolution. Threw in Pearl Harbor. The Onkyo again impressed me, in THX mode or Dolby the surround sound was amazing. Wife is very pleased. (and thats the important thing here LOL) Again overall. Im pleased with this purchase. Now I just gotta fine tune my Harmony 880 to make it easy for the wife to use....then again..do i really want to do that???

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatsooner View Post

ndskyz: pls advise your PS3 test. Mine does not work on the menu screen but fine while playing games.

Love the 804, just worried I'm missing something as the den887 will work with PS3 (I know a guy who has this setup), and new lossless audio formats - if anyone ever delivers some source material.

ndskyz is offline  
post #476 of 1010 Old 01-27-2007, 06:36 AM
Member
 
fatsooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by muellner View Post

Hi Onkyo lovers,
I've been reading all the messages and replies on this thread and the Yammy 5990-6090 threads for a while as I've been researching both Yammy and Onkyo for 6+ months swaying between both. 1st Yamaha then Onkyo and back and forth again reviewing good and the bad user problems. Die hards will be die hards as I'm an ol' Technics and Pioneer man myself way back when and still love my turntable and LP collection. So was looking for an A/V that could give me some of the old with the new and go HDMI when I get there for video. Finally decided to go Onkyo after the HDMI conflicts with the Yammy 6090 even though some of you are having some problem with hum from the surround speaker with the 804. eCost has the 803 for dirt cheap, black or silver. New, because Onkyo has discontinued it. If you're a first timer to Google's Checkout you get an additional $10 off. The 803 is much like the 804! Ordered it on 1/25 and will be here on 1/30. Downloaded the owners manual from Onkyo's site and am studying it very carefully on all of the set-ups. Good tip I learned on this site. Onkyo's manual is more user friendly compared to Yamaha's. Another plus. Can't wait to get it set up and running. I'm not a video gamer so............I leave that format to my computer!

Major difference between 803 and 804 is the 803 does not pass 1080p - I believe that's why they discontinued it. 1080i is the best the 803 will do. Mine had to go back for the 804.....

Depends on your set and if you plan on upgrading TV's anytime soon.
fatsooner is offline  
post #477 of 1010 Old 01-27-2007, 06:39 AM
Member
 
fatsooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndskyz View Post

My PS3 test was very impressive, again, my set is a Sony KDFE50A10, rear projection LCd 480i/p 720p 1080i Set. I had Zero problems with HDMI Video. Changing from 1080i to 720p to 480p brings the normal changes with the screen flickering. But No locks or freezes or screen flicker once the TV changed to the same resolution that the PS3 was putting out. The XMB menu at 1080i ..no problem. The PS3 and 804 works fine for me and My set. Audio via HDMI was another non event. The Onkyo did a great job of detecting Dolby D, PCM, or whatever the source was. I was testing my SACD's via HDMI and I must say the SACD's sounded excellent. I do have the "pop" that everyone else has been complaining about when changing sources...Thats a PS3 problem to my understanding. Tested Superman in BD format. Displayed 1080i with no problem, and again the audio was very pleasing.

I also have a Sammy upconvert DVD connected Via HDMI to the 804. I have the DVD set to 720p resolution. Threw in Pearl Harbor. The Onkyo again impressed me, in THX mode or Dolby the surround sound was amazing. Wife is very pleased. (and thats the important thing here LOL) Again overall. Im pleased with this purchase. Now I just gotta fine tune my Harmony 880 to make it easy for the wife to use....then again..do i really want to do that???

thanks for the feedback. I am going to install 1.5 today and see if that helps.

Have an XBR2 and I thought it auto detects signal? See no where to adjust resolution???

And can you set you Sammy to 1080i and kep it there? Mine I have to go into the menu every time and re-set it to 1080i which is a pain in the arse.
fatsooner is offline  
post #478 of 1010 Old 01-27-2007, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes the Sony does auto detect the signal. I was reffering to switching on the PS3 side. A 720p video game or a 1080i BD movie, or 480p DVD. Once the Tv Synced to that signal, the picture was fine.

Yes I can set the Sammy to 1080i and leave it. I just prefer the look of 720p a little better than the 1080i, that this particular Upconvert DVD puts out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatsooner View Post

thanks for the feedback. I am going to install 1.5 today and see if that helps.

Have an XBR2 and I thought it auto detects signal? See no where to adjust resolution???

And can you set you Sammy to 1080i and kep it there? Mine I have to go into the menu every time and re-set it to 1080i which is a pain in the arse.

ndskyz is offline  
post #479 of 1010 Old 01-27-2007, 08:00 AM
Member
 
fatsooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndskyz View Post

Yes the Sony does auto detect the signal. I was reffering to switching on the PS3 side. A 720p video game or a 1080i BD movie, or 480p DVD. Once the Tv Synced to that signal, the picture was fine.

Yes I can set the Sammy to 1080i and leave it. I just prefer the look of 720p a little better than the 1080i, that this particular Upconvert DVD puts out.

So you have no issues when surfing the ps3 main menu? My video cuts out randomly, but only on the menu. Games are OK, and movies are OK.

I called Onkyo and they were aware of the problem but could not replicate, and did not have an answer. Said they'd call me.

Wonderif my 804 is faulty?
fatsooner is offline  
post #480 of 1010 Old 01-27-2007, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No issues what so ever. This is at 1080i Via HDMI from the PS3 to the 804 then HDMI to the Tv. I listened to music I had on my HD last night as well as SACD's I even went so far as to bring up the web browser and surf the web a lil bit while listening to music. I was in the PS3 XMB menu for well over an hour. Even left it up while I ate dinner. The 804 didnt fault or flicker once. I did notice that it took a while for the 804 to display it's menu (set up menu) when I hit the set up button on the remote. But Im chalking that up to the 804 just being slow and the tv changing from 1080i to 480i. Other than that one little thing. No problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatsooner View Post

So you have no issues when surfing the ps3 main menu? My video cuts out randomly, but only on the menu. Games are OK, and movies are OK.

I called Onkyo and they were aware of the problem but could not replicate, and did not have an answer. Said they'd call me.

Wonderif my 804 is faulty?

ndskyz is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off