Panasonic SA-XR700 Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 548 Old 12-11-2006, 06:07 AM
Member
 
DAFTEK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: DBQ, IA - S, Grandview Area
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, i notice a picture quality difference in the two connections, DVI to HDMI on receiver then tv looks somewhat worse then DVI to HDMI on TV... This was one of the reasons i returned my Sony 800 back and went with the XR700.

My PS3-Name: DAFTEK add me if u want :)
Click to Join the AVS Forum Folding@Home Team #55280
IMPORTANT! Change your Donor Name from "PS3" to your AVS Handle!
DAFTEK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 548 Old 12-17-2006, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
SlackerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this receiver have any virtual surround modes for use with 2 speakers or L,R,C and sub?
SlackerX is offline  
post #93 of 548 Old 12-17-2006, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
WeApOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking to buy a 1080p receiver, but this one is very expensive. I just bought a Samsung 1080p TV, and a PS3. I am looking for a receiver to take advantage of the PS3. Is this my BEST choice? Can I expect a price drop soon?
WeApOn is offline  
post #94 of 548 Old 12-18-2006, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Dermott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wine Country, CA
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read a little more about this receiver and see that it can actually tri-amp the fronts. What I wasn't clear on was if you can do this with 3.1 (mains, center and sub) or if that function was in stereo mode only. I have Maggie MMG's, my stereo amp took a dump and was looking at another option to power them. The Maggies like power, so I thought six channels of 100 W at 6 ohms running into 2 channels might get the job done. Has anyone tried the tri-amp feature?

"What brings you to this nape of the woods, neck of the wape; How come you're here?"
Dermott is offline  
post #95 of 548 Old 12-18-2006, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dermott View Post

I have read a little more about this receiver and see that it can actually tri-amp the fronts. What I wasn't clear on was if you can do this with 3.1 (mains, center and sub) or if that function was in stereo mode only. I have Maggie MMG's, my stereo amp took a dump and was looking at another option to power them. The Maggies like power, so I thought six channels of 100 W at 6 ohms running into 2 channels might get the job done. Has anyone tried the tri-amp feature?

If your not using surround back speakers you can do it.
shamus is offline  
post #96 of 548 Old 12-28-2006, 08:35 AM
Newbie
 
x016872's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the Panny SA-XR700 run hot?
x016872 is offline  
post #97 of 548 Old 12-28-2006, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by x016872 View Post

Does the Panny SA-XR700 run hot?

No. It's barely warm to the touch when it's on.

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #98 of 548 Old 12-31-2006, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
purduealum91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who has this receiver in stock? Will it still pass 7.1 LPCM over hdmi from the PS# if the receiver is connected to a monitor with a HDMI-DVI cable?

My new Sony $1k 5200 ES will NOT! and I am pissed. Its prolly going back. I want my PS3 games and blu ray movies in 7.1 LPCM!
purduealum91 is offline  
post #99 of 548 Old 12-31-2006, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by purduealum91 View Post

Who has this receiver in stock? Will it still pass 7.1 LPCM over hdmi from the PS# if the receiver is connected to a monitor with a HDMI-DVI cable?

My new Sony $1k 5200 ES will NOT! and I am pissed. Its prolly going back. I want my PS3 games and blu ray movies in 7.1 LPCM!

Vanns.com, an authorized Panny dealer, has it in stock at a sale price here http://www.vanns.com/shop/servlet/it...ails/538999768 That's where I bought mine - not on sale.

Yes, the XR700 will accept 7.1 LPCM over HDMI with a video out connection HDMI>DVI to the display. I know because I have had it set up that way. (It isn't well known but the DVI cable actually has more pins/wires in it than does the HDMI cable so an HDMI>DVI connection is pin to pin compatible. HDMI just doesn't use all the DVI pins.)

Just to clarify, however. I am using the Panny BD10 Blue-ray player and not the PS3 so YMMV.

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #100 of 548 Old 12-31-2006, 06:22 PM
Newbie
 
addam122k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I've spent a good week researching this and I would like to ask some advice on a 7.1 receiver. I have narrowed it down to the XR57, XR 700(for extra HDMI and full 1080p), and Onkyo txsr604(hdmi 1.1...not sure how big of a deal that is?)

The Onkyo being the only non-digital amp. This is for a smaller game room (12X14?) with a 42" Panny th42ph9uk and a PS3. I know the 57 is sub-$300 now but I keep hearing of issues with PS3 and it only has 1 hdmi connection. The onkyo is mid-$3's but I'm not that familiar with the model. I know onkyo's history but not sure on the current products and quality. this leaves me xr700 for around $600. I'm very new to digital amps but have been hearing great stuff on these postings.

I have a computer I use as a mmserver and am wondering if I will see a noticable difference using a dvi->hdmi connection vs. the d-sub monitor connection on the 42-9uk? Would it be worth pushing for the 2-hdmi unit? Second, is the hdmi v1.1 going to make a difference for general game play and movie watching?

So, can I keep the cost down and go the 57 or 604 route or does the 700 present that much of an upgrade that the extra $200-$300 would make the difference? Thank you in advance for any advice here.
addam122k is offline  
post #101 of 548 Old 01-01-2007, 08:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
darryl b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: wi
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is there anyway to use the xr700 as a pre/pro?

thanks
darryl b is offline  
post #102 of 548 Old 01-01-2007, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Earz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 4,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 604 does not do 7.1 lpcm (only 5.1) over hdmi....and it has loud clicks when switching inputs.
It also can't compete with my sa-xr 45 for minute detail and fast tight mid bass...so I am taking it back and getting the 700 as a stop gap for 1.3

If it turns out that DTS-MA can be converted to PCM via the 700.....I doubt I will even bother upgrading to a 1.3 receiver.

The better your speakers....the better these digital Pannys sound....assuming there not dipping below 4ohm.

My theater is only 22 x 14 driving 5 custom made all Scan Speak revelator speakers that dip only to 5ohm and a lower end 500.00 B&W rear center.
Earz is offline  
post #103 of 548 Old 01-01-2007, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SiriuslyCold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 2,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
darryl b

nope - its a digital amplifier and doesn't have analog line outputs

Boo!
SiriuslyCold is offline  
post #104 of 548 Old 01-01-2007, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
WeApOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea on when there will be a price drop on this product? I have been highly considering it to pair with my 1080p TV and PS3, but with HDMI 1.3 products coming this year, is a price drop due soon? I bought my TV JUST before a big price drop and lost out on a good save, and I'm trying to avoid doing that again.
WeApOn is offline  
post #105 of 548 Old 01-01-2007, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeApOn View Post

Any idea on when there will be a price drop on this product? I have been highly considering it to pair with my 1080p TV and PS3, but with HDMI 1.3 products coming this year, is a price drop due soon? I bought my TV JUST before a big price drop and lost out on a good save, and I'm trying to avoid doing that again.

See my post #99 and check out the link. We're not supposed to be talking prices on the AVS Forum.

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #106 of 548 Old 01-03-2007, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
purduealum91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is this receiver so difficult to find at retail?
purduealum91 is offline  
post #107 of 548 Old 01-03-2007, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you have an Ultimate Electronics in your area you can get the XR700 there.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #108 of 548 Old 01-03-2007, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
purduealum91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Gang,

Does the XR700 have the dreaded -10db LFE issue? If so, whats the workaround?
purduealum91 is offline  
post #109 of 548 Old 01-03-2007, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by purduealum91 View Post

Hey Gang,

Does the XR700 have the dreaded -10db LFE issue? If so, whats the workaround?

As far as I can tell..... No.
shamus is offline  
post #110 of 548 Old 01-12-2007, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
Koald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=drbonbi]Vanns, an authorized Panny dealer, has it in stock at a sale price. That's where I bought mine - not on sale.

DRBONBI,
Vanns appears to be taking pre-orders pending availability.
Another possible low price source is Zoommania. (also currently out of stock)
Thanks for the good information,
Koald
Koald is offline  
post #111 of 548 Old 01-12-2007, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Koald]
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbonbi View Post

Vanns, an authorized Panny dealer, has it in stock at a sale price. That's where I bought mine - not on sale.

DRBONBI,
Vanns appears to be taking pre-orders pending availability.
Another possible low price source is Zoommania. (also currently out of stock)
Thanks for the good information,
Koald

Amazon has it at a sale price. In stock!

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #112 of 548 Old 01-12-2007, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[quote=drbonbi]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koald View Post


Amazon has it at a sale price. In stock!

Dana

Amazon themselves don't appear to have it. Are you referring to $519 through a new Marketplace seller (DataVision) with only 1 feedback rating? Good price but possibly a risky seller.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #113 of 548 Old 01-13-2007, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=WaldorfSalad]
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbonbi View Post

Amazon themselves don't appear to have it. Are you referring to $519 through a new Marketplace seller (DataVision) with only 1 feedback rating? Good price but possibly a risky seller.

I'm not touting Amazon but if you buy through them, you have their full protection.

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #114 of 548 Old 01-14-2007, 07:32 AM
Member
 
cglauner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i had bad experiences with these guys as their customer service is horrible. if you dont live in the NY area (where they have their store), i would not get it.

crutchfield has it and they are good...

I ordered mine from Vanns when they had the sale and it is expected to get here on Monday...
cglauner is offline  
post #115 of 548 Old 01-16-2007, 10:08 PM
Member
 
cglauner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got my xr700 and i have a two questions.

I have PS3 and A1 connected over HDMI.

1. the display when playing music never shows what codec/bitrate it is using. I only see the "digital input" bar illuminated. can I see what codec the receiver is processing and how?

2. I also notices that in comparison to my old receiver (Pioneer 1018), the volume level is different = lower. I used to have my PS3 connected through the optical cable and now when I play movies or games, I have to increase the volume significantly to get the same output. The same applies to the DVR I have now connected through the optical, it seems much lower in volume and when I increase it, other source when switching back are much louder. does someone know why?

thanks
cglauner is offline  
post #116 of 548 Old 01-18-2007, 02:50 PM
Member
 
mageeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The SA-XR700 is meant to go hand in hand with the Panasonic Blu-ray player. The Player has 7.1 analog outputs but I don't see the same 7.1 inputs on the back of my receiver,only 5.1. Am I missing something here ? Is there some other way to plug in the rear surrounds ? Thanks.
mageeks is offline  
post #117 of 548 Old 01-18-2007, 08:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mageeks View Post

The SA-XR700 is meant to go hand in hand with the Panasonic Blu-ray player. The Player has 7.1 analog outputs but I don't see the same 7.1 inputs on the back of my receiver,only 5.1. Am I missing something here ? Is there some other way to plug in the rear surrounds ? Thanks.

Do you have both???? If so, use HDMI. Set all speakers to large(on player) and make sure it shows a 7.1 speaker config(again on player). Use the receiver to change any speakers sizes, crossovers etc.... Pop in The Descent or Crank and enjoy!
shamus is offline  
post #118 of 548 Old 01-19-2007, 12:59 AM
Member
 
mageeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Shamus. Yes I got both units this month,Happy Christmas/Birthday to me. My old receiver was a Yamaha HTR-5590 which was great but there seems to be more possibilities with the Pan 700. I just put Crank and Descent on top of my Netflix que. So with the speakers on large on the Panny Blu-ray should I then set them to small on the XR 700 ? I've read that a few times.
I can't seem to have both the Panny Blu-ray and the Tosh A1 set up at the same time through HDMI. I lose the picture on the Toshiba so I went with component picture and analog sound on the Toshiba.
mageeks is offline  
post #119 of 548 Old 01-19-2007, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mageeks View Post

Thanks Shamus. Yes I got both units this month,Happy Christmas/Birthday to me. My old receiver was a Yamaha HTR-5590 which was great but there seems to be more possibilities with the Pan 700. I just put Crank and Descent on top of my Netflix que. So with the speakers on large on the Panny Blu-ray should I then set them to small on the XR 700 ? I've read that a few times.
I can't seem to have both the Panny Blu-ray and the Tosh A1 set up at the same time through HDMI. I lose the picture on the Toshiba so I went with component picture and analog sound on the Toshiba.

Happy Birthday. Unless you have expensive full range speakers, all speakers on player are set to large and receiver should be set to small(dont forget crossover and delays). If your a little unsure of these, use the set up mic... its not perfect but it does an ok job. One problem when using component and HDMI, I believe component will be downconverted to 480!!! Try setting resolution on the players to a fixed resolution(1080i, 720p etc).... that could solve sync issues.
I have the XR-700 and the Panny BD player via HDMI and here are my settings....
BD-10
-4:3 aspect (on)
-PCM down conversion (off)
-Dolby Digital (bitstream)
-Dolby Digital Plus (PCM)
-DTS (bitstream)
-BD function sound (off)
-HDMI video (on)
-HDMI resolution (set to your display resolution)
-HDMI audio (on)
-CTRL with HDMI (on)
-Speaker sizes (large)
-Delays (0)
-Channel db (0)

XR-700
-lr,c,s,sb (small)
-sb (2-spk)
-subw (yes)
-Distance (measure to seating position)
-Filter frq (set to the smallest speakers crossover)
-Bi amp (off)
-Dual amp (auto)
-Drcomp (off)
shamus is offline  
post #120 of 548 Old 01-19-2007, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
shamus,

Very nice. Helpful. Thanks.

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off