Receiver and amplifier hum? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-09-2006, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
luismanrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it normal for my Arcam receiver and Adcom amplifier to have a hum coming out of the power supplies? For the Arcam 300 receiver you have to get real close in order to hear it, but the Adcom 7807 I can always slightly hear from my seating position. I have a dedicated room, so it's pretty quiet. I am running a dedicated 20 amps electrical outlet for the Adcom. When the Adcom amp is running and I turn on the Arcam receiver, the hum increases on the Adcom amplifier as the Arcam clicks to turn on, but then after two seconds or so the hum on the Adcom comes down to its usual level.

One more detail, everytime the microwave is used, the hum shows its ugly head even more, it doubles, only on the Adcom amplifier. The microwave being in the kitchen, get its power from a different line.

Is this normal, or do I have an electrical problem? The house is 17 years old.

Do not steal, The powers that be do not like the competition.
luismanrara is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-09-2006, 04:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
luismanrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there anybody on this forum that has any idea of what may be wrong?

Do not steal, The powers that be do not like the competition.
luismanrara is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-09-2006, 09:10 PM
wje
AVS Special Member
 
wje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like you might have a ground loop issue. The easiest way to test this out is to use a "cheater" plug. If the cheater plug gets rid of the hum, you could continue to use it, or go to more extreme means to resolve the ground issue.

* Note: there are those who believe there is no issue in using a cheater plug on a regular basis, while there are others who despise it. I'm from the camp where if it works, then use it. I haven't read of equipment being damaged by using the adapter.
wje is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-09-2006, 10:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
luismanrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[quote=wje]Sounds like you might have a ground loop issue. The easiest way to test this out is to use a "cheater" plug.

Excuse my ignorance, What is a cheater plug?

Do not steal, The powers that be do not like the competition.
luismanrara is offline  
Closed Thread Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off