Outlaw 990 Vs. Rotel 1066 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-30-2006, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
donaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help. I have a 4 year old Rotel 1066 and have been happy with it. I am thinking of upgrading my pre-pro and going with the Outlaw 990. Am I making a mistake or is it worthwhile to do this? Don

Donald S Konicoff
donaudio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-30-2006, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
locomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For a pre-pro wait till the new ones with HDMI 1.3 come out. Then all the ones that are out there now SHOULD drop in price.
locomo is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-30-2006, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Clepto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd argue that the Rotel probably is better sounding than the Outlaw, but you could always try their 30 day option...

Main screen turn on. All your base are belong to us.
Clepto is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-30-2006, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
donaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot for your replies. Don

Donald S Konicoff
donaudio is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-11-2007, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
ttindle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both in my house and my Outlaw 990 uses the Outlaw Model 7500 5-channel Balanced Amplifier and the results are night and day on audio, video and the 990 is super easy to setup and operate.
ttindle is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-11-2007, 12:05 PM
sb1
AVS Special Member
 
sb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 135
The only way to be sure would be to audition both in your house. All I can say is I auditioned Rotel extensively in a shop, ordered an Outlaw 990, and kept the Outlaw. However, I would suggest listening to Locomo (posted above) and wait for the next batch.

Stephen.

Chances are very good that I was drinking when I posted the above.

sb1 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-11-2007, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
shadow 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI 1.3 will not be available on Rotel for many months, maybe more than a year. Its not even in prototype pre/pros according to the guys at the Rotel Club. Its not that big of a deal anyway as the long thread on this site shows. If you need a pre, get one now and enjoy it. You can always sell it if you want the latest and greatest, but there will always be something newer and "better" down the road, and usually its not really better, just newer.
shadow 8 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off